From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Hump back and minkey whales, plus dolphins. Just fantastic!! Quad bikes good but a little well controlled. ie. no opportunity to really let rip!! Still, overall, very, very happy..

Doing what: Whale Watching Cruise and Quad Bike Adventure from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I forgot to rate this trip on my previous review. I give it a 5 rating.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Be more explicit in the info about the 2nd part of the tour.

Doing what: Best Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beyond words. Our guide was fantastic. To be inside a volcano is something I never though I would do. The feeling you have is so unique, and you truly realize how special this tour is. This was the 1 thing I was looking forward to when I booked my trip, and it did not disappoint.

Doing what: Small-Group Volcano Tour from Reykjavik: Descent Into Thrihnukagigur Volcano and Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved the black beach, the walk along the cliffs and the trip into the caverns. Get a seat on the right side of the bus.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great boat. Great crew. Wrestled a good many cod to the boat I lost count, if you can believe! A fine half day of fishing, and just minutes away from the Reykjavik shore. Save a couple of fish for the delicious fish meal aboard the boat but please release the rest!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful, and interesting.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Roy S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The customer service in advance of the excursion was FANTASTIC!!! Brynja, Helga and the local tour company staff communicated well and to actually be lowered into the volcano was MIND BLOWING... I could have stayed i there all day... fascinating! The staff that escorted us on the day of the trip were friendly, knowledgeable and the lam stew they service after we came out of the volcano was wonderful... EVERYONE going to Iceland MUST DO THIS TRIP with the local tour company!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Volcano Tour from Reykjavik: Descent Into Thrihnukagigur Volcano and Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

it was a wonderful experience ,the colors amazing and just to say i sat in bottom of volcano
the guides great and the lamp soup hot and hearty and an added bonus was seeing the little orphaned artic fox -great part of my trip to iceland and the hike in was easy /sylvia major

Doing what: Small-Group Volcano Tour from Reykjavik: Descent Into Thrihnukagigur Volcano and Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We caught lots of fish. I caught 12. Cooked them up on the way back. Tasted great. Captain and his mate were very nice, helpful and did a great job.

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

For us this was the highlight of our visit to Iceland. The guides were excellent and the visit inside the volcano an experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Small-Group Volcano Tour from Reykjavik: Descent Into Thrihnukagigur Volcano and Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of my favorite memories of my week in Iceland. My tour was pretty unique. My fantastic guide was named Jon Spencer, and on the tour was his daughter and her family visiting from the states as well as an Icelandic resident who were all equally amazing. The tour itself takes you off the beaten tourist's track except for Seljalandsfoss, but heavy crowds there are to be expected. The multiple walks and hikes through the tour really made it for me, even though my foot slipped trying to cross a stream to get towards the glacier and I completed soaked my shoes. Thorsmork was truly an adventure, the beauty was overwhelming. Jon gave us lots of wonderful information on Iceland and took us to many scenic stops along the way to take photos. The sheer diversity of all the things you are able to see during this one day is unbeatable.
Warning: You WILL get wet. Between the waterfall and all the beautiful streams, creeks, and canyons you will very likely get your shoes wet. Bring extra socks our amazing guide had some for us, but that may have been a forethought since he knew his family would be there?, bring a raincoat, and consider wearing something warm but water resistant on your legs. My tour was in July and the sun was out for most of it, but I imagine this advice is even more important for those doing this tour in the fall/winter. The advice is Iceland is always to pack layers and that could not be more true for this tour. There were points where I was down to a t-shirt and maybe an hour later I was back up to a fleece, a rain coat, and a wool hat.
Overall, I could not have been happier with this day. I recommend this tour to everyone since you see so much and a lot of it isn't packed with tourists. Truly a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The pictures on here do not do this trip justice. The rock formations you see are picture perfect once you are in the national park area, and you can easily spend a whole day here walking the norther and southern shore taking pictures or just taking in the view. A couple of other stops include a lava tube cave which was interesting, and a nice experience to be down there in total darkness for a couple of minutes. A couple of times I thought the day was done and we ended up making some more quick stops at waterfalls and other places that make for nice pictures. A very complete day and a must do if you have a few days in Iceland.

Doing what: Snaefellsjokull, The Glacier and The National Park Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the best day trips I took part of while in Iceland, the Thorsmork area has some great scenery. While there aren't many trees in Iceland, and they aren't big, this area has a decent concentration of them. We went on a nice hike with views of the surrounding area, saw a glacier, stopped at a row of waterfall after waterfall, and ventured into a canyon. I suggest waterproof hiking boots if you have them for the parts where you have to cross running water on stepping stones. The guide was great and there was plenty packed into the day without being rushed.

Doing what: Thorsmork and South Coast Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

good team for the whALE WATCHING ON 29/07/15 espcecially Marcus who was very kind to kids and explaning things about Whales . he was also supportive to my three year old who was slightly sea sick despite having good weather . we were able to see humpback , MINKE and Killer Whales in one session.this was reported as very unsual by Marcus and Brendan.. good trip. i would recoomend it to anyone.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed this tour - our guides were knowledgeable and responsible throughout the day. We had an opportunity to walk along the glacier and then climb up the ice. It was really one of the highlights of our trip. The local tour operator is a great company to tour with!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was just about as perfect as something can be. Weather was beautiful. The guide was informative, polite and competent. The puffins were just where they were supposed to be, just like the guide said they would be. We had a wonderful time. Cost was ok.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The fishing was really good, the crew fun and helpful, and cooking and eating the fish right on board was awesome!

Doing what: Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I love horse back riding but haven't done it in years. This is an easy tour with great guides and the horses are tame and loveable. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour - very informative and great views of the birds!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. We lucked out with the weather as well. Parts of the path were a little muddy due to a previous days rain and some parts are narrow. The hike is a solid 4 km each direction. It is not strenuous but if one is concerned about their steadiness on their feet it is probably not for you. Hiking boots and not shoes are best. Our guide Woi was lovely and very accommodating.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip. Saw lots of Puffins and a seal. Relaxing and short trip. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent! Horses are well taken care of. Great farm, staff was very helpful and friendly!

Doing what: Best Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Beautiful country. Spectacular views. Wal the guide was informative and entertaining. The hike was not at all strenuous and the thermal wading in the streams was relaxing and unique.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Hiking and Hot Springs Adventure in Reykjadalur and Hveragerdi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message