Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Mindo Rainforest

The Mindo-Nambillo Ecological Reserve is one of the most biologically diverse forests in the world. Its damp environs create a very special ecosystem that nourishes trees and plants and attracts an amazing variety of birds. Mindo’s mild and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catharine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to the museum at the Equator was very fun! There are a lot of options for things to do in the cloud forest. It was raining a bit, but we enjoyed the hike to the waterfall and the tour of the chocolate factory. We were traveling on New Years Eve, and on our way back into Quito our guide took us to the busiest road in Quito to participate in some of the New Years Eve traditions. He went out of his way to show us this experience. I would recommend this day trip for anyone wanting to see the Equator museum and the different landscape in the cloud forest.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

mer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Diego our tour guide was excellent!
Full of knowledge, eager to answer any questions, helpful and patient!
The drive to the cloud forest is long from Quito.
When we arrived we first stopped at the Butterfly Farm- Wow! So many beautiful butterflies!
Then off to the Cloud Forest hike. They said that there were falls at the end of of 75 minute hike.
We found out that you would have to climb down on ropes to see the falls. We opted not to do it as it had been raining and the trails were a bit slippery already.
Unfortunately, the culmination of the hike ends up in an area that has been visited by many. Trash was on the ground, and the facilities had bricks, pipes and other construction junk laying about.
Ecuador should be ashamed and clean it up!
Visit to the chocolate factory and tour Handmade Chocolate start to finish was amazing and delicious.
Then to the Orchid Garden which was very close to the Chocolate Factory.
Hugo , the owner guided us around the full Garden, pointing out so many different and beautiful Orchids for us to see. He held a magnifying glass for us to see all of the tiny details and to take pictures.
Hummingbirds of different types swarmed the area feeding on the feeders located within the garden.
We returned to Quito late in the afternoon after a very nice day.
Diego was absolutely incredible throughout the day, was a very safe driver, and took very good care of us. He is an expert guide, and pointed out animals everywhere throughout the day.
Thank you to Diego, for a memorable day in Ecuador!

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Amy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Kerry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Friendly and knowledgeable guide, flexibility on schedule and what to see etc. Recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

Geoff P New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ivan was great, new his stuff and made it interesting. Mindo was a great place to visit with lots of activities to do. I loved it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

ldellal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you have more time to spend in Mindo, it would be nice to spend a few days to really see the birds and nature. But if you don't, this tour packed a lot of things in one day. Great guides and drivers. There are some great views on the way through the mountains. I've visited several butterfly farms before, but the butterflies at the Mindo one were the "friendliest" I've encountered, and loved to land on you. The hike through the cloud forest first required travel across a valley in a little open cable car, a bit frightening but nice views. Interesting plants and birds were pointed out along the way (although since we were there around noon, the birds were not as active). The waterfall is beautiful at the end. The stop at the orchid house lets you see some very tiny orchids. Lunch at the restaurant included amazing views of many different types of hummingbirds and tanagers. A great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

Janice C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time. Really enjoyed the zip-lining!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

Paul K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This day trip did not deliver what we expected. We expected as it was billed bird watching in the cloud forest with visits to waterfalls. WE were picked up by both a driver and a guide in a 20 seat mini bus which was uncomfortable and for 2 people not appropriate. We needed only 1 driver/guide in a smaller SUV. When we arrived at Mindo we found out we visit only 1 water fall and that the bird watching turns out to be 2 hummingbird feeders at a butterfly farm and an orchid farm. At Mindo we picked up a local naturalist guide and another driver. The naturalist guide at least was very good. She pointed out the forest vegetation and helped look for birds as we walked to the waterfall. She identified the various hummingbirds we saw at the feeders for us whereas the guide as part of the excursion from Quito would only indicate hummingbirds! This excursion is not a bird watchers trip to the cloud forest but in reality a trip to Mindo and select a series of adventure activities and there is a strong push to select a chocolate factory which we had no interest in doing. One activity billed as a canopy experience was in reality zip lining. To us a canopy experience is a canopy walk. Overall we felt this trip was not as expected and extremely over priced for what we got. At half the price we paid we might have been satisfied.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

Paul K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This day trip did not deliver what we expected. We expected as it was billed bird watching in the cloud forest with visits to waterfalls. WE were picked up by both a driver and a guide in a 20 seat mini bus which was uncomfortable and for 2 people not appropriate. We needed only 1 driver/guide in a smaller SUV. When we arrived at Mindo we found out we visit only 1 water fall and that the bird watching turns out to be 2 hummingbird feeders at a butterfly farm and an orchid farm. At Mindo we picked up a local naturalist guide and another driver. The naturalist guide at least was very good. She pointed out the forest vegetation and helped look for birds as we walked to the waterfall. She identified the various hummingbirds we saw at the feeders for us whereas the guide as part of the excursion from Quito would only indicate hummingbirds! This excursion is not a bird watchers trip to the cloud forest but in reality a trip to Mindo and select a series of adventure activities and there is a strong push to select a chocolate factory which we had no interest in doing. One activity billed as a canopy experience was in reality zip lining. To us a canopy experience is a canopy walk. Overall we felt this trip was not as expected and extremely over priced for what we got. At half the price we paid we might have been satisfied.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message