Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not much time down at Milford Sound compared to how much driving is involved, but it turns out the drive is a huge part of the trip! Breath-taking views and scenic spots on the way down, we stopped several times to take it in and our driver had plenty of stories and information to keep us entertained informed. The boat trip once you reach Milford is worth the wait too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was snowing when we left Queenstown but Milford Sound was beautiful!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was definitely a great trip! Our bus driver and captain cruise first class. We loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery of wonderful wilderness. It was pretty cold during our visit but upon arrival at Milford Sound the sun was definitely really bright. The views of the waterfall was amazing and the captain even brought us up close!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip will do again when I return. Driver bus and cruise first class. Loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery does not begin to describe the magic of this wonderful wilderness. Area.The wet weather did not dampen my experience and Mother Nature turned on a spectacular display of magnificent waterfalls at every turn.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent cruise and great staff! Stop by places during the coach ride such as mirror lake. The coach driver was very knowledgeable and provided commentary on the way to Milford Sound. Everything was explained clearly and in detail so that you know what to expect. Highly recommend this cruise! Absolutely breathtaking you will not want to leave.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We decided to change our date for the tour from Thursday the 20th November to Saturday the 22nd and were able to do so very easily through this company. They were very obliging. The coach tour was very nice and our driver was very informative. The Cruise on Milford Sound was equally enjoyable. Have recommended you to our friends.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Milford Sound is a must-see on the South Island. This tour is long (takes at least five hours to get to the Sound) but with stops on the way, the ride is beautiful and relaxing. The tour guide Brian was informative and had a great knowledge of the area - if only he didn't talk so much! :D The cruise itself is great, however, do not get the buffet lunch as we didn't think it was worth it. You are better off bringing your own, or buying a sandwich, crisps and a drink on the boat. Also, highly recommended to upgrade to a scenic flight back to Queenstown. This is organised by the tour guide on the way to Milford and worth every penny if only to shave 4 hours off the bus ride back. :)

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids and they loved the views, Our driver/tour guide OZ was very knowledgeable, the whole journey was a memorable experience, some of the highlights were the mirror lakes, panoramic views, getting extremely close to the waterfalls whilst on the ferry and sea lions basking on the rocks - oh you really need to checkout the venison pie shop on the way to Milford sounds too

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus ride was long, but was quite interesting and included several stops along the way! Milford Sound is and was amazing, so well worth the trip. The boat trip was also fun and made for an enjoyable day. I did not take the buffet option and I am not sure if it was worth it to be honest. Personally, either buy a sandwich onboard or bring your own. I did not fly back to Queenstown, however the option was there... however I found the cost's were very high! I found out you can take a helicopter tour from Queens town and land on a glacier for just over $200 NZD compared with the $550 or so that was suggested. So best to do your home work ! All in all it was a good day out!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

An incredible day providing breathtaking views of hills, sheep, mountains and rivers. The cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea added waterfalls, rainbows, awsome rock formations and seals. It was a day to remember and comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was raining on way which was good as when there were lots of waterfalls on the journey and also when we got to Milford Sound. There were lots of photo stops so a chance to stretch your legs very frequently. We came back by Helicopter and this was amazing. The Helicopter isn't cheap but it's an experience you'll never forget - it will also reduce the 4-5 hour drive to 45 minutes! The pilot took us up to 9,000 feet between the clouds and the mountains (which was a bit scary) and landed on one of the highest peaks where we had our photo taken beside the helicopter. The views coming back to Queenstown are fabulous.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We reaLly loved the Milford sound trip. from the moment we were met by our bus driver we knew we were in for an interesting journey. He was very knowledgable and added lots of great photo opportunities to match the fab scenery.
The boat trip portion of the tour was spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The must for any traveller to New Zealand! Not the Milford Sound itself, but also the road to there - after it you may imagine for what reasons Peter Jackson shoot his Lord of the Rings movies in his native New Zealand! And, I guess, this choice is much better than one day (or half-day) cruise on Milford Sound. The evening in the fjord, the night on the ship and the fjord in the morning are the best of my impressions of New Zealand (where I have spent 2 weeks and have seen lot of attractive places). The only bad thing - weather was not good, but of course this is what any trip organaizer could not prevent or change.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a great trip.Beautiful scenery and plenty of stops for photos to break the trip up.Milford sound was amazing.Our guide(Brian) was fabulous.He was friendly and knowledgeable.Just fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Milford Sound from Queenstown was a long one, but there were several stops along the way to see some beautiful sights. The boat ride on Milford Sound was stunning, and the weather cooperated with beautiful, blue skies. A highlight (of many we experienced) on our NZ holiday.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

A breathtaking journey, and Milford Sound is a must.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was a long day but well worth it! Luxury coach ride was great with a very informative and friendly bus driver, plenty of stops along the way to take photos, Cruising on Milford Sound was unforgettable! Highly recommend the Buffet lunch on the boat cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent rip with a great guide. Milford Sound was amazing but our only crticism was the fact the a buffet was provided on board and due to the crowds of people, most of the cruise was taken up jostling for food then finding a place to sit and eat.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

The authorities closed the Milford road due to risk of avalanche after several days of continuous snow in the mountains. Only option to get into Milford was via flights. Viator's partner did everything they could to get those passengers willing to pay for the flights booked, despite a very busy day for the flight companies. Special thanks to tour guide/driver for going out of his way to make this happen. Had a wonderful trip to Milford Sound on a beautiful sunny day.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

John A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip was spectacular on the luxury glass roofed coach. A very well organised trip on the Pride of Milford Sound boat. The optional included lunch was superb and not to be missed! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

WOW! Milford Sound in the winter was incredible. The forecast was for rain and snow on the drive out, but when we passed through the tunnel to Milford, it was blue skies and lots of sun, with a fresh cover of snow on the peaks and waterfalls at their maximum. It was perfect!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Frances M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

One could easily run out of superlatives in trying to describe the beauty of this area. The driver-guide ensured that we had many opportunities for 'photo-shoots' en route to Milford Sound. The boat trip was most enjoyable and the included lunch was excellent. However, be aware that this is a very long bus trip. We spent between 8 and 9 hours on the bus, but it was worth it to experience this stunning part of the world.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very interesting Milford Sound cruises, several pods of seals seen and amazing rainbow in the water next to waterfall.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An excellent trip. Piopiotahi (Milford Sound) exceeded our expectations. We booked via Viator to and then went on the coach of the bus drivers. The driver was great at driving round really, really narrow bends and did a great commentary about the history of the route down. Would highly recommend travelling with these companies (although, the wifi didn't work on the coach, but that wasn't really a bad thing).

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The bus driver was very knowledgeable and provided cafe stops, very nice, to help break up the drive to Milford Sound. As to be expected the scenery was outstandind. We were blessed with beautiful weather on the cruise. The food was wonderful and plentiful, thanks to the chef. A small backpack or carry on is all that is needed, as the cabins, though adequite, are very small.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message