The Inca originated in neighboring Peru, invading Ecuador in 1460, constructing massively fortified cities and introducing Quechua, the language still spoken today by indigenous Ecuadorians. The Inca era was extinguished following the arrival of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

altlhough the building seemed a bit "nondescript", the show was fabulous !!

Doing what: Ecuadorian Folkloric Ballet

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

only a Little bit far away from town but was very good

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We were only allowed 1 hour and 15 mins in Otavalo which was very rushed. We didn't have a choice to stay behind in Otavalo when the tour went to Cotacachi. Would have much rather spent the time in Otavalo.

Overall the tour was good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great time - travel host as well as driver were awesome. We saw everything and more of what we originally thought we would see.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very pleased with the organization of the tour. Our guide Wilson was one of the best guides we came across in SouthAmerica, and the driver was calm when faced with mega traffic at times. The food at the chosen restaurant was of a good standard. We were given enough time at each location and enough tips and knowledge to make our way on our own when we felt like it. We definitely recommend this tour and this guide.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had just arrived in South America and Quito was our first stop, so after several hours of intercontinental flight we wanted to start with something light, such as a city tour. This tour was ideal and the driver and guide were punctual, courteous and efficient. Since we were not yet used to the high altitudes they took good care of us. Recommended as a starting point to explore the area.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Was disappointed that I had to make my own way to the pick up point! Highlight of this tour is obviously the Otavalo Marketplace. It was totally amazing. However, having under two hours actually there to wander around and explore definitely was not enough time. I had chosen the tour which included the optional lunch. When lunch was over I was asked to pay $17. Apparently only $10 was allowed for lunch!! No where in the description of this tour did it mention that this would be the case! Eventually the tour guide refunded the difference. It took over two hours to actually get out of Quito and its surrounds because the bus had to pick up around 10 other couples who were staying at various hotels - many not on time! Again, the same when people were dropped off! I had given the tour guide the number of the taxi driver who was to pick me up from the hotel, so that he could phone him and let him know the approximate arrival time. It was estimated that we should be arriving back at 5:30 p.m. My taxi driver waited from that time, till well past 7:30 p.m. because the tour guide neglected to phone him as promised! All that waiting for a $2 taxi fare! I was so grateful to this driver for not abandoning me - I graciously gave him a $20 tip!! The majority of the tour group were Spanish- only around 5 of us could not understand the language! I felt that the tour guide could have made more of an effort to speak in English as much as he spoke in Spanish to other people! On the whole I was extremely disappointed in the organisation of this particular tour! My fault in part because I do not like to travel in large groups and somehow should have done more research on this particular tour.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was informative but, more important, he was thoughtful about the needs of the group. He made certain that everyone was well served. Could not have been better.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. Our guide, Gabriel, was informative and mindful of the group's needs. He provided assistance whenever required and was always engaged and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a small group of 11 - our tour leader spoke good English. The markets were great. The lunch stop and leather stop a little too long - perhaps a bit extra time at the markets

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The way to Otavalo market is pretty following part of the Andean range. I found the market very tourist like. People who would like to see a market have a choice to see the artisans market in Quito and then choose another tour.

Both tours I took, the personnel was attentive and experienced, very punctual and helpful. The quality manager was also very professional when I expressed my deception about the Cotopaxi tour, in all a very reliable company.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent!! Tour guide - Huerta - made the tour. I recommend this tour on Mondays to see the. Hanging of the guard at the presidential palace. The visit to the colonial churches was the highlight for me.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were about disappointed about the quality of the market and the wares. A lot of things but not enough variety. The tour was organized and well led; tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We had a good trip, problem was there was a mix of languages being shared during the tour. We asked for english and on two different trips got spanish speaking guides, who gave us some english but mostly spanish.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message