Rhine River ATTRACTIONS See all

Stolzenfels Castle (Schloss Stolzenfels)

With its crenellated turrets, ornate gables and fortifications, Schloss Stolzenfels exudes the sentimental beauty for which the Romantic Rhine is famed. Originally built in the 13th century to impose illegal river tolls, it had all the necessary ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The cruise was nice but the description implied that drinks and waffles were included which they were not. Everything had to be paid for as extra which was unexpected expense.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The actual boat trip and the Christmas entertainment were great however.....the package included a hot drink and waffles. We were told once on board we were not entitled to it and had to buy drinks, even though we questioned it, they were adamant our tickets didn't include the beverages. It spoilt the occasion and was a bit embarrassing but Viator are looking into it for me so fingers crossed it can be resolved!!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The staff on the boat were efficient and handled serving expeditely. The river cruise scenery was concentrated near the end of the cruise and highlighted some of Cologne's city buildings at night. The first part of the cruise was less memorable for scenery but was counterbalanced by the on board entertainment and snack serving. I would say it is worth doing for the price paid.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Rhine Xmas Cruise. Santa was brilliant. He spent 10 minutes talking to my wife and I (in English), and we didn't even have any children with us. Thoroughly recommend this trip, and it is cheaper booking through Viatpr than booking at the Cruise terminal in Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

brilliant...............asked for great seats.............got 4 seats @ front of boat

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice way to spend a couple of hours seeing the City from a different view. The boat is fantastic and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food and drink is not expensive and a good variety available. Overall a great afternoon and would recommend it.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good indeed, well organised, they were aware we were coming and had prepared for a member of our part who was in a wheel chair

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lovely trip on a great boat for a Christmas river cruise. Great service, lovely coffee and waffles and Christmas entertainment. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic. Exceeded our expectations. Food delicious . Entertainment great and we even had a photo with Santa

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This was a well organised river cruise with waffles and tea. Santa came around and spoke to all on board in a very friendly and engaging way. We were seated with another family from Australia too who were very pleasant company. The thing to note, however, is that for the short duration of the cruise, the scenery from the boat is not anything special - I'm sure you have to do a day cruise to get the most out of the views.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This was somewhat of a disappointment, maybe because the description wasn't entirely accurate or my expectations were different. If you're a family with small kids, this may be fun. If not, this isn't for you. If you're a small party, you're seated with strangers which isn't necessarily bad, but for a romantic trip, not ideal. The included waffles and cherries were rushed to the table before the boat even left the dock and weren't very tasty. The couple that played and sang music wasn't bad, but felt somewhat cheesy. Santa's entrance was fun, but we actually spent the next hour out on the deck watching the river banks until it got dark. Would not do it again or recommend it to anyone other than families with young children.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent afternoon cruise down the Rhine, great Xmas atmosphere on board , with live singers on stage singing Xmas carols and songs, met some great people on board, would do this cruise again

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

we thouroughly enjoyed the trip and it was good value for money. would go again

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great interlude - in middel of Christmas markets visit to Koln.
Warm and musical ! We even met Santa Claus and enjoyed the cherry waffles!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great for that afternoon where you want to take things slowly and have nothing planned for the day!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message