When compared to other European capitals, Reykjavik is rather small; the population of its metro area barely tops 200,000, and Reykjavik proper is home to about 125,000 souls. However, what it lacks in people, it makes up for with thoroughly modern  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 462 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I got really lucky with the weather and it was sunny and clear blue skies which made the trip go pretty smoothly. I did see some whales and even if I hadn't seen any, the trip would have been nice enough because of the views. I recommend putting on the complimentary coveralls, as it can get pretty cold out there.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

guide was awesome...great tour

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Beautiful country. Spectacular views. Wal the guide was informative and entertaining. The hike was not at all strenuous and the thermal wading in the streams was relaxing and unique.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a highlight in Iceland. Danny was our guide. Great humour and informative. The glacier was intimidating and achievable. The Ice Climbing was physical, but fun.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the best beer tour that I have ever been on. I enjoyed learning about the history of beer in Iceland as well as sampling all the different beers. It was well worth the price, and I would recommend any one traveling to Reykjavik to partake of this.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. We lucked out with the weather as well. Parts of the path were a little muddy due to a previous days rain and some parts are narrow. The hike is a solid 4 km each direction. It is not strenuous but if one is concerned about their steadiness on their feet it is probably not for you. Hiking boots and not shoes are best. Our guide Woi was lovely and very accommodating.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was even better than we thought it would be. The driver was great driving the huge bus/truck thing, the guide was smart and funny. The locations were amazing. Great value especially with kids being free! A great day!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Landing at Keflavik at 6AM wasn't a problem. Walking around for the next eight hours wasn't a problem either. But going on a brewery tour that night might have been a HUGE problem had it not been for Sylvia and her vast knowledge about the brewery and Iceland's relationship with alcohol. The tour exceeded our expectations and was the perfect way to end our first full day in Iceland. Sylvia was hilarious, moving easily between the different beers and samples which should be noted are full servings of beer! to be had. The evening started with a shot of Brennivín delicious! and went through the various offerings at the Ölgerdin Brewery such as Gull, Brio, Polar Beer, an interesting beer cocktail, and finally one of their craft porters. Completely worth being tired after spending most of the day either traveling or getting accustomed to this uniquely amazing capital city! There were roughly 29 people on our tour, but Sylvia took it all in stride and entertained us all.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour - very informative and great views of the birds!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! The guide was great and very knowledgeable about Reykjavik in general. The food at the Greenhouse was so fresh and delicious, and the farm had the best ice cream ever! Plus there was plenty of time to see the sights. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best tours ever! 5 Whales and then fishing and having caught a cod first fish ever it was cooked on a barbeque when we arrived back on land. Excellent crew and Captain.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Akureyri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip. Saw lots of Puffins and a seal. Relaxing and short trip. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was just about as perfect as something can be. Weather was beautiful. The guide was informative, polite and competent. The puffins were just where they were supposed to be, just like the guide said they would be. We had a wonderful time. Cost was ok.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed this tour - our guides were knowledgeable and responsible throughout the day. We had an opportunity to walk along the glacier and then climb up the ice. It was really one of the highlights of our trip. The local tour operator is a great company to tour with!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour! We saw 2 different types of whales and they provided special suits for us to wear as it was quite cold out on the water. It was easy to find the place and checking in was no problem. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First time in a heli. Was a little nervous ahead of time but the flight was very smooth and the pilot confidence inspiring. We went on the geothermal tour. After a beautiful take off from the city airport we flew over the harbor and inland. Our one stop was by some gurgling, bubbling mud pots and small hot spring feed streams. After our stop we also flew over some interesting volcanic features such as craters, old lava flows, and a lava river bed. The tour is a bit pricey but was definitely one of the more interesting things I did while in Reykjavik.

Doing what: Reykjavik Helicopter Tour: Mt Esja Summit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great experience and our guide, Chris, was so informative and friendly. All of our stops were wonderful and the food was great. The best was saved for last, visiting the traditional turf homes with traditional food. The hosts were so welcoming and answered all our questions. Definitely worth the money. We also enjoyed our other travelers and made new friends.

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Snorkeling was awesome. A highlight of my around the world trip!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

good team for the whALE WATCHING ON 29/07/15 espcecially Marcus who was very kind to kids and explaning things about Whales . he was also supportive to my three year old who was slightly sea sick despite having good weather . we were able to see humpback , MINKE and Killer Whales in one session.this was reported as very unsual by Marcus and Brendan.. good trip. i would recoomend it to anyone.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Good food and just the right amount of time at each of the Golden Circle spots.

Doing what: Golden Circle Gourmet Food Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Choppy seas, windy and cold. Multiple sightings of humpbacks. Tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Dont let the picture fool you - there will be no leaping or tail waiving but we did see whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Phyllis
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The weather wasn't the best when we did this. It was cold and rainy. The whale watching company provided us with warm coveralls so we could stay on deck to watch for whales. We did see a humpback whale just before it was time to head back to the dock. If I had it to do over, I wouldn't book this ahead of time. I'd book it when I got there and choose a day when the weather is good.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We got out on the whale boat and caught some brief glimpses, unfortunately a quiet day, but enjoyed the experience.
We missed the boat for the little puffins but that was our problem being too late.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message