Iceland lives up to its name during the winter months, but despite the frosty weather and long nights, Reykjavik is at its most atmospheric during the wintertime and there’s no shortage of winter activities to keep visitors entertained. Take a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour in the ice and snow. Well worth seeing on any visit to Iceland. Took us to gorgeous site of ancient parliament by huge lake, to see the geysers, the stunning waterfall...amazing part_iced over, and geothermal power station for Reykjavik. Full day.. amazing pics of sunrise and sunset

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour in the ice and snow. Well worth seeing on any visit to Iceland. Took us to gorgeous site of ancient parliament by huge lake, to see the geysers, the stunning waterfall...amazing part_iced over, and geothermal power station for Reykjavik. Full day.. amazing pics of sunrise and sunset

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour - which I think would be just as great in summer as winter. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, giving quite detailed background to Icelandic culture and history.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Prompt pick-up from our hotel. Comfortable bus and very informative tour guide -very helpful, not rushed and provided loads of information. This tour gives a great insight into the 'real' Iceland. We saw spectacular scenery, -frozen glaciers, thermal springs and geysers, volcanoes and snow covered mountains...all in all a spectacular trip. Weatherwise, we were blessed, which made the tour really good.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an awesome trip. I would highly recommend it at this time of the year when there is plenty of snow around to enhance the scenic views. I took their tours to the glacier, northern lights and blue lagoon. All very enjoyable as the tour guides provided a helpful insight into Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour. The view of the falls and the geysir were outstanding. Pingvellir National Park is a vast expanse of ice and lava rock and a most for any first time visitor to Iceland. I would only suggest that they buy some kind of cleats for their shoes as it is very icy and slippery in winter. The guides are very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent day out, very worthwhile. Maybe prepare people for the walk to the "Wishing Well" which was longer than we thought and due to compressed snow very dangerous even wearing treaded boots.
Overall, brilliant and great "lamb soup" or stew as we call it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous tour and highly recommend even during winter. Was the first time I snorkelled in a dry suite and apart for my hands and face going numb due to the 2 degrees water. The experience of snorkelling in the clearest water I have ever seen was amazing. Was the highlight of my Iceland trip.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered everything it said it would even with all of the snowy weather!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic, I'm not sure what else I can say. There is so much that is visually stunning in Iceland, the waterfalls were amazing, the hot springs, etc. the landscape is stunning, pretty much everywhere you look there are snow covered mountains in the distance (even whilst in Reykjavik). We even had enough time to go and see a smaller waterfall on the way round, which was not on the agenda. There are places that we stopped for food and drinks along the way to keep everyone going. the only part of the trip that I was less interested in was the powerplant, although it does show that the Icelandics have got their heads together and are making the most of the natural resources to create power.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Snorkeling in Silfra is definitely one of the most exciting things I've ever done!
Walking through the lava tube cave was fine, but it was pretty tame.
We spent the morning driving to the cave, walking through the short cave and checking out some of the Iceland scenery. It was a super windy day, so instead of a picnic we ate lunch in the van as we drove to Silfra. The sandwich was amazingly tasty!
Once at Silfra we stripped down to our skivvies, or leggings and t-shirts (guys outside, gals in the van - no changing rooms in the parking lot). Then we put on cozy "teddy bear" suits, which were basically like children's snow-suits, a big one piece down suit. Then the diving socks, then the dry suit with built on boots goes over everything. Hilarious watching everyone put these on, they can be a small struggle - with the rubber cuffs at the wrists and neck to keep the water out. Then the diving head piece and gloves. The suit, especially the rubber neck lightly squeezing your throat can be a tiny claustrophobic, but you get used to it before you get to the water, so it's ok.
Finally with flippers and snorkel mask in hand we walked to the waters edge, climbed down metal stairs and began floating effortlessly on the glacier water.
Basically only the skin around your mouth is exposed to the water, which goes numb very quickly - so the 50 minutes in the cold water is not uncomfortable at all.
The visibility is incredible and the colors are stunning!
After we got out of the water and walked a short way - we had an opportunity to jump off a little cliff into the water - a total rush!
Such an exciting thing to float between two continents!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This is a must GO trip when you visit Iceland
The tour is wonderful. The bus is very comfort and the tour is very nice
I may want to go again in spring or summer to have a different view from winter

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Excellent well organised excursion. Our guide John was friendly and knowledgeable and made sure the group stayed on time in order to visit some added extras like the volcano crater and a stop to meet the wild horses. I would say that you really need to wear warm clothes and proper snow/hiking shoes to enjoy the trip (we went in December) as it was very icey and quite a few people fell over. There was so much to see you definitely need the day to see it all as we were contemplating the express trip before but glad we opted for this one instead. Great views and great trip - would recommend.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Absolutely fantastic made even more enjoyalbe by the fact that although Iceland has not experienced snow for 3 years the sub-zero temperatueres resulted in a picturesque wintery backdrop. We saw the sun come up at 9am in the national park, the waterfalls were fantastic followed by a hot bowl of soup with free refill rounded off by a visit to the geysers

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Elizabeth H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was well worth going on this tour. It is a great way to see a very dynamic landscape, especially considering it was covered in snow. Gulfoss Falls were spectacular and Pingvellir National Park where the earth is ripping apart at 2cm every year.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message