With hundreds of tourists taking to the route each day, Iceland’s Golden Circle route isn’t the place to get off-the-beaten-track, but there’s a reason why is so popular. The 300 km tourist road loops around some of south Iceland’s most spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome tour of the golden circle at half the price from shore, but you need to overnight to take this at it lasts 8 1/2 hours or more. great guide, lots of information and well worth it. on your own for food, so don't expect a feast.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

In spite of the cool, sometimes rainy weather, the Golden Circle Tour was excellent. Our guide's English was easy to understand. She was knowledgable, whitty and charming. We'd done this tour before but found the sites and stories continue to amaze us. The final stop at the hydroelectric plant, while still interesting, it was not as good as the previous plant four years ago.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Golden Circle Classic is a great way to see a small, but representative part of Iceland's incredible terrain in one day. Our guide was super knowledgeable and we ended up making some additional stops since the tour operator had a professional photographer on the bus taking pictures for a new brochure. In total we spent 10 hours on the tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really enjoyed the Golden Circle trip and would definitely recommend. We were fortunate enough to be on a small 12 seater coach with only 8 passengers, which made it an easy group to manage and the driver/guide kept up a pretty impressive narrative through the day . The Rift Valley was great to see as were the falls and geysers. The other sites were less to my taste but nevertheless worth a visit . The only issue was the cold but with Iceland in February, what do you expect?.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Golden Circle Tour was a pure gem. The day was (we were told) unseasonably cold and windy! It was pure magic for my first trip to Reykjavik. The gorgeous and diverse scenery, the geyser, the falls, and the extremely well-versed guide and driver were super. I loved the stops that we made and the chance to explore a little on one's own. The lamb stew was so good - ( I AM NOT a big fan of lamb) that I had seconds. MOreover, the friendliness of all involved was lovely. I would definitely recommend the tour to all. The value is unbelievable. I use hyperbole a lot in this review because it is merited. I look forward to another trip to Iceland in a different season. Thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought this was a very organised and pleasurable way to see the sights. Our coach was full, but we didn't feel crowded or herded at all.
The 'Golden Circle' is amazing, especially Thingvellir. Yes, it's where all the tourists go- but with good reason!
We'd certainly recommend this as good value for money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Really did a great job getting us to the different sights along the golden circle, which were phenomenal! The guide was informative and allowed us enough free time to explore all the areas of interest.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It would be difficult to get this one wrong. So many wonderful sights in one day. We had a great guide, he wasn't Icelandic but had good geological knowledge and a clear love for the country. He talked just enough to give us the information we needed, without bombarding or boring us.
The only complaint I have relates to the hotel pickup. My hotel was literally a 2-minute walk from the Iceland Excursions office, so I assumed that we would be picked up en route to the Golden Circle, and I was told to expect my pickup at 8. I waited outside the hotel until 8:15 only to be dropped off at IE's offices, and then to have a 10-minute wait for the excursion bus. What a waste of time - had I known I would have just walked there in my own time, and had an extra half-hour in bed.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This appeared to be the most thorough of all the options for the Golden Circle. Bring a jacket because it gets windy, especially by Gullfoss. It was a beautiful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The trip is great, and the route included all sights worth seeing in the Golden Circle. The price is also reasonable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Golden Circle Classic Tour was a great introduction to the main attractions in this area. We really enjoyed getting out to explore the geysirs, the Gullfoss waterfall, the National Park, and the Skalholts Cathedral. By the time that we finally reached the geothermal plant, we were worn out. I suggest that the geothermal plant should be first, instead of last, as is indicated on the tour description. The tour guide was very informative between stops. We would have appreciated some on-site information from her. There was one Scandinavian couple on the bus who didn't understand English. So, the tour guide gave the information in both languages. We will definitely try to find a small group tour next time.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Reykjavik is a lovely place to wander and not as expensive as I was led to believe. The weather in November was wet, very wet which did spoil our Golden Circle Tour but apparently we had "worst case scenario " weather for that trip, that day. The Blue Lagoon was worth doing but we never got to see The Northern Lights, however the tour companies cancelled the trips rather than taking us when there was no chance of seeing anything so we can reclaim our monies. Would go again but earlier in the year.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour! You cannot miss the golden circle classic tour. It shows you all of the wonderful things nature-wise that makes Iceland unique. The first stop was views of the rock formations and geothermal pipes that are the energy source of this lovely country. Next we were unroute to the Thingvellur and tectonic plates of north america and europe. You actually walk between the plates, which they call "no mans land" and its amazing and what a view! At Thingvellir, theres a charming church and buildings and were off to the Gullfoss, which is huge and beautifully powerful. Were off to the geysirs and hot pools which is pretty neat and the smell of sulfur(smells like faint rotten eggs) lingers in the air which is something you get used to, trust me youll understand when you arrive here. We proceeded to another church which was lovely and a crater and to a geothermal power plant/museum, but we decided not to go in, we took in the scenery outside. Overall nice tour but there were many stops and the tour had too many people and this made it difficult to hear our tour guide who tried hard to educate us on her country but again, when theres so many people, its hard to hear over everyones voices. I would recommend a smaller tour and also the elderly people i feel held up the tour many times. There was a small amount of hiking and lots of walking and climbing in a steep bus and i feel they should have attended a tour with a slower pace with less strenous activities.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Wonderful condensed Golden Circle Tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided wonderful trivia and facts about Iceland. He was also incredibly kind and accomodating to everyone on the tour. This is a great evening tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The Golden Circle trip well worth doing! Booking in Reykavic is slightly cheaper!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message