The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, is a spectacular display of swirling colors which appear at winter in polar regions. They can be elusive, but Iceland has the perfect conditions for viewing this breathtaking natural phenomenon.   ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were lucky enough to see the northern lights! Such a surreal experience and unfortunately our iPhone could not pick up the lights for a photo. I am hoping that someone that went on the same night as we did... uploads a photo.

Nevertheless, it was an amazing experience and is a memory I will keep forever. Something I can tick off the bucket list. The tour was great our driver and guide were both so friendly and fed lots of information whilst on the bus.

Be sure to rug up.... because it can take a while for the lights to show and it was FREEZING! So worth doing though. I would highly recommend. The driver and guide will go out of their way to make sure you see them if the possibility is there.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

suwilliams7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I have wanted to see the Northern Lights for such a long time and we finally got to see them on this trip. I have no idea where we went but it was freezing cold. Luckily the coach was available for us to get back on if we wanted to

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Saw the lights as we were setting off out of port, great experience and lovely crew.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was excellent and there being only seven people in the super jeep made it a very friendly experience. Luckily, having only been out about 45 mintes, the guide though he saw something beginning to happen so drove off road to a quiet location. Over the next 90 minutes or so the Northern Lights thrilled us all with an amazing display. Brilliant.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip to see northern lights. Hotel pick up was great and boat and crew were lovely. saw the lights after about 20 mins at sea and they were still there when we docked. One tip if you are not sure how to take pictures of the lights there is a professional photographer on board who can help you set your camera up.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

KEVIN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip .The Northern Lights are not guarantee every night it depends on cloud cover etc but if they cancel the trip or you go out and dont see anything they let you go on another day free of charge so go at the beginning of your stay so you have time if you go again.Having said that we were very lucky and saw a good wonderful display from mother nature.Be aware your camera has to be set up right to capture the lights the crew can advise you and sometimes they post the nights photos taken by the crew on their facebook page. Wrap up warm and also put on the warm suits they let you borrow people who did put the suits on stayed inside most of the time because it was so cold.My wife and I stayed outside the whole 3 hours it was a trip I will never forget.When you get back to the harbour the minibus is waiting for you to take you home very well organised.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

margaret p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice tour - great guide! We saw lights! Be sure to check in as our 1st night tour was cancelled.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was amazing! This is what we came to Iceland for mainly, and it did not disappoint!! Our guide was great, really friendly and happy to answer any questions. They even help you get your camera on the correct settings to capture the lights. Amazing, can't recommend enough!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Susan C G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour, punctual pick up, unfortunately only smidging of the lights, but were told we could go another night instead. Really pleased and enjoyable trip though.guide very informative.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

sarahnoone18

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip was well-organised, with excellent facilities and use of polar suits when out on deck. My only criticism is that it was far too busy- we were like crushed sardines both inside the boat and on deck, and I was almost glad we didn't see the aurora as the experience would have been less special

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

david b

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This is another tour organised by Gray Lines, and once again the organisation was terrible. The original tour was cancelled but we were not informed. Waiting for an hour in a hotel reception is not a good way to spend a holiday.
Pick up on the rearranged day was 45 minutes late, but no apology or explanation. The minibus takes you to the bus station where you are directed to a queue to collect a ticket. Then it's another queue outside in the cold to wait to be allocated a coach.
An awful experience.
The only reason for the four stars is the wonderful display of Northeern Lights that we were privileged to experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

BEDDERS

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent but didn't realise that the gorgeous green and purple colours you see on the photos are mostly invisible to the human receptors and you see bright white instead. Still very impressive

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

melpalachandran

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We were very lucky to see the lights within half an hour of getting on the bus. They are stunning and worth the visit. I would recommend going for a smaller tour cause we felt lost in the crowds of people. It would of been really awful if we didn't see the lights at all.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Margaret F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Unfortunately although we knew we were the last to be picked up on the coach because of the location of our hotel we were kept waiting for over two hours, which was very frustrating. However the amazing sight of the Northern Lights had a Wow factor, and unlike anything I have ever witnessed in my life, and went someway to alleviate the lateness of the pickup. It was the highlight of our trip to Iceland and a trip I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Mark M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The drivers really went the extra mile trying to find aurora activity on an impossibly cloudy night, but the names Small-Group and Super Jeep are really misleading. There were almost a dozen people in our Ford Econoline van just trying to stay out of each other's laps.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

Bryan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were initially hesitant to go out when the bus picked us up in the rain, but after riding out the bad weather on the boat, we were treated to some beautiful displays of Northern Lights. The crew was knowledgeable and friendly, and even helped me set up my DSLR for taking photos of the lights. The snow suits kept us warm on deck, and we ended up glad that we made the trip!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Georgina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour as you can keep going back until you can see it. We didn't see legal northern lights so we can go back anytime in the next two years. I would recommend taking a proper camera as we got some amazing photos even though we could only barely just see the lights. Highly recommended and need to plan another trip to Iceland to try again!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Sharlene G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even though we did not really get to see the lights, the entertainment between the poetry reading and Maria was really great. We were given the option to go again but due to the weather were unable to but had an awesome 4 course dinner which was really great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Jing Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We went for the cruise as soon as we arrived in Reykjavik and it was REALLY cold. There are overalls and hot beverages on board and they were essential. The tour was fun and enjoyable when everybody was looking into the sky hoping to find the light. We didn't have any luck seeing the northen light due to poor weather but was offered a second chance for free. I highly recommend the cruise tour but do check the forcast before booking.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

KUAN KAI P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Michael s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well organized and pleasant. The tour announcer was delightful and added so much to the experience. He really gave his all and we appreciated it. Having to entertain a crowd for two hours in a monologue is not easy, but he did it smooth as silk.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must to see the northern nights.
We were lucky to see the lights on our first trip at a farm which provided hot chocolate, and toilet facilities which were much appreciated on a cold winters night.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Richard B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was fine, a boat ride out to try and see the lights which didn't cooperate. However, the woman tour guide had a rather strident voice which was a bit abrasive coming over the speaker system. The coveralls were a welcome addition to keep warm on the frigid night.

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

George C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our first attempt was snowed off. You have to phone the tour company to go the next night no charge. Unfortunately despite the brilliant efforts of the tour guide no Northern Lights. I have however had to complain about the conduct of the pick up driver.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Hully

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The Blue Lagoon part is amazing and worth every cent however the Northern Lights are overated. No-one tells you before you go that you cannot see the lights properly with the naked eye, you have to have a very good camera which can capture the lights and only then can you see the true colours. The cruise itself though is a very good experience and is a much better way of seeing the lights than by bus for doing it by bus means you have to hop off and on and you risk not seeing the lights as they may not remain on for more than a few seconds.

Doing what: Blue Lagoon and Evening Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message