• USD ($)
  • English
Gullfoss is a massive waterfall on the river Hvita which originates in the glacial lake Langjokull. Gullfoss means 'golden falls' because the glacial sediment in the water turns the falls golden in the sunlight. The water falls 105 feet (32 meters) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 800 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent with great guide

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great whistle stop tour that takes in all the major sites. The time spent at the site is enough to see all and take pictures. However if you'd like to dwell and really go at your own (slow) pace, this is not the tour for you.
Would recommenced bring a packed lunch.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent! The combination of a variety of outdoor and cultural features was a great introduction to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, the stops were beautiful, and the time spent at each stop was perfect. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a great way( not too energetic) to see some highlights of the Icelandic countryside, our guide was very informative and told some great stories, lots of stops for photos drinks etc.
This was a very good value for money tour (if you are cruising don't use the ships offering, this is much cheaper) and you are picked up and dropped off at the cruise port

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I was fascinated the whole time. If you printed an itinerary, it might help me remember the actual names of places. Please publicize somewhere that it is possible to stop at the Blue Lagoon on a shuttle bus trip in from the airport, stay for a while, and pick up another bus to Reykjavik. We might have been able to fit that into our schedule (which didn't have much time in it) if we had known about it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was fantastic, it gives you a very good idea of this wonderful country. Eventhough it is a very long journey you never get to be bored. I travelled with my kids and they enjoy it very much.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing experience, a must-do if you go to Iceland. The techtonic plates / parliament fields is the truly awesome. Tour guide was very informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was extremely knowledgable and interesting. We did have a few problems. First my husband especially had a hard time hearing her and at times I did too, especially intitially. I think this had to do with the noise of the bus and lack in the microphone and to some extent, the language barrier. One thing that could have been better, if you could have the tour guides have a flag so they could be seen. (There were many other tours at the same time and some had their own flags to keep them apart.) Also, our tour guide had a very obvious negative bias to Christian history. I think, although some of this is justified, she needs to realize that there are two sides to every story and also realize her audience may take offense. Overall, we rate the tour as very good. Cornelia Zuidema

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

thoroughly enjoyed this day trip.lots of interesting things to see and the guide and driver were both very informative.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

In retrospect, I would have chosen the shorter afternoon tour that skipped the church and the power plant. Those were yawners, although the major sites were great.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good way to see a lot of Iceland in a short time. The only thing is you feel a little rushed at each place. My family and I agree that we should have done a Golden Tour all day so we had more time at each location to really enjoy them and the Blue Lagoon another day. 2 hours at Blue Lagoon didn't seem worth the entry fee, it would have been more fun to stay there longer and experience all it had to offer.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Efi K
Greece

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The places visited in this tour itinerary are the most important ones to see if you have a full day in Reykjavik. This tour is recommended for someone who has a full day (ie from a cruise ship port call) and wants to see the essential surroundings which are a MUST, while if you have an extra day - or half day - I recomment you spend it in Reykjavik to walk around the city and also take the whale-watching boat tour for a couple of hours.
The Blue Lagoon arrival time of our bus was good (10.00 am), because there were still a few people there bathing, we had enough time to prepare, shower, bathe, dry and even enjoy our coffee till 12.00 for our departure. Around 11.30 am crowds from countless tour buses and cars started arriving there, so timing was fine for this visit, as well as for the next stops (that's if you didn't want to spend hours for shopping or lunch). It's a long tour altogether, with may places to visit and the schedule must be followed, in order to see all on time.
The only thing I didn't enjoy - and I mention this from a purely professional point of view being a qualified tourist guide and tourist guide trainer myself for Viator and elsewhere - was the guide of this Iceland tour, sorry!
I won't mention her name, although I know it, but I would say: Mentioning hundreds of numbers and dates and data and statistics, while guiding never helps anyone remember or enjoy a guided tour, eben if they are memory and math freaks! I really hope this review is constructive for her.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message