Iceland lives up to its name during the winter months, but despite the frosty weather and long nights, Reykjavik is at its most atmospheric during the wintertime and there’s no shortage of winter activities to keep visitors entertained. Take a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An absolute must tour for short stays in Iceland. We were fortunate enough to have a clear sunny winters day, which just made everything even better. There are so many different things to see and do, that this trip is great for people of all tastes. You get a good amount of time at all attractions, and don't feel like you are just being herded around like sheep. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing scenery must do when visiting Iceland. I went in Feb and the snow and ice created a magical experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and loved his job.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! The tour guide was passionate about her country and giving information, all really interesting and answered all questions confidently! Sights were amazing too with all the snow, highly recommended :)

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very sweet tour guide. Our bus driver is amazing! A snowstorm came over us and he drove like a pro.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

In comparison to some of the more active tours we did while in Iceland, this one was most definitely less active. However, it was incredibly beautiful and informative. If you are looking to see the main sights along the golden circle, I highly recommend it. Our guide was very informative and you could tell he was passionate about the history of Iceland. We started in Pingvellir as the sun was rising over the mountains — it was incredible. It was snowing very hard when we arrived at Gullfoss, but it was still visible. There was a small restaurant in the gift shop here where you could grab lunch — we all enjoyed our lunch (options such as mushroom soup, sandwiches, a salad, etc.) Lastly, we stopped at the geysers which were very active. Overall, the trip was wonderful and I feel you need to see these sights if you come to Iceland!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was amazing!! it is a life time experience. Before the tour I was scared that I was going to freeze my soul and get sick (I did it during the winter), but the dry suit really keeps you warm. The guides are amazing, they are really professionals and know what they are doing. I really had a fantastic time, I'm so glad I decided to do it, and I would recommend it to everybody.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour in the ice and snow. Well worth seeing on any visit to Iceland. Took us to gorgeous site of ancient parliament by huge lake, to see the geysers, the stunning waterfall...amazing part_iced over, and geothermal power station for Reykjavik. Full day.. amazing pics of sunrise and sunset

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour - which I think would be just as great in summer as winter. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, giving quite detailed background to Icelandic culture and history.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Prompt pick-up from our hotel. Comfortable bus and very informative tour guide -very helpful, not rushed and provided loads of information. This tour gives a great insight into the 'real' Iceland. We saw spectacular scenery, -frozen glaciers, thermal springs and geysers, volcanoes and snow covered mountains...all in all a spectacular trip. Weatherwise, we were blessed, which made the tour really good.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an awesome trip. I would highly recommend it at this time of the year when there is plenty of snow around to enhance the scenic views. I took their tours to the glacier, northern lights and blue lagoon. All very enjoyable as the tour guides provided a helpful insight into Iceland.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour. The view of the falls and the geysir were outstanding. Pingvellir National Park is a vast expanse of ice and lava rock and a most for any first time visitor to Iceland. I would only suggest that they buy some kind of cleats for their shoes as it is very icy and slippery in winter. The guides are very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent day out, very worthwhile. Maybe prepare people for the walk to the "Wishing Well" which was longer than we thought and due to compressed snow very dangerous even wearing treaded boots.
Overall, brilliant and great "lamb soup" or stew as we call it.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous tour and highly recommend even during winter. Was the first time I snorkelled in a dry suite and apart for my hands and face going numb due to the 2 degrees water. The experience of snorkelling in the clearest water I have ever seen was amazing. Was the highlight of my Iceland trip.

Doing what: Day Trip from Reykjavik: Cave Exploring in Gjábakkahellir and Snorkeling in Silfra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered everything it said it would even with all of the snowy weather!

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic, I'm not sure what else I can say. There is so much that is visually stunning in Iceland, the waterfalls were amazing, the hot springs, etc. the landscape is stunning, pretty much everywhere you look there are snow covered mountains in the distance (even whilst in Reykjavik). We even had enough time to go and see a smaller waterfall on the way round, which was not on the agenda. There are places that we stopped for food and drinks along the way to keep everyone going. the only part of the trip that I was less interested in was the powerplant, although it does show that the Icelandics have got their heads together and are making the most of the natural resources to create power.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message