From lava-spurting volcanoes and hissing geysers to rugged glacial landscapes and ice-blue fjords, Iceland’s scenery provides a mesmerizing backdrop for an outdoor adventure and there are plenty of unique ways to explore the sights from Reykjavik.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 561 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Knowledgeable and informative tour guide and driver. Great itinerary, once in a lifetime experience in glacier hiking and ice climbing. I would definitely recommend it

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Alison D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved this trip. Got to see some lovely views and the horses are beautiful. Unlike any other horse. They are quite spirited and the trot is very bouncy due to shorter legs. The people were great too. Very friendly and match your horse with your experience.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun and different kind of day - nice people and guides, great horses, wonderful scenery, even cross through some creeks. After 30 minutes, horses get to graze a little, then it's back in the saddle to return to the farm. If you're going to blue lagoon next - no worries, they get you to tour bus facility for 1 pm departure. You'll have several departure times to select from at the end of the day. We ate a late lunch in their classy restaurant. It was superb. Hot springs perfect ending to a great day. The trip went exactly as it was described - and it was great. If you've never been on a horse, you'll still enjoy it.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

netcordace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arman is an excellent host, knowledgeable and personable. We would take this excursion again. This is the third time we have used Viator to book excursions. Every one has been excellent. When traveling again, we will definitely review tours offered by Viator to enhance our experiences.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

faith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was not only a blast, but the clarity of the water, the colors, and nature's architecture made this experience the highlight out of many potential candidates of our time in Iceland. Don't let 38 degree fahrenheit temperatures stand between you and this excursion. The only part of our bodies that got cold our index fingers. Go figure. Although you're given a thermal onesie and a wet suit, I'd recommend wearing leggings and a warm shirt for an extra layer underneath the equipment. You and your clothes will not get wet. My daughter and I were the only ones to take the tour this day. Val, a certified diver who guides you on the snorkeling, and Sigrun, who drives you ALL OVER the Golden Circle, are wonderful. They are warm, engaging, and personable. Plus, they photograph the entire swim to prove to your family and friends you did it! I couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

faith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! The guides, who are very entertaining, know the glacier inside and out -- literally -- and oh, so patient. They did their best to give us the total experience. Don't be put off by the ash covering the glaciers. There's a fascinating explanation for it.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Deborah Kay F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a group of 7 riders. We all enjoyed this tour tremendously. The family-owned and operated horse farm was gracious in their service, and took us on a spectacular horse ride through the country side. We crossed over small rivers, and the horses were the best!! We enjoyed an amazing soup and bread lunch afterwards. The soup was made from scratch by the owner and was some of the best vegetable soup we have ever had. The whole experience was magical!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You're at the mercy of Mother Nature on this one...but we lucked out and saw a great show! The tour operators were great - just be sure to get there early to get a good seat on the top deck! It gets crowded.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Saman A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant. Very friendly and experienced driver/guide.

Doing what: Golden Circle Super Jeep Tour and Snowmobiling

Urszula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our Cruise was cancelled the first night but there was no problem to move it for other day or get the money back, so we moved for the next night, we had a fantastic time. It's worth going at this Cruise. It's something you have to see for yourself :

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Alison D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the best ATV tours that my husband and I have ever been on. We've done similar tours in the Caribbean and Hawaii. However, this was actually an adventure. We took the ATVs up a steep, muddy, icy hill and when at the top you could see the whole city of Reykjavik and surrounding mountains covered in snow. It was quite breathtaking. The ride down was just as treacherous but in a fun way. If you like riding this vehicles then you will so enjoy this trip.

Doing what: Mountain Quad Bike Adventure from Reykjavik

Lawrence C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very luck to see the Northern Light display as soon as the boat left the harbor far enough.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

These tours, like everything we did in Reykjavik, were really well organized and friendly. The boats provide coveralls to keep you warm - these are 1 very needed and 2 in good condition - make sure you wear plenty of layers as well though.

