Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cruise is highly recommended and I would be glad to do it again. The drive to Milford Sound is very enjoyable too. You will need a warm jacket, preferably waterproof, and your camera.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

William P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Small tour with more personal feel than the meg-buses. Very convenient hotel pick-up and dropped us off at another spot upon request. If you plan to tour Milford Sound while in Queenstown, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

betsydelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip! Milford Sound is amazing! I recommend staying and doing the overnight as it is a long drive if you are coming from Queenstown. I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much if I tried to return to Queenstown the same day. The staff were wonderful, the food was great and it was fun meeting people from other places. Beware of the sand flies, they are everywhere!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. After spending nearly a month travelling around NZ my sister rates this as the best day of our trip and we had many good days. This was my second trip to Milford Sound in the last couple of years and I really enjoyed it again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Parth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marty was absolutely phenomenal. He showed us some really cool sights and was a great ride along the way. He more than accommodated everyone's requests and we made frequent but not too many stops along the way. Others have already said this in previous reviews but taking the BBQ Bus helped provide a much more intimate experience for us. I had the opportunity to get to know the other amazing people in our group and some of us even hung out after we got back from the tour. Marty stopped at some really beautiful spots for photos and the boat ride was perfect - it felt full, but not overwhelming. We had ample space to walk around the boat to catch 360 views of Milford Sound. Also, unlike many/most other tour guides and companies, Marty didn't try to up sell us on anything. Try out the BBQ Bus - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Maryanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Milford Sounds is incredible!! We changed the tour with the help of the agent to the Milford Sound and Lunch tour, and Viator kindly gave us a refund for the difference.

Can't fault them.

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Minji K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would recommend to anyone who wants a thorough trip to Milford sound! Sooo good

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Roman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you want to see Milford Sound on a tour from Queenstown, you MUST book this one! Awesome guides, awesome bbq and awesome commentary while driving!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

gillian g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Coach collected us from outside our hotel. Unfortunately didn't drop us off there on our return but fairly centrally in town. Stopped at interesting places en route and for coffee stops etc. Not an easy drive so very pleased we chose this trip. Driver was full of fascinating facts and information. Milford sound was magnificent! Kept to time and was a most enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

nancytawalo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I was so excited about visiting Milford Sound and not only did this trip meet all my expectations, it far exceeded them.

Before I begin

- Yes, it is a long day we were picked up at 7:30am and dropped off at 8:30pm and we were the last and first respectively
- Yes, the weather is unpredictable and you may get sun, rain, clouds, wind, etc.
- YES, IT IS ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!!

Our driver was Marty and he was absolutely fantastic. From the moment he picked us up to the moment he dropped us off, he was friendly, chatty, and provided a wealth of information. We did part of the same drive we'd done the day before, but it was far richer for all the history, facts, and local stories.

One of my favourite things about this tour is that it's as much about the journey as the destination. Some of the pit stops along the way were GORGEOUS and a great way to break up the long drive. Considering the ever-changing, winding, steep road and huge distance from Queenstown, we were so glad to have someone experienced at the wheel - it meant we could relax and take in the breathtaking scenery and surrounds.

We stopped at Cascade Creek for lunch and it was utterly serene the mountains, the babbling water, the flora surrounding us. Then there was lunch itself chicken marinated in mango and sweet chili sauce, lamb skewers, sausages, fresh bread, pasta salad, and fruit juice.

The small group means more frequent stops and a MUCH more intimate experience. I believe we had 14 people on the bus and not many more on the boat, making for a wonderful cruise experience. We were able to access every vantage point to see the fur seals, spot rainbows, and literally stand under a waterfall. I can't compare the experience of sailing through the fjords to anything else I've ever seen or done it's untouched and seems like another world.

