With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOHAN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day trip and and an excellent opportunity to see some amazing countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

jennifer a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best day trips we have been on. The guide was superb with the right blend of facts and fiction about each location visited without going over the top.Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A quick, but excellent half-day trip. All the sights were able to be covered, with quick stops at each, during this short-of-daylight time of year. Well worth taking this tour if you are in Reykjavik in December!

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was exceptionally well informed and made this day trip so enjoyable i'd do it again on another visit!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent day trip.
Very well organised. Tour guide was very friendly and informative with excellent English.
A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Daniela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day trip. Arman was well informed and shared his knowledge with us. He also had great patience with us older folks attempting to ice climb.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Dean F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good full day trip around the golden circle, plenty of time for pictures and sightseeing at all locations.
Capped off with a visit to the secret lagoon for a relaxing drink, in my opinion less crowded and better than the Blue lagoon

Doing what: Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik

bandcodea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding tour experience with a knowledgeable, professional, friendly tour guide. We highly recommend the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip for those on a limited visit to Iceland. You'll enjoy the most amazing natural elements of Iceland outside of Reykjavik in one day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sharon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I put my comments for this trip under the Blue Lagoon by mistake. The Golden Circle Classic Day Trip was a great way in which to see some of Iceland. Tour guide was very informative bus driver was very good.

Blue Lagoon comments: It was nice but did nothing for our aches and pains. When first entering the water, the lava was hard on the feet. Everyone who visits Iceland needs to visit the Blue Lagoon one time

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Lesia D. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day trip was very interesting. Thank you for including all the sites and explanations en route.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Amberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful day trip! Our guide was funny and personable but not overbearing. You can't beat the sights! The day was planned out very well. I don't think there is much need to stop at the geothermal plant and would've loved more time at the other places instead. The coach bus was well equipped with USB charging in the seat but the wifi didn't work too well, which wasn't that big of a deal since we were stuck to the windows looking at the gorgeous landscape!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

RM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic Tour! We had 5 day trips during our stay in Iceland and this one was the best! Landmannalaugar is definitely the most amazing a MUST-SEE! place in Iceland and we enjoyed the 4 hours we had there so much! Even the long road to Landmannalaugar was enjoyable, wonderful landscapes and in some places the surface was just like on the moon! You have to see this!

Doing what: Landmannalauger Day Trip from Reykjavik

Geetanjali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent trip. The guide was really friendly and good. The whole trip had stunning views even though it was raining the whole day. I do have to mention that whatever the weather this is a must do trip. We were very satisfied with this day trip. Exhausting but very rewarding!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jo Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time in Reykjavik we were only there for 48 hours and with so much to see the only way to see as much as we did was with the day trip. Only thing I can see different was we did not know that the first stop at a gift shop and food bar was not where we were going for lunch, so we eat there and the food was not good. We would have waited and got some good food.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the best day trips I took part of while in Iceland, the Thorsmork area has some great scenery. While there aren't many trees in Iceland, and they aren't big, this area has a decent concentration of them. We went on a nice hike with views of the surrounding area, saw a glacier, stopped at a row of waterfall after waterfall, and ventured into a canyon. I suggest waterproof hiking boots if you have them for the parts where you have to cross running water on stepping stones. The guide was great and there was plenty packed into the day without being rushed.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very long day but well worth it, as most day trips are. You travel east to the highlands of Iceland for the main part of the tour, a nice hike that takes you through varying scenery. It's not a complicated hike but can be strenuous at times, however you can go at your own pace. You'll pass colorful hills, moss covered lava mounds, mountains in the distance and geothermal active areas with shades of red and orange in the hot ground. Other stops on the tour include waterfalls and a lake for photos. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Landmannalauger Day Trip from Reykjavik

Irene USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this day trip! Probably one of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide was great and provided interesting commentary throughout the day. Even gave us a few laughs and brought us to some additional locations that weren't on the itinerary. Thanks to him we were even able to see some Icelandic horses! Our stop at the hot springs was awesome and hilarious my mom got drenched. The national park and waterfalls definitely lived up to my expectations. We really lucked out with the weather and ended up having a fantastic day. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fabulous day trip that I would thoroughly recommend. We were really lucky with the weather on a Saturday in mid January - clear blue skies, although very cold. The scenery was stunning. As others have said, do make sure you have layers of warm clothes and good boots. The walk on the glacier exceeded all my expectations and the 2 guides were very supportive of my attempts at the ice wall climb. I only managed to get up a little way but still enjoyed the experience! There were about 15 of us in the group from many different countries and ranging in age from early 20s to late 50s. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was fantastic, I took my boyfriend to Iceland as a surprise for his 30th birthday and this day trip was one of the highlights. We saw the most amazing parts of Iceland all in 1 day!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jurate L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an all day trip and it was well worth it. We got to see waterfalls, geysers, the National Park, a church and a geothermal plant. We could not have do it on our own, so it was good to see what we saw and if we ever go back to Iceland, we know what we would want to do again. Our guide was informative and the whole trip was interesting.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Adrianus d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic day trip. A highly recommended trip, which shows you many highlights in a comfortable way. We were impressed by the Iceland landscape, which was coloured by all kinds of weather. The professional and friendly guide and busdriver informed us about all ins and outs. An amazing trip !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

calier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful day trip. We learned so much about Iceland and the thermal heating systems and really enjoyed our tour guide. And even though it was a large group,it was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

JULIE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day trip. Pick up excellent, guide very informative. Saw all the sights, very very cold and windy at the falls. Had a great lamb stew for lunch, just remember to go back for seconds no extra charge. Would recommend this trip as a great day out. Everything we'll organised and good value for money

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was everything I could have hoped for. I only had 1 day in Iceland, and this day trip was the perfect way to spend my time. Because of it, I feel I know Iceland as well as anyone could in just 1 day. It makes me sure I want to return and spend more time here. What a unique and beautiful place. Our tour guide brought it all to life for me. Perfection. Thank You.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message