• USD ($)
  • English
There are compelling reasons to visit Iceland in summer. Long days and mild temperatures mean you can make the most of the amazing landscape while also leaving time to experience Reykjavik’s cool bar scene. But winter? It’s got to be something ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Take advantage of the complimentary overalls in addition to dressing warmly. Overalls and boat are well maintained. Hotel pick up and return a good feature. Lucked out - smooth waters, clear skies and lots of Northern Lights activity. Good tour. Worth the effort and cost.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide/driver 'Thor' was personable and informative. Caving was not too difficult but there is a little bit of 'scrambling' and you needed to be mindful of your footing. Nice traveling with a smaller group. Dinner was delicious. Northern Lights were not very active-went looking next nite free.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent Lobster Dinner and a wonderful guide that scout for locations to see the Northern Lights

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time!! First stop - explore a lava cave. I wasn't expecting to climb into the lava cave (don't ask me what I was expecting, because I don't know). Our guide was informative and extremely friendly. From there we went to a restaurant in Eyrarbakki for the lobster dinner. We received 5 small lobster tails each that were the sweetest best tasting lobsters EVER!! I am gluten/dairy free and had mine plain and they were fantastic. Unfortunately, the weather was not cooperating and we were unable to see the lights. However, it was definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

Sabyasachi G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We waited for four days till the tour went...and we cherish it forever...so lucky to have done and seen the Northern lights!!!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Went on this twice as the first time it was cloudy, they did show for a very brief time, the second time and our last night there was a beautiful clear evening but they did not appear. good thing about this tour is that you can go as many times as you want in two years until you see them without having to pay each time.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

A fun trip out of the city, didn't see much of the northern lights though.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

A bit weird this one. Get picked up whilst its still light, go on a coach to the middle of nowhere then stand there waiting whilst it goes dark. By the time its dark enough for anything to happen your cold and bored!! Didn't see anything either so maybe why i feel abit weird about this trip??!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The only reason why I wouldn't recommend this tour is because the title of the tour makes it seem like you go out on the ocean far enough to get out of the view of Reykjavik's city lights. Well to be honest, you are still very much able to see the city lights and only go out to the Reykjavik Bay. Luckily they give you jump suits that are heavy enough to keep you warm on the top deck of the boat. We ended up technically seeing the northern lights but they were not as bright as anyone would expect them to be.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

True to its word, we were EASILY on for a second opportunity when the trip was determined to fall short of satisfaction for the client. We had good drivers on both occasions, enthusiastic, informative and patient guides on both outings and the Northern Lights did not disappoint. The only problem was that I was not sufficiently prepared on photo taking, so I was disappointed more with myself than with anything that was offered by viator. Thank you for great service and a wonderful experience. The Northern Lights show was spectacular!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great trip - make sure you put on the waterproof suits provided, keeps you nice and snug whilst on deck. Trip was from 9am until midnight, much more civilised than the coach tour, spoke to a couple who went out at 7.30pm and didn't get back until 1.30am!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent highly recommended

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Hi
Unfortunately the tour did not go ahead due to cloud...could you process a refund as flew back the next day, many thanks

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Climbing up into the super jeep so large I needed a boost up, I knew this wasn't going to be a sit-back tour. After braving the icy roads out of Reykjavik, we ended up completely in the middle of nowhere at Leiðarendi cave (http://cave.is/caves-in-iceland/leidarendi-cave/). The wind was so strong it was hard to stand up at times, and after donning hard hats and lamps, our guide promptly slid on his back down an almost invisible hole into the dark below. After wiggling, climbing, bending and bumping our way through, we discovered an enchanting lava tube of hobbit-like proportions, along with its hidden secrets of previous occupants - both animal and mineral!

We then headed to Eyrarbakki, a small village in South West Iceland, and enjoyed a delicious lobster meal in Rauða Húsið (The Red House), with some excellent beers.

We then had the tricky task of spotting northern lights in a cloudy, full-moon sky. Our guide tried three of the 'regular' spots he knew, but nothing was to be seen. Rather than give up, he drove another 30-45 mins on up a mountain in a BLIZZARD to try and get us a view, but nothing could be done. Such is the chance you take with Northern Lights tours.

While we didn't see the lights this time, this was a brilliant package tour with a guide who definitely knew his stuff.

Doing what: Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik: Lobster Dinner, Lava Caves and Eyrarbakki

Clare B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

the best thing I did on a 6 week Europe holiday. tour group was huge over 800, but were transported to a very remote area and move people staying in the buses. fantastic views of the lights, great photographic advise given by our bus leader. Despite the massive numbers on the tour, everything went on time and smoothly. couldn't praise the team more. will definatelly do this tour again.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message