Thank you so much, Marty, it was an unforgettable day and experience - and one we're still daydreaming about!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

George T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding in every way. Plenty of stops, personal attention, and the small group size meant our vehicle and boat could get close in to places the big groups couldn't. This tour took full advantage of the amazing Milford Sound, and the lunch was great too.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Madonna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour to see Milford Sound if you did not want to fly. A long day however it is broken up with photo stops along the way. Beautiful scenery. Cruise was lovely. We took the option to do a short helicopter flight landing on the glacier which was worth it. Bus driver Shale was very informative and made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Galina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. We were lucky with the weather which allowed us to fly by little plane back to Queenstown from Milford Sound instead of getting back by bus which is quite long trip by road!. The tour is a great photo opportunity.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed our tour guide Marty. We also enjoyed being on a smaller bus with fewer people. The BBQ was an added bonus.The tour was very scenic and Milford Sound was beautiful even in the rain.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

G J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

BBQ bus made the experience much more personal than booking with the large coach tours. Stopped off on route through the National Park at various points to appreciate the magnificent views. BBQ lunch at a lovely site, where only cars and mini buses could reach. Boat tour on the Milford Sound was awe inspiring, the most stunning scenery. Great host who was packed with information and was great fun.
A long day but enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Barry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an all-day tour but well worth the time. The views along the way were spectacular and Milford Sound was breathtaking. The only downside that I can recall was the buffet lunch on the boat. It was far from acceptable and we should have purchased a sack lunch instead.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking was just for the Jucy Cruise of Milford Sounds. Was an excellent experience. Good commentary picked ot the important things to inform us, did not ramble on boat came in close to scenic features, eg waterfall, seals etc.
Boat was not too crowded, so made it easy to move aroundto get good photos.
Excellent value

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a long, all day tour, but well worth it. The day started out very cold and rainy, but it didn't detract from the beauty of the scenery. Shelly was a wonderful driver and tour guide, and our trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound was filled with great information and beautiful views. There were several stops for photos, as well as for food and souvenir shopping. Once we arrived at Milford Sound for the boat ride, the skies cleared and we had beautiful weather. It was absolutely breathtaking and definitely worth the time. On the bus ride back we watched a good movie based on a real guy from New Zealand. Since it was summer and got dark late, we were able to see more beautiful scenery on the return trip and watch the sun set. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Elaine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were picked up from our hotel in Queenstown and driven through some beautiful scenery. We stopped on route, the most memorable place was Mirror Lake, Monkey Creek where we were lucky to see a couple of Kea birds getting up to mischief and the Chasm. Our driver was very informative and friendly. Our trip through Milford Sound was amazing and the boat took us up close to a waterfall. An amazing activity that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

edward m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an awesome tour. the bar b q bus was awesome. The driver/ guide ws great. we had a great bar b q lunch in the Fiordland Nat park, we had a small group so it was very intimate. We also wet on the Milford sound in a small group so were able to take in all the sights without being crowded out. it was well worth it to have the small group. and the bar b q was wonderfully delicious.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Ved Singh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great trip to Milford sound from Queenstown. We started at 7:30 am from Queenstown. The tour bus driver who doubles as guide too, was awesome. He told some amazing history about this area , the forests, tunnel etc. He stopped at great locations on the way to take pictures.
The highlight was obviously the cruise on Milford sound. So much beauty. And the experience with the third biggest fall in NZ up-close from the cruise was the highlight.
Overall, a great trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not much time down at Milford Sound compared to how much driving is involved, but it turns out the drive is a huge part of the trip! Breath-taking views and scenic spots on the way down, we stopped several times to take it in and our driver had plenty of stories and information to keep us entertained informed. The boat trip once you reach Milford is worth the wait too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

macottone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was snowing when we left Queenstown but Milford Sound was beautiful!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

ERDOUGLAS L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was definitely a great trip! Our bus driver and captain cruise first class. We loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery of wonderful wilderness. It was pretty cold during our visit but upon arrival at Milford Sound the sun was definitely really bright. The views of the waterfall was amazing and the captain even brought us up close!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip will do again when I return. Driver bus and cruise first class. Loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery does not begin to describe the magic of this wonderful wilderness. Area.The wet weather did not dampen my experience and Mother Nature turned on a spectacular display of magnificent waterfalls at every turn.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message