• USD ($)
  • English
The Inca originated in neighboring Peru, invading Ecuador in 1460, constructing massively fortified cities and introducing Quechua, the language still spoken today by indigenous Ecuadorians. The Inca era was extinguished following the arrival of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour gave us a good feel for the history and heritage of Quito. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional. He seemed to enjoy sharing the city with us and made the time enjoyable.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic all day tour.Tour of of the rose green house where they export roses was great.We bought items at Otavalo market.Great trip.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommend this half day tour.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and well planned half-day tour in Old Quito. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour itself was interesting. First stop was the Bascilica which was terrific. Then we went to the statue of the Virgin on the top of the hill (on a clear day) and it was beautiful. Then on to centro where we walked down 2-3 streets and were TOLD how nice they were and what interesting shops there were but everything was closed!!! After that we went into TOO MANY churches (4, I think). The guide was pleasant but his English was so poor that all of us barely understood him (2 Americans and 2 Canadians). We could only pick out the occasional English word. With no disrespect, I suggest that the guides practice their English skills with native English speakers before giving tours. I had been in Ecuador for 3.5 months already, so I was the only one who regularly understood (most of) what he was saying. The other tourists had just arrived and hadn't gotten used to how quickly the Spanish speak. All in all, the tour was good, but we relied on looking at things instead of learning what they meant. Also, while touring 3-4 churches in centro we were repeatedly told that there were other interesting things that we could come back and see on our own. That was disappointing as this was the main reason for taking a tour -- to have someone SAFELY take us to these interesting places!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the highlight of our Quito trip, I literally shopped till I dropped. Bring an extra suitcase so you can carry all your handmade bargains back home. The Ecuardorian lunch was excellent, and our tour guide William Torres exceptional. He even took us to the Equator and we did a muscle test, Wow!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The market was great, lots of nice things to buy for yourself and for gifts. Also interesting to meet Kichwa girls and hear them singing songs and explaining their dress. Other stops included a beautiful view of a volcano and lake, and Cotacachi for lunch and leather shops. Driving in the Andes you get some great views as well.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The most important sites in Quito are visited in the old city and you get a lot of the history as well. The insides of the churches are just amazing. The view of Quito from the hill with the Virgin of Quito statue is wonderful. We ended up adding on the Middle of the World tour, and we are glad we did. Great explanations of equatorial phenomenon at the museum, and the restaurant the group stopped at had some of the best traditional food we ate on our trip.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Disappointed we were only allowed to spend an hour at the market and far too much time at other places, the tour says Otavalo market so should have spent more time there! The lunch option was good, restaurant choice and menu offered something for all tastes.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The Tour was sold including complimentary hotel pick-up and drop off in Quito. This was not the case and we had to find our own way to where the tour began. When I mentioned this to the tour operator they said the issue was with Viator.
The Tour Guide did his best however I found his accent and understanding of english difficult to understand so although we saw places we weren't able to learn much.
Otherwise we enjoyed the tour but we would have liked to see the changing of the guard which was taking place.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It felt like a lot of driving to see a small market for tourists only... Our guide was great but the day itself was not really worth it.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour guide was very conscientious but as with so many of these guides never seem to know just when
to stop talking. Otavalo Market itself is fascinating and the Andean mountain scenery en route is just mind
blowing. However, as with so many of these organized tours there are the inevitable 45 min stops at craft
stores, leather shops and pre-selected restraint the guide selects. Without these distractions, this 10 hour
tour cut have been cut down to 6 hours.
Its worth doing if you want totally taken care of all the way.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour and day trip from Quito! Otavalo is a fascinating city and the market is well worth the visit. You can find some great deals here and it's all done locally by traditional Ecuadorian / Quechua families. If you have a day to spare, I'd recommend!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message