Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a long, all day tour, but well worth it. The day started out very cold and rainy, but it didn't detract from the beauty of the scenery. Shelly was a wonderful driver and tour guide, and our trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound was filled with great information and beautiful views. There were several stops for photos, as well as for food and souvenir shopping. Once we arrived at Milford Sound for the boat ride, the skies cleared and we had beautiful weather. It was absolutely breathtaking and definitely worth the time. On the bus ride back we watched a good movie based on a real guy from New Zealand. Since it was summer and got dark late, we were able to see more beautiful scenery on the return trip and watch the sun set. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Elaine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were picked up from our hotel in Queenstown and driven through some beautiful scenery. We stopped on route, the most memorable place was Mirror Lake, Monkey Creek where we were lucky to see a couple of Kea birds getting up to mischief and the Chasm. Our driver was very informative and friendly. Our trip through Milford Sound was amazing and the boat took us up close to a waterfall. An amazing activity that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

edward m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an awesome tour. the bar b q bus was awesome. The driver/ guide ws great. we had a great bar b q lunch in the Fiordland Nat park, we had a small group so it was very intimate. We also wet on the Milford sound in a small group so were able to take in all the sights without being crowded out. it was well worth it to have the small group. and the bar b q was wonderfully delicious.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Ved Singh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great trip to Milford sound from Queenstown. We started at 7:30 am from Queenstown. The tour bus driver who doubles as guide too, was awesome. He told some amazing history about this area , the forests, tunnel etc. He stopped at great locations on the way to take pictures.
The highlight was obviously the cruise on Milford sound. So much beauty. And the experience with the third biggest fall in NZ up-close from the cruise was the highlight.
Overall, a great trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not much time down at Milford Sound compared to how much driving is involved, but it turns out the drive is a huge part of the trip! Breath-taking views and scenic spots on the way down, we stopped several times to take it in and our driver had plenty of stories and information to keep us entertained informed. The boat trip once you reach Milford is worth the wait too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

macottone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was snowing when we left Queenstown but Milford Sound was beautiful!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

ERDOUGLAS L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was definitely a great trip! Our bus driver and captain cruise first class. We loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery of wonderful wilderness. It was pretty cold during our visit but upon arrival at Milford Sound the sun was definitely really bright. The views of the waterfall was amazing and the captain even brought us up close!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip will do again when I return. Driver bus and cruise first class. Loved the stops and walks on the way to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery does not begin to describe the magic of this wonderful wilderness. Area.The wet weather did not dampen my experience and Mother Nature turned on a spectacular display of magnificent waterfalls at every turn.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

IMRAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent cruise and great staff! Stop by places during the coach ride such as mirror lake. The coach driver was very knowledgeable and provided commentary on the way to Milford Sound. Everything was explained clearly and in detail so that you know what to expect. Highly recommend this cruise! Absolutely breathtaking you will not want to leave.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Fay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We decided to change our date for the tour from Thursday the 20th November to Saturday the 22nd and were able to do so very easily through this company. They were very obliging. The coach tour was very nice and our driver was very informative. The Cruise on Milford Sound was equally enjoyable. Have recommended you to our friends.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

thornylain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Milford Sound is a must-see on the South Island. This tour is long (takes at least five hours to get to the Sound) but with stops on the way, the ride is beautiful and relaxing. The tour guide Brian was informative and had a great knowledge of the area - if only he didn't talk so much! :D The cruise itself is great, however, do not get the buffet lunch as we didn't think it was worth it. You are better off bringing your own, or buying a sandwich, crisps and a drink on the boat. Also, highly recommended to upgrade to a scenic flight back to Queenstown. This is organised by the tour guide on the way to Milford and worth every penny if only to shave 4 hours off the bus ride back. :)

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We absolutely loved our day tour to Milford Sound on the BBQ bus! The guide was great; very informative and friendly and was always making sure that we were comfortable. We stopped off at multiple photo locations where everyone could stretch their legs, take in the views and have photos taken by the guide if wanted.

The BBQ lunch was amazing! Not only was it delicious but we were able to enjoy it in a beautiful native rainforest. There was plenty of food to go around and the whole group had a great time.

Milford Sound was a jaw dropper....something for everyone to put on their list of places to visit in a lifetime!

On the way home, our guide provided us with DVD options to help make the drive home more interesting once the sun had gone down. Everyone was dropped off at their door or whatever location they preferred. We were also provided with some handy local knowledge on where to go for dinner, lunch and day trips for the remainder of our stay.

