• USD ($)
  • English
St. Goar is a small town on the Rhine River in the area known as the Rhine Gorge due to the mountains which rise on either side. The most famous landmark is the Loreley Rock opposite the town, which is known for its hazard to river shipping, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Before booking my tickets I had read all the positive reviews and was sure my trip would be no different...and it wasn't! We had a wonderful time. They offered plenty of opportunities to get off the boat and explore the small towns along the Rhine, but if you decided not to, the views from the boat were pretty incredible. Only a brief description is provided of the castles, but they did offer books on the ship which I'm sure give more detail. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this cruise.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing trip, you can make as long or short as you want. Castles and villages along the way were breathtaking. You can't visit this region and skip this cruise. It's a must do!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

,

the view was great , The boats were clean and the staff was great and also the ice cream !

Doing what: Rhine River Cruise from Koblenz to St Goare: Loreley Rock, Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and Koblenz Cable Car

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We made trip from Rudesheim to St.Goar and back to see Rhine castles from the water. It is much better than similar trip in auto: you are not busy with car driving, not necessary to search place for parking when you see attractive landscape, and you see both banks of the river (while during driving you mainly have full picture only from opposite bank of the River).
Trip is well organized: we get confirmation of your order and tickets immediately and later several reminders about forthcoming journey.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a beautiful trip and a relaxing way to travel and see some of the most picturistic parts of Germany.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was fabulous. We lucked out and had great weather, the staff were very polite and professional, and the scenery - spectacular. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful,sunny day on the boat on Sept 25th. We stayed overnight in Mainz as this is where the boat starts from and got off in Cologne-8:45am-8pm total duration. Scenery is fantastic along the way and time passes quickly. Booking the pass through Viator saved us quite a bit of money. We stored our luggage below and sat inside for awhile then sat outside on top deck. Food and drinks are available on the boat and service is quick. Wonderful way to see castles on the Rhine. You can get off at any dock and hop back on along the way if you only want to travel a shorter distance.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the boat first so had the pleasure of picking whatever seat we wanted. We had 2 staff members serve us, one was great and one not. We got off at St Goar and explored the castle. Was amazing. Little long but worth it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic. If we were to do this trip again, we would start in calone and go all the way down to Minez. Great service. The only problem was the manager of the crew smoked constantly and the smell would come into the dinning area. I mentioned it to a crew member but nothing was corrected.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I've wanted to take a Rhine river cruise for a long time so I took this opportunity when it came along. The cruise was a little less than I had anticipated. Although the scenery was beautiful, the trip was hot (very hot day) and not exactly what I expected. We saw the castles along the river but I would have liked more history about them and explanations of what we were seeing from a crew member or cruise director. The food on board was okay but nothing special. A longer trip or possibly an overnight river cruise might be more of what I expected. It was "okay" but not something to rave about.

Doing what: Rhine River Cruise from Koblenz to St Goare: Loreley Rock, Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and Koblenz Cable Car

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

It was beautiful. However, for the price we paid, why was no food or drink included? It also was quite disconcerting to smell cigarette smoke within the enclosed room.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip but NOT necessary to board in Mainz, which would have been out of our way due to where we were staying. Luckily there was a Port right in Assmannshausen, Germany...where our Hotel was located. Boarding locations should be a part of Viators information. Especially for us First time travelers.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The greatest advantage of the trip are the landscapes around the river Rhein. The castles on the top of the mountains are impressive. The weather could have been better, so we could have enjoyed the trip on the deck, but it was too cloudy, windy and cold (yes, it was summer!). The boat was built in 1997, a little cigarette smelly and not very comfortable. It was a big restaurant downstairs and a bar upstairs. We intended to do the whole trip from Mainz to Cologne, but the chairs were simply not comfortable and impossible to take a nap. A couch would have been nice. Therefore, we stopped at Koblenz (worth visiting) and continued to Cologne by train. The service on board is below average in Germany, impossible to get a smile from the waiters, although the food prices were OK.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Enjoyed the trip once we got on board but still had to wait in line for ages to get tickets at the booth despite having our viator vouchers which clearly claimed to be our ticket. Makes it a bit pointless having the pre-paid vouchers.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message