The Blue Lagoon is a unique wonder of Iceland, a result of all that volcanic activity the small island is so famous for. In the middle of the weird and wonderful, flat black lava fields of the Svartsengi National Park, the huge, outdoor lagoon is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 400 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sarahnoone18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was fantastic- the local tour operator timed the trip so that we arrived at the Blue Lagoon as it opened, which meant that it wasn't too busy, and I was able to watch the sunrise over the lagoon. The afternoon Golden Circle tour was beautiful. Very impressed by with the local organisation and value for money

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great trip and everything was as described. The Blue Lagoon was a totally different experience and lived up to my expectations

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Lynn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Brilliant transport, on time and comfortable. The Blue Lagoon was amazing!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

jonathan d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The blue lagoon is a must do. Eerie, atmospheric and ,oh, so relaxing. The geyser is fun and an unique photo opportunity. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved Blue Lagoon! I got the Comfort package but ended up upgrading to Premium. It was worth the money!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

kedwards01

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The Blue Lagoon itself was wonderful! We were not very fond of the Grayline service in which we were picked up at the hotel, dropped off at a bus station, forced to fight in line with hundreds of other guests for actual tickets then board another bus for the tour.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

georgina k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Blue Lagoon was one of the most relaxing experience's I've ever had the pools are very well run and service was great! You need at least 6 hours here as they have a lovely restaurant to have lunch but make sure you pre book before you go.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

E.J. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I seriously expected that this would not live up to the hype, that it would be a crowded tourist trap. And crowded it was, but there was plenty of room. The Blue Lagoon is beautiful and after spending upwards of an hour and a half in the lagoon, I felt like jelly and could have happily passed out anywhere. Thankfully, I instead opted for lunch at Lava and again, thinking that would be a tourist gimmick of a restaurant, was very much proven wrong. The food was amazing, the service was great. It was a crowd getting into the venue not the restaurant, though I encourage you to make reservations there just in case but it moved quickly. Locker rooms and showers were very clean and the staff was friendly. I would say though, buy your Blue Lagoon souvenirs at the airport. We were shocked at how much cheaper they were at the airport than at the BL itself. Also, we opted for the comfort package...I would recommend opting for -- if possible -- the next higher package where you get the robe, specifically if you're traveling in the winter time as we were. Have fun!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Hully

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Blue Lagoon is an amazing experience there is even a swim out bar where you can purchase a beer or wine and relax and enjoy your drink in the fantastic warm water

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

George C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Blue Lagoon was amazing. To relax in a lovely pool of water whilst theres snow on the ground to surreal. We missed the bus for the afternoon trip due to driver not changing his sign in the front of his bus but we had no problem getting back to Reykjavik and enjoying the capital again.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Jade M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Happy with the visit to the Blue Lagoon. Nice relaxing time.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

gp

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Guide was excellent on the Reykjavik leg of the tour, but without him the tour could have been a little too long as most things can be seen from walking round the city, it's quite a small capital city
The blue lagoon was well worth going to.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

Harold R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We loved the blue lagoon but the tour of rejavik in the dark of the morning was a bit if a waste of time and actually not much to see!

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

Michael s

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This tour was poorly navigated and organized. The hotel pick-up which you have to be ready for 30 min. before schedule, only picked us up and took us to the local bus station where we waited another 45 minutes for our ride to the stables. So we spent ALOT of time just waiting to get to the REAL ride to the stables. The driver was not particularly friendly nor informative. Once at the stables we waited for others to arrive. The horseback riding was nice, mainly to see the countryside, but the horses just line up and follow the same trail so not really horseback riding despite a video we watch on how to control the horses, at no point was it necessary to do anything regarding controlling the horse. They offered experienced riders a separate trail, my daughter has been riding off and on her whole life she lives in Kentucky if that tells you anything they gave her hard time because she doesn't own a horse. She just came with us rather than go with the less than friendly guides. After our ride we were shuttled to a bus which shuttled us to another bus which shuttled us to the Blue lagoon. The problem with this is there were only 3 buses back which ordinarily would have been fine, but we had scheduled a northern light dinner using the information on the website saying the minimum time for the tour was five hours. We believed them, added some leeway and figured we could easily be back for our dinner. The Minimum time for the trip was EIGHT hours because there were only set buses returning to Reykjavik. We arrived at 5:00 and the next bus was at 7:00 and it was a 45 minute ride back. We hurried thru our Blue lagoon experience quite lovely and a MUST see to get on the next bus. If I were planning this again, I would do the blue lagoon separately because these were really done seperately by the Viking group. It made no sense to combine the two when all they did was put you on city buses. Viator was great refunding our money for our missed dinner.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

