Iceland lives up to its name during the winter months, but despite the frosty weather and long nights, Reykjavik is at its most atmospheric during the wintertime and there’s no shortage of winter activities to keep visitors entertained. Take a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheldon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The first snow dump of the year took place the evening before the tour. That new, fresh snow added to the beauty of the landscape. Of course, the -9 degrees was a bit much! :-

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this trip. Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and very funny which helped to pass the time spent on the coach.
We stayed for the right amount of time at the attractions so we were never hurried or hanging around.
I would definitely do this tour again on my next trip to Iceland I will be going again for sure.
Driver did a great job despite all of the icy roads.
Lunch is reasonably priced too and the soup was fantastic.
I would recommend that you take ice grippers for your shoes if you go during the winter months as the Gullfloss Waterfall and Geysir paths are covered in thick ice.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Nancy L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an outstanding tour. Even though it was winter and everything was snow and ice covered the driver was very capable Ganesh? and our tour guide, Linda was exceptional. Very friendly and helpful..she was quite knowledgable and introduced us to the highlights of her country and people their culture and customs. Our tour actually took place a day later than the 12/5/2015 scheduled tour because of hurricane force winds on the 5th all trips were cancelled so ours took place the next day 12/6/2015. I believe they were from tour bus 6 and that may have been because of all the cancellations and reschedules necessary. I've used Viator on two prior occasions in Vancouver, Canada and found them to be reliable and dependable.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this trip, especially as it snowed

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Denise N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had the best time! The caves were incredible, and it was great to learn the history in how they were formed. Even though we went snorkeling in the freezing water while it was snowing, the view was absolutely breathtaking. This was our favorite part of our trip. We had a fantastic tour guide who happily talked to us all about Iceland, their traditions, and things to do. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Nicole F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

By far the most unique experience yet. Standing in the moss covered lava field and surrounded by dormant volcanoes is a site like no other. It had snowed the day before, so the contrasting white to the greens, yellows, browns and blacks just added to the spectacular vista. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of activity required to explore the lava cave. It is not an extreme activity, but it's not a walk in the park, either. Oskar was our host for the day. He is very professional and kind with a good sense of humor. He is very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the regions he escorted us through. Richard and Norris were our hosts in Silfra. These are two men who really enjoy their work. They were very proficient at sizing us up, outfitting us and getting us into our gear. They are very funny and kind and they made us feel completely at ease before getting into the water. Once in the water, we were encouraged take our time and to savor the experience for as long as we liked. Any pictures you see of snorkeling in Silfa are true to likeness. The colors and clarity of water are truly something to behold. This excursion is worth your consideration. It's a full, action-packed day spending much more time out of the vehicle than in it.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Hanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a lovely cold winters day doing this trip.
The guide Lena was a good story teller.
We took the 8.30 am tour, which finished at 5 pm.
Beautiful scenery .

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour showed you much of the diversity of Iceland's landscape. Sadly, it was a cloudy day when our tour started so the first stop was cloudy and snowing --but shortly the weather cleared and the rest of the tour was wonderful

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Alessandro F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour and very knowledgeable tour guide, also the driver Helga was brilliant and managed to safely get us through a snow storm

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An absolute must tour for short stays in Iceland. We were fortunate enough to have a clear sunny winters day, which just made everything even better. There are so many different things to see and do, that this trip is great for people of all tastes. You get a good amount of time at all attractions, and don't feel like you are just being herded around like sheep. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Alisha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing scenery must do when visiting Iceland. I went in Feb and the snow and ice created a magical experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and loved his job.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Cara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! The tour guide was passionate about her country and giving information, all really interesting and answered all questions confidently! Sights were amazing too with all the snow, highly recommended :)

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Rhoda Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very sweet tour guide. Our bus driver is amazing! A snowstorm came over us and he drove like a pro.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Jenna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

