Enjoy the lush Rhine Valley from it's best vantage point - the Rhine itself!  Discover the beauty of the KD Rhine Pass, hop on and off as many times as you like from Cologne to Mainz, and on the Moselle between Koblenz and Cochen. See a cool ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 472 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The countryside was amazing and our guide George was very knowledgeable, however we were supposed to get on the cruise at 3.30pm and the boat didn't actually leave until 4.15pm. Since it was December it got dark by 4.30pm and we couldn't see anything. Something to be aware of in winter.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We arrived at the boat launch to learn that the trip would only take place if more than 15 people purchased tickets. Fortunately, the minimum number of passengers did eventually materialize and the boat trip did occur. The disconcerting part was that we had paid in full for our fare in advance online and had the trip not occurred due to low interest, the carrier informed us that there would have been no refund. We planned our day around the fact that we had paid for this excursion. In the end, the trip did take place, it was a pretty short ride, not much too see on the short stretch of river it covered and it gets dark so early in Germany that there was not the views promised in the website. I have taken many Rhein cruises before that were amazing but this one I cannot really recommned.

Doing what: Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise from Rüdesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was really excellent and tremendous value for money. The boat was beautifully decorated and the live band were really good so there was a proper party atmosphere. The food was plentiful and of a very high standard (the smoked salmon was superb; so were all the meat dishes) . Service was really attentive and your glass was refilled as soon as it started to empty. The wines were good quality, there was bottled water at every table and the beer was the excellent locally brewed kolsch. The only thing we hadn't expected was to be seated with other people but the organisers had thoughtfully put us with another a British couple (in fact, they turned out to be Welsh, like us). and we really enjoyed their company. We didn't really register the scenery as obviously it was dark and we were involved in the food and the party atmosphere but when we went up on deck we saw great views of the best of Colognr, ie the cathedral. The boat is conveniently moored ten minutes walk from the main station and the cathedral so very easy to get to and from. All in all, loved it and would recommend it to anyone. Oh, and the locals love to dance!!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We cruised from Koblenz down to Cochem (the Moselle River) using the one day KD Rhine Pass. It was an excellent way to simply sit back and enjoy the river and views as towns, locks and great countryside all drifted by. We stayed overnight in Cochem, which is delightful, and then caught the train back to Koblenz to continue with our touring. It was very easy and convenient, the KD pass is not expensive, although I would recommend booking ahead, esp in busy times, and the Moselle is as interesting, if not even lovelier than the more famous Rhine

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The dinner cruise was amazing and e had fun. We were realy pleased whit everything. The only draw back was that thw names of the food was written only in German it would have helped if they were written also in English.

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Heidelberg part of the tour is fine , but the Rhine valley day trip could easily be done independently as the tour basically provides transportation only

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good tour of the Rhine Valley. Very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very enjoyable tour through this historic region and grand architecture. The meal at the restaurant was very medicore, but the regional wine tasting was good.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very nice tour and worth the money. The meal is included in the fare, but be careful to ask first the price of the drinks in the restaurant before ordering as they seem to be at much of a premium (8 euros for a small glass of ice wine and 2.25 euro for small bottle of water). The tour guide was hilarious and made the trip fun. On a down side, I have been on other trips where the guides subtly mention that they appreciate tips, but this guide was quite blatant. As an example he walked down the bus with a brown box for tips and stopped at each person and asked them if they are giving a tip or not.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The convenience of being able to "hop on hop off" as you cruise along the Rhine is really great and the timetable allows for sensible stops along the way. We found the system to be very efficient and not too expensive. Some of the facilities on the boats varied in terms of quality, but overall it was a good way to see the Rhine

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We liked the tour very much but the bus we travelled in was small and stuffy. Every seat was taken and we were squashed in the corner of the back seat.
The best experience was the cable car ride down to where we had lunch and then caught the ferry. The scenery was beautiful.
I recommend it!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message