In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a beautiful day out. Great guide, very informative and polite. Overall an excellent experience.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Its mid-March so we took a chance. It rained off and on and the resulting mist/fog made it hard to see some things. Our guide driver (there were only 4 of us in a van for the tour) was very nice and informative. The lunch was fine and for little more we had a nice desert and a small glass of ice wine. The wine tasting is small and brief and consists of 4 small tastings of local wines. At this time the main boat ride down the Rhine River does not begin above the Lorelei rocks so you miss some very nice views of the early castles of the region. We were able to join the river cruise just below the Lorelei Rocks and were even taken back up to the point to enable us to view the river statue. If it were a nicer day it would have been a much more enjoyable viewing point. Again our tour guide was very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the company of the other couple very much. But for time of year it was still pricey for the return.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This trip was advertised as a boat tour however, it really wasn't. Out of the 7 1/2 hours tours, we only spent about 45 mins on the boat. In addition, the boat ride covered a section of the Rhine that we had already toured with the bus ride. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. I feel like it was misrepresented.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The countryside was amazing and our guide George was very knowledgeable, however we were supposed to get on the cruise at 3.30pm and the boat didn't actually leave until 4.15pm. Since it was December it got dark by 4.30pm and we couldn't see anything. Something to be aware of in winter.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Heidelberg part of the tour is fine , but the Rhine valley day trip could easily be done independently as the tour basically provides transportation only

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good tour of the Rhine Valley. Very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very enjoyable tour through this historic region and grand architecture. The meal at the restaurant was very medicore, but the regional wine tasting was good.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very nice tour and worth the money. The meal is included in the fare, but be careful to ask first the price of the drinks in the restaurant before ordering as they seem to be at much of a premium (8 euros for a small glass of ice wine and 2.25 euro for small bottle of water). The tour guide was hilarious and made the trip fun. On a down side, I have been on other trips where the guides subtly mention that they appreciate tips, but this guide was quite blatant. As an example he walked down the bus with a brown box for tips and stopped at each person and asked them if they are giving a tip or not.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We liked the tour very much but the bus we travelled in was small and stuffy. Every seat was taken and we were squashed in the corner of the back seat.
The best experience was the cable car ride down to where we had lunch and then caught the ferry. The scenery was beautiful.
I recommend it!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Would recommend this tour as it was NOT as tour indicated. It was not a wine tasting at winery. It was wine tasting at restaurant where we had lunch. Very disappointing!!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good trip. The guide was very informative and humorous. I would recommend this trip to everyone. Very good value.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The Rhine Valley Day Tour from Frankfurt was one of the most enjoyable trip I have ever had undertaken. The tour was well organized and conducted. The bus journey was quite comfortable and pleasant. The lunch at the restaurant was ok but it was very overcrowded and could have been managed better. More time could have been spent on the boat cruise rather than on an hour long lecture on best vines which was nothing but a purely business proposition. The cruise on the boat in the Rhine River along the UNESCO Heritage route covering a number of castles was splendid and excellent. The fitting finale of the tour was no doubt the cable car ride down the hill!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message