Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I forgot to rate this trip on my previous review. I give it a 5 rating.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful, and interesting.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

good team for the whALE WATCHING ON 29/07/15 espcecially Marcus who was very kind to kids and explaning things about Whales . he was also supportive to my three year old who was slightly sea sick despite having good weather . we were able to see humpback , MINKE and Killer Whales in one session.this was reported as very unsual by Marcus and Brendan.. good trip. i would recoomend it to anyone.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was just about as perfect as something can be. Weather was beautiful. The guide was informative, polite and competent. The puffins were just where they were supposed to be, just like the guide said they would be. We had a wonderful time. Cost was ok.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour - very informative and great views of the birds!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip. Saw lots of Puffins and a seal. Relaxing and short trip. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

n3obu
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable. The weather could have been better, but we saw puffins which was the plan. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to start off my stay in Iceland! Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, plus he kept pointing out locations where the puffins were sitting/flying so we wouldn't miss a thing. It was hard to capture these birds on camera but I'll always remember the experience regardless. I mean come on, where else would you get to see puffins?

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Phil P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really nice tour. Saw 100's of puffins and they're great.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide had exceptional knowledge on puffin and the birds in the bay. Excellent tour with closeup views

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. I had a great time seeing the puffins. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I just wish we were able to get closer to the island. It was very hard to see the puffins even with a zoom lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative guide, nice boat and calm waters. We saw several puffins flying around- they are hard to catch on camera! We went to an island farther away than usual because that seemed to be where more puffins were- very thoughtful of the guide/ company to do that to maximize our puffin viewing.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to see the Puffins in the bay outside Reykjavik harbour. Very well organised and value for money.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

They picked us up and dropped us back at hotel which was nice.
Good boat trip to see the puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very quick to save time for other sightseeing, nice boat ride, good explanation about the puffins, get very close to the 22,000 puffins that summer on the island. Good trip!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip knowledgable staff on the boat, explaining about the puffins and then pointing out the burrows etc. we were out at the island for over 30 minutes but it seems such a short time as it was so interesting and the puffins are such unusual looking birds.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great. I loved seeing those cute little puffins. Just wished I could have seen them on land. Since it was early May they had not yet went ashore to lay their eggs. other then that I would do the tour again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Although the weather was not favorable when we took the tour, our tour guide was incredible. He gave us lots of information about these colorful birds. We also had the opportunity to just stop in the water and watch them run across the water until they flew off. We had a very small group - just 4 of us, which made this almost a private tour.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Without doubt one of the best tours we have taken, our guide was from Ireland and had lived in Iceland several years. He, with the captain, provided exceptional insight to the environmental impacts affection the birds and the birds themselves. The tour was not rushed and at a very nice pace to get close up and observe the birds.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was fantastic! I was picked up at my hotel on time and taken to the docks where a very knowledgeable captain and guide took the small group to see the puffins. Make sure you have a camera with great zoom and/or binoculars to get the most from this trip. Return to my hotel was readily available upon docking. The driver, the same person who picked me up, was kind, courteous and extremely accommodating. I would choose this company over the other one I also used in Reykjavik in a heartbeat. They left me, literally, at the docks at the end of our tour and their "review site" link doesn't work. (Wonder why)

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Really good. We got pretty close to the island so it was easy to see the puffins. We also got really close to those in water. Apparently it helps if you go at high tide (so that the boat can get closer to the island), which is what we did.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I did this on my last morning in Iceland and it was a great way to end my trip. They give you binoculars to help see the puffins and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We got out on the whale boat and caught some brief glimpses, unfortunately a quiet day, but enjoyed the experience.
We missed the boat for the little puffins but that was our problem being too late.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message