When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing experience - we only saw one Minke whale but we also saw a basking Shark and several Dolphins. The crew and the commentary were both very good, the commentary being constant, so we knew what was what and where we were going; and the crew took the boat to where they thought there was activity and were clearly actively seeking out Whales for us to view. The boat was clean and comfortable, you could get a coffee or a tea, they had good wet gear that we could use (and we did) it kept us dry and warm and had pockets too so we were able to pop our cameras out of harms if needed! There were enough toilets too. Everyone was friendly and at the end the trip the young lady who was giving the commentary came round and showed us a couple of things and asked if we had any questions. My only regret is that would could not have stayed at sea for another couple of hours. Amazing.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The cruise was very good , the guide was trying his best that we will see as much whales as possible

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide, very funny instructors, and wonderful tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide, very funny instructors, and wonderful tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. I had a great time seeing the puffins. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I just wish we were able to get closer to the island. It was very hard to see the puffins even with a zoom lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide had exceptional knowledge on puffin and the birds in the bay. Excellent tour with closeup views

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I sat in the front and had a great view. Landed on a large hill, don't think it was actually the summit of Mt. Esja but the weather was cold, cloudy, and luckily the rain stopped so the flight wasn't canceled. Hovered over cool volcanoes and rifts in the Earth. Then zipped around the city nice and low and got great photos.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I went at the tail-end of the season (early August), and there were plenty of puffins! woo hoo! I got to see a chick as well, so that was cool and unusual. You don't get too close in to them, though--the closest was when some were on water, about 15-25 feet away. The ones on land are much further away, you pretty much need binos (provided by the company) to see them well. It's worth the price, overall.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

great tour of local islands to see birds. it was late in the year for many of the birds. the tour guide kept us interested and engaged as we sailed along. good tour to take from a ship, as it is short and pretty much guarantees a return before the ship leaves.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

First boat I was on canceled due to the engine not starting. Got on the bigger boat 2 hours later and it worked fine. Saw some Minke whales and many porpoises, even a few puffins flying around. Tough time looking around to see the whales when they pop up briefly, and many people get in your way on the boat.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good but would have benefited from more time and getting closer to the puffins, if at all possible. More binoculars would also have been useful.
The biggest problem was finding the starting point as there was no pick up from the hotel as promised.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

A longer boat trip would have been better. It would be good to be able to land on an island to walk among the puffins. I am from the UK and we can do this on Skomer Island. The puffins are very tame and come out of their burrows and stand right in front of you.

The commentary on the puffin cruise was excellent.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Personnel and ship were fine. I anticipated seeing much more than we did see. Not sure if they use radio contact with other ships to assure that a significant number and type of whales will be seen. We saw about 6-8 dolphins near the ship, 2 minke whales a considerable distance away from the ship, arctic terns flying about and a few puffins at one spot. Appreciated the food and drink available. Perhaps the time of year was not right for sighting different species of whales and significant numbers. If so, the trip should not be offered.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour has been upgraded from Mt Esja Summit tour to the Geothermal Activity tour. I was contacted by the company in due time. The tour was absolutely amazing!!! It was my first time on a helicopter and, after the first quick introduction, off we went! The chance to see the amazing landscapes and nature of Iceland from the air was one of a kind experience. We have landed on a field where the guide has shown us different types of sources and where you could literally see hot steam shooting out of the ground. The guide has given us a lot of background informations about the geological structure of Iceland and the way the geothermal activity is used to produce energy. I would definitely do the tour again and would recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message