Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Cotopaxi National Park

Cotopaxi National Park (also known as Cotopaxi Volcano National Park) lies 53 kilometers (31 miles) southeast of Quito and is the second most visited (and second biggest) National Park in Ecuador. Cotopaxi National Park's main attraction is its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

People who expect to climb to the lodge and walk around the volcano at that level should choose another tour. The new choice of restaurant is all right . In all, it is a tour for people who do not wish to climb and have a look at Cotopaxi from the lagoon.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a perfect day to see so much- the weather was clear- the park and volcano is magnificent and our guide and driver were top notch! Lunch and tour at the Hacienda was so unique ( and delicious!). Our guide and Driver were so kind, knowledgeable and have a great sense of humor! Highly recommend - Ecuador is beautiful and so are it's lovely residents. Thank you for a unforgettable day! Donnalynn Roberts

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

I cannot even begin to say how disappointed we are with this trip, since we were dumped by the tour people. No one came to pick us up and we had to return to our hotel after waiting for several minutes!!!!!!. Highly irresponsible conduct on the part of the tour company.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 3 beautiful views of Cotopaxi for about 4 minutes each time. The market was the best we have seen and the guide was excellent.

Geoff Pearce.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very fun day with an excellent guide! We especially enjoyed the hike on Cotopaxi, even if it was somewhat cloud covered at the time. We got luck later in the day and had a fabulous look at the entire volcano. Lunch at the hacienda was delicious.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was not as described, we were very excited to go to San Augustin del Callo Hacienda, the one listed in the tour, with all it's horses and alpacas and Cotopaxi view. Instead we were brought to some other place and wasted a bunch of time at some rose farm next door that wasn't on the itinerary. Cotopaxi was great, and so was the guide, but other than that the tour wasn't what we paid for.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I love volcanos. Cotopaxi was covered by clouds when we arrived . As we left, the cloud line lifted and we could see the peak! WOW!!! The hacienda was amazing! You have to eat lunch there! You will be sorry if you don't! Now I want to come back and hike to the top! Thanks Juan David!

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tour but again only spent about 40 minutes at Cotopaxi National Park, would have like to spend much more time there as the weather was good for the best photos of the volcano. Hacienda and additional option of visiting a Rose growing business was superb. The guide was very knowledgable and friendly, overall a very good tour.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I was the only guest on this tour. Picked me up at a hotel a few blocks from where I was staying, rather than my hotel. Trip to the Park was worthwhile, rest of the tour was not.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best day of all. The National Park is beautiful, the Hacienda too, and the visit of the rose factory was also awsome. Great guide with great knowledge of everything.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved the trip up to Cotopaxi. It all started with a fun little train ride up into the highlands outside Quito and continued on a bus up to the base of the volcano. A National Park guide provided excellent information and commentary. Lunch at the hacienda was great with a huge menu to choose from and very friendly and helpful staff.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

Nothing exciting about the tour, the journey to cotapaxi was drawn out by using the old train and the lagoon in the national park was nothing to get excited about
Cotopaxi was shrouded with clouds so no great view there
Hacienda for lunch was ok and reasonable prices
Was something to do I guess!

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We drove thru some beautiful country in addition to the national park. I especially enjoyed the train ride from Quito to the park. Afterwards we had a nice, relaxing lunch with music from a local group at a beautiful hacienda.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The weather was not cooperating, so we didn't see Cotopaxi, but later we were taken to very colorful village market and this was a highlight of the tour.
We had a great lunch lunch in hacienda. Driving in Ecuador seems very dangerous, but thanks good driver we survived and got back in one piece to the hotel.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

I was disappointed that this tour did not visit the colourful market at Sasquisili as promised in the tour information. Other people I spoke to later had been to this market on the same day with a different tour operator. The animal only market closer to Quito we visited instead was no substitute. Visit to lake was OK.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi and Hacienda from Quito

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message