When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour has been upgraded from Mt Esja Summit tour to the Geothermal Activity tour. I was contacted by the company in due time. The tour was absolutely amazing!!! It was my first time on a helicopter and, after the first quick introduction, off we went! The chance to see the amazing landscapes and nature of Iceland from the air was one of a kind experience. We have landed on a field where the guide has shown us different types of sources and where you could literally see hot steam shooting out of the ground. The guide has given us a lot of background informations about the geological structure of Iceland and the way the geothermal activity is used to produce energy. I would definitely do the tour again and would recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well run tour. Friendly and talkative crew and guides. Tour is quite short. Though the boat gets close to the island, the are fairly small birds so bring binoculars or a good camera. No need to book ahead - there are several boats running this tour throughout the day.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We did not have much luck with the weather as it started raining in the middle of the tour. We did see some whales, but I guess my expectations were a bit too high compared to reality. All in all, definitely an interesting experience.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Nice though very short excursion around the small island which is actually very close to the bay. Very informative guide.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were lucky, we saw whales and dolphins, the crew were all knowledgeable and knew how to make sure we got the most from the trip, the overall they supplied were a welcome protection from the Icelandic winds,if you like wildlife a recommend trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The main guide was very active and obviously new her stuff happy to talk individually to you through out the trip. We were lucky enough to see a humpback which was so special.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

happy we saw plenty of whales and some porpoises. obviously would have liked to see more. guide was good and made it interesting.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very quick to save time for other sightseeing, nice boat ride, good explanation about the puffins, get very close to the 22,000 puffins that summer on the island. Good trip!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

They picked us up and dropped us back at hotel which was nice.
Good boat trip to see the puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely breathtaking scenery!!! Stunning views!!! Hike was not strenuous, went along streams and geysers and hot pools, green valleys and volcanic rock - this is a "must do" in Iceland!!! Hiking shoes are best for this one, a lunch, and a bathing suit - yes - those hot pools are the perfect temp!!! Loved it!!!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Valdi and Steve gave us a great tour. There were only 11 of us on this small tour which was a perfect size. We were picked up at our rental apartment just as the others were on this tour. Also dropped off several hours later at our apartment.

We did a few tours and this was the best of the bunch, not only were our guides very nice but also very knowledgable of the area and loved to get questions from us. Valdi is also a big fan of bad jokes so make sure you have a couple of bad jokes ready to share.

We spent a couple of hours on the glacier which took about 2 hours to get there but well worth the drive. The ice wall climb was only about 30 feet but a very cool experience and a must do. This was my first ice wall climb.

If you don't have sturdy hiking boots you can rent them there, all other gear is supplied free of charge.

I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was incredible. The tour guides were fun and knowledgeable. You do not need to be experienced to do this tour. My mother (age 58) was able to hike with no problem and she is as beginner as they come! You do not have to participate in ice climbing, but I highly recommend that you try!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Even though I am not a "birder", this was a most enjoyable and fascinating cruise. Once we left the harbor and rounded the bend, not too far off were these adorable little creatures just floating in the water; almost waiting for our arrival. We could see there "burrows" up on the island and there were many just perched up there looking down. They are sort of a curious little bird. The guide was an Australian who was extremely knowledgeable about these creatures and was at the ready to answer any and all questions. On the way back to the harbor, we were lucky enough to see just the tail of a whale! This was a complete surprise, to say the least. It is only an hour long and just right for someone like myself who is not into birding and is not too comfortable on a small boat. Definitely worth the time and money!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Punctual. Friendly and knowledgable guides. Overall a good experience.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message