Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing saw loads of Whales, there are full body thermal suits you can wear also which was really handy. I absorlutly loved it and missing Iceland loads. We had an amazing experience, the boat does get busy when you do see Whales and some people were rude but don't let it ruin your experience!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I ended up not taking the tour because of weather conditions, but the company offered me either to request a reimbursement via Viator or to join another tour. I took another tour they offered and all was fine!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Again, This tour was cheaper booking with this company, than going direct!!! Great experience and if you dont get to see and whale's etc they (local compnay) will let u re-book for free of charge. What more could you ask for..

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very friendly and professional staff. Although no whales seen, plenty of Dolphins and sea birds. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately this tour was cancelled due to bad weather. Company telephoned well in advanced to let us know and even contacted the hotel. Was told we could reschedule but unfortunately we had other things planned. However was informed to email viator who we booked with for a full. refund.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. Managed to spot a group of killer whales. Well looked after by the crew. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Totally amazing what a lovely sight

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

daggag21
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth doing

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide had exceptional knowledge on puffin and the birds in the bay. Excellent tour with closeup views

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing experience - we only saw one Minke whale but we also saw a basking Shark and several Dolphins. The crew and the commentary were both very good, the commentary being constant, so we knew what was what and where we were going; and the crew took the boat to where they thought there was activity and were clearly actively seeking out Whales for us to view. The boat was clean and comfortable, you could get a coffee or a tea, they had good wet gear that we could use (and we did) it kept us dry and warm and had pockets too so we were able to pop our cameras out of harms if needed! There were enough toilets too. Everyone was friendly and at the end the trip the young lady who was giving the commentary came round and showed us a couple of things and asked if we had any questions. My only regret is that would could not have stayed at sea for another couple of hours. Amazing.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. I had a great time seeing the puffins. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I just wish we were able to get closer to the island. It was very hard to see the puffins even with a zoom lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The cruise was very good , the guide was trying his best that we will see as much whales as possible

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative guide, nice boat and calm waters. We saw several puffins flying around- they are hard to catch on camera! We went to an island farther away than usual because that seemed to be where more puffins were- very thoughtful of the guide/ company to do that to maximize our puffin viewing.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to see the Puffins in the bay outside Reykjavik harbour. Very well organised and value for money.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message