With hundreds of tourists taking to the route each day, Iceland’s Golden Circle route isn’t the place to get off-the-beaten-track, but there’s a reason why is so popular. The 300 km tourist road loops around some of south Iceland’s most spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Golden Circle Tour was a great choice for spending one day in Iceland. We were picked up and dropped off directly ay our accommodations. Our tour guide was delightful. She was local and had lots of local information and stories to tell about the area and the culture.She also was very responsive to all guests on the tour. The bus was comfortable and sights well explained and stops well planned. A delightful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Golden circle tour was very informative and gave us the chance to see more of the beautiful country. Our tour guide (Dee Dee), made the day very enjoyable and was a wealth of knowledge. Thanks for a great trip, it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jenna D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Golden Circle is a must see when you're in Iceland! The sights are unbelievable and the entire day is enjoyable. We went when it was cloudy and rainy and still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We almost skipped doing the Golden Circle on our trip, but I'm so glad we didn't. Our guide had so many interesting tidbits to share, the countryside is breathtaking and the sites are spectacular. Add door-to-door service from out hotel--definitely a must do while in Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great overview of the main attractions if you only have a short time in Reykjavik. Iceland is so well set up for tours with efficient collection and drop off from hotels and guesthouses that it was an easy, hassle free way to see the landscape. Collection was efficient, service courteous and informative and the landscape stunningly beautiful. I highly recommend the Golden Circle tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

In comparison to some of the more active tours we did while in Iceland, this one was most definitely less active. However, it was incredibly beautiful and informative. If you are looking to see the main sights along the golden circle, I highly recommend it. Our guide was very informative and you could tell he was passionate about the history of Iceland. We started in Pingvellir as the sun was rising over the mountains — it was incredible. It was snowing very hard when we arrived at Gullfoss, but it was still visible. There was a small restaurant in the gift shop here where you could grab lunch — we all enjoyed our lunch (options such as mushroom soup, sandwiches, a salad, etc.) Lastly, we stopped at the geysers which were very active. Overall, the trip was wonderful and I feel you need to see these sights if you come to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic day trip. A highly recommended trip, which shows you many highlights in a comfortable way. We were impressed by the Iceland landscape, which was coloured by all kinds of weather. The professional and friendly guide and busdriver informed us about all ins and outs. An amazing trip !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip took us to all the major sites on the Golden Circle with ample time for exploring and photographs. We even stopped at an additional waterfall not on the advertised tour on the way back to the port. The guide was friendly and informative. We were picked up and returned at the curb right outside the cruise terminal. We saved 50% over the price of the cruise line sponsored excursion for the same trip, which is helpful since Iceland is so expensive. Highly recommend this for any cruisers who have an overnight in Reykjavik, to make sure you dont have to fret about being back to the ship on time. Total time was approximately 8 hrs.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome tour of the golden circle at half the price from shore, but you need to overnight to take this at it lasts 8 1/2 hours or more. great guide, lots of information and well worth it. on your own for food, so don't expect a feast.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

In spite of the cool, sometimes rainy weather, the Golden Circle Tour was excellent. Our guide's English was easy to understand. She was knowledgable, whitty and charming. We'd done this tour before but found the sites and stories continue to amaze us. The final stop at the hydroelectric plant, while still interesting, it was not as good as the previous plant four years ago.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Golden Circle Classic is a great way to see a small, but representative part of Iceland's incredible terrain in one day. Our guide was super knowledgeable and we ended up making some additional stops since the tour operator had a professional photographer on the bus taking pictures for a new brochure. In total we spent 10 hours on the tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really enjoyed the Golden Circle trip and would definitely recommend. We were fortunate enough to be on a small 12 seater coach with only 8 passengers, which made it an easy group to manage and the driver/guide kept up a pretty impressive narrative through the day . The Rift Valley was great to see as were the falls and geysers. The other sites were less to my taste but nevertheless worth a visit . The only issue was the cold but with Iceland in February, what do you expect?.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Golden Circle Tour was a pure gem. The day was (we were told) unseasonably cold and windy! It was pure magic for my first trip to Reykjavik. The gorgeous and diverse scenery, the geyser, the falls, and the extremely well-versed guide and driver were super. I loved the stops that we made and the chance to explore a little on one's own. The lamb stew was so good - ( I AM NOT a big fan of lamb) that I had seconds. MOreover, the friendliness of all involved was lovely. I would definitely recommend the tour to all. The value is unbelievable. I use hyperbole a lot in this review because it is merited. I look forward to another trip to Iceland in a different season. Thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought this was a very organised and pleasurable way to see the sights. Our coach was full, but we didn't feel crowded or herded at all.
The 'Golden Circle' is amazing, especially Thingvellir. Yes, it's where all the tourists go- but with good reason!
We'd certainly recommend this as good value for money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great tour that includes all of the best Golden Circle sights but with added adventure and fun from the snowmobiling. You do need a good level of fitness as the jeep drive is incredibly bumpy and snowmobiling is much harder than it looks! We had a lot of fun!!