The trip only runs if there's at least some chance you'll see lights. We got super lucky and went out on a night when there was a truly awesome northern lights show. Obviously, there's nothing anyone can do to guarantee you get to see them, but I really got the impression that effort was being made to ensure we got the best possible experience.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Christian Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guides were friendly and very knowledgeable of the glaciers.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour was awesome. Our guides were fun, personable and full of knowledge. The Glacier is incredible and having the opportunity to hike it was cool.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day out and the stable staff are fantastic

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

sk8er1947

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience. I am not comfortable around horses but I loved it . Each rider got a horse to suit their comfort zone. Good way to see the countryside.
Very friendly people at the stable.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Martin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great tour in wonderful off-road scenery and had just snowed to extra spectacular. Very safe quad bikes and great guides, we all really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Mountain Quad Bike Adventure from Reykjavik

Gareth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We booked via Viator and did the and #34;Blue Ice and #34; Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing tour from Reykjavik, organised via Arctic Adventures. We booked before we travelled so selected our date.

We left from the office of Arctic Adventures (as it was so close to our apartment). We travelled ins group of 12 people via mini bus. 2.5hr drive, with one stop at a services.

Upon arrival we had the safety briefing and got jutted out with crampons, pick axe, safety helmet and harness.

Was a 15mins walk from car park to the glacier. We the split into two groups.

It was a VERY windy day and we were warned we may not even get on the glacier... But luckily we did! :)

Our group were second in line for the ice climb, so instead we started to hike up the glacier. We took it slowly due to the windy conditions. The views are indescribable and No photo will be able to do them justice. Breathtakingly beautiful.

Our guides tried a few routes, but we were only able to get very far / high, before having to turn back due to the weather.

Unfortunately this meant we were unable to do the ice climb (the other group did, but they stayed at ground level, so didn and #39;t get to see the views we did, so swings and roundabouts I suppose!)

Our guides were AMAZING! I am not at all fit, and although this wasn and #39;t a strenuous hike, there were some uneven areas and they were happy to assist me by taking my hand, especially when coming down slopes.

On the way down it was lovely to see lots of guides from other groups all working together to get groups down quickly as the wind was getting worryingly bad! So there is a real team spirit amongst them all :)

Would recommend this to anyone ~ such a fabulous sight, just wish we could have got higher, although to be honest I was glad to come down, as the weather was turning very quickly up there, so was pleased to get back on the ground!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Iceland's Sólheimajokull Glacier

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic trip. Very cold but definitely worth it as saw a wonderful display of the aurora borealis. You have an option of a larger boat which is a bit slower but more comfortable or a smaller boat which is faster. Warm coveralls to help with the cold and a snack bar on both means you can keep warm with a hot cup of something wet. We selected the smaller boat which was faster and fun when they sped up on the way back. Definitely a must when in Iceland.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

Julia Deutschland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We saw the Northern Lights!!!! So amazing. We really enjoyed the cruise. Totally worth the wait and the cold. However, it may be a bit difficult to take nice pictures with a standard camera as the boat moves a lot with the waves. So, if you are there for the pictures, maybe the bus tour is more recommendable.

Doing what: Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik

susan r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic experience for someone who has very little experience. Cannot fault anything. The team were so welcoming and the horses were so placid. The scenery was amazing and I was as warm as toast in the all in one suits provided. This was the highlight of my trip, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Darlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Viking Horse ride was marvelous, a highlight of our trip! The horses are all well behaved and gentle with the novice rider and the scenery is amazing! We forded three streams, one rather deep, which added zest to the adventure. The Blue Lagoon is not to be missed. Scheduling that after the horse ride made for a perfect day.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik

clairehaston

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really fun day and some beautiful sight seeing!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was our favorite experience in Reykjavik. I can not recommend it too highly. Great way to see the countryside surrounding the city. Our guide, Hjalmar Gudmondsson was personable and experienced. Definitely top attraction for visiting Reykjavik.

Doing what: Mountain Quad Bike Adventure from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message