The busy riverside promenade of St. Goar is lorded over by the sprawling ruins of Burg Rheinfels, once the mightiest fortress on the Rhine and a must-see. Built in 1245 by the local counts of Katzenelnbogen as a base for their toll-collecting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. Some of the staff not so much. The brochures and the schedule are less than user friendly. I would do it again but now I am better prepared to know what and what not to expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unable to get on and off to explore towns along the way, only one ferry rubbing on Sunday and it took literally the entire day just to get past lorelie rock and back to Mainz. A little disappointing.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! .

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was great and timeous. However not enough options for getting off at different towns. Would be nice if KD had more boats operating.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Worth every cent! Buying the day ticket allows you freedom to do what you want. We spent a few hours cruising to St. Goar, another hour or so walking through and around the sights, then trained it back. It was our choice to use the train for return to Mainz due to other commitments.
Some people took their own food onboard to eat, but we had snacks, reasonably priced, but coffee overpriced for size.
The boat was clean, not crowded and staff onboard could have been more helpful. Waiter didn't return change from payment of bill, expecting it as a tip. Wife asked a question and was rudely told that he was too busy looking after people on the boat, and this was the same guy that took the tip. Well he thought he could take the tip, I asked him for the change. I told him it was up to me as to what I gave as a tip and that he should never expect.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was looking for a 'hop on hop off' type ticket for Rhine but difficult to find. Ticket is good going long distances, but check standard prices on a website before booking if only going short distances. It also seems that you can only get off/on a boat once (ie not unlimited hop on hop off in a day)

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent. Commentary in several languages including English

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Before booking my tickets I had read all the positive reviews and was sure my trip would be no different...and it wasn't! We had a wonderful time. They offered plenty of opportunities to get off the boat and explore the small towns along the Rhine, but if you decided not to, the views from the boat were pretty incredible. Only a brief description is provided of the castles, but they did offer books on the ship which I'm sure give more detail. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this cruise.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing trip, you can make as long or short as you want. Castles and villages along the way were breathtaking. You can't visit this region and skip this cruise. It's a must do!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We made trip from Rudesheim to St.Goar and back to see Rhine castles from the water. It is much better than similar trip in auto: you are not busy with car driving, not necessary to search place for parking when you see attractive landscape, and you see both banks of the river (while during driving you mainly have full picture only from opposite bank of the River).
Trip is well organized: we get confirmation of your order and tickets immediately and later several reminders about forthcoming journey.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a beautiful trip and a relaxing way to travel and see some of the most picturistic parts of Germany.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was fabulous. We lucked out and had great weather, the staff were very polite and professional, and the scenery - spectacular. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful,sunny day on the boat on Sept 25th. We stayed overnight in Mainz as this is where the boat starts from and got off in Cologne-8:45am-8pm total duration. Scenery is fantastic along the way and time passes quickly. Booking the pass through Viator saved us quite a bit of money. We stored our luggage below and sat inside for awhile then sat outside on top deck. Food and drinks are available on the boat and service is quick. Wonderful way to see castles on the Rhine. You can get off at any dock and hop back on along the way if you only want to travel a shorter distance.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the boat first so had the pleasure of picking whatever seat we wanted. We had 2 staff members serve us, one was great and one not. We got off at St Goar and explored the castle. Was amazing. Little long but worth it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message