• USD ($)
  • English
Worms (pronounced more like Vohrms in German), is a town of around 86,000 people on the banks of the Rhine River. While it is now quite industrial, with some fame for its wine, its real claim on our attention is its age. Worms was settled by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We made trip from Rudesheim to St.Goar and back to see Rhine castles from the water. It is much better than similar trip in auto: you are not busy with car driving, not necessary to search place for parking when you see attractive landscape, and you see both banks of the river (while during driving you mainly have full picture only from opposite bank of the River).
Trip is well organized: we get confirmation of your order and tickets immediately and later several reminders about forthcoming journey.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a beautiful trip and a relaxing way to travel and see some of the most picturistic parts of Germany.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was fabulous. We lucked out and had great weather, the staff were very polite and professional, and the scenery - spectacular. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful,sunny day on the boat on Sept 25th. We stayed overnight in Mainz as this is where the boat starts from and got off in Cologne-8:45am-8pm total duration. Scenery is fantastic along the way and time passes quickly. Booking the pass through Viator saved us quite a bit of money. We stored our luggage below and sat inside for awhile then sat outside on top deck. Food and drinks are available on the boat and service is quick. Wonderful way to see castles on the Rhine. You can get off at any dock and hop back on along the way if you only want to travel a shorter distance.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the boat first so had the pleasure of picking whatever seat we wanted. We had 2 staff members serve us, one was great and one not. We got off at St Goar and explored the castle. Was amazing. Little long but worth it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic. If we were to do this trip again, we would start in calone and go all the way down to Minez. Great service. The only problem was the manager of the crew smoked constantly and the smell would come into the dinning area. I mentioned it to a crew member but nothing was corrected.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip but NOT necessary to board in Mainz, which would have been out of our way due to where we were staying. Luckily there was a Port right in Assmannshausen, Germany...where our Hotel was located. Boarding locations should be a part of Viators information. Especially for us First time travelers.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The greatest advantage of the trip are the landscapes around the river Rhein. The castles on the top of the mountains are impressive. The weather could have been better, so we could have enjoyed the trip on the deck, but it was too cloudy, windy and cold (yes, it was summer!). The boat was built in 1997, a little cigarette smelly and not very comfortable. It was a big restaurant downstairs and a bar upstairs. We intended to do the whole trip from Mainz to Cologne, but the chairs were simply not comfortable and impossible to take a nap. A couch would have been nice. Therefore, we stopped at Koblenz (worth visiting) and continued to Cologne by train. The service on board is below average in Germany, impossible to get a smile from the waiters, although the food prices were OK.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Enjoyed the trip once we got on board but still had to wait in line for ages to get tickets at the booth despite having our viator vouchers which clearly claimed to be our ticket. Makes it a bit pointless having the pre-paid vouchers.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

On your web site and the Voucher I printed out it it says there are two boats leaving from Mainz to Colonge. One at 8:45 and another at 9:45. What it fails to tell you is that if you do not catch the 8:45 boat the 9:45 boat only goes to Boppard so either you have to stay in Boppard or take a train to Colonge or further up the river to try and catch one of the other boats which is what we did. Your website needs to be clear with costumers about what they are getting. We are not the only ones that had this issue. There were about 12 other passengers that had this problem. This trip cost me way to much for all the headaches I had to deal with. It was supposed to be a pleasant experience. Far from it.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was better than I expected, and I didn't have low expectations. Was surprised by the onboard restaurants, decently priced, and varied menu. The trip was very entertaining, excellent way to take in the area.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The Rhine River is amazing and was one of the highlights of the trip. My only complaint: if you have a German rail pass, you may not need to purchase this pass - check to see if your rail pass covers the KD Rhine cruises. There are a lot of castles along the Rhine and with this pass, you have the flexibility to get off the boat and spend time in a few of the towns. I got off in Bacharach and St. Goar to visit Rheinfels Castle. Great views the entire way from Mainz to Koblenz.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip, allows you a lot of freedom to get off and on. The only thing you'll need to be aware of us if you miss the last boat for a certain city you will have to go by train and that could cost a bit. Luckily we were prepared!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A lovely tour on the Rhine. We went from Mainz to Boppard and then returned on the same boat. We could have changed boats and gone further up the Rhine but found the boat trip so relaxing that we decided to stay and enjoy it. The views were amazing and there was good commentary on the boat.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message