The Rhine River is Germany's longest river and premier wine growing region, packed with romantic fortress ruins, lush vineyards and medieval castles perched high above the gorge. The romantic Middle Rhine between Koblenz and Bingen is a UNESCO ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 630 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I missed the full day tour and took the afternoon tour. I enjoyed every minute! It was just wonderful.
The guide was so friendly and informative and the other passengers were delightful. We had a beautiful day. The scenery was magnificent. Great value!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a lovely time. Our tour guide was Michael who was very informative and had a great sense of humor. We would recommend this tour to anyone and it was well worth the money. It was a great day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous day trip out of Frankfurt. The sites were incredible and the tour guide, Michael was terrific, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was great. I loved that white asparagus was in season and we could upgrade our lunch request to include that. The only comment is that unless you were really listening which apparently I wasn't I didn't catch that the lift ride down to the village costs 5 Euro and is not included in the trip price. If you opt not to do that, the bus will take you down at no charge of course. But the lift ride was well worth every bit.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lovely day. It was sunny and pleasant looking at the castles as pretty towns from the boat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Deborah M S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The trip down the Rhine tour was great. Wonderful to see that region with the vineyards and all the castles.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Neil M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The Rhine River cruise was a very pleasant experience. Our guide, Michael, provided an interesting, entertaining and knowledgeable presentation on the day. We we fortunate to have good weather for the cruise and viewing the landscape and sights. The lunch which was included in the cost, was a little disappointing and certainly not an example of the local cuisine. Perhaps, a drink or water could be included in the price. Otherwise, a very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Aimee A.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really nice excursion. The bus was prompt and the tour guide was very friendly. The only thing that I would like to warn people about is lunch. The only thing included is the actual food. Beverages of any type must be purchased. Also, there is a lift that you have the opportunity to take down the mountain at your first stop that is very nice, but is an extra charge. It was 5 Euros. Just make sure you bring some extra cash with you as neither the lift or the restaurant took credit cards.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Carmen Lucia S Brazil

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I took half day tour. Cruise very short.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Betty G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour aspect of this trip was good. We got a good view of the Rhine Valley from both land and water. The lunch was very poor. Over cooked chicken with french fries. Dessert was an extra charge. I think Germans would be upset to learn that was the standard we experienced. The wine tasting was less than successful. A teaspoon of 4 wines presented in 20 minutes. Sub standard wine tasting.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Trista H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

There was not a lot to see in Düsseldorf. Some of the stops you couldn and #39;t even see what was being talked about. You had to walk a few minutes to get to it. Also when there was something to see, the bus drove by it very quickly. The most ridiculous part is the 25 min pause at the Hbf.

Doing what: Düsseldorf Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Andrew K United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The boat was fantastic, it looked good and was comfortable. The staff were lovely and we were able to purchase drinks on board as requested. It's just not much of an experience as there was next to nothing to see. Customer service was top notch but overall, you could probably just walk down the side of the Rhein and get the same feel for the City.

Doing what: Düsseldorf Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise Including Commentary

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Every part of this trip was wonderful. Our guide was above and beyond the best guide of all the trips I have been on. The location of stops to eat and shop were great, and of course we loved being on the cruise. The scenery along the Rhine was spectacular. So many castles in such a short distance was more than what I expected. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Frankfurt area.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chensong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The river cruise is quite nice and my tour guide Michael is also very friendly and makes the trip fun and informational. I had a wonderful day with this trip.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Chensong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The river cruise is quite nice and my tour guide Michael is very nice and makes the trip fun and informational. I had a wonderful day with this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jeffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool...the highlight of my trip to Europe and highly recommended to take the tour...Exceptional in every way

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Neetu B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to use, helpful audio commentary. Everyone should take this cruise.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip down the Rheine! So many castles to see! Very good day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Larry M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour enormously. However we were not pleaded to get back to Frankfurt so late. Our bus detoured to take three different groups to their hotel which extended our trip by at least an hour. We had to catch a train to Bad Homberg and travel from the station to our hotel. We sat in at a bus stop for 45 minutes in the dark while it was raining. We finally took a taxi which cost more since we had purchased round trip bus tickets. We did not get to our hotel until after 9:30 - we should have reached our hotel by 7:00 PM. We were very aggravated.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Eric M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It is well worth taking a trip to the Rhine if you are in Frankfurt. The river cruise was delightful and you got to see a lot of villages and castles. The tour guide/bus driver, Michael, was informative and entertaining. If you don't want the hassle of planning the trip yourself, this is the way to go. However, the train system in Frankfurt is pretty easy to figure out. I would suggest skipping this tour, taking the train to Rudesheim and catching a boat from there. That way you'll skip the tourist trap lunch/wine tasting. The lunch is chicken and fries. Really?! I'm in Germany. Drinks, even water, cost extra.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Natalie R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was a great trip and loved the Rhine Valley. It was off season so some of the shops etc were not open but it was as if we were the only people there. The guide was quite good and the travel group was knowledgeable and provided good service. We would use them again.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

peg's Travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even in winter this is a pretty area. Our drive and guide were wonderful and he was able to share his knowledge about the area and what happened over the historical time with the castles. Well worth the trip. Excellent.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had excellent guide and if the weather had been better, the day would have been perfect.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message