• USD ($)
  • English
Once a year, on the Monday preceding Ash Wednesday, the streets of Mainz erupt into a riotous celebration of spring, accompanied by a vibrant procession of glittering floats, costumed dancers and marching bands. This is the Rosenmontag (Rose Monday) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Worth every cent! Buying the day ticket allows you freedom to do what you want. We spent a few hours cruising to St. Goar, another hour or so walking through and around the sights, then trained it back. It was our choice to use the train for return to Mainz due to other commitments.
Some people took their own food onboard to eat, but we had snacks, reasonably priced, but coffee overpriced for size.
The boat was clean, not crowded and staff onboard could have been more helpful. Waiter didn't return change from payment of bill, expecting it as a tip. Wife asked a question and was rudely told that he was too busy looking after people on the boat, and this was the same guy that took the tip. Well he thought he could take the tip, I asked him for the change. I told him it was up to me as to what I gave as a tip and that he should never expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful,sunny day on the boat on Sept 25th. We stayed overnight in Mainz as this is where the boat starts from and got off in Cologne-8:45am-8pm total duration. Scenery is fantastic along the way and time passes quickly. Booking the pass through Viator saved us quite a bit of money. We stored our luggage below and sat inside for awhile then sat outside on top deck. Food and drinks are available on the boat and service is quick. Wonderful way to see castles on the Rhine. You can get off at any dock and hop back on along the way if you only want to travel a shorter distance.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip but NOT necessary to board in Mainz, which would have been out of our way due to where we were staying. Luckily there was a Port right in Assmannshausen, Germany...where our Hotel was located. Boarding locations should be a part of Viators information. Especially for us First time travelers.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The greatest advantage of the trip are the landscapes around the river Rhein. The castles on the top of the mountains are impressive. The weather could have been better, so we could have enjoyed the trip on the deck, but it was too cloudy, windy and cold (yes, it was summer!). The boat was built in 1997, a little cigarette smelly and not very comfortable. It was a big restaurant downstairs and a bar upstairs. We intended to do the whole trip from Mainz to Cologne, but the chairs were simply not comfortable and impossible to take a nap. A couch would have been nice. Therefore, we stopped at Koblenz (worth visiting) and continued to Cologne by train. The service on board is below average in Germany, impossible to get a smile from the waiters, although the food prices were OK.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

On your web site and the Voucher I printed out it it says there are two boats leaving from Mainz to Colonge. One at 8:45 and another at 9:45. What it fails to tell you is that if you do not catch the 8:45 boat the 9:45 boat only goes to Boppard so either you have to stay in Boppard or take a train to Colonge or further up the river to try and catch one of the other boats which is what we did. Your website needs to be clear with costumers about what they are getting. We are not the only ones that had this issue. There were about 12 other passengers that had this problem. This trip cost me way to much for all the headaches I had to deal with. It was supposed to be a pleasant experience. Far from it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The Rhine River is amazing and was one of the highlights of the trip. My only complaint: if you have a German rail pass, you may not need to purchase this pass - check to see if your rail pass covers the KD Rhine cruises. There are a lot of castles along the Rhine and with this pass, you have the flexibility to get off the boat and spend time in a few of the towns. I got off in Bacharach and St. Goar to visit Rheinfels Castle. Great views the entire way from Mainz to Koblenz.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A lovely tour on the Rhine. We went from Mainz to Boppard and then returned on the same boat. We could have changed boats and gone further up the Rhine but found the boat trip so relaxing that we decided to stay and enjoy it. The views were amazing and there was good commentary on the boat.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We used the pass to travel from Mainz to Cologne.It was a cheap and scenic way to get from one place to another. Got the Rhine river cruise, which is magic, with a ride from point A to point B for 30euros. It's an 11 hour journey but worth it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We very much enjoyed our Rhine trip, the morning was very cool but could enjoy from inside just fine. We would recommend this to anyone, it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We took the train back to Mainz from Koblenz getting off in a couple small towns on the way.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We stayed overnight in Mainz and started our Rhine cruise from there. I would suggest that Viator let those who have booked know the street intersection where one must enter the dock area, as well as providing a bird's eye view map. If we had traveled by bus, instead of by taxi, I have no doubt we would have missed the departure time. However, we had an experienced cabbie, who got us there with a half-hour to spare. Keep in mind, Viator, that lots of your guests have never before done this activity. That said, here is the good part: Boarding was very good, no hassles. Finding a nice view from the boat was easy, there are lots of very good seats from which to view the river and sights, both inside the boat and out on the deck. There were a lot more castles than I thought we would see - many, many nice towns and lots of castles. I was very happy with the rate of speed, the food on board, the announcements of the castles, the crew, the restrooms, the chairs and indoor seats. I would highly recommend this tour. The price is a VERY good value. We saw a lot and had a good time. We disembarked in Koblenz (could have used directions to the rail station) and had a good walk through the town. I am very glad that we chose this Viator tour.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our Rhine cruise on the K-D Lorelei boat departed Mainz at 8:45 am . Our voucher had to be exchanged for tickets at the ticket office-which was at the boat dock.
We cruised from Mainz to Koblenz--where the Rhine and Mosel Rivers meet (arrival 2pm).
Visited the Ludwig Museum and the King Wilhelm statue--We returned to Mainz by train-arrival around 4:30pm.
The cruise was excellent--There was some English narration of what you were viewing from the boat.
The breakfast on the boat was very good--

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We booked this trip on a beautiful hot day in July. We left from Mainz. The sight seeing was amazing! The boat was very comfortable with good food and bathrooms. When we got on the boat we told the guy taking the ticket that we needed to be back in Mainz and he told us the stop we needed to get off on which was right around lunch time. We had two hours to browse and then boarded the boat for the return voyage. I would love to do it again and buy three or four days passes as several of the stops would be great to overnight at. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Nice cruise from Mainz to Koblenz (6 hours). Cool to see castles on the Rhine. Train on both ends about a 15-20 min walk from dock. A little hard to hear announcer on top deck, but they do speak English. Beer, soft drinks, lunch available. One note: If you print your "voucher" online, you still need to stop by the K-D kiosk to trade it in for a ticket

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Sin lugar a duda una experiencia genial. Hicimos el viaje de casi 12 horas desde Mainz hasta Köln con el pase de dia de Viator. Al principio no me fiaba yo mucho, porque el pase vale 30 y el viaje con la compañia del barco KD vale 62 euros. pero luego valia sin ningun problema. Hay que ir primero a la taquilla con el papel para que te lo canjeen por los tickets y luego a disfrutar del viaje. La zona de los castillos fantástica, todo muy bonito. Nos cambiaron de barco a uno mas grande a mitad camino pero sin problemas. Asegurarse de que vaya hacer buen tiempo. Hacerlo con lluvia tiene que ser una pena.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message