In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this one day trip. Such a beautiful country. Guide and driver were awesome!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was very good overall and the tour guide Adrian was excellent. I was in Frankfurt on a business trip so I took this tour alone and Adrian was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful day trip along the Rhine. It started with a one-hour bus ride from just off of the Frankfurt HBF station to Aulhausen where we took a ski lift down the side of the hills into the Rhine valley. The views were great, overlooking the vineyards and the river. The lift took us to the village of Assmannshausen where we walked to the restaurant for lunch. The food was good and the waitress was delightful. The restaurant is decorated with nautical themes and is fun to browse. We then boarded the boat for a 1.5 hour trip down the Rhine. The boat's PA system described all the castles and towns in about 4-5 languages so that everyone knew what we were seeing. The boat made three stops along the way to allow passengers to get on or off. When we arrived at our stop in Sankt Goarshausen, we got back on our bus and drove back to Assmannshausen for the wine tasting. Then to the village of Aulhausen for a brief shopping stop. Finally, we boarded the bus to arrive back in Frankfurt at 7:00 pm. Our guide on the Bus, Michael, was delightful and made a point of talking to every passenger to answer their questions. Overall, a very nice day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite a record-setting hot temperature in Germany on this day, the tour guide, Michael and the bus driver, Gunter made the day so much fun! They were great hosts. Friendly, informative and humorous. Times were just right for each segment of the trip.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

After a long haul to Frankfurt for a two night stop over this was an excellent choice Informative, relaxing, and an interesting part of the Rhine We didn't see the city of Franffurt but we are not really city people To visit an authentic German Village was far more appealing The Unesco area and viewing historic castles from the river was a bonus Michael, our tour guide was excellent and shared his sense of humour well

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved the tour and tour guide Michael. The chair lift was great and unexpected as I did not see that in the original itinerary. Beautiful river scenery with all the castles. One of my best events in Germany.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The combination tour to Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley was fantastic -- it was my last full day in Europe and I could not have asked for a better send off. The Rhine Valley cruise especially was amazing -- so romantic and gorgeous. I was lucky to have perfect weather. I met some very nice and fun people on the tour, so I felt like I made some new friends even though I joined the tour myself.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Kayjay
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day out, very beautiful scenery, nice food, pay for drinks, but all round enjoyable.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Convenient and easy way to see the castles along the Rhine River.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It would have been a 5-star trip if: there had been a choice of menu a proper wine tasting proper glasses and quantities, instead of little medicine cups included as part of the lunch - to avoid rushing around and an hour in Rüdesheim instead of 30 minutes. Having said that, the food we had for lunch was good not very German but fresh chicken, chips and salad considering it was made for a very large group the river cruise was definitely the highlight of the tour - we had plenty of time to enjoy everything and have a drink as well on board the guide, Michael, was very nice, friendly, patient and helpful - ever present but gave you your own space to enjoy the day. Going down the bus row by row asking for a tip at the end for himself and the driver was a bit cheeky considering how much you pay for the tour. We highly recommend the tour if visiting Frankfurt for more than 1 day, as it is a total contrast from the city centre. It is one of the nicest areas around and a must for anyone interested in wine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and gives you a taste of the Rhine and a couple smaller towns along the way. A perfect day trip if you don't have a lot of time in the area.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I would rate this tour 4 stars if the AC on the bus was working. No one predicted that AC stopped working 10 minutes after we departed, unfortunately it was a historical hot day of 99 degrees outside. Company managed to dispatch another bus to drive back, that made lots of people happy.
The tour itself was nicely organized, the view was pretty along the river, the boat was not crowded. Dinner was tasty, I recommend everyone to check the bathroom of that restaurant, it is one of the kind! I wish the cruise can be a little longer and if it includes walking through on couple of those castles, that would be definitely a 5 stars!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

scooby_singh
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

While the broucher said that we will be back at 11-15 - 8:30 PM, we were back at 6:15PM, so not sure if our tour was cut short. Our guide Michael was good but in the end while we are driving back he put us all in an awkward position by walking through the bus with a box collecting tip. This should be discretionary and not in the face. What if you didn't have change or didn't like the service will they kick you out. This was a very tasteless move. Also we were taken to a restuarant for lunch as it was part of our package, we ordered 3 waters and we were billed 7.20 Euro, don't hide these secret costs.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Very disappointing, for something that was an all day adventure, we spent most of the time on the bus getting there and stopping to pick up other guests. The lunch stop and the wine tasting were at the exact same place that had more clutter inside and out then you could shake a stick at, looked like a thrift shop. The wine tasting portion was in a thimble of a glass and you were only there for 20 minutes or less. Part of the trip included a ski lift down to the village where we had lunch, view was great but seemed like a waste of time.
The driver and guide were very informative and helpful. I would just look for something else if I was to do again.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice Guide, funny and informative. Very well organized. Views lived up to our expectations. Wine tasting was very limited but dinner was excellent. Worth the trip!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of the Heidelberg castle, was able to spend some time in the main square of Heidelberg, beautiful river tour where we saw many castles, and good meal for dinner and wine for a wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very happy with the tour. Wish the boat ride was longer. Wine tasting is very quick. For the price its hard to beat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour! Restaurant was awesome and the ride to the restaurant on a cable car was spectacular with awesome views! River Cruise was excellent. It was very hot. Boat did not have much ice and lower deck was not a/c. Be prepared to buy lots of water with no gas @ 2.50 Euros each. By the end of the trip, we purchased 6 bottles.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Marian S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was actually two consecutive trips. Different experiences, both wonderful. Our time was limited in Frankfurt, and this was perfect.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Heather T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this chance to see some of the Rhine, the castles and small towns were very scenic and we did get time off the boat to wander as well. The wine tasting is brief and no pressure to purchase. I realise they have to have a meal to suit the majority but thought chicken, chips and coleslaw was a bit basic. Where was the schnitzel, strudel etc? The delicious Riesling made up for it though. Overall a great day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a wonderful tour if you want to make the most out of one day. Our tour guide, George, was wonderful and very knowledgeable about all the sights and their history. Bus driver, Alfredo, was very friendly as well. Although I don't see anything wrong with spending a full day in Heidelberg, a half day is fine if you are seeing many other German towns. The view from the bridge is spectacular! The Rhine River Valley boat tour is also a great experience. The ride is certainly long enough for you to feel like you've seen many castles and it's very peaceful. My only recommendation for the second half of the tour is that they should clarify what's included in the dinner at the time of booking. Dinner is included but you pay extra for anything that's not the vegetarian meal, and you pay for dessert and drinks. I'm vegetarian anyway so it didn't affect me as much but others had to pay extra if they wanted schnitzel, etc. Otherwise, a great time! I recommend buying some EisWein....

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message