Iceland lives up to its name during the winter months, but despite the frosty weather and long nights, Reykjavik is at its most atmospheric during the wintertime and there’s no shortage of winter activities to keep visitors entertained. Take a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An absolute must tour for short stays in Iceland. We were fortunate enough to have a clear sunny winters day, which just made everything even better. There are so many different things to see and do, that this trip is great for people of all tastes. You get a good amount of time at all attractions, and don't feel like you are just being herded around like sheep. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing scenery must do when visiting Iceland. I went in Feb and the snow and ice created a magical experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and loved his job.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! The tour guide was passionate about her country and giving information, all really interesting and answered all questions confidently! Sights were amazing too with all the snow, highly recommended :)

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very sweet tour guide. Our bus driver is amazing! A snowstorm came over us and he drove like a pro.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

In comparison to some of the more active tours we did while in Iceland, this one was most definitely less active. However, it was incredibly beautiful and informative. If you are looking to see the main sights along the golden circle, I highly recommend it. Our guide was very informative and you could tell he was passionate about the history of Iceland. We started in Pingvellir as the sun was rising over the mountains — it was incredible. It was snowing very hard when we arrived at Gullfoss, but it was still visible. There was a small restaurant in the gift shop here where you could grab lunch — we all enjoyed our lunch (options such as mushroom soup, sandwiches, a salad, etc.) Lastly, we stopped at the geysers which were very active. Overall, the trip was wonderful and I feel you need to see these sights if you come to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was amazing!! it is a life time experience. Before the tour I was scared that I was going to freeze my soul and get sick (I did it during the winter), but the dry suit really keeps you warm. The guides are amazing, they are really professionals and know what they are doing. I really had a fantastic time, I'm so glad I decided to do it, and I would recommend it to everybody.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour in the ice and snow. Well worth seeing on any visit to Iceland. Took us to gorgeous site of ancient parliament by huge lake, to see the geysers, the stunning waterfall...amazing part_iced over, and geothermal power station for Reykjavik. Full day.. amazing pics of sunrise and sunset

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour - which I think would be just as great in summer as winter. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, giving quite detailed background to Icelandic culture and history.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Prompt pick-up from our hotel. Comfortable bus and very informative tour guide -very helpful, not rushed and provided loads of information. This tour gives a great insight into the 'real' Iceland. We saw spectacular scenery, -frozen glaciers, thermal springs and geysers, volcanoes and snow covered mountains...all in all a spectacular trip. Weatherwise, we were blessed, which made the tour really good.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an awesome trip. I would highly recommend it at this time of the year when there is plenty of snow around to enhance the scenic views. I took their tours to the glacier, northern lights and blue lagoon. All very enjoyable as the tour guides provided a helpful insight into Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour. The view of the falls and the geysir were outstanding. Pingvellir National Park is a vast expanse of ice and lava rock and a most for any first time visitor to Iceland. I would only suggest that they buy some kind of cleats for their shoes as it is very icy and slippery in winter. The guides are very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent day out, very worthwhile. Maybe prepare people for the walk to the "Wishing Well" which was longer than we thought and due to compressed snow very dangerous even wearing treaded boots.
Overall, brilliant and great "lamb soup" or stew as we call it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous tour and highly recommend even during winter. Was the first time I snorkelled in a dry suite and apart for my hands and face going numb due to the 2 degrees water. The experience of snorkelling in the clearest water I have ever seen was amazing. Was the highlight of my Iceland trip.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered everything it said it would even with all of the snowy weather!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic, I'm not sure what else I can say. There is so much that is visually stunning in Iceland, the waterfalls were amazing, the hot springs, etc. the landscape is stunning, pretty much everywhere you look there are snow covered mountains in the distance (even whilst in Reykjavik). We even had enough time to go and see a smaller waterfall on the way round, which was not on the agenda. There are places that we stopped for food and drinks along the way to keep everyone going. the only part of the trip that I was less interested in was the powerplant, although it does show that the Icelandics have got their heads together and are making the most of the natural resources to create power.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Snorkeling in Silfra is definitely one of the most exciting things I've ever done!
Walking through the lava tube cave was fine, but it was pretty tame.
We spent the morning driving to the cave, walking through the short cave and checking out some of the Iceland scenery. It was a super windy day, so instead of a picnic we ate lunch in the van as we drove to Silfra. The sandwich was amazingly tasty!
Once at Silfra we stripped down to our skivvies, or leggings and t-shirts (guys outside, gals in the van - no changing rooms in the parking lot). Then we put on cozy "teddy bear" suits, which were basically like children's snow-suits, a big one piece down suit. Then the diving socks, then the dry suit with built on boots goes over everything. Hilarious watching everyone put these on, they can be a small struggle - with the rubber cuffs at the wrists and neck to keep the water out. Then the diving head piece and gloves. The suit, especially the rubber neck lightly squeezing your throat can be a tiny claustrophobic, but you get used to it before you get to the water, so it's ok.
Finally with flippers and snorkel mask in hand we walked to the waters edge, climbed down metal stairs and began floating effortlessly on the glacier water.
Basically only the skin around your mouth is exposed to the water, which goes numb very quickly - so the 50 minutes in the cold water is not uncomfortable at all.
The visibility is incredible and the colors are stunning!
After we got out of the water and walked a short way - we had an opportunity to jump off a little cliff into the water - a total rush!
Such an exciting thing to float between two continents!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This is a must GO trip when you visit Iceland
The tour is wonderful. The bus is very comfort and the tour is very nice
I may want to go again in spring or summer to have a different view from winter