We would rate this as our favourite day tour to date and we have been on quiet a few via Viator! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great full day trip expertly led by Nick, the owner operator of the BBQ Bus. Lots of stops en-route to Milford Sound which allowed us to see lovely areas of rivers, lakes and beautiful little pockets of forests.
A fantastic lunch in a secluded private area alongside a lovely patch of forest was a perfect way to relax before the final leg of the journey to Milford Sound.
The cruise on Milford was excellent and was well worth the drive. Picturesque mountain scenery towering over the fjord and lots of spectacular waterfalls makes Milford a destination well worth visiting.
All in all a very long, full day that met all my expectations. I would recommend a small bus tour like this rather than a huge bus loaded with people. I did both during my stay in Queenstown and the small intimate group situation was much better and allowed more flexibility to stop at various scenic spots on the way.
10/10 for this trip!!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Nathaniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful way to spend the day. Our guide was perfect - knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive to the group. The small group setting was perfect and the tour was well paced. The BBQ in Fjordland was a wonderful lunch break! Glad that we did this trip as the Holland America cruise had to skip the Milford Sound phase due to storms.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Mario P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids and they loved the views, Our driver/tour guide OZ was very knowledgeable, the whole journey was a memorable experience, some of the highlights were the mirror lakes, panoramic views, getting extremely close to the waterfalls whilst on the ferry and sea lions basking on the rocks - oh you really need to checkout the venison pie shop on the way to Milford sounds too

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus ride was long, but was quite interesting and included several stops along the way! Milford Sound is and was amazing, so well worth the trip. The boat trip was also fun and made for an enjoyable day. I did not take the buffet option and I am not sure if it was worth it to be honest. Personally, either buy a sandwich onboard or bring your own. I did not fly back to Queenstown, however the option was there... however I found the cost's were very high! I found out you can take a helicopter tour from Queens town and land on a glacier for just over $200 NZD compared with the $550 or so that was suggested. So best to do your home work ! All in all it was a good day out!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Neil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was amazing. Its a small family owned business meaning that you are well looked after and personally looked after. Nick and Muyami are excellent hosts. Also, as its a small tour this means you stop at places that the larger tour buses can't meaning that you see places most don't. Also the best lunch stop ever. This tour will make your memories of Milford Sound even better.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic day. So glad we chose the BBQ Bus rather than joining a big tour group for our trip to Milford Sound - nice nicer and more personalised with the opportunity to stop at scenic spots that the big buses simply cannot go. Was very nice not to be following the crowd at all the stops... Excellent BBQ in beautiful spot, good rapport with driver and other guests with whom we ended up going to dinner with.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Karen K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

An incredible day providing breathtaking views of hills, sheep, mountains and rivers. The cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea added waterfalls, rainbows, awsome rock formations and seals. It was a day to remember and comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Susan Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic day. the Barbecue bus was comfortable, The driver Chris and his assistant Ayumi were helpful and knowledgable. BBQ lunch was delicious. The boat trip on Milford Sound was great.Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Verne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Another great tour guide. Loved the tour. The BBQ besides the river was awesome nothing like a freshly grilled meat on the Barbie. The cruise on Milford Sound was great. We upgraded to the Fixed Wing return trip and this was by far the best choice for us. You have several options, two different Helicopter tours, the fixed wing, and of course the included return bus trip. The pilot was the best, we had a great calm day and the flight was simply delightful. I am glad we waited because that way he had an idea of the type of day but I am sure that may be a tougher thing to do in the busy season. My wife and I had never been on a 6 person plane but we loved it. Took a ton of pictures.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Laurel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had such a great day! Our group was really small and so we had a real comfortable ride and plenty of flexbility. Lunch was really fun and Chris (I hope I got your name right ) is a great cook. He was also a great guide and lots of fun. Milford Sound is not to be missed! It is so beautiful. Going in a smaller group on this smaller bus is definitly the way to do it.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Sauly Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

What a Fantastic day all being a long one , When you are have a great time you not want the day to end. That is what this day was for us, Great tour , Variety along the way , Tops for a BBQ by the stream . Several breaks on the way to stretch the legs , time to shop at the Te Anu stop. Fantastic views , amazing the amount of work to tunnel through the mountain at Homer Tunnel. Milford Sound or Fiord as it should be called, No other words needed to describe this sight... !!! Thank you for a wonderful day out with our two fun guides. 4th March 2013 .

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

phil49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Long day but well worthwhile with excellent driver Chris and host Eri. Everything and more as explained in the web info. Small group of 12 of us so friendly! Would certainly recommend this trip to MIlford Sound.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Koon Neo Judy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The day trip was wonderful, with beautiful scenery and stops for walks along the way to Milford Sound. Our guide, Nigel is great and engaging. My family enjoyed it very much and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message