When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Jacob and Palli were great guides! we felt safe with them out on the ice and climbing the wall! even through the mishaps (broken crampon, van stuck and team building to get it out :)) every one was in great spirits! the only issue we had was that we go, go, go and it's hard to stop for a minute, enjoy the scenery, and take pics. Wouldn't hurt to slow down just a smidge to enjoy the breathttaking views and wait for the slow folks (me! haha). Overall though it was great!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It`s interesting to ride a boat. But you can`t make animal to appear if it doesn't want to. Just keep in mind

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I hate to give anything 2 stars, but this trip really wasn't worth it. Yes we saw some whales. But there's nothing really that exciting about watching whales from very far away take a quick dive and then chasing them to see them reemerge from far away. They looked indistinguishable from dolphins from that distance. So, we saw nothing close up, nothing awe inspiring. Which of course is not the tour's fault. The issue is that they said this was a good and successful trip. If that's so, it's far from what my expectations were. NOTHING looked like the picture used to describe the trip. No close ups - just chasing down dark shadows in dreary weather. The tour guide was really funny, but the sense of humor was a bit crude and overly sarcastic. It worked for me, but might offend others. It was a nice boat ride with some wildlife spotting. Not an extraordinary experience by any means.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was very disappointing, it is advertised as having a 95% success rating, This is very misleading, apparently there was a whale sighting on our tour, but no one saw it. At one point a staff person walked around with a book and showed the participants a picture of the whale that was sighted. It was long and quite boring.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing experience - we only saw one Minke whale but we also saw a basking Shark and several Dolphins. The crew and the commentary were both very good, the commentary being constant, so we knew what was what and where we were going; and the crew took the boat to where they thought there was activity and were clearly actively seeking out Whales for us to view. The boat was clean and comfortable, you could get a coffee or a tea, they had good wet gear that we could use (and we did) it kept us dry and warm and had pockets too so we were able to pop our cameras out of harms if needed! There were enough toilets too. Everyone was friendly and at the end the trip the young lady who was giving the commentary came round and showed us a couple of things and asked if we had any questions. My only regret is that would could not have stayed at sea for another couple of hours. Amazing.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The cruise was very good , the guide was trying his best that we will see as much whales as possible

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful simple trip to view Puffins which were aplenty. Guide was extremely informative with hands on information. Left promptly and returned on time.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide, very funny instructors, and wonderful tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide, very funny instructors, and wonderful tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. I had a great time seeing the puffins. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I just wish we were able to get closer to the island. It was very hard to see the puffins even with a zoom lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide had exceptional knowledge on puffin and the birds in the bay. Excellent tour with closeup views

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I sat in the front and had a great view. Landed on a large hill, don't think it was actually the summit of Mt. Esja but the weather was cold, cloudy, and luckily the rain stopped so the flight wasn't canceled. Hovered over cool volcanoes and rifts in the Earth. Then zipped around the city nice and low and got great photos.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I went at the tail-end of the season (early August), and there were plenty of puffins! woo hoo! I got to see a chick as well, so that was cool and unusual. You don't get too close in to them, though--the closest was when some were on water, about 15-25 feet away. The ones on land are much further away, you pretty much need binos (provided by the company) to see them well. It's worth the price, overall.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

great tour of local islands to see birds. it was late in the year for many of the birds. the tour guide kept us interested and engaged as we sailed along. good tour to take from a ship, as it is short and pretty much guarantees a return before the ship leaves.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

First boat I was on canceled due to the engine not starting. Got on the bigger boat 2 hours later and it worked fine. Saw some Minke whales and many porpoises, even a few puffins flying around. Tough time looking around to see the whales when they pop up briefly, and many people get in your way on the boat.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message