Nestled in a valley flanked by volcanoes and the snow-capped Andes, Quito isn’t shy about its scenery. In fact, it’s world-renowned for its beautiful location, climate and culture, thanks to its proximity to the equator and the controlled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

GOOD GUIDE AND TOUR. FOOD EXCELLENT!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guide of great knowledge.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jorge met us at the designated meeting place on time. On the journey to the market he provided information plus answered our many questions on Quito - economy, history, political climate, etc.
The market was extremely lively and interesting.
At the bakery we assisted with making some Ecuadorian quesadillas, then got to taste many delightful products along with hot chocolate.
At Graciella's we assisted with the making of empanada's and other items - all the time having our numerous questions answered plus learning about the Ecuadorian culture. Of course, we got to eat what we helped make plus more!
This tour was at the beginning of our stay in Ecuador and provided so much insight into local customs and cuisine. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides were fantastic and the spa exceeded our very high expectations! Would recommend this trip to anyone. So much fun, such a beautiful place, great food, and friendly people.

Doing what: Papallacta Thermal Center and Spa Tour from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was amazing!!! We began at the Quito market and spent quite some time there exploring and understanding the products of Ecuador. We then went to a bakery where we helped make and then enjoy
the delicious products they are famous for. We then were invited to a wonderful home in Quito where we experienced the cuisine ie empanandas' of all types!! Delicious!! Would definitely recommend and do this tour again!!!!

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful market and walk in Old Town; knowledgable and interesting guide (Pablo) and delicious lunch!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE ALL THE WAY ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS AS PABLO IS GREAT AND INFORMATIVE GUIDE.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was everything I had hoped for. I was picked up at my hotel by Byron, who was very amiable and knowledgeable. We visited a pastry shop, a meringue shop and then had a fabulous tipico ecuadorian lunch at the home of Graciella. Got to assist in some parts of the preparation and mostly see behind the scenes food preparation Ecuador. Along the way, Byron shared the history of Quito (and Ecuador), various viewpoints, the main center, churches and museums. I learned alot about the country from him, past and future and real enjoyed being immersed with the locals. I speak a little spanish, so this was also an opportunity for me to brush up. A terrific tour and highly recommend.

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved the colorful outfits, the music, the dances, everything!!

Doing what: Ecuadorian Folkloric Ballet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The combination of knowledgeable tour guides, safe drivers, and informative chefs made this tour a success! First, we visited a traditional, family owned Ecuadorian bakery and made quesadillas. Seeing the inside of their production kitchen was fascinating. Next we stopped at a candy store to watch the third generation owner make his specialty, a unique Ecuadorian treat! Finally, we spent time in the home kitchen of an accomplished chef making empanadas de morocho and pristinos. Lunch at her home was the perfect end to this wonderful tour. The opportunity to work side by side with these wonderful chefs made sure that I got a special view of the food of the region. Thanks very much to everyone involved!

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent!!! Guide was very kind and I learned a lot about quito

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was exceptionally well informed and connected with the local merchants so that he was able to provide some behind the scenes insider views of historic Quito.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Did this tour with my wonderful guide, Eddy. Accolades to the tour company - every trip that I did with Eddy had the personalised touch!! While I did pay a little extra for tours that I booked after this one, it was absolutely worth every cent!! They do not penalise you for being a solo traveller and double the price!!! Thank you so much Eddy and the travel company because the experiences you provided for me will stay in my heart forever - a truly unique, individual experience for me!! I will always remember Machachi, a little town where we had brunch on the way to Mindo Cloud Forest! How awesome is it to be the only tourist there!! Met two very special girls - great conversation with them both, Eddy as the interpreter. What a spectacular day! To arrive at Mindo early and be the only ones there - got to see toucans, hummingbirds, butterflies and actually hear the sounds of the forest! Thanks once again Eddy - Cotapaxi was also just as invigorating experience!!!! If I return someday - hopefully to visit Galápagos - definitely will be booking with the tour company!!!!!

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

an amazing day of history, culture, and great food. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a fabulous walking tour with an excellent guide! The visit to the Mercardo Santa Clara was really fun and we were able to try a number of delicious fruits. We got a real sense of the history of Quito while walking around the Old Town. The churches were beautiful and it was fun to experience them through the stories of our guide. An outdoor lunch was the perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Outstanding. However our tour guide spoke directly from a script. If he had kept quiet it would have been an even better day. He allowed us free time at the spa but was there if we had questions or if we needed an interpreter. Highly recommend this trip if you need a quiet, relaxing day.

Doing what: Papallacta Thermal Center and Spa Tour from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you have more time to spend in Mindo, it would be nice to spend a few days to really see the birds and nature. But if you don't, this tour packed a lot of things in one day. Great guides and drivers. There are some great views on the way through the mountains. I've visited several butterfly farms before, but the butterflies at the Mindo one were the "friendliest" I've encountered, and loved to land on you. The hike through the cloud forest first required travel across a valley in a little open cable car, a bit frightening but nice views. Interesting plants and birds were pointed out along the way (although since we were there around noon, the birds were not as active). The waterfall is beautiful at the end. The stop at the orchid house lets you see some very tiny orchids. Lunch at the restaurant included amazing views of many different types of hummingbirds and tanagers. A great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mindo Nambillo Cloud Forest Reserve from Quito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tour guide was fantastic. Lovely tour and lunch. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I REALLY enjoyed this tour and "class". Was lucky enough to be here both during the quieter "shoulder" season for tourists, and a few days before the Day of the Dead celebration. This meant that I was the only person on the tour and that I saw the bakers/cooks during special celebration preparations. Byron was friendly and easy to talk with and it was fun to see the "behind-the-scenes" of a very busy bakery and home catering business. What surprised me most was the amount of time we spent touring the beautiful historic district of Quito. Took a "city tour" the next day with a different tour group and it repeated quite a a number of stops. But Quito is so amazing, I was glad to have the leisure to enjoy it more completely. The third generation candy maker was maybe my favorite culinary stop. (My unplanned detour into a jewelry store was totally cool, too.) The food was fun and tasty and I think this cultural experience was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Quito Culinary Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour and guide!

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very informative and organized tour. Juan was great.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great guide who was born in the city and knew the small speacial places.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Byron was fun and informative as a guide.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Only one on the tour and it was great.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

Lucy G
Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

arrival transfer in Quito was like half of a Sight seeing tour. A very lovely english speaking girl gave me lots of information ; I appreciate it a lot because they were very useful .

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message