The Rhine River is Germany's longest river and premier wine growing region, packed with romantic fortress ruins, lush vineyards and medieval castles perched high above the gorge. The romantic Middle Rhine between Koblenz and Bingen is a UNESCO ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great time. All positive. Long day for full tour though. 9-8.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice Guide, funny and informative. Very well organized. Views lived up to our expectations. Wine tasting was very limited but dinner was excellent. Worth the trip!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour with English commentary ... well planned site seeing tour and the River Trip was excellent ... highly recommended and great value for money ... would do again ..

Doing what: Düsseldorf Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of the Heidelberg castle, was able to spend some time in the main square of Heidelberg, beautiful river tour where we saw many castles, and good meal for dinner and wine for a wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very happy with the tour. Wish the boat ride was longer. Wine tasting is very quick. For the price its hard to beat.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice tour! Restaurant was awesome and the ride to the restaurant on a cable car was spectacular with awesome views! River Cruise was excellent. It was very hot. Boat did not have much ice and lower deck was not a/c. Be prepared to buy lots of water with no gas @ 2.50 Euros each. By the end of the trip, we purchased 6 bottles.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Marian S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was actually two consecutive trips. Different experiences, both wonderful. Our time was limited in Frankfurt, and this was perfect.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Heather T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this chance to see some of the Rhine, the castles and small towns were very scenic and we did get time off the boat to wander as well. The wine tasting is brief and no pressure to purchase. I realise they have to have a meal to suit the majority but thought chicken, chips and coleslaw was a bit basic. Where was the schnitzel, strudel etc? The delicious Riesling made up for it though. Overall a great day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a wonderful tour if you want to make the most out of one day. Our tour guide, George, was wonderful and very knowledgeable about all the sights and their history. Bus driver, Alfredo, was very friendly as well. Although I don't see anything wrong with spending a full day in Heidelberg, a half day is fine if you are seeing many other German towns. The view from the bridge is spectacular! The Rhine River Valley boat tour is also a great experience. The ride is certainly long enough for you to feel like you've seen many castles and it's very peaceful. My only recommendation for the second half of the tour is that they should clarify what's included in the dinner at the time of booking. Dinner is included but you pay extra for anything that's not the vegetarian meal, and you pay for dessert and drinks. I'm vegetarian anyway so it didn't affect me as much but others had to pay extra if they wanted schnitzel, etc. Otherwise, a great time! I recommend buying some EisWein....

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Gorgeous. Food was decent for a tour boat. Very friendly staff. They provide a little info on a few of the castles. Reccomend you bring your own guide book or audio tour. Rick Steves' audio tour was well done and easy to follow going in either direction because of the giant kilometer markers on the shore.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A perfect day. Everything was ontime. Didn't care for the wine tasting event. Thought it would be at an outside vineyard.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable trip to the Rhine Valley and the tour guide was excellent. The tour includes lunch and wine tasting at a quaint restaurant in one of the towns along the river. After lunch we got on the ferry and cruised along the river for a couple of hours. We stopped by another town after the cruise and were given half an hour to shop. We didn't stop at any other towns along the river - this was OK for me as I only had a day in Frankfurt and this tour is the most time efficient way to explore the Rhine Valley.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a fun trip with a knowledgeable guide. It felt a bit overbooked and our fellow sightseers were not quite as friendly and interactive as they were on other tours. The Rhine Valley was amazing and not to be missed!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was a good experience, especially the Rhine cruise. However, there is wrong information in the printout. It says the buses run every 30 minutes. However, we waited for 45 minutes and no bus came. The tourist info center was closed so we went back the next day. They then informed us that the buses only run every hour.

Doing what: Düsseldorf Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Both Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley are must see, but spend a whole day on each instead of both in one day if you can. Also, the food was incredibly disappointing! So much of the travel experience is the food of the place you're visiting and this tour's food was awful. A cheese sandwich on the bus that could be bought at a gas station and the dinner was a lousy piece of chicken and fries, pathetic!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Ticket agent in Koblenz was harried and not helpful.
Requirement for a paper voucher in today's electronic world is terrible. How are tourists who make last minute decisions supposed to get a paper voucher.
Not an English friendly experience.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Rhine was fabulous. Tour guide practically begged for tip for him and driver. Restaurant was a total rip off.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour and well worth the money. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and added a great comedic twist to the information and history. The food was delicious and the wine excellent. The boat ride was peaceful and scenery beautiful. The wine tasting was fun so fun!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very helpful and knowledgable all about Germany's history. I wasn't feeling very well and he did his absolute best to cater for me. The castles were stunning and I learnt a lot about the workings of the Rhine River. Would highly recommend. Adrian is fabulous- thank you

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a trip from Mainz to Koblenz - got off the boat in Boppard and took another boat to Koblenz. This tour was really nice; definitely worthy experience. Stuff is very knowledgable and courteous.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour, George our Tour Guide took great care of us, his knowledge and humour made our daz.

Looking forward to going on our next trip with George to the Black forrest.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything from start to finish was handled well and all our party agreed that it was good value for money.
The Rhine was amazing and the boat was fantastic ,the restaurant was a great experience as well, all in all a great day out.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message