• USD ($)
  • English

Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Otavalo Marketplace

Nestled in a valley at the foot of a volcano, Otavalo is a highland community of indigenous locals famed for their weaving skills and colorful textiles. The local people (Otavaleños) who sell their wares at the daily market, wear ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic all day tour.Tour of of the rose green house where they export roses was great.We bought items at Otavalo market.Great trip.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the highlight of our Quito trip, I literally shopped till I dropped. Bring an extra suitcase so you can carry all your handmade bargains back home. The Ecuardorian lunch was excellent, and our tour guide William Torres exceptional. He even took us to the Equator and we did a muscle test, Wow!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The market was great, lots of nice things to buy for yourself and for gifts. Also interesting to meet Kichwa girls and hear them singing songs and explaining their dress. Other stops included a beautiful view of a volcano and lake, and Cotacachi for lunch and leather shops. Driving in the Andes you get some great views as well.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Disappointed we were only allowed to spend an hour at the market and far too much time at other places, the tour says Otavalo market so should have spent more time there! The lunch option was good, restaurant choice and menu offered something for all tastes.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It felt like a lot of driving to see a small market for tourists only... Our guide was great but the day itself was not really worth it.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour guide was very conscientious but as with so many of these guides never seem to know just when
to stop talking. Otavalo Market itself is fascinating and the Andean mountain scenery en route is just mind
blowing. However, as with so many of these organized tours there are the inevitable 45 min stops at craft
stores, leather shops and pre-selected restraint the guide selects. Without these distractions, this 10 hour
tour cut have been cut down to 6 hours.
Its worth doing if you want totally taken care of all the way.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour and day trip from Quito! Otavalo is a fascinating city and the market is well worth the visit. You can find some great deals here and it's all done locally by traditional Ecuadorian / Quechua families. If you have a day to spare, I'd recommend!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Was good except for the fact the driver didn't know where the bus registration was and we were delayed at a checkpoint for quite some time.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Estaban was an excellent guide. He made all the directions very clear and he kept tabs on everyone so they would all be at the right places at the right time. I was sick on the day my Otavalo trip was scheduled for (Saturday Market) so they allowed me to use my voucher to go on the same tour the following Tuesday. I did have a BIG problem discussing this change, however, because NO ONE AT THE TOUR OFFICE seemed to speak English. I would think an English speaking comapny like GreyLine would have English speaking phone answerers, but NO! My hotel desk clerk did his best to translate, but an easy change became an ALL DAY problem to try to solve on the phone. Tour great! Office staff zip!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The tour ended up being great, but it was a little confusing at first. I had purchased the 2-day tour, but it seems that Gray Line rarely does the 2-day version, and they needed to refer to the description that I had printed out to see what was included. Everyone else was only going for one day, so I ended up having a night at a nice lodge, but without anyone else from the group. The guide was great and provided me with a wonderful private tour the next day, which included everything advertised in the description. So, overall a good experience, but it might be better to just do the 1-day markets tour if you are traveling alone.

Doing what: 2-Day Markets Tour from Quito: Calderon, Otavalo and Cotacachi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I went on this tour expecting an organized buying trip! In reality I got a great introduction to Ecuador's indigenous culture. Tour was prompt, informative and well-paced. The Guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Otavalo market tour was great. The market area covers a large section of downtown and we had about two hours to shop around. Some great deals can be found and half the fun is in the bargaining. The restaurant we stopped for lunch was very good; the menu was quite large, waitstaff friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The trip was very varied and interesting. The guide (Javier) and driver (Patricio) were both excellent. The trip goes to a variety of sites all with something different to see.
I found it a little difficult to get an answer about the pick up time but that worked out fine in the end. The lunch venue was fine and we didn't choose the pre paid lunch option and were able to choose our own lunch.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message