Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Cotopaxi National Park

Cotopaxi National Park (also known as Cotopaxi Volcano National Park) lies 53 kilometers (31 miles) southeast of Quito and is the second most visited (and second biggest) National Park in Ecuador. Cotopaxi National Park's main attraction is its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andreea V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip to Cotopaxi with Daniel. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about what he shows us, great English . Cotopaxi park is partially closed , due to possible eruptions. Nevertheless , we went as close as possible and had a great view of the snow capped volcano.

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good day trip from Quito cold and windy though. Nice variety of things to see.

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

Rishita A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Diego was awesome! Very enthusiastic to show us around :

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

Souvik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip, well organized

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

lakdawalashaival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cannot miss this if you visit Quito. The area around Cotopaxi is something to be experienced. We had an excellent guide who took us to the important points and relayed a lot of relevant information regarding our excursion. Be prepared to spend the number of hours listed on the description.

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

Soumya Kanti D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A once in a lifetime experience that was very very well managed by the tour operators

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Amy K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

My husband and I were the only 2 non-Spanish speaking ones on the tour, so the guide catered to everyone else, and we got a translation long after we had left what we were seeing, and a half-hearted translation at that. But, we should speak Spanish, guess it's our fault. Also, it seemed like the driving was most of the tour, but was nice to see the countryside, even if it had to be from a crowded van.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off, this was a magnificent trip. Well organized and led by the most enthusiastic of guides, Alfonso, we were also blessed with magnificent weather which allowed us to see Cotapaxi in all its splendor. The train ride was fun, the walk around the lake allowed for a full appreciation of the environment and the final stop at the hacienda put the icing on the cake. Thank you.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Shu Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did Cotopaxi Glacier hike just two days before the August 14, 2015 eruption. It was a beautiful sunny day in Quito, we stopped at a look-out point, a great place to get an overview of the city. On the way, our tour guide gave us a brief introduction about the history of Quito and the volcanoes in Ecuador. It was cloudy in Cotopaxi. I assume this is a normal day in Cotopaxi due to the high altitude. Occasionally the wind blows the clouds away and we could enjoy a few moment of blue sky. This was a very difficult hike for me due to the high altitude although I had hiking experiences in Canadian Rockies. Slowly I made it to the glacier and I felt great.

Doing what: Cotopaxi Volcano Excursion from Quito

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic walking tour of Cotopaxi with a wonderful train trip from t
He Quito railway station.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was excellent, with so much knowledge, very accommodating to everyone i.e. those who spoke Spanish and English, and just really nice. This was a great tour and I would certainly book again with this company.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Frank D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Cotopaxi was a great day trip from Quito -- and an opportunity to experience all of the seasons in one day a warm morning, snow at midday, rain in the afternoon, and a hot evening. The guide was very knowledgeable and told lots of stories along the way. A good trip.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Luis G D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good. Our guide, Wilson was outstanding.

Doing what: 2-Day Andes Tour from Quito with Avenue of the Volcanoes Train Ride

Michel T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

People who expect to climb to the lodge and walk around the volcano at that level should choose another tour. The new choice of restaurant is all right . In all, it is a tour for people who do not wish to climb and have a look at Cotopaxi from the lagoon.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Donnalynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a perfect day to see so much- the weather was clear- the park and volcano is magnificent and our guide and driver were top notch! Lunch and tour at the Hacienda was so unique ( and delicious!). Our guide and Driver were so kind, knowledgeable and have a great sense of humor! Highly recommend - Ecuador is beautiful and so are it's lovely residents. Thank you for a unforgettable day! Donnalynn Roberts

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Satish B USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

I cannot even begin to say how disappointed we are with this trip, since we were dumped by the tour people. No one came to pick us up and we had to return to our hotel after waiting for several minutes!!!!!!. Highly irresponsible conduct on the part of the tour company.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Geoffrey P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 3 beautiful views of Cotopaxi for about 4 minutes each time. The market was the best we have seen and the guide was excellent.

Geoff Pearce.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very fun day with an excellent guide! We especially enjoyed the hike on Cotopaxi, even if it was somewhat cloud covered at the time. We got luck later in the day and had a fabulous look at the entire volcano. Lunch at the hacienda was delicious.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Euric F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was not as described, we were very excited to go to San Augustin del Callo Hacienda, the one listed in the tour, with all it's horses and alpacas and Cotopaxi view. Instead we were brought to some other place and wasted a bunch of time at some rose farm next door that wasn't on the itinerary. Cotopaxi was great, and so was the guide, but other than that the tour wasn't what we paid for.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

jcdidit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I love volcanos. Cotopaxi was covered by clouds when we arrived . As we left, the cloud line lifted and we could see the peak! WOW!!! The hacienda was amazing! You have to eat lunch there! You will be sorry if you don't! Now I want to come back and hike to the top! Thanks Juan David!

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Melanie F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tour but again only spent about 40 minutes at Cotopaxi National Park, would have like to spend much more time there as the weather was good for the best photos of the volcano. Hacienda and additional option of visiting a Rose growing business was superb. The guide was very knowledgable and friendly, overall a very good tour.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Paula W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I was the only guest on this tour. Picked me up at a hotel a few blocks from where I was staying, rather than my hotel. Trip to the Park was worthwhile, rest of the tour was not.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

papillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best day of all. The National Park is beautiful, the Hacienda too, and the visit of the rose factory was also awsome. Great guide with great knowledge of everything.

Doing what: National Park of Cotopaxi Day Trip from Quito

Kirk L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour itself was great. El Andaluz an excellent hotel. Wilson was an excellent guide. I scheduled a rest day after I arrived as I did not get to the hotel til 2AM. At 9AM I called the Grayline to comfirm this tour for the next day. "We have NO record of a reservation!" I was picked up at the airport so had a reservation of that, and the whole trip was booked together. What happened to the 2 day tour??? I still don't know. The front desk guy made at least 4 calls to the Grayline office trying to get confirmation. At 5PM I called myself and was finally told that yes, they had me down but did not have confirmation for the train ride part of the tour. I said, "Look, you've had since February to get that. Get your act together!" I was told that the "other shift" made the reservation and did not record the info. This seemed to be the way they worked. The only time I was sure of anything was when I had an English speaking guide next to me and he was on his cell phone with the offricewas sure was when I

Doing what: 2-Day Andes Tour from Quito with Avenue of the Volcanoes Train Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message