Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Otavalo Marketplace

Nestled in a valley at the foot of a volcano, Otavalo is a highland community of indigenous locals famed for their weaving skills and colorful textiles. The local people (Otavaleños) who sell their wares at the daily market, wear ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an experience! Otavalo was incredible. The optional lunch in Cocapache was an excellent addition and Wilson was a good guide. be careful though, while they say they stop at Mitad al Mundo, it is not the place with the monument but a different location where the road crosses the equator.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

only a Little bit far away from town but was very good

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We were only allowed 1 hour and 15 mins in Otavalo which was very rushed. We didn't have a choice to stay behind in Otavalo when the tour went to Cotacachi. Would have much rather spent the time in Otavalo.

Overall the tour was good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great time - travel host as well as driver were awesome. We saw everything and more of what we originally thought we would see.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very pleased with the organization of the tour. Our guide Wilson was one of the best guides we came across in SouthAmerica, and the driver was calm when faced with mega traffic at times. The food at the chosen restaurant was of a good standard. We were given enough time at each location and enough tips and knowledge to make our way on our own when we felt like it. We definitely recommend this tour and this guide.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Was disappointed that I had to make my own way to the pick up point! Highlight of this tour is obviously the Otavalo Marketplace. It was totally amazing. However, having under two hours actually there to wander around and explore definitely was not enough time. I had chosen the tour which included the optional lunch. When lunch was over I was asked to pay $17. Apparently only $10 was allowed for lunch!! No where in the description of this tour did it mention that this would be the case! Eventually the tour guide refunded the difference. It took over two hours to actually get out of Quito and its surrounds because the bus had to pick up around 10 other couples who were staying at various hotels - many not on time! Again, the same when people were dropped off! I had given the tour guide the number of the taxi driver who was to pick me up from the hotel, so that he could phone him and let him know the approximate arrival time. It was estimated that we should be arriving back at 5:30 p.m. My taxi driver waited from that time, till well past 7:30 p.m. because the tour guide neglected to phone him as promised! All that waiting for a $2 taxi fare! I was so grateful to this driver for not abandoning me - I graciously gave him a $20 tip!! The majority of the tour group were Spanish- only around 5 of us could not understand the language! I felt that the tour guide could have made more of an effort to speak in English as much as he spoke in Spanish to other people! On the whole I was extremely disappointed in the organisation of this particular tour! My fault in part because I do not like to travel in large groups and somehow should have done more research on this particular tour.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. Our guide, Gabriel, was informative and mindful of the group's needs. He provided assistance whenever required and was always engaged and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a small group of 11 - our tour leader spoke good English. The markets were great. The lunch stop and leather stop a little too long - perhaps a bit extra time at the markets

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The way to Otavalo market is pretty following part of the Andean range. I found the market very tourist like. People who would like to see a market have a choice to see the artisans market in Quito and then choose another tour.

Both tours I took, the personnel was attentive and experienced, very punctual and helpful. The quality manager was also very professional when I expressed my deception about the Cotopaxi tour, in all a very reliable company.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were about disappointed about the quality of the market and the wares. A lot of things but not enough variety. The tour was organized and well led; tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

First of all, I have no issues with the tour guide, driver, and bus facilities. The guide's English was so-so, but he tried hard to explain things. My problem lies with the destination itself, which is why the 1 star. No matter if the journey was comfortable; I paid to see the market and was unimpressed. Otavalo is a super hyped place, and I did not find anything in the market that is not available in Quito, for more or less the same prices. It was ridiculous and disappointing to spend so much money and 10 hours to visit a market that had nothing new to offer. 99% of the stalls are selling the same thing: textile materials and clothes. I was hoping to see some artisan work there, but nothing. I recommend shopping in Quito. Otavalo is not worth the money or effort.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time at the market was not long enough, the trip to the rose farm was unnecessary. It would be better to go straight to the market, followed by lunch then the rest of the programme if there is time to fit it all in - the whole point of the trip was to go to the market.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message