Koblenz is very happily situated at the meeting point of the Rhine and Moselle Rivers, surrounded by four low hills. The town is 2,000 years old, founded by the Romans around a castle in the year 9 BC. Since then a series of invading armies and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great time. All positive. Long day for full tour though. 9-8.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Gorgeous. Food was decent for a tour boat. Very friendly staff. They provide a little info on a few of the castles. Reccomend you bring your own guide book or audio tour. Rick Steves' audio tour was well done and easy to follow going in either direction because of the giant kilometer markers on the shore.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Ticket agent in Koblenz was harried and not helpful.
Requirement for a paper voucher in today's electronic world is terrible. How are tourists who make last minute decisions supposed to get a paper voucher.
Not an English friendly experience.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a trip from Mainz to Koblenz - got off the boat in Boppard and took another boat to Koblenz. This tour was really nice; definitely worthy experience. Stuff is very knowledgable and courteous.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The cruise was all they promised. It was not clear that breakfast was available on the boat which would have avoided rushing thru breakfast in town.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was relaxing and very enjoyable with great staff.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very nice. A nice relaxing day with the family.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you want to see a beautiful part of the Rhine then this is the tour. Only take a map of the river with you. The commentary on board is terrible

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see the beautiful towns along the Rhine River. We did the tour on a weekday. Apparently, some towns, especially small ones, are very quiet on weekdays. So there was practically nothing to see when we got off at Oberwesel and St Goarshausen. But St Goar and Boppard were great.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Allow the cruise was excellent and well worth the time, the boats run so seldom that it is difficult, if not impossible to get off and back on more than once in a day. I'd more recommend an individual ticket.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good trip with comfortable cruise ship.
I had a amazing time enjoying the scenery and all the castles along the river.
A must for those visiting Germany.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We arrived at the boat launch to learn that the trip would only take place if more than 15 people purchased tickets. Fortunately, the minimum number of passengers did eventually materialize and the boat trip did occur. The disconcerting part was that we had paid in full for our fare in advance online and had the trip not occurred due to low interest, the carrier informed us that there would have been no refund. We planned our day around the fact that we had paid for this excursion. In the end, the trip did take place, it was a pretty short ride, not much too see on the short stretch of river it covered and it gets dark so early in Germany that there was not the views promised in the website. I have taken many Rhein cruises before that were amazing but this one I cannot really recommned.

Doing what: Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise from Rüdesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We cruised from Koblenz down to Cochem (the Moselle River) using the one day KD Rhine Pass. It was an excellent way to simply sit back and enjoy the river and views as towns, locks and great countryside all drifted by. We stayed overnight in Cochem, which is delightful, and then caught the train back to Koblenz to continue with our touring. It was very easy and convenient, the KD pass is not expensive, although I would recommend booking ahead, esp in busy times, and the Moselle is as interesting, if not even lovelier than the more famous Rhine

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The convenience of being able to "hop on hop off" as you cruise along the Rhine is really great and the timetable allows for sensible stops along the way. We found the system to be very efficient and not too expensive. Some of the facilities on the boats varied in terms of quality, but overall it was a good way to see the Rhine

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great cruise only problem was we were not told about the last boat back to Weisbaden and the time. had to take a train back.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

You get the best of the Rhine for a fraction of the price!

12 hours of history and beauty ... We've done this trip twice before and thoroughly enjoy it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour!! This is a beautiful section of the Rhine; you can see castles at every bend, and vineyards everywhere. If you're traveling in the fall, be aware that the river is often very foggy in the morning - if you want to be able to see up the sides, recommend you not start until 11am or so.
Also, even though this pass is a "hop-on, hop-off" pass, the boats aren't frequent enough to truly use it for that. More likely, if you start by 9 or 11 am, you'll be able to pick one or two towns to stop without missing the last boat on the daily timetable.
The boats are large and comfortable, and the staff very friendly; careful if you're sitting outside on the 'Goethe', they blow the steam-horn!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip not crowded at all . We went from Mainz to Rudesheim and had a wonderful day.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was a good trip but a bit of a snooze cruise. Glad to get off and visit LInz, a beautiful town. Wished we had known to book a train back and then would have enjoyed the trip more

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Visiting from CA with my sister and husband from Holland we totally enjoyed the trip on the Rhine River as well as visiting the Ehrenbreitstein Fortress by The Koblenz Cable Car.
The combi tickets were bought in advance and the KD office booth was easy to find in order to change the
Vouchers.
We highly recommend these combi tickets.

K and T from Ojai,CA.

Doing what: River Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Boppard: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and Koblenz Cable Car

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very relaxing way to see all the sites along the Rhine

Doing what: Two Rivers: Moselle and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Rhine river cruise is a nice relaxing way to see a lot of the old towns and castles and vineyards.
One way is good enough.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. Some of the staff not so much. The brochures and the schedule are less than user friendly. I would do it again but now I am better prepared to know what and what not to expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message