From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 296 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My wife and I had a remarkable experience, the horse are so adorable just to look at and to pat around. And that was just the icing on the cake, the rides are both thrilling and exciting. It was totally out of our expectation. The horse riding alone makes this tour worth it but that wasn't all, we still has Gulfoss and Geysirs to experience. Absolutely awesome!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had never done horse riding before so I was a bit nervous but within a few minutes of riding I picked it up really quickly. The Viking horses are similar to our Shetland ponies and are very well behaved, gentle and adorable. The ride lasted for 90 minutes approximately and you get the opportunity at half way to go into a slow or fast group. I felt very comfortable riding for the first time and the saddles and stirrups made it easy to stay balanced on the horse - I ended up going with the small group of fast riders as I enjoyed it when the horses started to gallop rather than just trot! Great tour for beginner riders!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This your was amazing. Despite zero visibility and snow for a while our captain preserved. Just as we were going to return to the harbour the lights appeared in all their glory.
We spent over an hour watching them form and dance across the sky. It was amazing and I'm so pleased I chose to go

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic.

The horse riding was a massive highlight. The staff were friendly, helpful and fun. We were out riding for almost 2 hours and it was just superb. I'd recommend this to anyone going to Reykjavik.

The express golden circle was very good. My highlight was the geyser

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was fantastic, well organized and great attention was given to details.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What an amazing trip! I cannot praise the guides who took us highly enough (Jakob, Palmi and Snorri), they were simply brilliant. All three were super helpful when anyone had an issue, they were very knowledgeable about the glacier and the places we drove through to get there and were clearly very experienced and capable on the ice. They were very friendly and really made the trip a fantastic experience.

Once we arrived at the glacier we walked from the car park to the ice as a large group of about 25 with all three guides, then split into smaller groups of about 8 with one guide each. We went with Snorri and had such a fantastic time. He was brilliant at explaining how to use all of the equipment, incredibly knowledgeable about the glacier, explaining how the structures on it form and how it shapes the landscape around it and was totally in his element. We saw several crevasses, an ice cave, some moulin, ate glacial ice and drank freshly melted glacier water. When it came to the ice climbing (which is optional and there was no pressure to take part) you could really see his passion come through, he was having just as much fun as we were! We had no worries about safety at any point, the guides clearly had that all in hand so we could just enjoy the day. Snorri pitched the trip perfectly for the ability of our group, showing us interesting things but not pushing anyone out of their comfort zone.

We went in February and there was quite a cold wind and we had some rain as we were walking back. I did the trip in some thermal undies, fleece and waterproof jacket and trousers and was fine. Gloves and a hat are also a must. I wore a pair of normal walking shoes which were fine (both for walking and ice climbing) but the boots you can hire from them were much better for ice climbing.

If you are thinking of taking a trip like this then I cannot recommend this one highly enough. It was well organised and the guides were exceptional. Hope you have a great trip!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Sadly trip not running for both nights tour operator very efficient at notifying us. Viator refunded money. Would book through them again.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

So much fun! Very nice family run farm. Great experience. The Golden Circle half day tour was plenty. You don't need more than a half day to do it.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fabulous day trip that I would thoroughly recommend. We were really lucky with the weather on a Saturday in mid January - clear blue skies, although very cold. The scenery was stunning. As others have said, do make sure you have layers of warm clothes and good boots. The walk on the glacier exceeded all my expectations and the 2 guides were very supportive of my attempts at the ice wall climb. I only managed to get up a little way but still enjoyed the experience! There were about 15 of us in the group from many different countries and ranging in age from early 20s to late 50s. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely amazing!!! Everything was well organised and just an absolute treat to have taken part. I would recommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Not done due to the weather but viator gave my full refund

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Take this tour!! Guide Freyr was a very knowledgeable guide. We walked out 7k (over 4 miles) and had a chance to ice climb on a ice wall. All equipment needed was provided. be sure to wear good hiking boots and waterproof clothing and a hat. Layers would be best because you will warm up while walking. We stopped at the Gullfoss waterfall on the way back. Take this tour!!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing views from boat of lights on 4th try. Luckily had 4 nights to keep trying. Well worth the wait as excellent. In meantime very friendly informative staff who we got to know really well as a small company. Would recommend boat over a bus trip anyday

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message