When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 724 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We managed to see many whales! it was an amazing experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Craig Hadfield United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dee Dee was such a fantastic guide, so enthusiastic and made me laugh most of the day. She knew everything there is worth knowing and really made the tour. Saw some fantastic locations, right out of the series. Can't recommend enough!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Jessica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I would fully recommend this tour. We had such an amazing time the highlight of my trip and were lucky to see many different species of wildlife. We saw: porpoises, puffins, white-beaked dolphins, minke whales and an orca killer whale! We were so so lucky to be able to see a killer whale in the wild, such a beautiful animal it made me cry! The guides were very informative, friendly and funny. When an animal was spotted they always made sure everybody could see and we all had great views from the front of the boat. Overall, I would fully recommend this trip. Thank you for making our trip to Iceland wonderful!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Theresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a magical way to spend the afternoon! We experienced multiple sightings of hump-backed whales with expert guidance from the crew. A truly memorable tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Judith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seating was acceptably comfortable. Staff were friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful, etc. Boat is clean, toilets clean and plentiful. We viewed minke whales, various species of dolphin, puffins,and got up close and personal with a humpback! Pilot handled boat expertly, so as not to startle the animals, as well as ensuring that the ride was as calm as possible. Snacks were a little pricey, but included sandwiches and real food, not just chips and candy.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Katie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour! So much beer and many laughs. Fantastic time!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Grace B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! It was slightly more challenging than the previous reviews suggest in my opinion. There was a little bit more squeezing through tight spaces and crawling than I expected. Lenas was an excellent guide and made me feel very safe. He gave us the option to not persist with the 2nd half of the cave, which involved more crawling and small spaces than the first half. It was really interesting seeing Iceland from below! However, I wouldn't recommend this one if you have back or knee problems or if you're claustrophobic or afraid of the dark! We really enjoyed it :

Doing what: Lava Caving at Leidarendi with Transport from Reykjavik

Gavin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such an awesome day out! Rich did an awesome job of guiding us throughout the day and Mike took great care of us in the water.
Snorkelling through the tectonic rift was a beautiful and surreal experience, I'm recommending it to everyone I know going to Iceland.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Christopher A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Dee Dee I believe? was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Amazing tour.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seas were a little rough that day so we did not get as close as we wanted to the islands but that is the sea and nature. We did see a few Puffins but would have liked to see them closer. Hope to come back someday and do it again on a more leisurely schedule.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The food was delicious. The waterfall and geyser were great! Had a wonderful and informative tour!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

Stefani S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was hesitant on booking this tour, and let me tell you I am SO glad we did it!! This tour was unlike any other brewery tour, our guide was absolutely hilarious and interacted with everyone. She made learning history while tasting beer so much fun. It was our first day in Iceland, it was a great way to spend our first night and start our trip. When the tour was over we all ended up being dropped off in downtown to continue the drinking with our new friends. Very fun, very worth it - I highly recommend.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Leo D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great introduction to Icelandic beer and a pretty humorous drunk history of Iceland's booze trade with Spain and their years of prohibition. Definitely use a taxi or shuttle to get to/from the brewery. Iceland's DUI laws are very strict and you'll stumble out of this tour.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

ANDREAETTA J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

lala

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a friendly young man named Richard for our guide. He was very informed about the are we were traveling through and had fun stories to tell. We started with the caving. We had to walk a short distance across the lava fields to the cave entrance. The temp. was only 34 degrees, but inside the cave wasn't bad. After a slide down the snowbank with the help of a rope, we were ready. You started out walking, but at times you were crawling on all fours. Richard had fun stories about the trolls and elves. Dress warmly and bring gloves, they help as you are crawling over the rocks. then onto the snorkeling. The people gearing us up were patient and supportive. Julia and Cathy were our in water guides, reassuring us all the way. The water temp and air temp were the same 34 degrees so pretty chilly. The initial shock into the water took your breath away, but acclimated quickly. The underwater scenery is fantastic! as you float through a narrow channel you can touch both the Eurasian and American sides of the tectonic plates. A waterproof camera is a must for all there is to see. Also the hilarious pics of gearing up and stripping down afterwards. I would recommend doing this during warmer months if the cold bothers you at all.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Charlotte R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Look for the Special Tours sign in Old Harbor. Its not clear on this site but that is who this tour is with. Its across the street from a great lunch place, Ramen Momo. We saw humpback whales, minke whales, and porpoises. Even with the warm suit, dress like you're going to be the coldest you've ever been. You won't get wet though. It was a choppy day so we got a complimentary sea sickness pill which really helped. Maria was one of our staff members and she did a great job at making sure we saw everything and knew what we were looking at.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Booked as a last minute thing after actually seeing whales from the plane when coming in to land. Prompt hotel pickup make sure you call the day before to get times and we were took to the boat. Very large boat and was only half full which meant we had a very relaxed trip. After an hour we spotted a whale and went towards it, it was only tail in water nothing like the image to promote the tour but it was a whale. About 30 minutes later we saw two whales and the boat was able to get almost next to them, it was great, one swam under the boat and came up for air right next to us. The guides where very excitable about the whole trip. You can purchase drinks and chocolate bars etc on board, they have WIFI not that is so important and if you want them free jackets to keep warm. A very good trip!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

jhaake

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I rate it a 2, not because of the crew, but because I didn't get to see any lights. I had thought from reading the description that we were to be taken out to sea more, away from city lights as they directly state. What we ended up doing was going out to the bay. This would have been fine, despite seeing lights from the city. However, the bay was the only place that had cloud cover. The ocean was clear and so was the city.

So I feel that the description was inaccurate.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Amina M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We paid a very expensive Whale Watching tour to see no whales...
There are no whales there and we have paid for a service we have not received.
This tour is a real fake, I don't suggest anyone to go.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Guy W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best beer tour... ever!!!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

These tours, like everything we did in Reykjavik, were really well organized and friendly. The boats provide coveralls to keep you warm - these are 1 very needed and 2 in good condition - make sure you wear plenty of layers as well though.

The trip only runs if there's at least some chance you'll see lights. We got super lucky and went out on a night when there was a truly awesome northern lights show. Obviously, there's nothing anyone can do to guarantee you get to see them, but I really got the impression that effort was being made to ensure we got the best possible experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

ERIKA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazingly hilarious. Learned tons about history and beer while tasting it all. Honestly, it's like showing up at your best friend's bar, laughing a lot and getting constant free refills. Best experience of trip so far. Can't recommend it enough. The beer was insanely tasty.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Christian Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guides were friendly and very knowledgeable of the glaciers.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message