The Blue Lagoon is a unique wonder of Iceland, a result of all that volcanic activity the small island is so famous for. In the middle of the weird and wonderful, flat black lava fields of the Svartsengi National Park, the huge, outdoor lagoon is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organised, excellent value for money and enabled us to enjoy a whole day at the lagoon (well a good five hours anyway). Most of the organised blue lagoon tours only allow for about 1.5 hrs there - not enough time to indulge in an in-water massage or lunch. Definitely worthwhile!!

Doing what: Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Blue Lagoon Spa with Round-trip Transport

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was great, and was exactly what I was after, but communication from the local tour operator was non-existent! Pick-up at my hotel didn't go smoothly, and frankly, I'm not even sure I was on the right tour in the afternoon!

Either way, I had a good time, and if you do one thing in Iceland, it has to be the Blue Lagoon!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Catherine F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Ship was delayed docking and your local agents accomodated us on a later tour. The guide for Gulfoss and Geysir was excellent very informative and entertaining. A good long stop at the Blue Lagoon allowing us a long time for swimming.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour. Blue lagoon was wonderful, we were happy that we upgrade our package, to include drinks, bath towels and minerals. This was relaxing, clean and a pleasure to do. Also we bought our package on linevsonwe didn't have to wait in line. This was also a great idea. Our half day tour guide was great and gave us so much information on Iceland. We did bring something to eat on the bus, that was a good idea because food is expensive. Iceland was not disappointing. We would go back.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

great day tour with Jacob, who was so knowledgeable. Blue Lagoon is awesome!

Doing what: Reykjanes Peninsula and Blue Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had been to the Blue Lagoon before but usually on the way to the airport. This time I went to Reykjavik a day early so I could spend a leisurely day at the Blue Lagoon and come back to Reykjavik before going on a tour of North Iceland.

The coach picks you up at your hotel and takes you to the central bus station where, unfortunately, you have to get off and queue up to get a ticket for the Blue Lagoon coach. This isn't so bad if you don't have luggage but is a real nuisance if you do.

On arrival at the Blue Lagoon you queue up again to pay your entrance fee plus extra to rent a bathrobe, towel, swimsuit and flipflops if you don't bring your own. You can save a lot of money by bringing your own or doing without the bathrobe and flipflops. You get a wristband with a microchip in which locks your locker when you've changed and put your clothes in. If you want drinks or ice-creams at the pool bar they get charged to your microchip and you pay on the way out. After gettting changed into a swimsuit you then have to take it off again and shower with soap before getting into the pool as pools in Iceland aren't chlorinated.

I spent about an hour trying the various pools in the lagoon, including the very strong waterfall that's good for back pain. It is very powerful so be warned. Then I had a massage which they do on a pontoon in a special area at the end of the lagoon. They cover you with wet towels and keeping tipping you up to warm the towels (the water's heated to 37-42 degrees). After that I had a facial. Last time the facials were in a room near the relaxing area by the pool but now you have to go through the shop to get to them so it's as well to have a bathrobe and flipflops. You have to go back to reception to be guided to where the facials are. The massage and facial have to be pre-booked.

After you've changed you pay your bill and either eat in the restaurant or go out through the shop to the coach.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Prompt bus pick up from our hotel and journey to the Blue Lagoon. The driver gave us advice about how long we may want to stay which was a great help to us and I am glad that we took his advice. A super tour very well organised!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely amazing ! Must do activity! But make sure you stay at least 2 hours, as you will not want to leave the water. When you book your package to enter the Blue Lagoon,(a separate on-line booking) go for the full package and eat supper here as well. Otherwise you get into town too late to search out a restaurant and you will wish you had spent the time at the Lagoon. Loved this place and hope I get to return.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Transfer from Keflavik Airport

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour of Reykjavik, guide was very good. Blue Lagoon "Tour" would best be described as bus transportation to the Blue Lagoon. Didn't realize that Viator resells other companies' trips, but the logistics worked out okay.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great way to explore highlights of Iceland. The blue lagoon was wonderful as we're geysers and falls. Our guide was informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Not so good .We were in Blue lagoon in the morning and return to Reykjavik by bus around 1pm.The driver said the other bus is on the left .We look at the different buses on the parking but no one for Gulfoss and Geysir .So after 5- 7 mn we went to the office .Here somebody tell us that the bus was gone .We try to understand and finally the bus was passing on the street and wasn't on the parking!
The staff proposed an other solution at 4 pm. Some of us (we were 5)take that solution and the others stay in town.
The information provided by your company was not accurate and our last day in Iceland was not so good !!!
FYI it was on July 14 th.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Views were spectacular, horses were sweet and paired well according to level, instructors took great care to make sure we were comfortable and dry!
Blue Lagoon was beautiful and extremely kid friendly. Food options were very limited there though and you had to pay entrance fee and towel fee!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good way to see a lot of Iceland in a short time. The only thing is you feel a little rushed at each place. My family and I agree that we should have done a Golden Tour all day so we had more time at each location to really enjoy them and the Blue Lagoon another day. 2 hours at Blue Lagoon didn't seem worth the entry fee, it would have been more fun to stay there longer and experience all it had to offer.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Efi K
Greece

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The places visited in this tour itinerary are the most important ones to see if you have a full day in Reykjavik. This tour is recommended for someone who has a full day (ie from a cruise ship port call) and wants to see the essential surroundings which are a MUST, while if you have an extra day - or half day - I recomment you spend it in Reykjavik to walk around the city and also take the whale-watching boat tour for a couple of hours.
The Blue Lagoon arrival time of our bus was good (10.00 am), because there were still a few people there bathing, we had enough time to prepare, shower, bathe, dry and even enjoy our coffee till 12.00 for our departure. Around 11.30 am crowds from countless tour buses and cars started arriving there, so timing was fine for this visit, as well as for the next stops (that's if you didn't want to spend hours for shopping or lunch). It's a long tour altogether, with may places to visit and the schedule must be followed, in order to see all on time.
The only thing I didn't enjoy - and I mention this from a purely professional point of view being a qualified tourist guide and tourist guide trainer myself for Viator and elsewhere - was the guide of this Iceland tour, sorry!
I won't mention her name, although I know it, but I would say: Mentioning hundreds of numbers and dates and data and statistics, while guiding never helps anyone remember or enjoy a guided tour, eben if they are memory and math freaks! I really hope this review is constructive for her.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We went to the Blue Lagoon from our hotel directly after our overnight flight. The drivers in both directions were very helpful and gracious. The tour was just fine.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message