In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We took instead the full day rhine tour, which was unbelievable, a tour not to be missed, castles and vineyards everywhere, amazing, and then we took the full day heidelberg tour, also amazing, the castle, the town ,the bridge, wow so glad we split this tour into two separate days to see as much as we could see of both these world heritage sites, incredible!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This your was amazing! Our tour guide was excellent, and funny! We had a fantastic day. The ONLY reason that 5 stars were not awarded by me is because at the end of the tour they go to the airport and to many hotels to drop people off from the bus. This annoyed me to no end!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I enjoyed this tour very much. To see so many castles during the cruise was an experience; I like the town and also the shopping center we stopped at (usually tours take you to touristic places to shop, but I was surprised that this wasn't the case this time). I wish I had selected the tour that included Heidelberg. We went to Heidelberg on our own and we struggled with the public transportation, it is a great place to visit and we loved the castle and the old town.

However I didn't like the lunch. Well...not really the lunch, I didn't like the restaurant and the service in the restaurant. The place was too crowded with little space between the tables and it was obvious that the waitress (or the owner, I think) just wanted more money. She practically force everybody to order drinks and didn't let people use their own water, pushed people in to make space for other people to walk, she was very rude. We paid 20 euros for 2 glasses of wine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

we fully enjoyed this tour, not only the weather is great, but our tour guide is so wonderful! Very interesting information and great arrangement of the places to see. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It's a nice scenic bus ride to the river but it was so peaceful once you got on the river, get to see a lot of castles. You also do a wine tasting which is informative.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was the third time I did this tour and it was the best. Our guide, Michael, was very good
and the trip was relaxed. The chairlift down was worth it, but should have been included in the price of the tour. The food was good, but should have been something more German.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great guide and bus driver. Informative tour through the Rhine Valley and vineyards. The meal was good Once on the riverboat - it was breathtaking. Beautiful day and scenery. Would do it again

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour and wine tasting were good. I think there should have been more narration and more history. Decent tour though. Guide was nice and respectful.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Great trip the only not good it was the lunch , all crammed on one long table with no room to move and the rest of the restaurant was empty, same happened with the so called wine tasting ,all crammed in little wine in bottom of shot glass and pressure to buy the wine. Boat trip was great in spite of the rain.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

All in all, the tour was very disappointing for the money we spent. We spent more time on the bus, waiting for the boat, and in the tacky restaurant and obligatory wine tasting than we did on the boat. (Sure, the wine tasting was "optional," but the other option was waiting on the bus for everyone else to return.)

The reviews I read before booking the tour were glowing. Now I know to look at ALL the reviews, not just the first ones. It seems the tour guides were a big part of the event for others. Our tour guide was nice, but offered very little information and engaged in little conversation other than asking us where we were from.

The view from the boat was also nice, but it was the same view we saw driving down on the bus. The boat turned out to be little more than a barge with metal picnic tables on it.

Would I book this tour again? No.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The lunch was just edible- why in Germany would a restaurant serve barbeque chicken and french fries- come on, for the money a schnitzel and slaw would be more appropriate. Everything else extra! The wine tasting was ok. Towards the end of the tour we did not appreciate being held captive in the bus while the tour director went systematically down the aisle shaking a box for tips for himself and the bus driver. The chair lift ride should be included- 6 euro extra per person, but surely viatour would have got a group discount of 20 or more, so felt like we were ripped off. The tour guide was knowledgeable and that gives it 2 stars.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent trip, wether helped, comfy coach, very good trip host, friendly humourus and good area knowledge.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an AMAZING tour that can be done on your own, with your significant other or in a group. The tour takes your for an incredible ride through the German wine countryside, the option to take a cable ride down the mountain, and the ability to see incredible views from the Rhine River. The food was great, the wine delicious, the views incredible, and the company great!! Had a wonderful day meeting new people and enjoying the views. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a 36 hour lay over in Frankfurt so having a full day we wanted something relaxing to do. This tour was perfect! The only draw back is we were not picked up and dropped off at our hotel, so we took the train to the main station and the tour meeting point was across the street and very easy to find.
Our tour guide George was outstanding!!!!!!!! If we ever go back to this area again I will request George!
Our bus driver Alfredo was also very good!
We drove out of the city with beautiful views and George continuously describing our scenery.
We arrived in a picturesque town took a ride down a mountain on a ski lift chair which was an extra 5 euros each...this should be included in the price of the tour. The view was outstanding. We walked to lunch and were only given two choices neither being German food. The meal was decent but our drinks and dessert were not included??? How to you provide lunch without drinks...terrible policy. A big let down.
We then boarded a large ferry and cruised down the Rhine river and saw about 20 Castles. The ferry had drink and food service. The views were spectacular and the ride so relaxing. We then got off the ferry boarded our bus and drove back along the Rhine with our tour guide providing outstanding narration with a good sense of humor! We stopped back at the restaurant we had eaten lunch at for a terrible wine tasting. Four small medicine shots of wine were set out no water, we drank them down heard a sales pitch for grossly over priced wine and no one bought any. Then we got back on the bus drove to another town with beautiful views and had the opportunity to go shopping for souvenirs! Took the bus back to Frankfurt. A full day with lots to see and do. If you have time and want a little taste of Germany this is a perfect tour with a few minor flaws.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day out, highly recommend. Alberto our driver was very good, always on time. The river cruise was amazing, worth the money, our guide George was absolutely excellent, would do a tour with him again

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message