In the romantic Rhine Valley near the town of St. Goarshausen, a siren named Loreley was said to bewitch sailors from upon her granite rock, causing them to ground their boats or lose control of them and sink. The area around the massive granite ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

peg's Travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even in winter this is a pretty area. Our drive and guide were wonderful and he was able to share his knowledge about the area and what happened over the historical time with the castles. Well worth the trip. Excellent.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had excellent guide and if the weather had been better, the day would have been perfect.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

ah, not that good cold day and lunch was not that good

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Ata M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was very good. The lunch and wine tasting was very good especially the atmospher of restaurant was fabulouse. But the Rhine cruise was not as I expected to be, it was too short a just a few almost 5 castles of the way.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Steve D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Awesome!! The only reason that it is a four star is because we did the tour the second week of November and a lot of the little shops and restruants were closed for the season. The guide and driver was awesome!! The scenery was simply amazing as well as the castles that we were able to view. We did not go inside any of them.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jim Sherwon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour trip was good because it was organized and instructions were very clear. Our tour guide was informative as well giving us some good information not only about the tour but about Germany as well. He would crack some jokes which made made the tour funny. He would answer to questions by tourists as well.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, we enjoyed everything about it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lang Eng C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed the full day tour which included a delicious lunch and wine tasting. River cruise was fun.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Eric L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was enjoyable and efficient, and Michael was an excellent guide and tour leader. I thought the trip was a good value.

The only negative comment I would have is that the trip felt rushed. We seemed to move too quickly through some of the events surrounding the river cruise. Too much was packed into too short of a time period such that each phase was rushed. We wanted to buy some wine after the wine tasting but felt we were slowing down the rest of the travelers.

But I want to again mentioned that Michael was outstanding. Thank you.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Pui Shan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Heidelberg city is worth visiting because of the very good preservation of this ancient city architecture and the magnificent city-view! I did not enjoy the Rhine valley trip when it was arranged in the afternoon or the sunset time because it was dark at the end and chilly outside. The dinner and the wine tasting was ok but not that extraordinary. Thanks Adrian for being a very funny and informative tour guide!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Meechai C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The driver was good and friendly.
The lunch was bad. Small portion. Seats were not comfortable. The extra drinks water and wine were very expensive. It was a real rip-off. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lauren New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a great tour! Our tour guide was funny and knowledgable and helpful. Thoroughly recommend this tour .

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a wonderful time on this tour! We chose the full day trip which included a delicious lunch and wine tasting. The boat cruise was fun and bring your cameras - lots of wonderful photo opportunities.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Vachan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good time on the tour. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! Great tour guide! Great driver! Great day!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour, boat trip was worth it. Lunch was not that good. Waitress asked for a tip quite rudely. Also the guide asked for tips for him and the driver on the bus. He was an enjoyable and informative guide so would have tipped him anyway. Like all tours it is not perfect but I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Dale R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour specially the Rhine River boat ride. Great that lunch was built into the tour. The lunch venue was something to write home about. The ice wine purchased from the same place is indeed a dessert wine with a diff.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Craig M W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Heidelburg and Rhine Valley were beautiful/surreal. Our tour guide was insightful and blended in some great humor to make it interesting. Advenerous road trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Janine S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This cruise is fantastic! The sights along the Rhine River are awesome! The chair lift ride down to our restaurant gave us amazing views over the town and river. Lunch was great, but unfortunately we felt that the wine tasting was a bit rushed. Our guide was entertaining and very informative.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark B United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The best thing about this tour was the actual cruise down the river. The cable ride from the top of the mountain into town was kind of cool but expected expense. The lunch was okay, I wish that the cost of water was included in the price of the lunch, tap water would have been fine as tap water is okay to drink in Germany. George, the guide, was very knowledgeable about wine tasting and the history of Rhine and Germany.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Margaret W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I found the guide very entertaining and informative. Enjoyed hearing about the history of the various sites visited.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

suzanne s

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a wonderful trip. Not enough time in Niedermal to explore or see the statue. Should tell people ahead of time.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Rick C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Tour guide and driver was okay. Dinner was lousy. Service staff was rude. We were surprised that the wine tasting was behind the restaurant instead of at the vineyard. Did not get to see the vineyard at all. Certainly not worth the value.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Samantha A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

I was very disappointed with this tour. It started out being told there was construction and we might not get to our boat in time for the tour but they would try. This was a problem they knew about and should have made arrangements. The bus driver drove like a bat out of hell to make it to the boat and we were told about half way in to the bus ride that we had indeed missed the boat but they were trying to get another boat lined up. They were able to get another boat but we were still pressed for time to get to the second boat before it left. More crazy driving but we made it to a dock but the guide didn't know where we were really going and had to walk thru 2 buildings to get to the correct dock for loading. Once on the second boat it was better. The boat was very clean and road well, however it was much shorted than we were told it would be because of the boat issue. Then on to dinner - it was grilled chicken and french fries or a vegetarian options, both were not to good. The wine tasting was more like a wine sale, offering us discounts on bottles and such. I would skip this tour and save your money for something else.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was well planned and all I expected it to be. The lunch was not a highlight.
Der Reiserfuher hat guten Humor gehaupt.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message