Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Circle Route

Iceland is spectacular and so is the Golden Circle Route. The wide open landscapes are like nothing you've ever seen before. Actively volcanic, this inland route is a mass of waterfalls, glaciers, geysers, lava fields, and, of course, those ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 877 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is kind of the quintessential Iceland tour that all visitors must do. I found our tour guide to be very knowledgable and fun. Geysir and Gulfoss were of course outstanding to witness in person. I will say, since this tour is so popular, multiple vans of people descend on the sites at once along with independent travelers and groups. So it is very touristy in that regard and can be a bit overwhelming. However, the only way to avoid that is to probably see the sites later in the evening. You simply can't leave Iceland without seeing Gulfoss.

One of my favorite things on the tour was the stop at Nesjavellir power plant. It gave me a greater understanding of how Iceland harnesses the power of the unique landscape. It was incredibly informative and fascinating. My other favorite thing was when our tour guide sang us a beautiful Icelandic song at Thingvellir!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bus pick-up and drop-off from my hotel was convenient and got things off to a good start. The driver was knowledgeable and helpful. Though it was rainy, there was plenty of light throughout the whole tour and we saw several places of interest and were able to get out for closer looks. I felt it was a good introduction to the country for my first brief visit.

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Dee Dee was a great guide, very knowledgeable and talented. Its a long itinerary but very enjoyable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent and comprehensive trip. Very comfortable coach, good timing, and excellent commentary.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour at 100 less than the cruise ship charged.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful trip! The walk between gorges was picturesque. Then you see waterfalls and geysers. The geyser went off every 5 minutes, so we saw it erupt 4 times, each time more magnificent than the previous time. We also visited an old church and saw lots of the landscape throughout the countryside. I recommend this trip. It gives you a great overview of Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Can't recommend this highly enough. Excellent sights, no crowds, very knowledgeable and helpful guide -- and all under the midnight sun! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite tour we did in Iceland. Our tour guide Gunna was very knowledgeable and friendly!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time in Reykjavik we were only there for 48 hours and with so much to see the only way to see as much as we did was with the day trip. Only thing I can see different was we did not know that the first stop at a gift shop and food bar was not where we were going for lunch, so we eat there and the food was not good. We would have waited and got some good food.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour to get an overview of Iceland in a short time. It is especially great for those with mobility issues.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Definitely worth doing , brilliant trip . So glad we did this trip in the evening as we didn't have to battle with crowds of people at the fabulous Gulfoss Falls and the Geysirs

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I was in Europe for two weeks and this was one of my favorite days! Loved the tour and Randy the tourguide was incredibly informative and obviously passionate about teaching us all about Iceland. Iceland is a beautiful place, if you only have a short time this is something you must do!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was really amazing! The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The experience was wonderful. even through the rough roads. The guide was helpful and accommodating.

Doing what: Best Golden Circle Tour by Super Jeep Including Glacier Snowmobiling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour and very informative.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great mixture of experiences in one day. The history and explanations form the guide were most interesting

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

First class all the way. This tour was fulfilled by the tour company who made all the stops advertised, but the advertisement doesn't do justice to everything you will see. The tour guide, Augusta, and driver, Olie, were excellent. Augusta pointed out items as the bus approached, so you were looking in advance for the spots where Game of Thrones were filmed, the valley with hot springs, the skiing cabin, a shield volcano, the largest lake in Iceland, etc. The bus made 6 stops. The first stop geothermal vents was very interesting, but I think it was included just to break up the sitting time on the bus. While it was a long day, it was really balanced between how long you visited attractions and how long you sat on the bus. We got out of the bus at Pingvellir and walked from the American side of a long cliff walled area towards the Eurasian side. I took lots of pictures and videos of Gulfoss, but they really don't do it justice. It is such a panoramic waterfall and it is not limited to the top level of falls that always appears in the published pictures. You'll want a hat. It's cold near the waterfall. The visit to Geysir was a lot of fun, Augusta had us touch a spot on the ground that was very warm and informed us that in a year it would become one of the thermal pools. Stryker kept erupting. It shot up 6 times in a 10 minute period which was very exciting. The geothermal power plant was added to the end of the tour and was as amazing and fascinating as the other attractions.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was great. They let me off downtown a mile from my hotel. Boo.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour - great driver and guide - much appreciated the details and humor and genuine friendliness - thanks - !!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Landscapes stunning, Worth it for the walk through rift valley. Could have done without the sagas on the coach and more about Iceland today.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely fantastic, and our guide was incredible. He made the whole trip, which was already incredible, that much better. Great way to experience so many different areas of Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and professional driver made us feel relaxed. A very enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great day, interesting to see the rural area, different to what we expected.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour group's size was good. Around 20+ people. The tour guide was a young chap who knows a lot and gave good information about Iceland. We benefited from the tour and truly enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful tour and a great way to see the popular sights in Iceland. We booked the evening Golden Circle Tour and had a great time experiencing spectacular sights with an insightful tour guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message