Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Independence Plaza (Plaza de la Independencia)

Plaza de la Independencia, known as Plaza Grande to the locals, was Quito’s main square in the 16th century, serving as central market and bullfighting area. The plaza contains several important buildings: the Archbishop’s Palace to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a great experience. Our tour guide was excellent speaking fluent spanish and english. Would recommend this tour to anybody.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guide of great knowledge.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

GOOD GUIDE AND TOUR. FOOD EXCELLENT!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was good to ride with a true local person who was enthused to show you his city. This tour hits the highlights and the visit to the local market for an explanation of loach produce and to sit down and eat was a real treat. The food was excellent!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Well organised and William, our guide, ways friendly and knowledgeable. He had to work twice as hard, dispensing his knowledge in Spanish and English ... I was the only non-Spanish speaker on the trip. Thank you for helping to make my weekend in Quito such a good one.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful market and walk in Old Town; knowledgable and interesting guide (Pablo) and delicious lunch!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE ALL THE WAY ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS AS PABLO IS GREAT AND INFORMATIVE GUIDE.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable. Too much price for this 3 hour tour

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. William, the guide, was friendly and knowledgeable. The churches we visited were gorgeous -- especially la Compania. Don't miss that church. The add on visit to la al Mundo was worth the addition; I was glad I did it.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was fantastic and so knowledgeable. We would not have learned as much on our own.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

MrMino
Sweden

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting walking tour in a beautiful city witj a funny guide

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent!!! Guide was very kind and I learned a lot about quito

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was exceptionally well informed and connected with the local merchants so that he was able to provide some behind the scenes insider views of historic Quito.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had just arrived in South America and Quito was our first stop, so after several hours of intercontinental flight we wanted to start with something light, such as a city tour. This tour was ideal and the driver and guide were punctual, courteous and efficient. Since we were not yet used to the high altitudes they took good care of us. Recommended as a starting point to explore the area.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was informative but, more important, he was thoughtful about the needs of the group. He made certain that everyone was well served. Could not have been better.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent!! Tour guide - Huerta - made the tour. I recommend this tour on Mondays to see the. Hanging of the guard at the presidential palace. The visit to the colonial churches was the highlight for me.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We had a good trip, problem was there was a mix of languages being shared during the tour. We asked for english and on two different trips got spanish speaking guides, who gave us some english but mostly spanish.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Quito downtown is beautiful, but you can do the sightseeing on your own, since this was a walking tour and everything is very close to one another. I also did not like the fact that extra money was charged for the museum and other entrances. We felt 'nickled and dimed'!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a fabulous walking tour with an excellent guide! The visit to the Mercardo Santa Clara was really fun and we were able to try a number of delicious fruits. We got a real sense of the history of Quito while walking around the Old Town. The churches were beautiful and it was fun to experience them through the stories of our guide. An outdoor lunch was the perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour gave us a good feel for the history and heritage of Quito. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional. He seemed to enjoy sharing the city with us and made the time enjoyable.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommend this half day tour.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and well planned half-day tour in Old Quito. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Our guide was good. We had a good overall view of the Quito old city. Next day we went back to the city centre on our own and found a rather nice restaurant in Casa Gangotena where food was probably better than Zasu, and therefore I suggest lunch choice in front of San Francisco Plaza should be offered in our guided tour.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour itself was interesting. First stop was the Bascilica which was terrific. Then we went to the statue of the Virgin on the top of the hill (on a clear day) and it was beautiful. Then on to centro where we walked down 2-3 streets and were TOLD how nice they were and what interesting shops there were but everything was closed!!! After that we went into TOO MANY churches (4, I think). The guide was pleasant but his English was so poor that all of us barely understood him (2 Americans and 2 Canadians). We could only pick out the occasional English word. With no disrespect, I suggest that the guides practice their English skills with native English speakers before giving tours. I had been in Ecuador for 3.5 months already, so I was the only one who regularly understood (most of) what he was saying. The other tourists had just arrived and hadn't gotten used to how quickly the Spanish speak. All in all, the tour was good, but we relied on looking at things instead of learning what they meant. Also, while touring 3-4 churches in centro we were repeatedly told that there were other interesting things that we could come back and see on our own. That was disappointing as this was the main reason for taking a tour -- to have someone SAFELY take us to these interesting places!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message