When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LOO
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Is great experience !

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

amazing !! We saw and followed a humpback for a while and we got to fish afterwards and I caught four cods!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We went on this trip in March. It was quite windy so definitely take some layers, but the scenery and being on the glacier made you forget about that.
Our guides were Snorri and Thor who clearly loved their job. Their enthusiasm was contagious and it was a brilliant day that will be remembered for many years.
Bring a packed lunch or at least a snack for the journey home but I highly recommend this trip. Best thing we did in Iceland.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I tour was really well organised, on time and the tour guide really knew his whales. We only saw dolphins but I had a lovely time and the view was incredible. You definitely have to do it if your in reykjavik.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good trip, value for money with friendly crew. Didn't see much but was offered another tour as compensation. That's nature, can't plan it.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Interesting tour. Not exactly challenging but definitely worth doing

Doing what: Lava Caving at Leidarendi with Transport from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

was a great experience, especially for bird lovers. guide was extremely knowledgable and informative. driver could have been better at approaching the birds a little slower, instead of driving right at them. still worth it and we got to see puffins in the wild for the first time ever.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

They take you up close and personal to the puffins, we literally saw dozens! The guide was knowledgeable and pointed out all the different birds we could see. The only downside was the water was rather rough, so taking pictures (and not being thrown overboard) was a challenge.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Beer, beer, and more beer! Our guide Olaf gave a brief and interesting history on prohibition in Iceland, and we got to try several different beers made by the company (we could have as much as we wanted!). The actual tour of the brewery was quite short however, and we didn't get to spend much time

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Since winter season has been longer this year we saw a few whales and only 5 puffins. Even though before going on the puffin tour they advised that there only a few puffins.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Absolute disaster, sailed around for 4 hours without a sighting of a whale, you get a free pass but will not be visiting reykevije again so usless

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

No lights. I know that happens and they can't help it. But we still parked up in the middle of the ocean for over 3 hours. A man got on the audio and started telling stories and reading from a book to keep us entertained - yawn!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I was very disappointed for the two cruises. The whole 3.5 hour whale-watching cruise was feeling the strong wind from sea without any whale. For the puffin cruise, we supposed they could take us to some island to observe puffin closely, but the fact was overlooking puffins from boat. Pictures are very misleading.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Far too small a boat dory to take a dozen people out in a 3-4 ft seas. Extremely dangerous, especially for people not accustomed to being on small vessels.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour, knowledgeable guide

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

KOSS
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though we weren't able to watch any whales, the tour was great. It was a unique experience with a fantastic view of Reykjavik. The boat crew was extremely friendly and very attentive of everyone.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an all day adventure, the guides were knowledgeable and laid back. The scenery was breathtaking, the hiking easy, the ice wall climbing more difficult but so fun. Take your own lunch.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jenna D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the highlight of our holiday. It was absolutely incredible and the views were amazing. Although it was overcast and we had a little rain, it didn't ruin the experience. This is a MUST DO when you're in Iceland - worth every cent! Sara and Kiddi, our guides were fantastic and made the tour even more enjoyable!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was well organized even though we didn't see any northern lights. The tour guide was knowledgeable and did try to entertain us, even reciting Icelandic poetry. The good thing is that the company gives you another chance to see the northern lights using your old ticket and without any extra costs

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I giving it 4 stars because we did not get to see the BIG whales. We only saw dolphin-like whale species. But it was worth it. great experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message