With hundreds of tourists taking to the route each day, Iceland’s Golden Circle route isn’t the place to get off-the-beaten-track, but there’s a reason why is so popular. The 300 km tourist road loops around some of south Iceland’s most spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

melpalachandran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our first booked tour got cancelled due to the weather so we booked the Golden Circle Afternoon Tour which I was so happy about in the end. This meant we could go to the Blue Lagoon in morning and still explore the Golden Circle on our last day - talk about maximise time! Jakub was our tour guide who instantly made us feel welcomed and energised. He was nice and friendly and made everyone feel welcomed and at ease. He started of by explaining where we would go and what time we expected to be stopping. He was really informative throughout the tour and even went round the coach to make sure everyone was having fun and gave them an opportunity to ask questions. He was a brilliant tour guide and you could tell he loved his job! Having a great, knowledgable tour guide really added to our experience!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Christabel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing! This was my 3rd time doing the Golden Circle but first time booking via Viator, have to say the price was very good, the booking went through smoothly, the pick up at the hotel was good, it dropped us to the office where we got our tickets and then took off on the tour! I highly recommend this Golden Circle Tour, and will book others via Viator again, I was very happy overall, have no complaints :

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Golden Circle is a perfect way to see the topography of Iceland. We had an informative guide and perfect weather.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Harriet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Golden Circle tour was incredible. Gulfoss Falls were the most beautiful I have ever seen. The whale watching was not successful. Only saw a few dolphin. Enjoyed the boat ride!

Doing what: Whale Watching and Golden Circle Tour from Reykjavik

Krish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worth it!!! Wish we had more time at the National Park its little time to roam around but we didn't mind because it was pretty windy and wet, the Golden Circle tour is incredible and the Fontana Geothermal Baths is pretty awesome!! The Fontana Geothermal Baths was great way to relax and really enjoy Iceland. Its smaller than Blue Lagoon, less crowded but more the real Icelandic experience. Loved this tour, my mom and brother really really enjoyed it and loved that it had very few people, included a few locals. Definitely recommend this tour! Just wear proper shoes to be able to go close to the Gullfoss Falls - its amazing how close you can get.

Doing what: Golden Circle and Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tour from Reykjavik

Cherie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

TOURING THE GOLDEN CIRCLEIf you only have time for one tour on your trip to Iceland make it a tour of The Golden Circle. Why this tour? You'll experience three forces of nature in one unforgettable day Gullfoss, geysers and geological rifts. The Golden Circle route in Southern Iceland, covers about 186 miles starting in Reykjavík, before panning into central Iceland and back again taking in en-route the rugged beauty and power of mother nature in all her Icelandic glory.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

bandcodea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding tour experience with a knowledgeable, professional, friendly tour guide. We highly recommend the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip for those on a limited visit to Iceland. You'll enjoy the most amazing natural elements of Iceland outside of Reykjavik in one day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sharon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I put my comments for this trip under the Blue Lagoon by mistake. The Golden Circle Classic Day Trip was a great way in which to see some of Iceland. Tour guide was very informative bus driver was very good.

Blue Lagoon comments: It was nice but did nothing for our aches and pains. When first entering the water, the lava was hard on the feet. Everyone who visits Iceland needs to visit the Blue Lagoon one time

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

MJaySeattle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour of the Golden Circle. We loved out guide, Jacob. He was funny and knowledgable. Would definitely use this tour company again.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

simpson8893

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Golden Circle Tour was a great choice for spending one day in Iceland. We were picked up and dropped off directly ay our accommodations. Our tour guide was delightful. She was local and had lots of local information and stories to tell about the area and the culture.She also was very responsive to all guests on the tour. The bus was comfortable and sights well explained and stops well planned. A delightful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Helen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Golden circle tour was very informative and gave us the chance to see more of the beautiful country. Our tour guide (Dee Dee), made the day very enjoyable and was a wealth of knowledge. Thanks for a great trip, it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jenna D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Golden Circle is a must see when you're in Iceland! The sights are unbelievable and the entire day is enjoyable. We went when it was cloudy and rainy and still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We almost skipped doing the Golden Circle on our trip, but I'm so glad we didn't. Our guide had so many interesting tidbits to share, the countryside is breathtaking and the sites are spectacular. Add door-to-door service from out hotel--definitely a must do while in Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Maeve N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great overview of the main attractions if you only have a short time in Reykjavik. Iceland is so well set up for tours with efficient collection and drop off from hotels and guesthouses that it was an easy, hassle free way to see the landscape. Collection was efficient, service courteous and informative and the landscape stunningly beautiful. I highly recommend the Golden Circle tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jenna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

