When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 481 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a blast! We loved the authentic caving experience! It does require some climbing - but I am not in great shape and did just fine! Our guide was friendly, encouraging and knowledgable. Our small group of 10 was the perfect size. The snorkeling was awesome too! What a view! Do this tour!

Doing what: Best Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every penny! This was one of the highlights of my trip. Before I went I thought that it was kind of expensive, but after the day was over I realized it really wasn't. The water is unbelievablely clear and even though the water is cold I never once felt cold myself. Absolutely AMAZING!!!!

Doing what: Best Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip.Best whale-watching trip that we did so far...

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An amazing all-day tour of the Golden circle with 3 culinary stops for local delicacies. The dairy/ranch offered us a 4 course lunch and it was the best meal I had in Iceland. The meat lamb, chicken and beef as well as the dairy cream and feta cheese came from the ranch. The meal was delicious and beautifully presented. The next stop at a local tomato and cucumber hot-house farm offered canapes and drinks made with their products. Again, excellent presentation and delicious. The final food stop was at a restored traditional Icelandic turf house. Not only were we treated to a tour of the houses with plenty of historical and cultural commentary, but also treated to a sampling of traditional Icelandic fare, again, artistically presented. The tour absolutely exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in the natural beauty and wonders of Iceland and loves and is curious about local food.

Doing what: Best Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour!! That support staff and guides were fun, helpful and informative.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a very smooth ride piloted by a very professional aviator. The views of the Reykjavik area stunning. The highlight was stopping on the summit and walking in the very thick moss - a unique experience

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful, and interesting.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! We saw several Game of Thrones filming locations in the Reykjavik area with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. It was helpful that this tour was in the afternoon, which meant that I was able to fit it into my schedule instead of wasting my early morning arrival travel day.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Not your traditional brewery tour but loved every minute! Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The beer was good, the host entertaining, and the tour informative.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nice Tour, organized well.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I forgot to rate this trip on my previous review. I give it a 5 rating.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing. So much interesting information and a pretty large helping of all the brewery offerings! Our guide, Ana, was very funny and knowledgeable. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We saw dolphins and a humpback whale. A great experience for the family.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A very enjoyable trip and we saw a Hump Back Whale! The crew was very good and we managed to view the whale for probably 15 minutes at close range.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I did this on my last morning in Iceland and it was a great way to end my trip. They give you binoculars to help see the puffins and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

You get a closer view to the whales and a better perspective of their size

Doing what: Small-Group Reykjavik RIB Whale Watching Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was very cold and sometimes you don't get to see things because of which side of the boat you are on. I only saw one whale and that was it. I am glad that I did it, but I probably wouldn't do it again.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I am glad we took the tour - an interesting inexpedience to see the city from the air as well as to walk of he mountain. However it was a very short trip.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I got really lucky with the weather and it was sunny and clear blue skies which made the trip go pretty smoothly. I did see some whales and even if I hadn't seen any, the trip would have been nice enough because of the views. I recommend putting on the complimentary coveralls, as it can get pretty cold out there.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

guide was awesome...great tour

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Beautiful country. Spectacular views. Wal the guide was informative and entertaining. The hike was not at all strenuous and the thermal wading in the streams was relaxing and unique.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a highlight in Iceland. Danny was our guide. Great humour and informative. The glacier was intimidating and achievable. The Ice Climbing was physical, but fun.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the best beer tour that I have ever been on. I enjoyed learning about the history of beer in Iceland as well as sampling all the different beers. It was well worth the price, and I would recommend any one traveling to Reykjavik to partake of this.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. We lucked out with the weather as well. Parts of the path were a little muddy due to a previous days rain and some parts are narrow. The hike is a solid 4 km each direction. It is not strenuous but if one is concerned about their steadiness on their feet it is probably not for you. Hiking boots and not shoes are best. Our guide Woi was lovely and very accommodating.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message