Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The cruise was very good , the guide was trying his best that we will see as much whales as possible

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative guide, nice boat and calm waters. We saw several puffins flying around- they are hard to catch on camera! We went to an island farther away than usual because that seemed to be where more puffins were- very thoughtful of the guide/ company to do that to maximize our puffin viewing.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to see the Puffins in the bay outside Reykjavik harbour. Very well organised and value for money.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

All went very smoothly and the operation is well organised. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about all the seabirds and he and the skipper of the boat took time to paint the bigger picture as well as making sure that we saw as much as we wanted of the main attraction, the Puffins. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Puffin Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

They picked us up and dropped us back at hotel which was nice.
Good boat trip to see the puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very quick to save time for other sightseeing, nice boat ride, good explanation about the puffins, get very close to the 22,000 puffins that summer on the island. Good trip!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

happy we saw plenty of whales and some porpoises. obviously would have liked to see more. guide was good and made it interesting.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were lucky, we saw whales and dolphins, the crew were all knowledgeable and knew how to make sure we got the most from the trip, the overall they supplied were a welcome protection from the Icelandic winds,if you like wildlife a recommend trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip knowledgable staff on the boat, explaining about the puffins and then pointing out the burrows etc. we were out at the island for over 30 minutes but it seems such a short time as it was so interesting and the puffins are such unusual looking birds.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great. I loved seeing those cute little puffins. Just wished I could have seen them on land. Since it was early May they had not yet went ashore to lay their eggs. other then that I would do the tour again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Although the weather was not favorable when we took the tour, our tour guide was incredible. He gave us lots of information about these colorful birds. We also had the opportunity to just stop in the water and watch them run across the water until they flew off. We had a very small group - just 4 of us, which made this almost a private tour.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is a must do for any nature enthusiast.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message