• USD ($)
  • English

Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Jokulsarlon Lagoon

The largest and best known of Iceland's glacial lakes, Jokulsarlon Lagoon is in the south of the country at the end of the Vatnajokull glacier. The lagoon first appeared around 1935 and has been growing ever since with the accelerating melting of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sabyasachi G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a 14 hour trip but its difficult to say I was tired.The journey on this road is like being in a parallel universe...black soil....blue oceans....white mountains....waterfalls every 100 metres....seals swimming in the glacial lagoon....blocks of ice on a black beach....a waterfall to go behind....an arctic tern flying in the distance.....Oh my God ....we loved every minute of it....fabulous stuff...South Iceland truly rocks!!!!!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely amazing. The glaciar was spectacular.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Definitely worth the price and time! This excursion was a birthday present for a friend ---- no better way to celebrate.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Although this is a long 14-hour day trip, it is well worth the hours on the coach to see the Lagoon. There are several stops along the way (technical stops, lunch and dinner) as well as several photo stops and waterfall views. A great tour!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Beautiful sceneries a must do in Iceland.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My tour was well guided and it was really impressive.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was superb and the tour guide was absolutely entertaining and informative. The bus was comfortable and the logistics were very easy.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour is loooooong, but well worth it. We learned so much about Iceland. The landscape is so varied and interesting. You really get a feel for the place. It's a nice way to see/learn a lot in a day.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour involves so many hours inside the coach, but the lagoon, the waterfalls and even all the landscape you can see through the window at any second of the tour are impressive!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The guide was nice and good; the trip was informative.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very long bus ride that was worth every minute. Seeing the southern coast of Iceland and the remoteness of it was like traveling back in time. Seeing the remains of the many floods throughout the area gives you a real perspective on the power of water. The Glacial Lagoon is spectacular!!!!!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Long journeys (10hrs return!!!), but the lagoon is JUST AMAZING! We loved it!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Or tour guide was amazing. She not only told us points of interest in tour but Iceland in general, food, culture, music, few saga's etc. I learnt more in the day trip then by reading travel books. Highly recommend trip to everyone.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

AMAZING!!!!!!! Our tour guide was STAR. so informative, patient and kind!!!! A must see, worth the drive!
very well organized, professional...
***** tipping is a must for them******

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I have to first start off by saying this trip was amazing! The scenery is spectacular and our tour guide Rakna(i hope im spelling this correctly) was so incredibly nice and informative. She taught us so much about the sights we were visiting and passing. She also told us Icelandic stories of the sagas, elves and trolls. We first visited a waterfall on our first stop and it was breathtaking. The lush green moss, mist of the foss(waterfall in Icelandic) was truly a sight. We then proceeded on towards the glacier lagoon. The scenery of the glaciers, volcanoes and taking the boat ride in the glacial lake was fantastic. We then proceeded back to Reykjavik, but as an added bonus the guide and driver decided to give us an extra trip to a scenic view of a glacial split and the black sand beach of Vik. Vik was hands down my favorite spot in Iceland. Hearing the crashing of the waves of the north atlantic, walking on the volcanic black sand, viewing the cliffs and taking in the fresh briny air was a little piece of heaven on earth. Then we visited another waterfall which was beautiful and back to Reykjavik. It might appear like a long day, but its not, the time flies by and theres ample food and bathroom stops. Overall, extremely recommended trip. Please dont miss this tour!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message