elainedoyle1961

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

First time in Iceland for my husbands 50th in November. Was slightly on a budget so tried to condense as much into the three days on the least money so this trip was perfect. Perfect in every way. Weather was cold but beautiful snow covered mountins and trees everywhere. The whole day was amazing. Was picked up from our hotel at around 8.30 am and transfered to the 'big' coach - transport in iceland is fantastic by the way for most trips. Went straight to The Blue Lagoon which is a MUST for anyone visiting Iceland. It far out weighed the good reviews I had heard. We booked the Comfort trip which included a free drink - we chose Prosecco! whilst in the lagoon. Made us feel very luxurious. The water was simply amazing and bigger than expected. Entry was very slick. One tip.. ensure if you are going to wet your hair you coat it in the conditioner available otherwise you will end up with rats tails for days! after a glorious two hours - which was not long enough - we travelled on by coach to see the geysirs which were amazing. Opportunities to snack or eat were on one of the stops. Cannot reccommend this trip highly enough

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

cjaassociates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Blue Lagoon was heavenly and good for my soul! Definitely something to do more than once!

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Neil E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was wonderful to get to see all these places in a single day. I had a car but enjoyed letting someone else do the driving. We had plenty of time at the Blue Lagoon and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

rjrkearney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

BLUE Lagoon tour one of the highlights of the trip, worth booking and flexible return time's which is great!! Sightseeing tour informative and worthwhile despite adverse weather conditions during our tour.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

Joseph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very well organised tour and the Blue Lagoon itself is incredible. A must see.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Dympna K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Booked a combined Blue Lagoon and Golden Circle tour. This worked very well, and was enough time for both places. It would have been even better if we had been picked up from the Lagoon and continued straight on with the rest of the tour instead of going back to the depot and changing to another coach.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Alan N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The blue lagoon was brilliant the only downside was the transport, we stopped the bus as requested only to find it was full and had to wait another 20 mins in freezing conditions for the next one

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

gc_candles

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Iceland is an amazing place however the weather can be a bit temperamental. We were able to visit the Blue Lagoon however, due to inclimate weather, our Geysir Half-Day tour got cancelled. The Blue Lagoon was one of the most unique places I've been and the experience couldn't be any better. Who doesn't want to be in 90 degree water while it's only 20 degrees outside. It was a relaxing experience and I'll do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

dale77au

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Presidential Residence at Bessastadir is nice but not worth the five mins stayed against the time to get there. Perlan has great views over Reykjavík although some members of the tour were 20mins late returning to the bus so we waited and waited and waited waste of time. Didnt stop at Hofdi House drive by only - similarly a drive through of the University which is just a few non nondescript buildings. Drove past again not stopping one of the main attractions of the Harpa Concert Hall. Visited the Hallgrimskirkja Church stopped but not enough time to go up the tower with views better than the Pearlan and a visit to the old town centre again on the bus no stopping Also showed from a moving bus the outside of the sports area at Laugardalur which to be honest was just a journey to get back into the city from the Bus Depot out of town.

The tour stopped back at the semi-industrial depot where there is a budget supermarket, cafe and mini mall for the 1 hour to pass before the bus to the Blue Lagoon. Not much to do but eat and wait for the afternoon bus to arrive.

The Blue Lagoon about 45min drive is a tourist trap 20mins to get in through the lineup but as touristy as it is - it is actually worth it. Wasnt into the cliched touristy stuff - however glad I went as it was a unique experience and an enjoyable one. Most of the group returned at 515pm as that was more than sufficient for a soak etc and photos etc. It can be quite tiring after the hot bath soak.

Overall, the Reykjavik part of the trip could probably be better done on your own if you like walking and exploring - you get a better feel for the small city and are able to go up the church tour, visit the Concert Hall, roam around the compact downtown and two main tourist streets checking out the nice shops and the like. For the Blue Lagoon - definitely go and this afternoon part of the tour is probably the easiest way.

Doing what: Reykjavik Sightseeing and Blue Lagoon Tour

Alan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I would have given this trip 5 Stars but for the bus company who should have transported us to and from the blue lagoon , they got us there ok , coming back we went for the last bus which is 21:00 ,went we went to get on bus at 21:00 the coach driver said the coach was full which it was but there would be another coach in 10 minutes, me and my wife waited with 3 American tourist till 21.30 with no sign of any bus , luckily for us one of staff from the blue lagoon telephoned the
The Bus Company who then had to telephone another bus company whose last coach was still there to see if there was room for us luckily there was.

I would definitely recommend the Blue Lagoon its a great day out.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Kirsty L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The Blue Lagoon was paradise in every shape and form. Peaceful, tranquil and pure relaxation. However 3star rating due to the transport to and from the Lagoon. If you enjoy being picked up on a minibus to then go to a main depot and wait 30mins for other mini buses to join you so you can all get on the same bus then on return you visit everyone's hotel for drop off. It then became rather boring and not so relaxing anymore.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon Spa Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message