Gullfoss is a massive waterfall on the river Hvita which originates in the glacial lake Langjokull. Gullfoss means 'golden falls' because the glacial sediment in the water turns the falls golden in the sunlight. The water falls 105 feet (32 meters) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 825 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Truly fantastic tour, very comprehensive, exceptionally knowledgeable and personable guide!! I would definitely recommend it!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

In spite of the cool, sometimes rainy weather, the Golden Circle Tour was excellent. Our guide's English was easy to understand. She was knowledgable, whitty and charming. We'd done this tour before but found the sites and stories continue to amaze us. The final stop at the hydroelectric plant, while still interesting, it was not as good as the previous plant four years ago.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Already submitted review (above). There were 8 of us in the party.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb tour, Willy the guide was knowledgeable, funny and enthusiastic. Gullfoss and Geysir were the highlights, but the whole day was one to remember. Cannot rate it highly enough

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was very enjoyable. We had 8 travelers from 4 year old to senior citizen along, and there was something to be enjoyed by everyone.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As a first tome visitor to Iceland, I highly recommend this tour. It gives you a taste of everything from geysers and hot springs, to Iceland's viking history with a bit of the city thrown in for good measure. I particularly wanted to see where the country is spreading along the mid-atlantic ridge. Our tour guide was fantastic. She kept us informed and entertained between the various stops. Great tour

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Catherine F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Ship was delayed docking and your local agents accomodated us on a later tour. The guide for Gulfoss and Geysir was excellent very informative and entertaining. A good long stop at the Blue Lagoon allowing us a long time for swimming.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour. Blue lagoon was wonderful, we were happy that we upgrade our package, to include drinks, bath towels and minerals. This was relaxing, clean and a pleasure to do. Also we bought our package on linevsonwe didn't have to wait in line. This was also a great idea. Our half day tour guide was great and gave us so much information on Iceland. We did bring something to eat on the bus, that was a good idea because food is expensive. Iceland was not disappointing. We would go back.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Tour overall was very well organized even though it was not clear to us that the provider of the tour was a different tour company. We were waiting outside the ship and expected someone from Viator. The Gulfoss and Geysir were a great experience. The Tour guide was very knowledgeable of Iceland and highlights seen. We really enjoyed the Tour Guide he was excellent!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

we had a terrific trip, besides the tour it was also/mainly our guide linda. she was/is a "hell of a person", funny, informative, a great communicator.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Dee Dee our Tour Guide was an expert. She really made this tour enjoyable, informative and engaging. Some amazing sights and wonderful places. Excellent service and comfortable bus. Very good pick up and drop off service very reliable. Impressed.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a terrific guide, Arachna, who told us all about the culture and history of Iceland. Thingvellir was awesome. The stop at gullfoss was very good because there was lamb soup. The geyser was nice (faithfull). The geothermal field not that interesting. Would like to have seen something Viking.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great way to explore highlights of Iceland. The blue lagoon was wonderful as we're geysers and falls. Our guide was informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Recommend opting for the 1/2 day tour to see the key sites - waterfall and geyser. Rest of the trip was not very interesting, with too much time on the bus with 70+ people. Didn't realize that Viator resells other companies' trips, but the logistics worked out okay.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I felt completely rushed, so didn't get to explore as much as I'd like. But it's convenient, and the guide was nice.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message