When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely fantastic

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The weather was perfect. I wrote my name in the ice on top of a volcano. The pilot and I cannot remember his name unfortunately knew everything about the area and was very informative. The helicopter ride alone is phenomenal and luckily being so tall I was in the front. This was outstanding. Worth every penny. I am saving so that my next trip to Iceland will include the geothermal helicopter tour. This was brilliant. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Trip was amazing. Very memorable and unique. Our guide was really personable and made the tour very interesting.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We changed tours to the geothermal tour. Nordurflug who run these tours couldnt have been more helpful. Our pilot was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Breath taking views of the mountains. Arrange the tour for just after sunrise and you are in for a treat. Cant recommend this trip enough. Stunning!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I have to admit. When we first started this trip we was a little persuaded to leave, the first bonfire with the live band playing was so nice. It was nice to see the traditional side to Icelandic people. But what let it down was the long wait in the hotel grand for everyone to finish watching their traditional comedy show, which felt like forever. But we waited to see what happened. The guide took us to a high piece of land to view the fireworks. IT WAS AMAZING. I have never seen anything like it, here in England we have fireworks for around 5 mins and you have had enough but thats all we get. In Iceland I witnessed around 200 fireworks at the sometime for about an hour..I was in awe. I had never seen anything like it and I dont think I will again, not like that. It was incredible. If you are doing this trip and you find it a little boring at first I do advise to just hold on and wait.. its worth the wait, I still havent got over the images in my head due to the fact my camera couldnt take a photo due to it being that bright :

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing views, amazing guide. It is a trip worth doing I promise.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fabulous day trip that I would thoroughly recommend. We were really lucky with the weather on a Saturday in mid January - clear blue skies, although very cold. The scenery was stunning. As others have said, do make sure you have layers of warm clothes and good boots. The walk on the glacier exceeded all my expectations and the 2 guides were very supportive of my attempts at the ice wall climb. I only managed to get up a little way but still enjoyed the experience! There were about 15 of us in the group from many different countries and ranging in age from early 20s to late 50s. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very friendly and professional staff. Although no whales seen, plenty of Dolphins and sea birds. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Must do!!! Fireworks are super. Tour takes you around at the right times so you can enjoy bonfire, have a lil relaxation and then off to see the midnight fireworks in a great location.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Sadly trip not running for both nights tour operator very efficient at notifying us. Viator refunded money. Would book through them again.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What an amazing trip! I cannot praise the guides who took us highly enough (Jakob, Palmi and Snorri), they were simply brilliant. All three were super helpful when anyone had an issue, they were very knowledgeable about the glacier and the places we drove through to get there and were clearly very experienced and capable on the ice. They were very friendly and really made the trip a fantastic experience.

Once we arrived at the glacier we walked from the car park to the ice as a large group of about 25 with all three guides, then split into smaller groups of about 8 with one guide each. We went with Snorri and had such a fantastic time. He was brilliant at explaining how to use all of the equipment, incredibly knowledgeable about the glacier, explaining how the structures on it form and how it shapes the landscape around it and was totally in his element. We saw several crevasses, an ice cave, some moulin, ate glacial ice and drank freshly melted glacier water. When it came to the ice climbing (which is optional and there was no pressure to take part) you could really see his passion come through, he was having just as much fun as we were! We had no worries about safety at any point, the guides clearly had that all in hand so we could just enjoy the day. Snorri pitched the trip perfectly for the ability of our group, showing us interesting things but not pushing anyone out of their comfort zone.

We went in February and there was quite a cold wind and we had some rain as we were walking back. I did the trip in some thermal undies, fleece and waterproof jacket and trousers and was fine. Gloves and a hat are also a must. I wore a pair of normal walking shoes which were fine (both for walking and ice climbing) but the boots you can hire from them were much better for ice climbing.

If you are thinking of taking a trip like this then I cannot recommend this one highly enough. It was well organised and the guides were exceptional. Hope you have a great trip!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

really enjoyed the first part when you get to trek through the snow to see the Great Wall from the scene in the game of thrones. The tour guide was great, a really nice chap. This tour is not for the faint hearted or people who are less mobile. Because of thick ice this tour was dangerous at times.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Enjoyed the tour but didn't see a Goldfish ! Had a good time though would do it again

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

As the Northern Lights is a natural phenomena, any trip that is not able to guarantee activity will be judged accordingly. In addition, a trip by boat brings its own challenges. All that said, I was lucky enough to observe a degree of activity and have been able to come home saying i have seen the northern lights. What i will say is that bearing in mind just how cold it gets in winter months, this trip was fantastically organised and all visitors were, like all activities in Iceland, very much taking care of with the provision of thick and cosy floatation boiler suits and thick, rich drinking chocolate as well as providing snacks and for those that wish to see the northern lights from another perspective, this is a great trip worth doing

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message