• USD ($)
  • English
Aside from being situated on the waters of Lake Wakatipu, what makes Queenstown such a popular destination for South Island travelers is the way in which it’s centrally located to many of the area’s best attractions. While bungy jumping, skydiving, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

a fantastic day trip with a very knowledgeable coach driver. scenery was absolutely fantastic, lunch on milford sound very good. cruise very good too. we were fourtunate to have great weather and were able to get our planned fixed wing transfer back to Queenstown. only took half an hour to get back. highly advisable and wot a view from the air. certailnly would recomend this tour to any one.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown including Scenic Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The day trip was wonderful, with beautiful scenery and stops for walks along the way to Milford Sound. Our guide, Nigel is great and engaging. My family enjoyed it very much and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had the best day so much to see, such beautiful scenery, simply a fantastic day trip to have taken, Thanks so much Nick (tour driver)
Long day but very worth it....
Sally Swan and family

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wonderful day trip. Well worth the long drive. Set up and run well wen efficient with knowledgeable guide. Not to big and not too small-just right. Would recommend as a must when visiting the area.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This is a great half-day trip. The TSS Earnslaw has a colorful past that was shared by onboard tour guide. After reaching the farm, we ate a delicious barbecue lunch. Then, we were treated to a working sheepdog demonstration and a sheep shearing by Lindsay. Very informative and worth the money.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The trip from Queenstown to Doubtful Sound was wonderful, with drivers who provided thoughtful commentaries on the amazing landscapes and fellow passengers who shared his enthusiasm. Don't be put off by the length of this day trip, which included a surprising bus ride deep into the Manapouri power station and the unforgettable cruise of Doubtful Sound aboard a very comfortable ship.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Hayley B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very good day trip. Staff were awesome. Good NZ commentary. Had perfect weather in the morning and had fun watching movie on the way home. Thanks!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

We absolutely had a wonderful day that was really well organised - heaps of time to take photos and a great lunch!! I would definitely recommend this day trip with Viator!!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Richard K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I really enjoyed my day trip to Milford Sound. It was excellent!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Molly
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour is an excellent experience. It is a long day trip to the Sound and back but worth it. The tour guide we had was very professional and knowledgeable and made the three hour bus trip enjoyable. The boat trip was quite short but we saw lots of waterfalls, seals basking on rocks and gorgeous scenery. Lunch was average and not really worth it. Overall, a very good tour.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was a marvellous day trip. We had a comfortable minibus and started out from Queenstown with gentle rain and a view of an overnight snowfall on all the mountains in the middle of summer. There was a refreshment stop in Te Anau and then onto Mirror Lakes with a bbq lunch at Knobs Flat. The sun shone and the water sparkled on the river with the colours of the Lupin flowers making a pretty landscape picture. Then came the really big adventure of travelling through the Homer tunnel and a cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea. The sunshine gave us many lovely photos with the waterfall spray as we came up close. We also spied the fur seals sleeping on the rocks ignoring the pesky tourists. The return journey was through beautiful rolling very green hills covered in sheep, of course and still the backdrop of snow covered mountains. Chris,the driver, was very pleasant and knowledgeable and made our outing most enjoyable. This trip was great value for money and I recommend it to others.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip - but a long day. Nice to be with a smaller group and not on a large coach. Specatular scenery on the drive up and informative tour guide. The Milford Sound cruise was lovely and the buffet lunch was good.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Beautiful scenery all around...saw fur seals and a waterfall...it was an awesome day out too! Would highly recommend this day trip. I found the bus there and back comfy and enjoyable as well but you can take a helicopter or short flight back for additional funds.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

A nice half day trip! A good experience to board the steamship. The farm tour was good and the tea was tasty. Recommended!

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

You get to see some great landscapes, but where don't you see great landscape in New Zealand. The Day trip from Queenstown to Christchurch itself was just excessive! There are stops about every hour to 45 minutes just for the bus driver to get coffee. I don't know if this is New Zealand law but it dragged what could be done in 8 hours to 12 hours. Be prepared for a long day.

Doing what: Queenstown to Christchurch via Mount Cook Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message