The Blue Lagoon is a unique wonder of Iceland, a result of all that volcanic activity the small island is so famous for. In the middle of the weird and wonderful, flat black lava fields of the Svartsengi National Park, the huge, outdoor lagoon is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic day out! Really knowledgeable tour guide and the Blue Lagoon was amazing, along with the beautiful scenery on the Reykjanes Peninsula

Doing what: Reykjanes Peninsula and Blue Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall a good experience and I'm glad I did it.

If you're a serious rider, you may want to look for another riding tour because this one is only walk-trot even for the fast group. Additionally, I didn't know this, but apparently they don't vaccinate their horses so they do not want you to bring your riding boots or clothes. They do have rubber boots and rain gear.

The Blue Lagoon is very nice. I'd recommend a higher-tier package. I personally didn't feel I needed to spend much more than an hour in the lagoon, but I still would have liked to know ahead of time what the choices for return were and that we would be switching buses several times. This is not like one of the all-day tours where you get on and off the same bus.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You don't have to be an olympian, but you do have to be in pretty good physical shape to do this tour. On my tour we did have a couple of people who found the efforts to be very strenuous and near the end of the cave I was genuinely getting a bit worried about one person. On a scale of 1-5 in terms of exertion, I would say this tour is about a 3/4. You have to crawl, roll, and squeeze in and out of tight places. I exercise 5-7 times a week and even I was sore after this! That said I absolutely LOVED it. The formations created by nature almost looked man-made, they were that beautiful. I also loved the moment when our hilarious guide asked us to turn off all our helmet lights to experience the complete darkness. It was truly a unique and fascinating experience.

Afterwards, the trip to the Blue Lagoon was also fantastic. It is a pretty popular destination so I am not sure there is much for me to say about it that hasn't been said. Relaxing, fun, etc. I thought it was helpful that the guides gave you two departure times, you could leave at 7pm or 9pm to return to Reykjavik.

Doing what: Iceland from Below and Blue Lagoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Since these are wild animals, it's hard to predict if one will see them. We were treated to a great view of the bay area and an intro to Icelandic marine life, however.

The Blue Lagoon is well-worth the trip.

Doing what: Whale Watching and Blue Lagoon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Did Blue Lagoon visit and swim en route from hotel to airport for departure. Good way to see Blue Lagoon. My 'swim' was enjoyable. On advice from reviews I had brought my own towel. The entry arrangements at the Lagoon were very poor and the different queues for the different types of ticket were not clearly indicated. This resulted in such delay to enter that at one stage I thought I would not get in before having to leave for onward flight. Bus loads of tourists arrived at more or less the same time and there was chaos at the entry area. The spa authorities should make better arrangements

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We were grateful to aviator for informing us about the fact that you now have to pre book entry to the Blue Lagoon - some people arrived there and were bitterly disappointed not to be allowed in.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Relaxing tour. We had plenty of time with the horses. For Blue Lagoon, you can extend your stay longer. They're giving return time options.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour taking in most of the things you want to see. I only wish the blue lagoon part of the tour was at the end not the beginning as it would have been nice to spend longer there and relax after the long day. If I did it again I would probably not combine the two tours as it would be nice to just do the Blue Lagoon for a few hours rather than just under 2 hours there, with only one hour in the water

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Not very scenic. Almost a waste of time to a certain degree. The tour guide was informative and the Blue Lagoon was very good but the Reykjanes Peninsula was a little disappointing.

Doing what: Reykjanes Peninsula and Blue Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful Country! Unbelievalbe sights! We enjoyed the scenery, the Blue Lagoon, and learned
so much from our guide

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip horse riding! The horses were well suited to children and beginners. The area was pleasant to view and the staff very helpful and patient.

We had a lovely time at the Blue Lagoon. I would prefer that the entrance fee be included in this trip. I would definitely go back to ride the horses again. The Blue Lagoon is worth one visit as it is unique. I was happy with about 2-3 hours there.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

Phyllis
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good introduction to Reykjavik. Our guide was very good. We got to see several things that we wouldn't have been able to see on our own. If I had it to do over, I would not do the Blue Lagoon. I wasn't interested in swimming or any sort of spa treatment. So, we could only walk around by the smaller pools outside the spa area.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good and interesting tour. I split the Blue Lagoon tour from the city tour because I learned buses ran every hour and I wasnt interested in bathing--just seeing the lagoon. Used that time slot to take the glacier tunnel tour.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Blue Lagoon Spa is very famous tourists spot. It worth visiting. But the price is little expensive.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The blue lagoon was awesome! really was a unuseual experience! The bar in the middle of the lagoon was excellent! and the calmness and beautiful scenery was out of this word! The waterfalls tour was also excellent! The Gulfoss waterfall is one of the best things you will see!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Blue Lagoon was amazing and beautiful. Staff very helpful, run very impressively and very clean. Must visit!!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Would like to have spent more time at the Blue Lagoon - definitely the highlight! The Golden Circle tour was good although a few of the stops were not very interesting. The Geyser and Waterfall were the highlight,

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Horse tour: Totally fun, even in a blizzard! So nice, and welcoming. The horses are beautiful and well-trained. Plenty of warm weather gear. Snacks, warm drinks and hang time after. With the blizzard and 1st-time riders we didn't get past a trot. Fun tho!

Blue Lagoon - great! Bring a towel with you.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Just makes getting to the wonderful blue lagoon so easy!!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I thought it will be a continuous tour, but you have to be really quick from Blue Lagoon due to the bus schedule going back to the city for your gulfoss and geysir tour. If you want to save, then this is for you

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting to see the sights. Blue Lagoon was good, bring sunglasses and put on suncream even though it's going to get washed off!

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Very difficult to understand the guide, however I had read alot about the area so was realtively familiar with the history and geology of what we were seeing on the Gulfoss and Geysir portion. The Blue Lagoon was a worthwhile experience, however buying the entrance ticket ahead of time still resulted in standing in line for a good 20 minutes...perhaps the Lagoon Hosts would consider dedicating a staff person to the entrance to ensure that those with entrance tickets already can be directed to a dedicated Host/ counter. I LOVE iceland!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Bus service itself was very punctual and the driver seemed happy about his job. The blue Lagoon was nice. I would warn people to go first thing in the morning or wait until late afternoon to go. Around 11-2 it gets very very busy and it is hard to relax.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The blue lagoon is great - but they have hot spring swimming pools in town where the locals go that we only found out about after booking this. Apparently they too are relaxing and are half to a quarter of the price!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved the blue lagoon and the opportunity to see the natural wonders!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message