There are compelling reasons to visit Iceland in summer. Long days and mild temperatures mean you can make the most of the amazing landscape while also leaving time to experience Reykjavik’s cool bar scene. But winter? It’s got to be something ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Artis was a brilliant guide. She took us to some amazing places where my husband was able to take great photos of the Northern Lights. She kept us entertained and informed throughout.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Not done due to the weather but viator gave my full refund

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our trip was amazing even though we didn't get to see the northern lights. Our guide, Danny, was just great and very knowledgeable. The caves and glacier walk was just a fantastic experience. The 2 days were well organised and such an adventure. This was certainly a highlight to our trip to Iceland. The stay at the Country Hotel Anna was such a treat with great food.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Lights Adventure Tour Including Glacier Walking, Hiking and Underground Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our trip was amazing even though we didn't get to see the northern lights. Our guide, Danny, was just great and very knowledgeable. The caves and glacier walk was just a fantastic experience. The 2 days were well organised and such an adventure. This was certainly a highlight to our trip to Iceland. The stay at the Country Hotel Anna was such a treat with great food.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Lights Adventure Tour Including Glacier Walking, Hiking and Underground Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was too cloudy. Could not see the lights. Was told tickets was good for two years if you don't see the lights you just have to rebook. your name is in the system. Nice ride out, could see the John Lennon light from Videy Island.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour guides are really good, pointing out where to look, you need a good camera as an iPhone doesn't pick the lights up! The driver also stopped on the way back so we could see a great view on the lights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We enjoyed our norther lights tour. We went on January 5, 2015 and were able to see the lights from about 10:00pm for roughly half and hour. The skies were partly cloudy and there was a full moon. As the night progressed, the skies cleared but we saw no more activity. The tour took us to two spots. We were thrilled to have seen the lights since the tours were cancelled the day before and after our trip due to poor weather conditions.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a very long night but a very enjoyable and worthwhile one. After our first stop it seemed we would not see the lights. We were then taken to some hot springs and that appeared to be that. But the tour guides kept trying and we finally saw the lights. The guides described them as not the best but at least we had seen them. On our way back we stopped again and this time saw the lights even better. Thanks to the perseverance of the tour guides.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Saw the lights briefly and they offer another day free.. Definitely worth doing

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Event was great, luckily enough to see lights, only grade 4

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Sadly didnt get to see the northern lights as it was snowing. Just unlucky cant fault tour in any way they tried there best to find clear sky but no luck.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Due to the bad weather this trip was changed to a coach trip, to a large wooden shed near the coast, although we would not have known it was by the coast. If you like to listen to a tour guide reading poetry and singing local songs, you will enjoy the ride. We was not given a coach number so it was hard to find our coach as the place was packed, just as we were about to leave at 23.30 the lights came out and we saw them for most of the journey home, so for that it was worth doing, got back to the hotel about 1a,m

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was a little disappointing. It says the tour is 3-5 hours long, you spend 3 hours driving into the countryside to see the lights. There you will meet a convoy of around 10 other coaches, packed with tourists trying to see the lights. We didn't see anything. The guide told us if we didn't see anything we would carry on driving until we saw the lights, however this wasn't true. Wouldn't bother going again.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

great tour guide - although i did not get to see the northern lights. But it is good that Reykjavik Excursion would honor the coupon for two years so next time when you go to Iceland you can still go for free.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I booked on Viator because of all of the positive reviews even from those who weren't lucky enough to see the lights. Maybe we were unlucky but our guide was absolutely useless. His knowledge about the lights was poor and he just babbled in the coach about his childhood. He mentioned that when we find the lights, we mustn't use the flash on our cameras and to find a guide to help with getting a good picture. When we found the lights, there was no guide to be found to help with the camera or to talk about the lights. This is a long trip, we departed at 8pm and didnt get back to the hotel until 2am.

Our guide mentioned that the lights we saw were a 7 out of 10 but I was surprised by what we saw and not in a positive way. Don't expect the night sky to be lit up in bright greens! You can mistake the lights for clouds as they are so faint so I wouldn't recommend going to Iceland just for the lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message