Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Jokulsarlon Lagoon

The largest and best known of Iceland's glacial lakes, Jokulsarlon Lagoon is in the south of the country at the end of the Vatnajokull glacier. The lagoon first appeared around 1935 and has been growing ever since with the accelerating melting of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sylvia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Glacier Lagoon was breathtaking...loved it. Only negative is it is a LONG trip but if you are prepared for that , it not a problem. Also make sure you prep with appropriate clothing it can be very cold and very wet.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Renate S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Although this trip makes for a very long day, the sights were incredible and our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

You spend most of he day on the coach and I did'nt realise the number of miles we needed to travel. Lagoon was out of this world!!! Due to the wind we did'nt get out on the boat which was very disappointing.
Waterfalls fantastic but one was visited at night so did'nt get real effect but did see The Northern Lights at this setting. Well worth the journey as it is a once in a life time experience.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Ian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day out - an absolute must if you visit Iceland.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lauren D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Incredible! Very well organised tour, very knowledgeable and informative tour guide, and AMAZING sights to see! We were extremely lucky with the weather, even seeing the northern lights on the drive back to Reykjavik. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour of Southern coast and waterfalls with finale of boat trip on glacial lagoon. Long day with many stops and terrific guide Brandon and safe driver Gisli.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Mrs Anne L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous, exceeded expectations! And we saw the Northern Lights on the return journey. Excellent tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Nitiwadee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a very smooth trip. The guide was really informative and friendly. She told us many interesting sagas behind the landscapes that we saw and lots of things about Icelandic people. The service was excellent. We were suppose to check in a different accommodation that day and we were worried about where to store our luggage. The driver offered to take it under the coach. That was really kind and unexpected.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Virginia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Gorgeous scenery and an anphibean to enter the lagoon was fun.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Seng-Lai T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great program and scenic stops. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a really fantastic trip which we were very happy to recommend to fellow travellers. The countryside which we saw was really spectacular but again was very rushed but can understand because of the distance involved. I think some of the toilet facilities need to be upgraded to handle more tourists as its frustrating standing in line when you really want to be taking photos.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

lsu_batgirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a wonderful tour. So many places to visit and see. The tour is very long but it is very worth it. We stopped every hour and a half to two hours to get out of the bus and walk around or eat. It definitely made the ride more manageable. My one tip is to sit on the left side of the bus on the way as it is the more scenic side with waterfalls, volcanoes, glaciers, sheep, etc. The right side is all ocean viewing and by the time you head back to Reykjavik it will start getting dark and you'll miss everything.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Geetanjali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent trip. The guide was really friendly and good. The whole trip had stunning views even though it was raining the whole day. I do have to mention that whatever the weather this is a must do trip. We were very satisfied with this day trip. Exhausting but very rewarding!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Gizelle Lou T Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful drive. Worth every penny. The guide was very nice and very good at his job.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Kaitlin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide spoke both German and English, and gave us plenty of time to enjoy the trip in addition to providing us with an overview of Icelandic history.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Cheryl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You must get a seat on the left hand side of this bus so you can take pictures on the way out, as all the best photo ops are on this side and by the time you head back from this 16 hour trip, it's dark and the weather has deteriorated. Loved the iceberg lagoon! Don't miss that!!!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Emma Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous. It is a long journey but well worth it. The tour guide explained all the logistics well to ensure everybody was on time. Would have loved to have spent more time there.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

rayNclaire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were hesitant to take on a 14-15 hour coach tour, but this proved our best option, rather than staying somewhere on the south coast. The tour gave great insight into the attractions of the Jokulsarlon glacial lagoon, the waterfalls at Selgafoss and Selgalandsfoss, Vik and the black beach.
It seemed odd, at first, that we drove past Selgalandsfoss in late morning, but it was a real highlight to see the vertical rainbows there with the sun on our backs in the evening. Our on water lagoon experience was memorable.
Our guide Christina was very informative and did a good job keeping the mood cheerful as the day got longer. Her advice re available food at meal stops was valuable.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anthony N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was our favourite tour even though it was such a long day.
The waterfalls and lava flows/remains were good but the glacier lagoon was the highlight.

Congratulations to your coach driver on this trip he did very well and had our complete confidence.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Phyllis United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was informative and entertaining. The best part was the ride on the glacial lagoon.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Benny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide Christina was excellent! U get to see 2 magnificent waterfalls n of course the incredible glacier lagoon with huge chunks of floating blue icebergs n black sand beach! Long tour almost 15 hrs but stopped for gd lunch n dinner... The drive along the south coast is beautiful

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

WAI HO JOHNNY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great! Stunning landscape all the way. Experienced and informative tour guide. Pretty good food for lunch and dinner stop as well!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message