• USD ($)
  • English

Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Middle of the World Monument (La Mitad del Mundo)

Who could resist the opportunity to visit the Middle of the World (Mitad del Mundo) and have your picture taken as you straddle the equator! This complex, built to commemorate the site where a French explorer calculated the world’s equatorial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

I am giving a 4-star for what it was meant to be but for the price, it should have included the visit to the In-Tin Yan (?) Museum in the tour instead of paying an extra $4, after all the visit to the Mitad del Mundo did not take a whole 30 minutes even after all the picture taking. Gabriel was very personable and we did not have any problem of him not translating for us because it was just the 3 of us, a private tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Standing on the equator was one of the main things I wanted to do in Ecuador! I'm a light weight nerd, so this was a real treat. Juan David was an excellent guide. He shared lots of good information with us. He really helped me with my Spanish. He was very patient! Thanks Juan.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

friendly guide, good English skills, very interesting. considering the amount we had already paid, it was a little disappointing we had to pay the entrance fee to the second spot, the gps determined 'middle of the world'.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour! Flexible guide. Showed me everything I wanted to see and gave a lot of extra information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour, also visited the true centre of the world as well as the official monument and that was very interesting and worth while

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was an informative tour to an important place I had never visited. I especialy liked the fact we got to visit both places - the main middle of the world monument and the more accurate one that was discovered after GPS came about. Also, there was some free time for shopping and looking around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Knowledgable guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Tour guide seemed to be in a rush . I had to ask tour guide to go close to monument to take pictures . We should have been escourted there . Guide spoke very broken English .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour itself, we took the version with lunch, was excellent and I highly recommend it to all. It was great to get outside the city for a little while. However, our guide was less than forthcoming about additional charges, not very interested in providing information of the city or the tours. It was more of a private car charter with someone arranging entrance and lunch. That being said, the Middle of the World is a must, and lunch at Pim's and the view from Pim's was worth the additional $$$.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

We had a one to one tour guide but she was not very good and obviously bored. Before going to the main monument we went to a smaller 'middle of the earth' attraction which was good but when we went to the main monument very little was explained to us and we were given no opportunity to visit inside the monument.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Was lucky to have an individual tour with a lovely young girl who could not have been nicer. She allowed me to go at my pace taking lots of pictures etc. It was a very interesting tour and I enjoyed all the experiments.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent! Could not have asked for a better experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

There's really not that much to see here, its more about the fun of actually having gone to the equator. I did really like the ethnic museum inside the monument, definitely worth checking out to better understand all the different Ecuadorian cultures. Otherwise straddle some hemispheres and take some photos!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Excellent guide! and excellent driver! The monument is well, mainly a photo op. but hey you have to go right? There are some odd but interesting displays by the monument including an insectarium and a small collection of pottery depicting the path of the sun. Don't forget to try the local ice cream on the way out. It is worth it! I would recommend spending the 3 dollars for the museum at the actual GPS equator, get past the decor and just experience it. The experiments on the actual equator line is the real draw including balancing an egg on a nail, trying to walk the equator without loosing your balance (it's harder than it sounds) and watching water go straight down a drain with no spin. The caldera near by offers spectacular views and is well worth stopping at. This offers the best scenery of the area and was my favorite stop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Awesome-a must do in Quito!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message