When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Jakob and Fjalla were great guides, a lot of fun, very informative, and obviously enjoying the expedition as much as we were. The ice climbing makes you feel like a total badass even if you spend a lot of time flailing like I did. (Wear very stiff boots or rent them; my hiking boots did not work at all).

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was funny and engaging. You didn't see much of the brewery, but you got to sample about 5 different types of beer. Definitely worth the time to check this tour out!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definitely a must do tour! You get to see the glaciers from an entirely different perspective. The guides were great and took their time with you to make sure you were safe, but also got the most out of this adventure. Make sure you pack warm clothes to wear and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So much beer!! The ladies at the brewery were hilarious! Great tour and great times! This was a good tour to meet new people and share stories about Iceland.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful tour with very organized, knowledgeable and friendly guides. We hiked through a beautiful valley to get to the glacier and then spent about a couple of hours walking on the glacier and learning about all of its features. That day there was some difficulty in finding an appropriate ice climb but eventually one was found and it was a very exciting experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour, with Arctic Adventures, was a truly amazing adventure. With very knowledgeable and friendly guides we walked through a lava tube and then went snorkeling in Silfra in a fissure with one of the clearest waters in the world. Getting into a dry suit is not easy but definitely worth the effort!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best beer tour I've ever been on. Plenty of beer and a lot of laughs -- must do.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour -- our guides were very helpful and knowledgeable. Views were amazing and the hike was easy.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

daggag21
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth doing

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had to go 3 times before we saw some whales, but it was an experience! The crew is very friendly. You can ask them for seasickness pills. I would recommend to book this in the beginning of your trip so you can go again (for free) if you didn't get to see any whales. The chances of seeing a whale is bigger in the morning.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good not great. Large ship and saw Dolphins but no whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

After being rescheduled 3 times we finally did our tour on our last day in Reykjavik. It was short but still highly enjoyable - our pilot was friendly and knowledgable and being on the summit without the hike as fun :)

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic day, really enjoyed the experience but we felt it would have been good to have two or three attempts at the ice hiking rather than just one go as we both competed this in around one minute! Perhaps on different parts of the glacier to get a better experience.

Many thanks to all the guides - a good day.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Worth doing, once. It is worth seeing the whales - but views are likely to be limited and not comparable with a tv wildlife programme

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message