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Really did a great job getting us to the different sights along the golden circle, which were phenomenal! The guide was informative and allowed us enough free time to explore all the areas of interest.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It would be difficult to get this one wrong. So many wonderful sights in one day. We had a great guide, he wasn't Icelandic but had good geological knowledge and a clear love for the country. He talked just enough to give us the information we needed, without bombarding or boring us.
The only complaint I have relates to the hotel pickup. My hotel was literally a 2-minute walk from the Iceland Excursions office, so I assumed that we would be picked up en route to the Golden Circle, and I was told to expect my pickup at 8. I waited outside the hotel until 8:15 only to be dropped off at IE's offices, and then to have a 10-minute wait for the excursion bus. What a waste of time - had I known I would have just walked there in my own time, and had an extra half-hour in bed.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This trip seems expensive but was definitely worth the money. Without the super jeep and snowmobiling I think the Golden Circle tour would've been a little boring, I would recommend going for this one rather than the standard coach trip. Gulfoss waterfall, the Geysers, and Þingvellir were really beautiful places to see, a shame it was raining but that was to be expected in October. The jeep then took us to Langjökull glacier, there wasn't any snow on the ground and it initially didn't look that nice as it is covered in volcanic ash, however once you get going on the snowmobile they take you further onto the glacier and all you can see is ice around you, and it started snowing. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly, he seemed to know a lot about each of the areas we visited. Overall I would say this tour is worth doing, probably the best thing I did during my visit to Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This appeared to be the most thorough of all the options for the Golden Circle. Bring a jacket because it gets windy, especially by Gullfoss. It was a beautiful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Paul B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Wow, what a great trip! Very skillful drivers, especially needed off road up the glacier. We had a lot of fun snowmobiling, very safety conscious people, which was good. All the stops were well planned and we had no more than 45 mins driving before we got out to stretch our legs for a walk, sights etc. Lunch and drink stop was factored into the day. Super jeeps were very comfortable, driver very funny, informative. Well worth spending the money and a great way to see the Golden Circle.

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The trip is great, and the route included all sights worth seeing in the Golden Circle. The price is also reasonable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Sadly for us, the weather was against us and we missed seeing the first couple of hours of our Golden Circle Classic Tour due to low cloud and rain. Once the rain cleared we had an enjoyable, if windy day with our fantastic guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful taste of the Golden Circle- this tour hits all of the big sites and the weather for us was PERFECT for a winter Iceland day. The sites are gorgeous, and the bus is comfortable. We received a bonus stop thanks, John! that was breathtaking. We also stopped at the geothermal power plant, which I could have done without. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to rent a car but still wants to see the cool sites.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour is recommended.
I did the golden circle classic day trip tour on winter (13th December 2014). They went to the geothermal first because it's still dark so when we arrived at the 3 main attractions after that (waterfall, gulfoss, and thingvellir). Started at 8.30 and back at reykjavik 6 pm

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik. It was well organized , covered everything we had hoped to see.... and gave us an appropriate amount of time at each site to wander, take pictures and explore. Our guide was fun and very informative. We were picked up and delivered directly to our cruise ship . There were 6 friends travelling with us on the ship and they chose to take a private taxi tour. Their cost was more than double ours per person... and maybe an hour longer.
, but saw basically the same things we did.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message