There are compelling reasons to visit Iceland in summer. Long days and mild temperatures mean you can make the most of the amazing landscape while also leaving time to experience Reykjavik’s cool bar scene. But winter? It’s got to be something ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a tough tour because you don't know if you will get to see the Northern Lights or not. We were lucky enough to find them. Our guide was very knowledgeable about cameras and was able to help us set them up so that you can get pictures.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The first night was a bust, but the second night we had a spectacular show. Although the tours took us to a location with a cafe both nights, it seems like for the price we paid hot chocolate or something could have been provided. We found out after the fact that other tour companies do provide hot chocolate and donuts on their northern lights tours...

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Not good weather for seeing Northern Lights but you can't control the weather. Be prepared that you do end up sat in a cafe just waiting - tad dull for the lone visitor - I wish I'd had a book with me. There was some northern light exposure and you do get lots of time to take pictures.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Saw a very mild display of the lights but had we known they only drive out into national park at the coffee house / restrooms stop we could have driven our own hire car out and done the same thing

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Good trip but the Northern Lights were not what I was expecting. The lights come better in pictures with professional equipment than live. They may not be as visible to the human eye. Also, it takes place late in the night and people are crammed into a small restaurant while we wait for the perfect moment to see the lights which really never came. Maybe it was just a bad day to see the lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Not worth the time. You sit out at a farm in the middle of know where.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We thought we'd almost miss this as the tour was cancelled twice due to bad weather. The tour operator was very helpful in rescheduling this for us. The experience was amazing although the sighting could still have been better if not for the slightly cloudy skies. We were given an option to join the tour again the next night but unfortunately we were leaving the next morning already.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

First night cancelled due to weather.
Second night we spent 5 hours looking for gaps in the cloud with an incredibly expensive "comfort" stop.
On this night the guide told us no flash or torches then parked the coach next to a church lit up like a bloody lunar moon shot with a searchlight just off the coast for good measure.
Third night however made up for the previous 2 nights. They got the location spot on, reasonably priced cafe whilst waiting and hey presto the lights appeared .. quite emotional.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We barely saw the lights. It looked like a grey cloud in the sky. However this couldnt be helped as it was due to the bad weather. They also offered us a free return.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Brought us to a coffee shack in the middle of nowhere with about 200 other people crowded around. We relocated after a few hours of not seeing the lights, but after relocation we had an amazing display. I just wish t here were not 200-300 other people all around.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Take advantage of the complimentary overalls in addition to dressing warmly. Overalls and boat are well maintained. Hotel pick up and return a good feature. Lucked out - smooth waters, clear skies and lots of Northern Lights activity. Good tour. Worth the effort and cost.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide/driver 'Thor' was personable and informative. Caving was not too difficult but there is a little bit of 'scrambling' and you needed to be mindful of your footing. Nice traveling with a smaller group. Dinner was delicious. Northern Lights were not very active-went looking next nite free.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent Lobster Dinner and a wonderful guide that scout for locations to see the Northern Lights

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time!! First stop - explore a lava cave. I wasn't expecting to climb into the lava cave (don't ask me what I was expecting, because I don't know). Our guide was informative and extremely friendly. From there we went to a restaurant in Eyrarbakki for the lobster dinner. We received 5 small lobster tails each that were the sweetest best tasting lobsters EVER!! I am gluten/dairy free and had mine plain and they were fantastic. Unfortunately, the weather was not cooperating and we were unable to see the lights. However, it was definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message