There are compelling reasons to visit Iceland in summer. Long days and mild temperatures mean you can make the most of the amazing landscape while also leaving time to experience Reykjavik’s cool bar scene. But winter? It’s got to be something ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Brought us to a coffee shack in the middle of nowhere with about 200 other people crowded around. We relocated after a few hours of not seeing the lights, but after relocation we had an amazing display. I just wish t here were not 200-300 other people all around.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Take advantage of the complimentary overalls in addition to dressing warmly. Overalls and boat are well maintained. Hotel pick up and return a good feature. Lucked out - smooth waters, clear skies and lots of Northern Lights activity. Good tour. Worth the effort and cost.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide/driver 'Thor' was personable and informative. Caving was not too difficult but there is a little bit of 'scrambling' and you needed to be mindful of your footing. Nice traveling with a smaller group. Dinner was delicious. Northern Lights were not very active-went looking next nite free.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent Lobster Dinner and a wonderful guide that scout for locations to see the Northern Lights

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time!! First stop - explore a lava cave. I wasn't expecting to climb into the lava cave (don't ask me what I was expecting, because I don't know). Our guide was informative and extremely friendly. From there we went to a restaurant in Eyrarbakki for the lobster dinner. We received 5 small lobster tails each that were the sweetest best tasting lobsters EVER!! I am gluten/dairy free and had mine plain and they were fantastic. Unfortunately, the weather was not cooperating and we were unable to see the lights. However, it was definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

Sabyasachi G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We waited for four days till the tour went...and we cherish it forever...so lucky to have done and seen the Northern lights!!!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Went on this twice as the first time it was cloudy, they did show for a very brief time, the second time and our last night there was a beautiful clear evening but they did not appear. good thing about this tour is that you can go as many times as you want in two years until you see them without having to pay each time.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We are lucky that we saw the N lights. The tour guide was informative, friendly and did not rush us back to the hotel at all. Well organized tour. The "benefit" is if the first nite fails to see the N lights, you can re-book subsequent nites until you do.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was well organised, driver and guide very friendly, but i didn`t see any northern lights but naturally it was not your fault and and i hope i can repeat the tour at the end of september, my next trip to Iceland.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

A fun trip out of the city, didn't see much of the northern lights though.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We had bad luck as it was a terrible night to see the Northern Lights. The boat drove around for a couple of hours and then went back to port. This is always the risk you take with an event that depends on mother nature.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This is a hit and miss case. You should not visit Iceland with this as your main draw, since you are likely to be disappointed. We saw only flickers of green which came and went. But I am sure for those who were lucky, this could be a once-in a lifetime experience. Viator was great with their services.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

A bit weird this one. Get picked up whilst its still light, go on a coach to the middle of nowhere then stand there waiting whilst it goes dark. By the time its dark enough for anything to happen your cold and bored!! Didn't see anything either so maybe why i feel abit weird about this trip??!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The only reason why I wouldn't recommend this tour is because the title of the tour makes it seem like you go out on the ocean far enough to get out of the view of Reykjavik's city lights. Well to be honest, you are still very much able to see the city lights and only go out to the Reykjavik Bay. Luckily they give you jump suits that are heavy enough to keep you warm on the top deck of the boat. We ended up technically seeing the northern lights but they were not as bright as anyone would expect them to be.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message