Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids and they loved the views, Our driver/tour guide OZ was very knowledgeable, the whole journey was a memorable experience, some of the highlights were the mirror lakes, panoramic views, getting extremely close to the waterfalls whilst on the ferry and sea lions basking on the rocks - oh you really need to checkout the venison pie shop on the way to Milford sounds too

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus ride was long, but was quite interesting and included several stops along the way! Milford Sound is and was amazing, so well worth the trip. The boat trip was also fun and made for an enjoyable day. I did not take the buffet option and I am not sure if it was worth it to be honest. Personally, either buy a sandwich onboard or bring your own. I did not fly back to Queenstown, however the option was there... however I found the cost's were very high! I found out you can take a helicopter tour from Queens town and land on a glacier for just over $200 NZD compared with the $550 or so that was suggested. So best to do your home work ! All in all it was a good day out!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

An incredible day providing breathtaking views of hills, sheep, mountains and rivers. The cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea added waterfalls, rainbows, awsome rock formations and seals. It was a day to remember and comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was raining on way which was good as when there were lots of waterfalls on the journey and also when we got to Milford Sound. There were lots of photo stops so a chance to stretch your legs very frequently. We came back by Helicopter and this was amazing. The Helicopter isn't cheap but it's an experience you'll never forget - it will also reduce the 4-5 hour drive to 45 minutes! The pilot took us up to 9,000 feet between the clouds and the mountains (which was a bit scary) and landed on one of the highest peaks where we had our photo taken beside the helicopter. The views coming back to Queenstown are fabulous.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We reaLly loved the Milford sound trip. from the moment we were met by our bus driver we knew we were in for an interesting journey. He was very knowledgable and added lots of great photo opportunities to match the fab scenery.
The boat trip portion of the tour was spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The must for any traveller to New Zealand! Not the Milford Sound itself, but also the road to there - after it you may imagine for what reasons Peter Jackson shoot his Lord of the Rings movies in his native New Zealand! And, I guess, this choice is much better than one day (or half-day) cruise on Milford Sound. The evening in the fjord, the night on the ship and the fjord in the morning are the best of my impressions of New Zealand (where I have spent 2 weeks and have seen lot of attractive places). The only bad thing - weather was not good, but of course this is what any trip organaizer could not prevent or change.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a great trip.Beautiful scenery and plenty of stops for photos to break the trip up.Milford sound was amazing.Our guide(Brian) was fabulous.He was friendly and knowledgeable.Just fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Milford Sound from Queenstown was a long one, but there were several stops along the way to see some beautiful sights. The boat ride on Milford Sound was stunning, and the weather cooperated with beautiful, blue skies. A highlight (of many we experienced) on our NZ holiday.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

A breathtaking journey, and Milford Sound is a must.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was a long day but well worth it! Luxury coach ride was great with a very informative and friendly bus driver, plenty of stops along the way to take photos, Cruising on Milford Sound was unforgettable! Highly recommend the Buffet lunch on the boat cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent rip with a great guide. Milford Sound was amazing but our only crticism was the fact the a buffet was provided on board and due to the crowds of people, most of the cruise was taken up jostling for food then finding a place to sit and eat.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

The authorities closed the Milford road due to risk of avalanche after several days of continuous snow in the mountains. Only option to get into Milford was via flights. Viator's partner did everything they could to get those passengers willing to pay for the flights booked, despite a very busy day for the flight companies. Special thanks to tour guide/driver for going out of his way to make this happen. Had a wonderful trip to Milford Sound on a beautiful sunny day.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Richard K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I really enjoyed my day trip to Milford Sound. It was excellent!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

John A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip was spectacular on the luxury glass roofed coach. A very well organised trip on the Pride of Milford Sound boat. The optional included lunch was superb and not to be missed! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

WOW! Milford Sound in the winter was incredible. The forecast was for rain and snow on the drive out, but when we passed through the tunnel to Milford, it was blue skies and lots of sun, with a fresh cover of snow on the peaks and waterfalls at their maximum. It was perfect!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message