Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Boris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a lot of fun Note...take your own high powered binocs and your zoom lens. Puffins are actually little birds! We got quite close to the island, but you can only get so close The tour guides were great! Very informative and amusing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Marilyn Kay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great puffin viewing, great, knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Erin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! There were so many puffins! Tour guide did a great job and was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Krisztina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had the two tour on one day, whale watching from 9, and puffin watching at 12:30. There were a 30min break between them. It is useful to pick up the receipts from the sales office, than use the viator voucher on the boats. The staff was very helpful, and kind!

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Katja A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great boat ride, nice tour guide.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quick and easy trip in Iceland. Great for a buys day. Professional staff and on time pick-up/drop-off. Thanks for a lovely trip

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Annebettiol_ca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour!
The crew is knowledgable and you get to see puffins.
If you are strapped for time this tour is an hour long .Enjoyed it

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seas were a little rough that day so we did not get as close as we wanted to the islands but that is the sea and nature. We did see a few Puffins but would have liked to see them closer. Hope to come back someday and do it again on a more leisurely schedule.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Christian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip loads of puffins very active.
Whales were amazing. Was exciting to see humpback and minke

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Pamela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I forgot to rate this trip on my previous review. I give it a 5 rating.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful, and interesting.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Mathew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

good team for the whALE WATCHING ON 29/07/15 espcecially Marcus who was very kind to kids and explaning things about Whales . he was also supportive to my three year old who was slightly sea sick despite having good weather . we were able to see humpback , MINKE and Killer Whales in one session.this was reported as very unsual by Marcus and Brendan.. good trip. i would recoomend it to anyone.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was just about as perfect as something can be. Weather was beautiful. The guide was informative, polite and competent. The puffins were just where they were supposed to be, just like the guide said they would be. We had a wonderful time. Cost was ok.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Hendrik M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour - very informative and great views of the birds!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Myron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip. Saw lots of Puffins and a seal. Relaxing and short trip. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

n3obu United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable. The weather could have been better, but we saw puffins which was the plan. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Irene USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to start off my stay in Iceland! Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, plus he kept pointing out locations where the puffins were sitting/flying so we wouldn't miss a thing. It was hard to capture these birds on camera but I'll always remember the experience regardless. I mean come on, where else would you get to see puffins?

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Phil P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really nice tour. Saw 100's of puffins and they're great.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide had exceptional knowledge on puffin and the birds in the bay. Excellent tour with closeup views

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. I had a great time seeing the puffins. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I just wish we were able to get closer to the island. It was very hard to see the puffins even with a zoom lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Catherine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative guide, nice boat and calm waters. We saw several puffins flying around- they are hard to catch on camera! We went to an island farther away than usual because that seemed to be where more puffins were- very thoughtful of the guide/ company to do that to maximize our puffin viewing.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to see the Puffins in the bay outside Reykjavik harbour. Very well organised and value for money.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

All went very smoothly and the operation is well organised. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about all the seabirds and he and the skipper of the boat took time to paint the bigger picture as well as making sure that we saw as much as we wanted of the main attraction, the Puffins. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Puffin Sightseeing Cruise

Garrett E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

They picked us up and dropped us back at hotel which was nice.
Good boat trip to see the puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message