• USD ($)
  • English

Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Otavalo Marketplace

Nestled in a valley at the foot of a volcano, Otavalo is a highland community of indigenous locals famed for their weaving skills and colorful textiles. The local people (Otavaleños) who sell their wares at the daily market, wear ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. Our guide, Gabriel, was informative and mindful of the group's needs. He provided assistance whenever required and was always engaged and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The way to Otavalo market is pretty following part of the Andean range. I found the market very tourist like. People who would like to see a market have a choice to see the artisans market in Quito and then choose another tour.

Both tours I took, the personnel was attentive and experienced, very punctual and helpful. The quality manager was also very professional when I expressed my deception about the Cotopaxi tour, in all a very reliable company.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were about disappointed about the quality of the market and the wares. A lot of things but not enough variety. The tour was organized and well led; tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

First of all, I have no issues with the tour guide, driver, and bus facilities. The guide's English was so-so, but he tried hard to explain things. My problem lies with the destination itself, which is why the 1 star. No matter if the journey was comfortable; I paid to see the market and was unimpressed. Otavalo is a super hyped place, and I did not find anything in the market that is not available in Quito, for more or less the same prices. It was ridiculous and disappointing to spend so much money and 10 hours to visit a market that had nothing new to offer. 99% of the stalls are selling the same thing: textile materials and clothes. I was hoping to see some artisan work there, but nothing. I recommend shopping in Quito. Otavalo is not worth the money or effort.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time at the market was not long enough, the trip to the rose farm was unnecessary. It would be better to go straight to the market, followed by lunch then the rest of the programme if there is time to fit it all in - the whole point of the trip was to go to the market.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic all day tour.Tour of of the rose green house where they export roses was great.We bought items at Otavalo market.Great trip.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the highlight of our Quito trip, I literally shopped till I dropped. Bring an extra suitcase so you can carry all your handmade bargains back home. The Ecuardorian lunch was excellent, and our tour guide William Torres exceptional. He even took us to the Equator and we did a muscle test, Wow!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The market was great, lots of nice things to buy for yourself and for gifts. Also interesting to meet Kichwa girls and hear them singing songs and explaining their dress. Other stops included a beautiful view of a volcano and lake, and Cotacachi for lunch and leather shops. Driving in the Andes you get some great views as well.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Disappointed we were only allowed to spend an hour at the market and far too much time at other places, the tour says Otavalo market so should have spent more time there! The lunch option was good, restaurant choice and menu offered something for all tastes.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It felt like a lot of driving to see a small market for tourists only... Our guide was great but the day itself was not really worth it.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour guide was very conscientious but as with so many of these guides never seem to know just when
to stop talking. Otavalo Market itself is fascinating and the Andean mountain scenery en route is just mind
blowing. However, as with so many of these organized tours there are the inevitable 45 min stops at craft
stores, leather shops and pre-selected restraint the guide selects. Without these distractions, this 10 hour
tour cut have been cut down to 6 hours.
Its worth doing if you want totally taken care of all the way.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour and day trip from Quito! Otavalo is a fascinating city and the market is well worth the visit. You can find some great deals here and it's all done locally by traditional Ecuadorian / Quechua families. If you have a day to spare, I'd recommend!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message