Its sloping vineyards, medieval castles and hilltop villages are undeniably picturesque, but the Rheingau region is most famous for its celebrated Riesling wines. Stretching along the northern banks of the mighty Rhine River, the Rheingau region ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a lovely evening we had on this beautifully decorated Christmassy boat! The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The food was extensive and tasty, so lovely to be able to try typical German food! The beer and wine flowed freely and the views of Cologne as you floated by were gorgeous! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was really excellent and tremendous value for money. The boat was beautifully decorated and the live band were really good so there was a proper party atmosphere. The food was plentiful and of a very high standard (the smoked salmon was superb; so were all the meat dishes) . Service was really attentive and your glass was refilled as soon as it started to empty. The wines were good quality, there was bottled water at every table and the beer was the excellent locally brewed kolsch. The only thing we hadn't expected was to be seated with other people but the organisers had thoughtfully put us with another a British couple (in fact, they turned out to be Welsh, like us). and we really enjoyed their company. We didn't really register the scenery as obviously it was dark and we were involved in the food and the party atmosphere but when we went up on deck we saw great views of the best of Colognr, ie the cathedral. The boat is conveniently moored ten minutes walk from the main station and the cathedral so very easy to get to and from. All in all, loved it and would recommend it to anyone. Oh, and the locals love to dance!!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a a lovely trip. It was very cold outside, but the boat was very warm and comfortable. The staff was wonderful, the food was very good! We were able to get through the buffet line near the beginning, but when my husband went back for seconds, it was still just as delicious. Several kinds of meat were served, a salad bar, vegetables, soup, and all the wine or beer you could drink. The view was beautiful from the boat, but hard to take good pictures as it was moving. It lasted three hours. There was a live band aboard, but we were on the other side of ship, so the music was nicely in the background. Many people danced, and it was quite a party! There was much laughing and fun had by all!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Our cruise was fantastic. The ship was bigger and nicer than I expected for the great price. We relaxed the whole afternoon. The wine was delicious. The staff were terrific. The guide did an terrific job too. Kudos to the cruise company for a job well done.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The booking, online ticket printing and easy acceptance by the agent at the gang-plank was simple and convenient. It worked just as we all hoped internet booking should go! We had great weather, the food on board while limited, was good and not overly expensive. The choice of beer and wine was likewise. In short, the trip from Mainz to Koln was great and gave us a good orientation for the weeks drive we subsequently took along the shore.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We were the first people to ever sign up for this, so they have some bugs to work out. But Boppard was a devine city and the young lady educating us on ice wine was friendly, well educated on her subject and did a great job! I recommend this to anyone wanting to learn about ice wine. This shop also has a great selection of wines to take home!

Doing what: Boppard Icewine and 30 minutes Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The cruise was only about an hour long. It's a nice break from walking around and they do advise in both German and English along the way. There isn't as much to see as further south along the Mosel.
They served food and wine as well. Service was really nice.

Doing what: Cologne Sightseeing Cruise


4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The Nostalgic Route uses the historic paddle boat "Goethe". The boat is beautifully renovated and very comfortable. The stops were exactly on time and everything was visible through the boat windows. The upriver trip culminates with an hour-long stop over in Ruedesheim, where you can buy great locally produced wines. However, we were scolded for opening our bottle back on the boat. All of the seats on the boat are at tables serviced by waiters. I wish it had been more clear that brown-bagging was frowned upon, or, even better, to have some parts of the boat where it is allowed.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Pleasant relaxing day, the crew were helpful and friendly throughout . The boat facilites very good and I was fascinated by the efficiency of the crew as we approached and left each pier. The scenery was beautiful and there was simply castle after castle. I would have liked more information on the river itself and the wines and other agriculture along the banks. Overall a most enjoyable day one to remember.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message