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Excellent well organised excursion. Our guide John was friendly and knowledgeable and made sure the group stayed on time in order to visit some added extras like the volcano crater and a stop to meet the wild horses. I would say that you really need to wear warm clothes and proper snow/hiking shoes to enjoy the trip (we went in December) as it was very icey and quite a few people fell over. There was so much to see you definitely need the day to see it all as we were contemplating the express trip before but glad we opted for this one instead. Great views and great trip - would recommend.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Absolutely fantastic made even more enjoyalbe by the fact that although Iceland has not experienced snow for 3 years the sub-zero temperatueres resulted in a picturesque wintery backdrop. We saw the sun come up at 9am in the national park, the waterfalls were fantastic followed by a hot bowl of soup with free refill rounded off by a visit to the geysers

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Elizabeth H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was well worth going on this tour. It is a great way to see a very dynamic landscape, especially considering it was covered in snow. Gulfoss Falls were spectacular and Pingvellir National Park where the earth is ripping apart at 2cm every year.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Richard V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This was a very enjoyable day. The first stop at the geothermic power plant gives an interesting insight into how Reykjavik is supplied with water, and the scenery and landscapes on the other parts of the tour were outstanding. However, I think it's definitely better to do it in the winter provided you're OK with walking about in the cold for half an hour or so because having seen postcards of the landscape in the summer. I would suggest the snow and ice make it more spectacular, particularly if like me you live in the south-east of the UK and therefore don't get to see such things too often! Our guide was excellent, gave us lots of interesting information but did not talk for too long and had a good sense of humour. All in all highly recommended, especially if like me you are only visiting for a short time.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Despite the cold Northeast wind, well gale, rain, sleet, and snow, that day it was a great trip. Our guide was very good not only on the facts about where we were but also making the tour as comfortable as it could be given the unexpected bad weather.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Clive H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This is THE tour to do. It is an all-day tour that takes in all the good bits around Reykjavik. Take both a video and a still camera. You'll get some unforgettable shots! The geysers are incredible, as are the waterfalls. A knowledgeable guide was provided. The only thing that I could find that could be improved would be for the tour to be a little longer, but we went in summer when it was daylight all day. It might be difficult in winter. I would definitely do this tour again, and I highly recommend it! It is brilliant.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful taste of the Golden Circle- this tour hits all of the big sites and the weather for us was PERFECT for a winter Iceland day. The sites are gorgeous, and the bus is comfortable. We received a bonus stop thanks, John! that was breathtaking. We also stopped at the geothermal power plant, which I could have done without. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to rent a car but still wants to see the cool sites.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We highly recommend this tour for anyone on a first visit to Iceland. The tour guide was very informative and we learned a lot about Iceland's history and current day customs. The scenery was beautiful especially Gullfoss as it was covered in snow and ice. Its a long day so make sure you have some snacks and drink with you. There isnt a lot of time to get something to eat or drink when you stop and we got stuck for 3 hours in a true Icelandic snow storm after our stop at the geothermal power plant. It wasn't scary as the Icelanders have it all under control, its just a case of being patient. Everyone on the bus was hungry but we neednt have worreid as the restaurants were still serving food.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message