When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Jakob and Fjalla were great guides, a lot of fun, very informative, and obviously enjoying the expedition as much as we were. The ice climbing makes you feel like a total badass even if you spend a lot of time flailing like I did. (Wear very stiff boots or rent them; my hiking boots did not work at all).

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definitely a must do tour! You get to see the glaciers from an entirely different perspective. The guides were great and took their time with you to make sure you were safe, but also got the most out of this adventure. Make sure you pack warm clothes to wear and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful tour with very organized, knowledgeable and friendly guides. We hiked through a beautiful valley to get to the glacier and then spent about a couple of hours walking on the glacier and learning about all of its features. That day there was some difficulty in finding an appropriate ice climb but eventually one was found and it was a very exciting experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour, with Arctic Adventures, was a truly amazing adventure. With very knowledgeable and friendly guides we walked through a lava tube and then went snorkeling in Silfra in a fissure with one of the clearest waters in the world. Getting into a dry suit is not easy but definitely worth the effort!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had to go 3 times before we saw some whales, but it was an experience! The crew is very friendly. You can ask them for seasickness pills. I would recommend to book this in the beginning of your trip so you can go again (for free) if you didn't get to see any whales. The chances of seeing a whale is bigger in the morning.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Jacob and Palli were great guides! we felt safe with them out on the ice and climbing the wall! even through the mishaps (broken crampon, van stuck and team building to get it out :)) every one was in great spirits! the only issue we had was that we go, go, go and it's hard to stop for a minute, enjoy the scenery, and take pics. Wouldn't hurt to slow down just a smidge to enjoy the breathttaking views and wait for the slow folks (me! haha). Overall though it was great!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very thoughtful group and the snorkeling was very interesting. However, it would best for someone who wasn't over 60 . . . need to be nimble.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was an amazing experience however the weather was quite bad so we couldnt actually fly to mount Esja. This would have been fine but the helicopter company failed to tell us this. We only knew because the place we went to was only a 10 minute journey and was a small extinct volcano.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I hate to give anything 2 stars, but this trip really wasn't worth it. Yes we saw some whales. But there's nothing really that exciting about watching whales from very far away take a quick dive and then chasing them to see them reemerge from far away. They looked indistinguishable from dolphins from that distance. So, we saw nothing close up, nothing awe inspiring. Which of course is not the tour's fault. The issue is that they said this was a good and successful trip. If that's so, it's far from what my expectations were. NOTHING looked like the picture used to describe the trip. No close ups - just chasing down dark shadows in dreary weather. The tour guide was really funny, but the sense of humor was a bit crude and overly sarcastic. It worked for me, but might offend others. It was a nice boat ride with some wildlife spotting. Not an extraordinary experience by any means.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We did see loads of Minke Whales but were disappointed that the tour refused to use GPS to track the more uncommon whales

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was very disappointing, it is advertised as having a 95% success rating, This is very misleading, apparently there was a whale sighting on our tour, but no one saw it. At one point a staff person walked around with a book and showed the participants a picture of the whale that was sighted. It was long and quite boring.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Don't go if you have any problems with sea sickness. We were given anti-sickness tablets by the tour operator and almost everyone was throwing up within about 30 minutes. Didn't see a single whale either.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing experience - we only saw one Minke whale but we also saw a basking Shark and several Dolphins. The crew and the commentary were both very good, the commentary being constant, so we knew what was what and where we were going; and the crew took the boat to where they thought there was activity and were clearly actively seeking out Whales for us to view. The boat was clean and comfortable, you could get a coffee or a tea, they had good wet gear that we could use (and we did) it kept us dry and warm and had pockets too so we were able to pop our cameras out of harms if needed! There were enough toilets too. Everyone was friendly and at the end the trip the young lady who was giving the commentary came round and showed us a couple of things and asked if we had any questions. My only regret is that would could not have stayed at sea for another couple of hours. Amazing.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The cruise was very good , the guide was trying his best that we will see as much whales as possible

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message