The busy riverside promenade of St. Goar is lorded over by the sprawling ruins of Burg Rheinfels, once the mightiest fortress on the Rhine and a must-see. Built in 1245 by the local counts of Katzenelnbogen as a base for their toll-collecting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great cruise only problem was we were not told about the last boat back to Weisbaden and the time. had to take a train back.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour!! This is a beautiful section of the Rhine; you can see castles at every bend, and vineyards everywhere. If you're traveling in the fall, be aware that the river is often very foggy in the morning - if you want to be able to see up the sides, recommend you not start until 11am or so.
Also, even though this pass is a "hop-on, hop-off" pass, the boats aren't frequent enough to truly use it for that. More likely, if you start by 9 or 11 am, you'll be able to pick one or two towns to stop without missing the last boat on the daily timetable.
The boats are large and comfortable, and the staff very friendly; careful if you're sitting outside on the 'Goethe', they blow the steam-horn!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip not crowded at all . We went from Mainz to Rudesheim and had a wonderful day.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. Some of the staff not so much. The brochures and the schedule are less than user friendly. I would do it again but now I am better prepared to know what and what not to expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unable to get on and off to explore towns along the way, only one ferry rubbing on Sunday and it took literally the entire day just to get past lorelie rock and back to Mainz. A little disappointing.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! .

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was great and timeous. However not enough options for getting off at different towns. Would be nice if KD had more boats operating.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Worth every cent! Buying the day ticket allows you freedom to do what you want. We spent a few hours cruising to St. Goar, another hour or so walking through and around the sights, then trained it back. It was our choice to use the train for return to Mainz due to other commitments.
Some people took their own food onboard to eat, but we had snacks, reasonably priced, but coffee overpriced for size.
The boat was clean, not crowded and staff onboard could have been more helpful. Waiter didn't return change from payment of bill, expecting it as a tip. Wife asked a question and was rudely told that he was too busy looking after people on the boat, and this was the same guy that took the tip. Well he thought he could take the tip, I asked him for the change. I told him it was up to me as to what I gave as a tip and that he should never expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was looking for a 'hop on hop off' type ticket for Rhine but difficult to find. Ticket is good going long distances, but check standard prices on a website before booking if only going short distances. It also seems that you can only get off/on a boat once (ie not unlimited hop on hop off in a day)

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent. Commentary in several languages including English

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Before booking my tickets I had read all the positive reviews and was sure my trip would be no different...and it wasn't! We had a wonderful time. They offered plenty of opportunities to get off the boat and explore the small towns along the Rhine, but if you decided not to, the views from the boat were pretty incredible. Only a brief description is provided of the castles, but they did offer books on the ship which I'm sure give more detail. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this cruise.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing trip, you can make as long or short as you want. Castles and villages along the way were breathtaking. You can't visit this region and skip this cruise. It's a must do!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We made trip from Rudesheim to St.Goar and back to see Rhine castles from the water. It is much better than similar trip in auto: you are not busy with car driving, not necessary to search place for parking when you see attractive landscape, and you see both banks of the river (while during driving you mainly have full picture only from opposite bank of the River).
Trip is well organized: we get confirmation of your order and tickets immediately and later several reminders about forthcoming journey.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a beautiful trip and a relaxing way to travel and see some of the most picturistic parts of Germany.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message