With vast glaciers, glistening fjords and looming volcanoes all within a few hours drive of Reykjavik, exploring Iceland’s otherworldly wilderness couldn’t be easier. To fuel your wanderlust, here are some of the best day trips from Reykjavik .  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent trip. The guide was really friendly and good. The whole trip had stunning views even though it was raining the whole day. I do have to mention that whatever the weather this is a must do trip. We were very satisfied with this day trip. Exhausting but very rewarding!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time in Reykjavik we were only there for 48 hours and with so much to see the only way to see as much as we did was with the day trip. Only thing I can see different was we did not know that the first stop at a gift shop and food bar was not where we were going for lunch, so we eat there and the food was not good. We would have waited and got some good food.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the best day trips I took part of while in Iceland, the Thorsmork area has some great scenery. While there aren't many trees in Iceland, and they aren't big, this area has a decent concentration of them. We went on a nice hike with views of the surrounding area, saw a glacier, stopped at a row of waterfall after waterfall, and ventured into a canyon. I suggest waterproof hiking boots if you have them for the parts where you have to cross running water on stepping stones. The guide was great and there was plenty packed into the day without being rushed.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very long day but well worth it, as most day trips are. You travel east to the highlands of Iceland for the main part of the tour, a nice hike that takes you through varying scenery. It's not a complicated hike but can be strenuous at times, however you can go at your own pace. You'll pass colorful hills, moss covered lava mounds, mountains in the distance and geothermal active areas with shades of red and orange in the hot ground. Other stops on the tour include waterfalls and a lake for photos. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Landmannalauger Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this day trip! Probably one of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide was great and provided interesting commentary throughout the day. Even gave us a few laughs and brought us to some additional locations that weren't on the itinerary. Thanks to him we were even able to see some Icelandic horses! Our stop at the hot springs was awesome and hilarious my mom got drenched. The national park and waterfalls definitely lived up to my expectations. We really lucked out with the weather and ended up having a fantastic day. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fabulous day trip that I would thoroughly recommend. We were really lucky with the weather on a Saturday in mid January - clear blue skies, although very cold. The scenery was stunning. As others have said, do make sure you have layers of warm clothes and good boots. The walk on the glacier exceeded all my expectations and the 2 guides were very supportive of my attempts at the ice wall climb. I only managed to get up a little way but still enjoyed the experience! There were about 15 of us in the group from many different countries and ranging in age from early 20s to late 50s. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was fantastic, I took my boyfriend to Iceland as a surprise for his 30th birthday and this day trip was one of the highlights. We saw the most amazing parts of Iceland all in 1 day!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an all day trip and it was well worth it. We got to see waterfalls, geysers, the National Park, a church and a geothermal plant. We could not have do it on our own, so it was good to see what we saw and if we ever go back to Iceland, we know what we would want to do again. Our guide was informative and the whole trip was interesting.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic day trip. A highly recommended trip, which shows you many highlights in a comfortable way. We were impressed by the Iceland landscape, which was coloured by all kinds of weather. The professional and friendly guide and busdriver informed us about all ins and outs. An amazing trip !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful day trip. We learned so much about Iceland and the thermal heating systems and really enjoyed our tour guide. And even though it was a large group,it was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour our guide Magnus was very informative and such a nice guy, great sense of humour and never boring. Plenty of refreshment stops and enough going on to make the long day trip interesting. Wonderful places and stunning scenery. We were not lucky with the weather, but still had a great tour. Viator very efficient in the running of their operation, from the on time hotel pick up, to the return. Give Magnus a gold star from us!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day trip. Pick up excellent, guide very informative. Saw all the sights, very very cold and windy at the falls. Had a great lamb stew for lunch, just remember to go back for seconds no extra charge. Would recommend this trip as a great day out. Everything we'll organised and good value for money

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was everything I could have hoped for. I only had 1 day in Iceland, and this day trip was the perfect way to spend my time. Because of it, I feel I know Iceland as well as anyone could in just 1 day. It makes me sure I want to return and spend more time here. What a unique and beautiful place. Our tour guide brought it all to life for me. Perfection. Thank You.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Miss piggy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great full day trip was collected from our hotel at the time stated the gulfoss waterfall was great would say wear warm wind proof clothes as it was very windy here you can also try the lamb stew and bread only shame you don't get to finish it , geyser was good to see

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Although this is a long 14-hour day trip, it is well worth the hours on the coach to see the Lagoon. There are several stops along the way (technical stops, lunch and dinner) as well as several photo stops and waterfall views. A great tour!

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great day trip (lots of photo ops!) with a friendly, knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Or tour guide was amazing. She not only told us points of interest in tour but Iceland in general, food, culture, music, few saga's etc. I learnt more in the day trip then by reading travel books. Highly recommend trip to everyone.

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this day trip........got to go hiking a little and have picnic lunch. You would swear you were on the moon. Then to top it off we hit the natural hot springs before our trip home. Be sure to bring bathing suit and hiking boots for this day trip. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip even though it was a long day! Our guide, Linda, was the best! She explained everything about what we were seeing and the history behind it. Only thing you should know is the bus goes over really rough roads (if you can even call them that).......so be prepared for very very bumpy ride for quite some time.

Doing what: Landmannalauger Day Trip from Reykjavik

Kat
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This tour was the absolute highlight of our trip! The guide was excellent, and we spent plenty of time in each place, before heading on to the snowmobiling. I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see all the best bits of Iceland in a full day trip, and a bit of adventure!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Totally enjoyed the day trip. May go back and see more of Iceland. Tour was great

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

harrylcf
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Pretty good deal and nice day trip out of Reykjavik.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Whether you have a lot of time in Iceland or just a little, this is a tour definitely worth doing, if you don't plan to rent a car. The downside is that it is a very popular tour so a lot of people go. That is the only downside. The scenery was spectacular and the tour gave plenty of time at each major site, so much that one could see the geysir erupt at least 8 times (it erupts about every 5 minutes). There was also plenty of time at the spectacular waterfall to enable one (if one decided to forgo lunch) to take the path right down to the waterfall. The guide was very informative. I would probably recommend the Day trip, the one I took, because it allows more time at each site.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This day trip is full of interesting sites and information - highly recommend it! Plenty of stops and free time included. Appreciated the hotel pick-up/drop-off, and organization of the tour company.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The Iceland South Coast and Lagoon Day Trip is a long 14 hour day, but very much worth it. After all, you don't go on holiday to rest do you?

Doing what: Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message