• USD ($)
  • English

Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tommy our tour guide was friendly, entertaining, amusing and informative. The boat provided everything we needed to include lovely warm, weatherproof over suits. The refreshments were welcomed after a fabulous time watching hump backed wales, minkie wales and porpoise. A truly magical awesome and memorable trip. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Saw three different types of sea mammals, Harbor Porpoise, Dolphin, and Humpback Whale. Nice ship, good crew and the provided overwear was warm and comfortable. plenty of room to get to railings and get your pictures. Was within 25 ft of humpback.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An amazing tour! We were collected from our accommodation and driven to the harbour. We were lucky enough to spot a pod of killer whales within minutes of setting off and we followed them for 10 miles. The crew were brilliant, providing not only a passionate commentary but also sea sickness pills!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Went on the fast boat, it was quite rough even though it was a clear sunny day. Didn't get to see any whales though so we were invited to go again another day for free. We just made it back from the Blue Lagoon on our last day in time to get on the new biggest boat. Was much calmer but still didn't see any whales :(
Very impressed that we were again told we could go again for free in the future. I loved our time in Reykjavik and will very likely come back, and will definitely try to see whales again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great trip got to see some minky and dolphins,my expectations were to high thought i would see a whale like in the trip photo,use their warm gear its brill we were like toast all day

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We only saw a whale for a split second twice but dolphins played and swam by us for a good 15 minutes. Our guide was knowledgeable about the dolphins, sea birds, the area...all of it. She was great!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Brilliant, the weather was kind to us and we saw two Minky Whales and also Dolphins, wrap up warm as it does get cold but a lovely trip.

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had booked the 3.5 hour trip believing that the 2.5 hour trip meant that you spend a lot less time looking our for whales however its worth noting that you actually spend MORE time watching the whales on the 2.5 hour. This is because its a smaller boat almost like a speedboat and you get to the area for whale watching in about 15 minutes as opposed to 45 minutes on the 3.5 hour tour which goes very slowly!

On the first tour i went on, we had no luck in seeing any whales but we were given a free ticket to go on the tour another day. I went on the tour the following day and this time went on the 2.5 hour trip and saw a lot of Minke whales!

I'd definitely recommend the express 2.5 hour tour to anyone!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Julie R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

tour guide was brillant

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Without doubt one of the best tours we have taken, our guide was from Ireland and had lived in Iceland several years. He, with the captain, provided exceptional insight to the environmental impacts affection the birds and the birds themselves. The tour was not rushed and at a very nice pace to get close up and observe the birds.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Delayed due to poor weather we were unlucky to only see a whale tail in the distance.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Saw plenty of Minke whales! We were told that the humpbacks are only present for about 2 weeks per year. I'm not sure when exactly, but don't count on seeing them.
The guide was very friendly and informative and there was a great atmosphere on the boat.
It lasted for more like 2 hours than 2.5 but we had a successful trip so we were satisfied.
Also saw puffins! :D

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was fantastic! I was picked up at my hotel on time and taken to the docks where a very knowledgeable captain and guide took the small group to see the puffins. Make sure you have a camera with great zoom and/or binoculars to get the most from this trip. Return to my hotel was readily available upon docking. The driver, the same person who picked me up, was kind, courteous and extremely accommodating. I would choose this company over the other one I also used in Reykjavik in a heartbeat. They left me, literally, at the docks at the end of our tour and their "review site" link doesn't work. (Wonder why)

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message