When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 616 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely fantastic a lovely friendly pilot even when we turned up late ! landing on the dormant volcano and the flight over Reykjavik was the highlight of our trip wish I caught his name

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Rochelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was less of a brewery tour and more of a comedy show/brief history of Icelandic booze/beer tasting. My group loved it and would highly recommend. Sylvia was fantastic and left us laughing for days. We all left drunk and happy!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Although the bus service was disappointing and the return guide was very very late the tour itself was amazing!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mountain summit helicopter tour was amazing. Our pilot, Guðjon, was really great. The views were breathtaking and the mountain summit landing was awesome. Guðjon took lots of pictures of us with the helicopter and on the summit. He was very informative and fun. Highly recommend this to everyone traveling to Reykjavik. Great experience.

Doing what: Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik

Kinita A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guides were very informative and fun...and wow, the glacier itself. I can't even put into words. Incredible excursion for us Arizona girls.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Saw the lights as we were setting off out of port, great experience and lovely crew.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

hmacnz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour, can't recommend it enough. Our guide Jonas was great at what he does. I do think we got pretty lucky, having a small group of fairly well matched abilities that meant we were able to make the most of it. I'm not sure how well I would have done in a larger group

Doing what: Lava Caving at Leidarendi with Transport from Reykjavik

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip to see northern lights. Hotel pick up was great and boat and crew were lovely. saw the lights after about 20 mins at sea and they were still there when we docked. One tip if you are not sure how to take pictures of the lights there is a professional photographer on board who can help you set your camera up.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

KEVIN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip .The Northern Lights are not guarantee every night it depends on cloud cover etc but if they cancel the trip or you go out and dont see anything they let you go on another day free of charge so go at the beginning of your stay so you have time if you go again.Having said that we were very lucky and saw a good wonderful display from mother nature.Be aware your camera has to be set up right to capture the lights the crew can advise you and sometimes they post the nights photos taken by the crew on their facebook page. Wrap up warm and also put on the warm suits they let you borrow people who did put the suits on stayed inside most of the time because it was so cold.My wife and I stayed outside the whole 3 hours it was a trip I will never forget.When you get back to the harbour the minibus is waiting for you to take you home very well organised.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was brilliant! We got so close to the whales and our guide was brilliant. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

sarahnoone18

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I really enjoyed this trip- the tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, and she made the day very enjoyable. However, there wasn't much Game of Thrones content in this tour- we only went to two locations. I hope that as it develops, they'll include more locations.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

sarahnoone18

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip was well-organised, with excellent facilities and use of polar suits when out on deck. My only criticism is that it was far too busy- we were like crushed sardines both inside the boat and on deck, and I was almost glad we didn't see the aurora as the experience would have been less special

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

jennifer g

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, crew great. Didn't see whales but given voucher for return trip

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

BEDDERS

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent but didn't realise that the gorgeous green and purple colours you see on the photos are mostly invisible to the human receptors and you see bright white instead. Still very impressive

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Beverly P

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Ok only saw dolphins briefly hard to hear what the guy talking on the microphone was saying

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Benjamin R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Unfortunately we did not see any whales which was a shame, and turned back early on although I think that may have been for a medical reason. My girlfriend also got sea sick, but that was because we were at sea. I enjoyed the ride though.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Tammie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Complete waste of time - saw nothing for 4 - 5 hours. Could have used my time far more constructively.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Bryan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were initially hesitant to go out when the bus picked us up in the rain, but after riding out the bad weather on the boat, we were treated to some beautiful displays of Northern Lights. The crew was knowledgeable and friendly, and even helped me set up my DSLR for taking photos of the lights. The snow suits kept us warm on deck, and we ended up glad that we made the trip!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

George C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely mental, my highlight of the trip. If you love Health and safety rules don't go! You have to do this trip to understand why its mental

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Lea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was an awesome trip. The staff was really nice and did their best to show us the best places to see the fireworks. The bonfire was also really great.
I would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We arrived in Reykjavik on December 31st, booked the tour as not sure what went on.
The tour guide and driver were fantastic, taking us to the bonfire and fireworks early so we got the best views and best parking. The stay for coffee in the middle was a bit long but the guide took us away early and gace us a guided tour of the city
FANTASTIC ,,,,,

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Sharlene G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even though we did not really get to see the lights, the entertainment between the poetry reading and Maria was really great. We were given the option to go again but due to the weather were unable to but had an awesome 4 course dinner which was really great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Marilyn USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We especially enjoyed this tour. The fireworks were seen from a church on a hill in the middle of Reykjavik. We could see the fireworks a full 360 degrees!! It surrounded us. The bonfire was interesting. Waiting for one of the travelers who got lost in finding the bus for 30 minutes was a little annoying. But I would have wanted them to wait for and find me if it was me. The hotel stop was then delayed and snacks were mostly gone.

Doing what: New Year's Eve in Reykjavik: Bonfire Tour and Fireworks Display

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message