Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Otavalo Marketplace

Nestled in a valley at the foot of a volcano, Otavalo is a highland community of indigenous locals famed for their weaving skills and colorful textiles. The local people (Otavaleños) who sell their wares at the daily market, wear ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour included lots of stops along the way that gave us insight into how the indigenous live. Very interesting and well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice day trip from Quito our guide Daniel was very informative. We especially enjoyed the Bizcochos and watching them being made.

Doing what: Otavalo Indigenous Market Day Trip from Quito

huppmeister

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Juan was a great tour leader. I really enjoyed the tour and beautiful scenery. The day was a lot of fun

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

michael a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceeded expectations in every way - enjoyable, informative and a day well spent.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Jaleesa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great bang for your buck.

Doing what: Otavalo Tour with Quito Tour Bus

Edward F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour primarily because it got us out of Quito and into the countryside. The Otavalo market itself is not outstanding during the week we were told is is much larger on Saturdays but our tour was on a Tuesday. Our guide was bilingual and was excellent at letting us know what all the sights and insights were as we cruised along. She also was flexible enough to allow us to stay at the market while the rest of the tour went along to another stop. Going into the tour I could not imagine how the biscuit stop could be special but it was with its impressive human assembly line and wood-fired oven. All in all it was a fine day in Ecuador.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Kathleen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Unfortunately we didn't speak Spanish and most of the guests on the bus were Spanish speaking. The guide was very well intended, but was limited on his English speaking ability, especially when answering questions.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

floridaeyesurgeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. The market was very interesting with great crafts and food. We would have liked more time there but we also enjoyed going to the Leather shops later that day.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Rhiannon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great- lots to do in a day but definitely get your money and #39;s worth!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

karen n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great day out of the city, really loved the visit to the shaman's house

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Ross M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable and interesting day. Liked the small group. Guide was great and provided enough time at each of the stops. Well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Angela R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

LOVED this tour! Our bilingual tour guide, Maria Alicia, was wonderful. There was so much packed into this day but it was lovely from start to finish. We made stops to see the Lago San Pablo San Pablo Lake, where the views are just breathtaking, we stopped to visit a local Shaman at Ilumán, a small town in the Imbabura province, we stopped at the famous Otavalo market of course and Cotacachi, known for its leather, and also in Peguche, where we learned about indigenous music of the Andes, we also stopped in a town famous for its bizcochos and watched how these treats are made. The only part I didn't love was the lunch, which we had pre-paid. We ate at La Marquesa restaurant in Cotacachi and it was pretty bad. We ate it because we were hungry but it was bland and greasy and just kind of gross. Even the fries were bad and it's hard to mess up fries. The other plates looked just as unappealing so I'm not sure it was an isolated thing. We would have been better off bringing a sandwich from home or eating elsewhere. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience. On our day it was a small group so we definitely got personal attention. Thank you Maria Alicia!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

L K D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Maria was excellent especially since she had to say everything twice spanish and English. We were given plenty of time to roam free around the market.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Yael P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour was more of a taxi to Otavelo than a tour
Later I understood from other travelers that there are more things to do in Otavello- like the animal market and I was disappointed by the superficial tour

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

MACRINA F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour would be better if there's extra time to explore the market in Otavalo and the leather stores in Cotacachi.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

gabymansour32

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

because of the guide Wilson.......simply fabulous

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I had wanted to go to Otavalo for a longtime, and this was a very good way to do so.I would, however, have liked to stop at the animal market as well, if only for an hour. We did have sufficient time at the craft market, the lunch stop was good, and the stop at the equator line a nice bonus. I don't know if the option of an included lunch was necessary. We signed up for it while everyone else on the bus paid a la carte which I actually would have preferred as there was just too much food for me as a lunch. I did appreciate the fact that the tour seemed well organized, on schedule, and informative.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

GREAT TOUR AND VERY INFORMATIVE GUIDE. MY ONLY RECOMMENDATION IS FOR THE GUIDE TO LEARN MORE ENGLISH SPEAKING SKILLS.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Nicholas L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Late bus, unable to go through the market for longer than an hour, poor timing

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an experience! Otavalo was incredible. The optional lunch in Cocapache was an excellent addition and Wilson was a good guide. be careful though, while they say they stop at Mitad al Mundo, it is not the place with the monument but a different location where the road crosses the equator.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Uwe R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

only a Little bit far away from town but was very good

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Joshua S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We were only allowed 1 hour and 15 mins in Otavalo which was very rushed. We didn't have a choice to stay behind in Otavalo when the tour went to Cotacachi. Would have much rather spent the time in Otavalo.

Overall the tour was good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Dianekay10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great time - travel host as well as driver were awesome. We saw everything and more of what we originally thought we would see.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Grims

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very pleased with the organization of the tour. Our guide Wilson was one of the best guides we came across in SouthAmerica, and the driver was calm when faced with mega traffic at times. The food at the chosen restaurant was of a good standard. We were given enough time at each location and enough tips and knowledge to make our way on our own when we felt like it. We definitely recommend this tour and this guide.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Linda M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Was disappointed that I had to make my own way to the pick up point! Highlight of this tour is obviously the Otavalo Marketplace. It was totally amazing. However, having under two hours actually there to wander around and explore definitely was not enough time. I had chosen the tour which included the optional lunch. When lunch was over I was asked to pay $17. Apparently only $10 was allowed for lunch!! No where in the description of this tour did it mention that this would be the case! Eventually the tour guide refunded the difference. It took over two hours to actually get out of Quito and its surrounds because the bus had to pick up around 10 other couples who were staying at various hotels - many not on time! Again, the same when people were dropped off! I had given the tour guide the number of the taxi driver who was to pick me up from the hotel, so that he could phone him and let him know the approximate arrival time. It was estimated that we should be arriving back at 5:30 p.m. My taxi driver waited from that time, till well past 7:30 p.m. because the tour guide neglected to phone him as promised! All that waiting for a $2 taxi fare! I was so grateful to this driver for not abandoning me - I graciously gave him a $20 tip!! The majority of the tour group were Spanish- only around 5 of us could not understand the language! I felt that the tour guide could have made more of an effort to speak in English as much as he spoke in Spanish to other people! On the whole I was extremely disappointed in the organisation of this particular tour! My fault in part because I do not like to travel in large groups and somehow should have done more research on this particular tour.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message