The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, is a spectacular display of swirling colors which appear at winter in polar regions. They can be elusive, but Iceland has the perfect conditions for viewing this breathtaking natural phenomenon.  First, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 617 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joe D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

OUTSTANDING! I suggest the 9PM trip as I wanted to leave at midnight but the bus driver kept saying Have Patience!! Freezing my Florida butt off but at 1:10 AM the most incredible light show I have or will have seen!
The colors... green, red, purple made the entire trip worth every penny. THANK YOU Mr. Bus Driver!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Americo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want pics of northern lights - this is it - the best out there - absolutely loved it - don't bother with the others. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Ok, staring with a negative... booked for the Sunday night, waited in the hotel lobby at the correct time and no one showed up...got to 8:15 and someone else at our hotel asked if we knew the trip had been cancelled due to cloud cover! We didn't! I called and it was cancelled!! a day or so later I did notice that our hotel put up a little sign on the desk staying it was cancelled so look out for something similar. HOWEVER, they quickly changed it to the Monday night. This time it went ahead! We had a 20 chance of seeing the lights... mmmm... the guide was very helpful on the bus, it seemed to take ages to get to the spot a farmers field There were about 5 other bus loads of people!! We got out the bus and stood around - sky was clear and the stars were AMAZING! No sign of the lights thought - using our camera we were able to pick up faint signs of the lights - got some good pictures! Just as we were about to leave we actually saw them with the naked eye! Not as bright and amazing as they can be I am sure - I wasn't in tears with amazement! However we did see them! A good tour, let down by the silly cancelling and not letting us know. We were very lucky cus the tour was cancelled the next two nights!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

YVETTE J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I feel like this tour should have been cancelled upon knowing the skies were not going to clear up. The ride was fun, but the Northern Lights were not going to be seen in the type of weather we had and was forecast. Even if we didn't get to see them, I'm sure on another occasion where skies are clear they are beautiful.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

jhaake

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I rate it a 2, not because of the crew, but because I didn't get to see any lights. I had thought from reading the description that we were to be taken out to sea more, away from city lights as they directly state. What we ended up doing was going out to the bay. This would have been fine, despite seeing lights from the city. However, the bay was the only place that had cloud cover. The ocean was clear and so was the city.

So I feel that the description was inaccurate.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Thomas R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Went out on a very cloudy night nobodies fault
Stopped at a restaurant for almost an hour ridiculous waste of time just to make money for the bar
Stopped at one place in a field...waited 20 minutes...then headed back
no intention of seeing the lights... tour guide knew it....driver knew it....half the bus knew it...

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Anetta S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately I cannot rate this tour. Don t consider my 1 star. I should put something, and i couldn t put 2 stars, because I didn t experience anything of this tour.
It doesn t mean, I don t recommend this tour. It means that you should fix well everything before you go on that trip, otherwise you will experience the same sadness as we did. I explain...During our stay in Iceland there was only once Northern Lights Activity. We booked our tour for that day. There was a misunderstanding or I don t even understand what happened, but the pick up bus didn t show up at the hotel, at the indicated time. We waited 40 minutes in the cold outside of an other hotel because the free pick up didn t picked up us from our guesthouse then we went home and didn t see the Nortern Lights. Very-very upset.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

These tours, like everything we did in Reykjavik, were really well organized and friendly. The boats provide coveralls to keep you warm - these are 1 very needed and 2 in good condition - make sure you wear plenty of layers as well though.

The trip only runs if there's at least some chance you'll see lights. We got super lucky and went out on a night when there was a truly awesome northern lights show. Obviously, there's nothing anyone can do to guarantee you get to see them, but I really got the impression that effort was being made to ensure we got the best possible experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You're at the mercy of Mother Nature on this one...but we lucked out and saw a great show! The tour operators were great - just be sure to get there early to get a good seat on the top deck! It gets crowded.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Loyd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely a great trip. Our tour guide Clemmie was awesome! We were like storm chasers in the night driving around looking for clear skies and the Northern Lights! We saw them at three different stops and they were spectacular! Clemmie explained how to use your camera to take pics which really helped a novice like me. And he even knows how to take pics of you with the northern lights in the background. So amazing. GO ON THIS TOUR!

