With beer drinking prohibited in Iceland until 1989 and the long winter nights keeping everyone indoors, it’s no wonder than Icelandics have embraced their newfound freedom with a wave of modern bars and nightclubs. You’ll never be short of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Landing at Keflavik at 6AM wasn't a problem. Walking around for the next eight hours wasn't a problem either. But going on a brewery tour that night might have been a HUGE problem had it not been for Sylvia and her vast knowledge about the brewery and Iceland's relationship with alcohol. The tour exceeded our expectations and was the perfect way to end our first full day in Iceland. Sylvia was hilarious, moving easily between the different beers and samples which should be noted are full servings of beer! to be had. The evening started with a shot of Brennivín delicious! and went through the various offerings at the Ölgerdin Brewery such as Gull, Brio, Polar Beer, an interesting beer cocktail, and finally one of their craft porters. Completely worth being tired after spending most of the day either traveling or getting accustomed to this uniquely amazing capital city! There were roughly 29 people on our tour, but Sylvia took it all in stride and entertained us all.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the best beer tour that I have ever been on. I enjoyed learning about the history of beer in Iceland as well as sampling all the different beers. It was well worth the price, and I would recommend any one traveling to Reykjavik to partake of this.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a super fun tour. Sylvia was great at being both entertaining and informative. Lots and lots of beer to drink so very worth the money. Would totally recommend!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots of fun and very informative. Anna was great!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really fun and you get to meet a group of new people with whom you can get drinks afterwards. Also probably the best drinking deal in town. I personally loved learning all about the history of alcohol and beer in Iceland.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Not your regular brewery tour. This was highly entertaining along with plenty of drinks to sample. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sylvia was wonderful. She had so much energy, and a great sense of humor. We also learned a lot about the history of prohibition, as well as the tasty beers they make at Olgerdin. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A nice tour to get to know Iceland! We were a small group and a good taste the Icelandic beer history.
Well organized! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enthusiastic and entertaining tour guide. The ability to sample various beers was great! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour with the very knowledgeable but slightly crazy Sylvia! Plenty of beer flowing especially liked the imperial stout! Gorgeous! Not a fan of the "beer substitute" though lol.

Excellent evening, good value and a lot of fun. Would recommend to anyone :)

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fun way to spend a few hours when its raining. Tour guide was very entertaining and the beer is great!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great history of Icelands drinking laws and habits

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fun brewery tour. Plenty of beer and an entertaining look into Iceland's odd beer history.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best beer tour I've ever been on. Plenty of beer and a lot of laughs -- must do.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So much beer!! The ladies at the brewery were hilarious! Great tour and great times! This was a good tour to meet new people and share stories about Iceland.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was funny and engaging. You didn't see much of the brewery, but you got to sample about 5 different types of beer. Definitely worth the time to check this tour out!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was our first stop on the trip and it was one of the funniest, good to meet people lots of drinks to go around and very fun. Definitely go if you have the chance.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brewery person giving the tour was wonderful! We had a lot of fun on this tour!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! The tour guide is amazing and so funny. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the best part of visiting Reykjavik for two reasons: unlimited beer and the lady giving the tour was absolutely hilarious. It's a great intro into the odd alcohol history of Iceland, and a great way to sample some of the beers locally brewed. The tour of the factory itself is not the main attraction, the beer itself and the story telling is, and it's worth it.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Such a great tour! We love visiting breweries and tasting beer, and this tour was fun, informative, and included tastings! Not only does Borg produce Gull but they also have a small microbrewery on site that produces amazing beer and a ton of varieties. The tour guide was hilarious! Great tour!

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Was incredibly fun and interesting! Got to try some great beer and meet sweet people.

Doing what: Olgerdin Brewery Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message