• USD ($)
  • English

Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

They picked us up and dropped us back at hotel which was nice.
Good boat trip to see the puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very quick to save time for other sightseeing, nice boat ride, good explanation about the puffins, get very close to the 22,000 puffins that summer on the island. Good trip!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

happy we saw plenty of whales and some porpoises. obviously would have liked to see more. guide was good and made it interesting.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were lucky, we saw whales and dolphins, the crew were all knowledgeable and knew how to make sure we got the most from the trip, the overall they supplied were a welcome protection from the Icelandic winds,if you like wildlife a recommend trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip knowledgable staff on the boat, explaining about the puffins and then pointing out the burrows etc. we were out at the island for over 30 minutes but it seems such a short time as it was so interesting and the puffins are such unusual looking birds.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great. I loved seeing those cute little puffins. Just wished I could have seen them on land. Since it was early May they had not yet went ashore to lay their eggs. other then that I would do the tour again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Although the weather was not favorable when we took the tour, our tour guide was incredible. He gave us lots of information about these colorful birds. We also had the opportunity to just stop in the water and watch them run across the water until they flew off. We had a very small group - just 4 of us, which made this almost a private tour.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is a must do for any nature enthusiast.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tommy our tour guide was friendly, entertaining, amusing and informative. The boat provided everything we needed to include lovely warm, weatherproof over suits. The refreshments were welcomed after a fabulous time watching hump backed wales, minkie wales and porpoise. A truly magical awesome and memorable trip. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Saw three different types of sea mammals, Harbor Porpoise, Dolphin, and Humpback Whale. Nice ship, good crew and the provided overwear was warm and comfortable. plenty of room to get to railings and get your pictures. Was within 25 ft of humpback.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An amazing tour! We were collected from our accommodation and driven to the harbour. We were lucky enough to spot a pod of killer whales within minutes of setting off and we followed them for 10 miles. The crew were brilliant, providing not only a passionate commentary but also sea sickness pills!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Went on the fast boat, it was quite rough even though it was a clear sunny day. Didn't get to see any whales though so we were invited to go again another day for free. We just made it back from the Blue Lagoon on our last day in time to get on the new biggest boat. Was much calmer but still didn't see any whales :(
Very impressed that we were again told we could go again for free in the future. I loved our time in Reykjavik and will very likely come back, and will definitely try to see whales again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great trip got to see some minky and dolphins,my expectations were to high thought i would see a whale like in the trip photo,use their warm gear its brill we were like toast all day

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message