Doing what: Small-Group Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Super Jeep

Lawrence C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very luck to see the Northern Light display as soon as the boat left the harbor far enough.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Saman A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brillaint, we were lucky enough to see the lights.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Graham L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant we saw the lights and would recommend this excursion
Thanks Carol Lycett

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Urszula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our Cruise was cancelled the first night but there was no problem to move it for other day or get the money back, so we moved for the next night, we had a fantastic time. It's worth going at this Cruise. It's something you have to see for yourself :

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Brenda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The first day we didn't have the opportunity to see the lights completely. But we have the chance to take the tour for free once again and in the second time the lights were dancing all over the sky! Absolutely worth it!! Impressive!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

margie2504

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In one word Fantastic

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Pam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Mrs J B Little L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good, the young guide was the best we had on all our excursions, really helpful and enthusiastic, also pretty knowledgeable. This is obviously relying on nature to produce the goods but they did everything in their power to give us a good experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Justyna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kopar restaurant is very nice and the food was lovely. The table was booked automatically two and a half hours before the boat departure, however, I would recommend changing it to about three hours since we had to rush with our desserts. Unfortunately, after getting to the boat it turned out that the cruise had been canceled due to cloudy weather and we were booked for the next day. It would have been nice if they let us know a little earlier. The following evening the sky was cloudless and we manged to see a nice display of northern lights even though we've been told that it may be too late for it this time of year. The thermal overalls provided on the boat kept us nice and warm during the cruise.

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We just got back from Iceland and were fortunate enough to take a Northern Lights tour during the last week they were available for the spring season. Unfortunately, on our first attempt, there was nothing to see but the tour company let people re-book a second night at no extra charge. So glad we had the opportunity - what a show the skies put on! Great experience, all around. We were bused to an area that had facilities, so you can get coffee, hot chocolate, snacks, and be able to use a bathroom. The tours will resume again in the fall. Don't miss a chance to get into a dark sky area to see them. Be sure to dress warmly. Spectacular - words can't adequately describe the thrill. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

pypercomm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the lights! One of my bucket list items and we were so fortunate to experience this breathtaking wonder. So convenient and easy with the tour bus picking you up at your hotel. Grayling is the company running the buses and they were always on time and very organized. There is a small cafe at the site where they took us so you can get inside for warmth and coffee. We were lucky as the lights started around 10:30pm. Words can not express the beauty of the lights. I'd definitely recommend taking this tour!!

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Alva United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the lights! Our guides were very knowledgeable and knew where to go to see the lights. On our way back to the city the lights were so strong that we stopped in the middle of no where to get out and see them. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

jb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The food in Kopar was wonderful and took the stress out of finding somewhere to eat on our first day of arrival. The staff on the boat were really knowledgeable and very excitable when the lights appeared, which incidentally appeared at sunset. We were very lucky and saw a beautiful display.

Doing what: Kopar Fine Dining Dinner and Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Lawrence C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We hunted for the Northern Light until 1:40 am in the morning and we finally got it and got it big. It was brilliant under a very dark sky. It was cold but worthy the experience, as nature is totally unpredictable. One thing I look for improvement is that the guide should let us know few minutes ahead to alert us to prepare to get off the bus to see the light.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Sean N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was very good. Super incredible experience to see the Northern Lights for the first time. The only thing I didn't like was how over booked the tour was...there were at least 10 full buses of people. To many people in and around me to obstruct the view. I didn't get a single great picture because of all the flash and extra light which could have been easily avoided by renting a car and driving out of the city for probably the same price.

Doing what: Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message