The Rhine River is Germany's longest river and premier wine growing region, packed with romantic fortress ruins, lush vineyards and medieval castles perched high above the gorge. The romantic Middle Rhine between Koblenz and Bingen is a UNESCO ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We took instead the full day rhine tour, which was unbelievable, a tour not to be missed, castles and vineyards everywhere, amazing, and then we took the full day heidelberg tour, also amazing, the castle, the town ,the bridge, wow so glad we split this tour into two separate days to see as much as we could see of both these world heritage sites, incredible!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This your was amazing! Our tour guide was excellent, and funny! We had a fantastic day. The ONLY reason that 5 stars were not awarded by me is because at the end of the tour they go to the airport and to many hotels to drop people off from the bus. This annoyed me to no end!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Rhine river cruise is a nice relaxing way to see a lot of the old towns and castles and vineyards.
One way is good enough.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

we fully enjoyed this tour, not only the weather is great, but our tour guide is so wonderful! Very interesting information and great arrangement of the places to see. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour and wine tasting were good. I think there should have been more narration and more history. Decent tour though. Guide was nice and respectful.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

All in all, the tour was very disappointing for the money we spent. We spent more time on the bus, waiting for the boat, and in the tacky restaurant and obligatory wine tasting than we did on the boat. (Sure, the wine tasting was "optional," but the other option was waiting on the bus for everyone else to return.)

The reviews I read before booking the tour were glowing. Now I know to look at ALL the reviews, not just the first ones. It seems the tour guides were a big part of the event for others. Our tour guide was nice, but offered very little information and engaged in little conversation other than asking us where we were from.

The view from the boat was also nice, but it was the same view we saw driving down on the bus. The boat turned out to be little more than a barge with metal picnic tables on it.

Would I book this tour again? No.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mark S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The lunch was just edible- why in Germany would a restaurant serve barbeque chicken and french fries- come on, for the money a schnitzel and slaw would be more appropriate. Everything else extra! The wine tasting was ok. Towards the end of the tour we did not appreciate being held captive in the bus while the tour director went systematically down the aisle shaking a box for tips for himself and the bus driver. The chair lift ride should be included- 6 euro extra per person, but surely viatour would have got a group discount of 20 or more, so felt like we were ripped off. The tour guide was knowledgeable and that gives it 2 stars.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the breathtaking day! The Nostalgic Route with romantic paddle steamer GOETHE was the best choise to celebrate our 46- years long marriage.Helpfull staff, good lunch, halb troken Riesling - we liked everything.Fabulous! Would be nice to come again! Andris@Anita from Latvia

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent trip, wether helped, comfy coach, very good trip host, friendly humourus and good area knowledge.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an AMAZING tour that can be done on your own, with your significant other or in a group. The tour takes your for an incredible ride through the German wine countryside, the option to take a cable ride down the mountain, and the ability to see incredible views from the Rhine River. The food was great, the wine delicious, the views incredible, and the company great!! Had a wonderful day meeting new people and enjoying the views. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a 36 hour lay over in Frankfurt so having a full day we wanted something relaxing to do. This tour was perfect! The only draw back is we were not picked up and dropped off at our hotel, so we took the train to the main station and the tour meeting point was across the street and very easy to find.
Our tour guide George was outstanding!!!!!!!! If we ever go back to this area again I will request George!
Our bus driver Alfredo was also very good!
We drove out of the city with beautiful views and George continuously describing our scenery.
We arrived in a picturesque town took a ride down a mountain on a ski lift chair which was an extra 5 euros each...this should be included in the price of the tour. The view was outstanding. We walked to lunch and were only given two choices neither being German food. The meal was decent but our drinks and dessert were not included??? How to you provide lunch without drinks...terrible policy. A big let down.
We then boarded a large ferry and cruised down the Rhine river and saw about 20 Castles. The ferry had drink and food service. The views were spectacular and the ride so relaxing. We then got off the ferry boarded our bus and drove back along the Rhine with our tour guide providing outstanding narration with a good sense of humor! We stopped back at the restaurant we had eaten lunch at for a terrible wine tasting. Four small medicine shots of wine were set out no water, we drank them down heard a sales pitch for grossly over priced wine and no one bought any. Then we got back on the bus drove to another town with beautiful views and had the opportunity to go shopping for souvenirs! Took the bus back to Frankfurt. A full day with lots to see and do. If you have time and want a little taste of Germany this is a perfect tour with a few minor flaws.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day out, highly recommend. Alberto our driver was very good, always on time. The river cruise was amazing, worth the money, our guide George was absolutely excellent, would do a tour with him again

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organized and great fun, we hope to do it again in the future.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The KD Rhine Cruise was awesome we really enjoyed it and would highly recommend
it and the food was also very good.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Cologne

Bill N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

great boat and bus ride and good wine on boat, the dinner and wine tasting , forget it !!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message