With hundreds of tourists taking to the route each day, Iceland’s Golden Circle route isn’t the place to get off-the-beaten-track, but there’s a reason why is so popular. The 300 km tourist road loops around some of south Iceland’s most spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic day trip. A highly recommended trip, which shows you many highlights in a comfortable way. We were impressed by the Iceland landscape, which was coloured by all kinds of weather. The professional and friendly guide and busdriver informed us about all ins and outs. An amazing trip !

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip took us to all the major sites on the Golden Circle with ample time for exploring and photographs. We even stopped at an additional waterfall not on the advertised tour on the way back to the port. The guide was friendly and informative. We were picked up and returned at the curb right outside the cruise terminal. We saved 50% over the price of the cruise line sponsored excursion for the same trip, which is helpful since Iceland is so expensive. Highly recommend this for any cruisers who have an overnight in Reykjavik, to make sure you dont have to fret about being back to the ship on time. Total time was approximately 8 hrs.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome tour of the golden circle at half the price from shore, but you need to overnight to take this at it lasts 8 1/2 hours or more. great guide, lots of information and well worth it. on your own for food, so don't expect a feast.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

In spite of the cool, sometimes rainy weather, the Golden Circle Tour was excellent. Our guide's English was easy to understand. She was knowledgable, whitty and charming. We'd done this tour before but found the sites and stories continue to amaze us. The final stop at the hydroelectric plant, while still interesting, it was not as good as the previous plant four years ago.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Golden Circle Classic is a great way to see a small, but representative part of Iceland's incredible terrain in one day. Our guide was super knowledgeable and we ended up making some additional stops since the tour operator had a professional photographer on the bus taking pictures for a new brochure. In total we spent 10 hours on the tour.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really enjoyed the Golden Circle trip and would definitely recommend. We were fortunate enough to be on a small 12 seater coach with only 8 passengers, which made it an easy group to manage and the driver/guide kept up a pretty impressive narrative through the day . The Rift Valley was great to see as were the falls and geysers. The other sites were less to my taste but nevertheless worth a visit . The only issue was the cold but with Iceland in February, what do you expect?.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Golden Circle Tour was a pure gem. The day was (we were told) unseasonably cold and windy! It was pure magic for my first trip to Reykjavik. The gorgeous and diverse scenery, the geyser, the falls, and the extremely well-versed guide and driver were super. I loved the stops that we made and the chance to explore a little on one's own. The lamb stew was so good - ( I AM NOT a big fan of lamb) that I had seconds. MOreover, the friendliness of all involved was lovely. I would definitely recommend the tour to all. The value is unbelievable. I use hyperbole a lot in this review because it is merited. I look forward to another trip to Iceland in a different season. Thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought this was a very organised and pleasurable way to see the sights. Our coach was full, but we didn't feel crowded or herded at all.
The 'Golden Circle' is amazing, especially Thingvellir. Yes, it's where all the tourists go- but with good reason!
We'd certainly recommend this as good value for money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Really did a great job getting us to the different sights along the golden circle, which were phenomenal! The guide was informative and allowed us enough free time to explore all the areas of interest.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It would be difficult to get this one wrong. So many wonderful sights in one day. We had a great guide, he wasn't Icelandic but had good geological knowledge and a clear love for the country. He talked just enough to give us the information we needed, without bombarding or boring us.
The only complaint I have relates to the hotel pickup. My hotel was literally a 2-minute walk from the Iceland Excursions office, so I assumed that we would be picked up en route to the Golden Circle, and I was told to expect my pickup at 8. I waited outside the hotel until 8:15 only to be dropped off at IE's offices, and then to have a 10-minute wait for the excursion bus. What a waste of time - had I known I would have just walked there in my own time, and had an extra half-hour in bed.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This appeared to be the most thorough of all the options for the Golden Circle. Bring a jacket because it gets windy, especially by Gullfoss. It was a beautiful day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The trip is great, and the route included all sights worth seeing in the Golden Circle. The price is also reasonable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik. It was well organized , covered everything we had hoped to see.... and gave us an appropriate amount of time at each site to wander, take pictures and explore. Our guide was fun and very informative. We were picked up and delivered directly to our cruise ship . There were 6 friends travelling with us on the ship and they chose to take a private taxi tour. Their cost was more than double ours per person... and maybe an hour longer.
, but saw basically the same things we did.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Golden Circle Classic Tour was a great introduction to the main attractions in this area. We really enjoyed getting out to explore the geysirs, the Gullfoss waterfall, the National Park, and the Skalholts Cathedral. By the time that we finally reached the geothermal plant, we were worn out. I suggest that the geothermal plant should be first, instead of last, as is indicated on the tour description. The tour guide was very informative between stops. We would have appreciated some on-site information from her. There was one Scandinavian couple on the bus who didn't understand English. So, the tour guide gave the information in both languages. We will definitely try to find a small group tour next time.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Reykjavik is a lovely place to wander and not as expensive as I was led to believe. The weather in November was wet, very wet which did spoil our Golden Circle Tour but apparently we had "worst case scenario " weather for that trip, that day. The Blue Lagoon was worth doing but we never got to see The Northern Lights, however the tour companies cancelled the trips rather than taking us when there was no chance of seeing anything so we can reclaim our monies. Would go again but earlier in the year.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message