In comparison to some of the more active tours we did while in Iceland, this one was most definitely less active. However, it was incredibly beautiful and informative. If you are looking to see the main sights along the golden circle, I highly recommend it. Our guide was very informative and you could tell he was passionate about the history of Iceland. We started in Pingvellir as the sun was rising over the mountains — it was incredible. It was snowing very hard when we arrived at Gullfoss, but it was still visible. There was a small restaurant in the gift shop here where you could grab lunch — we all enjoyed our lunch (options such as mushroom soup, sandwiches, a salad, etc.) Lastly, we stopped at the geysers which were very active. Overall, the trip was wonderful and I feel you need to see these sights if you come to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Adrianus d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic day trip. A highly recommended trip, which shows you many highlights in a comfortable way. We were impressed by the Iceland landscape, which was coloured by all kinds of weather. The professional and friendly guide and busdriver informed us about all ins and outs. An amazing trip !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip took us to all the major sites on the Golden Circle with ample time for exploring and photographs. We even stopped at an additional waterfall not on the advertised tour on the way back to the port. The guide was friendly and informative. We were picked up and returned at the curb right outside the cruise terminal. We saved 50% over the price of the cruise line sponsored excursion for the same trip, which is helpful since Iceland is so expensive. Highly recommend this for any cruisers who have an overnight in Reykjavik, to make sure you dont have to fret about being back to the ship on time. Total time was approximately 8 hrs.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome tour of the golden circle at half the price from shore, but you need to overnight to take this at it lasts 8 1/2 hours or more. great guide, lots of information and well worth it. on your own for food, so don't expect a feast.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sherry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

In spite of the cool, sometimes rainy weather, the Golden Circle Tour was excellent. Our guide's English was easy to understand. She was knowledgable, whitty and charming. We'd done this tour before but found the sites and stories continue to amaze us. The final stop at the hydroelectric plant, while still interesting, it was not as good as the previous plant four years ago.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Golden Circle Classic is a great way to see a small, but representative part of Iceland's incredible terrain in one day. Our guide was super knowledgeable and we ended up making some additional stops since the tour operator had a professional photographer on the bus taking pictures for a new brochure. In total we spent 10 hours on the tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really enjoyed the Golden Circle trip and would definitely recommend. We were fortunate enough to be on a small 12 seater coach with only 8 passengers, which made it an easy group to manage and the driver/guide kept up a pretty impressive narrative through the day . The Rift Valley was great to see as were the falls and geysers. The other sites were less to my taste but nevertheless worth a visit . The only issue was the cold but with Iceland in February, what do you expect?.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Noreen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Golden Circle Tour was a pure gem. The day was (we were told) unseasonably cold and windy! It was pure magic for my first trip to Reykjavik. The gorgeous and diverse scenery, the geyser, the falls, and the extremely well-versed guide and driver were super. I loved the stops that we made and the chance to explore a little on one's own. The lamb stew was so good - ( I AM NOT a big fan of lamb) that I had seconds. MOreover, the friendliness of all involved was lovely. I would definitely recommend the tour to all. The value is unbelievable. I use hyperbole a lot in this review because it is merited. I look forward to another trip to Iceland in a different season. Thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

S K Thompson T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought this was a very organised and pleasurable way to see the sights. Our coach was full, but we didn't feel crowded or herded at all.
The 'Golden Circle' is amazing, especially Thingvellir. Yes, it's where all the tourists go- but with good reason!
We'd certainly recommend this as good value for money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great tour that includes all of the best Golden Circle sights but with added adventure and fun from the snowmobiling. You do need a good level of fitness as the jeep drive is incredibly bumpy and snowmobiling is much harder than it looks! We had a lot of fun!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Really did a great job getting us to the different sights along the golden circle, which were phenomenal! The guide was informative and allowed us enough free time to explore all the areas of interest.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message