Rhine River ATTRACTIONS See all

Stolzenfels Castle (Schloss Stolzenfels)

With its crenellated turrets, ornate gables and fortifications, Schloss Stolzenfels exudes the sentimental beauty for which the Romantic Rhine is famed. Originally built in the 13th century to impose illegal river tolls, it had all the necessary ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The cruise was nice but the description implied that drinks and waffles were included which they were not. Everything had to be paid for as extra which was unexpected expense.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The actual boat trip and the Christmas entertainment were great however.....the package included a hot drink and waffles. We were told once on board we were not entitled to it and had to buy drinks, even though we questioned it, they were adamant our tickets didn't include the beverages. It spoilt the occasion and was a bit embarrassing but Viator are looking into it for me so fingers crossed it can be resolved!!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The staff on the boat were efficient and handled serving expeditely. The river cruise scenery was concentrated near the end of the cruise and highlighted some of Cologne's city buildings at night. The first part of the cruise was less memorable for scenery but was counterbalanced by the on board entertainment and snack serving. I would say it is worth doing for the price paid.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Rhine Xmas Cruise. Santa was brilliant. He spent 10 minutes talking to my wife and I (in English), and we didn't even have any children with us. Thoroughly recommend this trip, and it is cheaper booking through Viatpr than booking at the Cruise terminal in Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

brilliant...............asked for great seats.............got 4 seats @ front of boat

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice way to spend a couple of hours seeing the City from a different view. The boat is fantastic and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food and drink is not expensive and a good variety available. Overall a great afternoon and would recommend it.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good indeed, well organised, they were aware we were coming and had prepared for a member of our part who was in a wheel chair

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lovely trip on a great boat for a Christmas river cruise. Great service, lovely coffee and waffles and Christmas entertainment. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic. Exceeded our expectations. Food delicious . Entertainment great and we even had a photo with Santa

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This was a well organised river cruise with waffles and tea. Santa came around and spoke to all on board in a very friendly and engaging way. We were seated with another family from Australia too who were very pleasant company. The thing to note, however, is that for the short duration of the cruise, the scenery from the boat is not anything special - I'm sure you have to do a day cruise to get the most out of the views.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This was somewhat of a disappointment, maybe because the description wasn't entirely accurate or my expectations were different. If you're a family with small kids, this may be fun. If not, this isn't for you. If you're a small party, you're seated with strangers which isn't necessarily bad, but for a romantic trip, not ideal. The included waffles and cherries were rushed to the table before the boat even left the dock and weren't very tasty. The couple that played and sang music wasn't bad, but felt somewhat cheesy. Santa's entrance was fun, but we actually spent the next hour out on the deck watching the river banks until it got dark. Would not do it again or recommend it to anyone other than families with young children.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent afternoon cruise down the Rhine, great Xmas atmosphere on board , with live singers on stage singing Xmas carols and songs, met some great people on board, would do this cruise again

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

we thouroughly enjoyed the trip and it was good value for money. would go again

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great interlude - in middel of Christmas markets visit to Koln.
Warm and musical ! We even met Santa Claus and enjoyed the cherry waffles!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great for that afternoon where you want to take things slowly and have nothing planned for the day!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A nice two hour cruise along Rhine river with lots of Advent time delights. Maybe it is not the best time to enjoy surrounding views (as it comes dark early in December), however it still worth visiting to feel that wonderful inimitable atmosphere of the coming holiday!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A very enjoyable cruise, we were greeted by the crew and shown to excellent window seats with a table reserved just for us. Drinks (ie coffee, hot chocolate or tea) arrived together with delicious hot cherry waffles and cream, St.Nickalaus came on-board and the children sang German Xmas songs to music.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We had a great trip the ambience was fantastic coffee and waffle great
And enjoyed the night views
Singer was good bringing Christmas songs to us

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The ship was great. The waffles were delish. The only thing I can say to improve is that the interior lights could be dimmed after dinner so we could of enjoyed the lights of Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Rodney D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

A nice trip but it did not depart until 3.40pm, in fact, the actual official KD Line start time is 3.30pm although the timing on our Viator schedule was 3pm. Thus we were hanging around on the boat for the best part of an hour, having arrived about 2.45pm. Also, you need to check once you board what table you have been allocated, we thought you could sit where you like on identical tables, but this is not the case and we had to stand around in a rather embarrassed manner and deal with at least three crew members before the man with the list arrived ! We were expected to know this information in advance but did a good impression of Silly Brits abroad. The coffee and waffles with cream and hot cherries were very nice as well the general ambience of the trip. The route back was was nice, darkness having descended and we could see the many floodlit buildings and Christmas decorations. Santa came around and had a chat , he liked the English and we exchanged views about the Euro. There was some nice, low key live Christmas music and you could order more food and drinks if you wished. Take a map with you if you want to find out where you are as no commentary is given. The boat is a typical KD Line boat. spotless and well run. With the slight warnings to future travellers as detailed above, we would recommend this trip. It would be wise to check at the KD Line office at the jetty where the boat sails from about the timings though.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message