• USD ($)
  • English
Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful way to spend the day. Our guide was perfect - knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive to the group. The small group setting was perfect and the tour was well paced. The BBQ in Fjordland was a wonderful lunch break! Glad that we did this trip as the Holland America cruise had to skip the Milford Sound phase due to storms.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids and they loved the views, Our driver/tour guide OZ was very knowledgeable, the whole journey was a memorable experience, some of the highlights were the mirror lakes, panoramic views, getting extremely close to the waterfalls whilst on the ferry and sea lions basking on the rocks - oh you really need to checkout the venison pie shop on the way to Milford sounds too

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus ride was long, but was quite interesting and included several stops along the way! Milford Sound is and was amazing, so well worth the trip. The boat trip was also fun and made for an enjoyable day. I did not take the buffet option and I am not sure if it was worth it to be honest. Personally, either buy a sandwich onboard or bring your own. I did not fly back to Queenstown, however the option was there... however I found the cost's were very high! I found out you can take a helicopter tour from Queens town and land on a glacier for just over $200 NZD compared with the $550 or so that was suggested. So best to do your home work ! All in all it was a good day out!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was amazing. Its a small family owned business meaning that you are well looked after and personally looked after. Nick and Muyami are excellent hosts. Also, as its a small tour this means you stop at places that the larger tour buses can't meaning that you see places most don't. Also the best lunch stop ever. This tour will make your memories of Milford Sound even better.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic day. So glad we chose the BBQ Bus rather than joining a big tour group for our trip to Milford Sound - nice nicer and more personalised with the opportunity to stop at scenic spots that the big buses simply cannot go. Was very nice not to be following the crowd at all the stops... Excellent BBQ in beautiful spot, good rapport with driver and other guests with whom we ended up going to dinner with.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

An incredible day providing breathtaking views of hills, sheep, mountains and rivers. The cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea added waterfalls, rainbows, awsome rock formations and seals. It was a day to remember and comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic day. the Barbecue bus was comfortable, The driver Chris and his assistant Ayumi were helpful and knowledgable. BBQ lunch was delicious. The boat trip on Milford Sound was great.Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Another great tour guide. Loved the tour. The BBQ besides the river was awesome nothing like a freshly grilled meat on the Barbie. The cruise on Milford Sound was great. We upgraded to the Fixed Wing return trip and this was by far the best choice for us. You have several options, two different Helicopter tours, the fixed wing, and of course the included return bus trip. The pilot was the best, we had a great calm day and the flight was simply delightful. I am glad we waited because that way he had an idea of the type of day but I am sure that may be a tougher thing to do in the busy season. My wife and I had never been on a 6 person plane but we loved it. Took a ton of pictures.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had such a great day! Our group was really small and so we had a real comfortable ride and plenty of flexbility. Lunch was really fun and Chris (I hope I got your name right ) is a great cook. He was also a great guide and lots of fun. Milford Sound is not to be missed! It is so beautiful. Going in a smaller group on this smaller bus is definitly the way to do it.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Sauly
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

What a Fantastic day all being a long one , When you are have a great time you not want the day to end. That is what this day was for us, Great tour , Variety along the way , Tops for a BBQ by the stream . Several breaks on the way to stretch the legs , time to shop at the Te Anu stop. Fantastic views , amazing the amount of work to tunnel through the mountain at Homer Tunnel. Milford Sound or Fiord as it should be called, No other words needed to describe this sight... !!! Thank you for a wonderful day out with our two fun guides. 4th March 2013 .

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Long day but well worthwhile with excellent driver Chris and host Eri. Everything and more as explained in the web info. Small group of 12 of us so friendly! Would certainly recommend this trip to MIlford Sound.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The day trip was wonderful, with beautiful scenery and stops for walks along the way to Milford Sound. Our guide, Nigel is great and engaging. My family enjoyed it very much and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was raining on way which was good as when there were lots of waterfalls on the journey and also when we got to Milford Sound. There were lots of photo stops so a chance to stretch your legs very frequently. We came back by Helicopter and this was amazing. The Helicopter isn't cheap but it's an experience you'll never forget - it will also reduce the 4-5 hour drive to 45 minutes! The pilot took us up to 9,000 feet between the clouds and the mountains (which was a bit scary) and landed on one of the highest peaks where we had our photo taken beside the helicopter. The views coming back to Queenstown are fabulous.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

100% recommend this tour. My guide for the day was Nick, and he was full of great information. We were able to make enough stops for good picture opportunties, the food was great, and the Milford sound cruise is beautiful.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We reaLly loved the Milford sound trip. from the moment we were met by our bus driver we knew we were in for an interesting journey. He was very knowledgable and added lots of great photo opportunities to match the fab scenery.
The boat trip portion of the tour was spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message