In comparison to some of the more active tours we did while in Iceland, this one was most definitely less active. However, it was incredibly beautiful and informative. If you are looking to see the main sights along the golden circle, I highly recommend it. Our guide was very informative and you could tell he was passionate about the history of Iceland. We started in Pingvellir as the sun was rising over the mountains — it was incredible. It was snowing very hard when we arrived at Gullfoss, but it was still visible. There was a small restaurant in the gift shop here where you could grab lunch — we all enjoyed our lunch (options such as mushroom soup, sandwiches, a salad, etc.) Lastly, we stopped at the geysers which were very active. Overall, the trip was wonderful and I feel you need to see these sights if you come to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

clarichala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was amazing!! it is a life time experience. Before the tour I was scared that I was going to freeze my soul and get sick (I did it during the winter), but the dry suit really keeps you warm. The guides are amazing, they are really professionals and know what they are doing. I really had a fantastic time, I'm so glad I decided to do it, and I would recommend it to everybody.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

julie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour in the ice and snow. Well worth seeing on any visit to Iceland. Took us to gorgeous site of ancient parliament by huge lake, to see the geysers, the stunning waterfall...amazing part_iced over, and geothermal power station for Reykjavik. Full day.. amazing pics of sunrise and sunset

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour - which I think would be just as great in summer as winter. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, giving quite detailed background to Icelandic culture and history.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Prompt pick-up from our hotel. Comfortable bus and very informative tour guide -very helpful, not rushed and provided loads of information. This tour gives a great insight into the 'real' Iceland. We saw spectacular scenery, -frozen glaciers, thermal springs and geysers, volcanoes and snow covered mountains...all in all a spectacular trip. Weatherwise, we were blessed, which made the tour really good.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an awesome trip. I would highly recommend it at this time of the year when there is plenty of snow around to enhance the scenic views. I took their tours to the glacier, northern lights and blue lagoon. All very enjoyable as the tour guides provided a helpful insight into Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

vivi USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour. The view of the falls and the geysir were outstanding. Pingvellir National Park is a vast expanse of ice and lava rock and a most for any first time visitor to Iceland. I would only suggest that they buy some kind of cleats for their shoes as it is very icy and slippery in winter. The guides are very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

GRAHAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent day out, very worthwhile. Maybe prepare people for the walk to the "Wishing Well" which was longer than we thought and due to compressed snow very dangerous even wearing treaded boots.
Overall, brilliant and great "lamb soup" or stew as we call it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

quang t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous tour and highly recommend even during winter. Was the first time I snorkelled in a dry suite and apart for my hands and face going numb due to the 2 degrees water. The experience of snorkelling in the clearest water I have ever seen was amazing. Was the highlight of my Iceland trip.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered everything it said it would even with all of the snowy weather!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic, I'm not sure what else I can say. There is so much that is visually stunning in Iceland, the waterfalls were amazing, the hot springs, etc. the landscape is stunning, pretty much everywhere you look there are snow covered mountains in the distance (even whilst in Reykjavik). We even had enough time to go and see a smaller waterfall on the way round, which was not on the agenda. There are places that we stopped for food and drinks along the way to keep everyone going. the only part of the trip that I was less interested in was the powerplant, although it does show that the Icelandics have got their heads together and are making the most of the natural resources to create power.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Cheryl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Snorkeling in Silfra is definitely one of the most exciting things I've ever done!
Walking through the lava tube cave was fine, but it was pretty tame.
We spent the morning driving to the cave, walking through the short cave and checking out some of the Iceland scenery. It was a super windy day, so instead of a picnic we ate lunch in the van as we drove to Silfra. The sandwich was amazingly tasty!
Once at Silfra we stripped down to our skivvies, or leggings and t-shirts (guys outside, gals in the van - no changing rooms in the parking lot). Then we put on cozy "teddy bear" suits, which were basically like children's snow-suits, a big one piece down suit. Then the diving socks, then the dry suit with built on boots goes over everything. Hilarious watching everyone put these on, they can be a small struggle - with the rubber cuffs at the wrists and neck to keep the water out. Then the diving head piece and gloves. The suit, especially the rubber neck lightly squeezing your throat can be a tiny claustrophobic, but you get used to it before you get to the water, so it's ok.
Finally with flippers and snorkel mask in hand we walked to the waters edge, climbed down metal stairs and began floating effortlessly on the glacier water.
Basically only the skin around your mouth is exposed to the water, which goes numb very quickly - so the 50 minutes in the cold water is not uncomfortable at all.
The visibility is incredible and the colors are stunning!
After we got out of the water and walked a short way - we had an opportunity to jump off a little cliff into the water - a total rush!
Such an exciting thing to float between two continents!

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message