There are compelling reasons to visit Iceland in summer. Long days and mild temperatures mean you can make the most of the amazing landscape while also leaving time to experience Reykjavik’s cool bar scene. But winter? It’s got to be something ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 282 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It took two attempts, But well worth every minute. Try to book the excursion on your first full day in Iceland.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We went on a Wednesday night and the weather was overcast and we were not able to see the lights. They offered to let us go again on any other night we wanted until we saw the lights. So, we ventured out again on Thursday night to a different location by the lighthouse near the village of Gardur and we saw the lights dancing across the night sky. They were spectacular to see in person! The tour operaters were kind and informative and just as happy to see the northern lights as we were. A great experience!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good value for money, although we would have liked to have had a more comfortable warm area to wait on a night when it was very cold and snowy. The cafe was very small and there was only one person serving refreshments. The lights were well worth waiting for although not such a good display on the night we were there. As a company, they are excellent and everything always runs to time and is efficient.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

It's worth doing to see the Northern Lights (we didn't see them unfortunately) but you spend a lot of time sitting on a bus. I would probably do a more private version next time.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

This tour was the worst part of our trip. We knew that the chance of seeing the lights was slim but we went anyway. We were taken to a remote location which had seating and a cafe. There were maybe enough seats for 2 bus loads of people. There were 5 buses there! It was standing room only inside the building and freezing cold outside. We ended up sitting on the cold bus for 2 1/2 hours because there was no place else for us to go. It wasn't even a little bit fun.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Unfortunately cloudy weather prevented even a glimmer. My ticket is valid for year but seriously I'm not likely to be back in Iceland to take advantage of that.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a tough tour because you don't know if you will get to see the Northern Lights or not. We were lucky enough to find them. Our guide was very knowledgeable about cameras and was able to help us set them up so that you can get pictures.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

daggag21
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is something that I have wanted to do for years now and I can finally say that I got to see the northern lights. It is and awe inspiring moment when you get to see them. Our guide and the whole trip was great

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the chance to see northern lights (beginning of October) !! :) :)
It was great. At the beginning, we had to wait 2 hours before some lights appear. We took some hot chocolate to warm up !

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The first night was a bust, but the second night we had a spectacular show. Although the tours took us to a location with a cafe both nights, it seems like for the price we paid hot chocolate or something could have been provided. We found out after the fact that other tour companies do provide hot chocolate and donuts on their northern lights tours...

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Four stars because we saw the Northern Lights, which were amazing. If it were based on the guide, I'd only give two stars as she was insane and refused to take us back after seeing the lights. I felt like I was being held captive on a tour bus for four hours listening to her nonsensical ramblings.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights on our first try. We got some amazing photos of them with our D-SLR but I know many other guests were disappointed they couldn't capture decent photos with their more basic digital caneras / iPhones - so be aware. Be prepared for it to be super cold!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Not good weather for seeing Northern Lights but you can't control the weather. Be prepared that you do end up sat in a cafe just waiting - tad dull for the lone visitor - I wish I'd had a book with me. There was some northern light exposure and you do get lots of time to take pictures.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Saw a very mild display of the lights but had we known they only drive out into national park at the coffee house / restrooms stop we could have driven our own hire car out and done the same thing

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message