Enjoy the lush Rhine Valley from it's best vantage point - the Rhine itself!  Discover the beauty of the KD Rhine Pass, hop on and off as many times as you like from Cologne to Mainz, and on the Moselle between Koblenz and Cochen. See a cool ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 565 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this one day trip. Such a beautiful country. Guide and driver were awesome!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was very good overall and the tour guide Adrian was excellent. I was in Frankfurt on a business trip so I took this tour alone and Adrian was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful day trip along the Rhine. It started with a one-hour bus ride from just off of the Frankfurt HBF station to Aulhausen where we took a ski lift down the side of the hills into the Rhine valley. The views were great, overlooking the vineyards and the river. The lift took us to the village of Assmannshausen where we walked to the restaurant for lunch. The food was good and the waitress was delightful. The restaurant is decorated with nautical themes and is fun to browse. We then boarded the boat for a 1.5 hour trip down the Rhine. The boat's PA system described all the castles and towns in about 4-5 languages so that everyone knew what we were seeing. The boat made three stops along the way to allow passengers to get on or off. When we arrived at our stop in Sankt Goarshausen, we got back on our bus and drove back to Assmannshausen for the wine tasting. Then to the village of Aulhausen for a brief shopping stop. Finally, we boarded the bus to arrive back in Frankfurt at 7:00 pm. Our guide on the Bus, Michael, was delightful and made a point of talking to every passenger to answer their questions. Overall, a very nice day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite a record-setting hot temperature in Germany on this day, the tour guide, Michael and the bus driver, Gunter made the day so much fun! They were great hosts. Friendly, informative and humorous. Times were just right for each segment of the trip.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had an absolutely fabulous day. The boat, staff, food etc was wonderful. The scenery floating along the Rhine was awesome. Can not recommend this trip highly enough. Everyone should plan to do this trip if they can

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass - Nostalgic Route - Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Rudesheim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

After a long haul to Frankfurt for a two night stop over this was an excellent choice Informative, relaxing, and an interesting part of the Rhine We didn't see the city of Franffurt but we are not really city people To visit an authentic German Village was far more appealing The Unesco area and viewing historic castles from the river was a bonus Michael, our tour guide was excellent and shared his sense of humour well

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved the tour and tour guide Michael. The chair lift was great and unexpected as I did not see that in the original itinerary. Beautiful river scenery with all the castles. One of my best events in Germany.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The combination tour to Heidelberg and the Rhine Valley was fantastic -- it was my last full day in Europe and I could not have asked for a better send off. The Rhine Valley cruise especially was amazing -- so romantic and gorgeous. I was lucky to have perfect weather. I met some very nice and fun people on the tour, so I felt like I made some new friends even though I joined the tour myself.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip is awesome!

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Mainz

Kayjay
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day out, very beautiful scenery, nice food, pay for drinks, but all round enjoyable.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The trip was better as expected. This was due to the wonderful advise from a staff member in the office I phoned. Take time out to have a good look at Ruedesheim, it is the most beautiful place.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Convenient and easy way to see the castles along the Rhine River.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It would have been a 5-star trip if: there had been a choice of menu a proper wine tasting proper glasses and quantities, instead of little medicine cups included as part of the lunch - to avoid rushing around and an hour in Rüdesheim instead of 30 minutes. Having said that, the food we had for lunch was good not very German but fresh chicken, chips and salad considering it was made for a very large group the river cruise was definitely the highlight of the tour - we had plenty of time to enjoy everything and have a drink as well on board the guide, Michael, was very nice, friendly, patient and helpful - ever present but gave you your own space to enjoy the day. Going down the bus row by row asking for a tip at the end for himself and the driver was a bit cheeky considering how much you pay for the tour. We highly recommend the tour if visiting Frankfurt for more than 1 day, as it is a total contrast from the city centre. It is one of the nicest areas around and a must for anyone interested in wine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and gives you a taste of the Rhine and a couple smaller towns along the way. A perfect day trip if you don't have a lot of time in the area.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I would rate this tour 4 stars if the AC on the bus was working. No one predicted that AC stopped working 10 minutes after we departed, unfortunately it was a historical hot day of 99 degrees outside. Company managed to dispatch another bus to drive back, that made lots of people happy.
The tour itself was nicely organized, the view was pretty along the river, the boat was not crowded. Dinner was tasty, I recommend everyone to check the bathroom of that restaurant, it is one of the kind! I wish the cruise can be a little longer and if it includes walking through on couple of those castles, that would be definitely a 5 stars!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

We thought the trip was good value, but we're a little disappointed with the commentary on the boat trip. Very little detail was given about the castles we passed and no information at all about other interesting looking buildings or about the history of the Rhine and local communities. Also there was very little service on board. We had to hunt down a bar man for a drink.

Doing what: River Rhine Cruise from Koblenz to Boppard: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and Koblenz Cable Car

scooby_singh
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

While the broucher said that we will be back at 11-15 - 8:30 PM, we were back at 6:15PM, so not sure if our tour was cut short. Our guide Michael was good but in the end while we are driving back he put us all in an awkward position by walking through the bus with a box collecting tip. This should be discretionary and not in the face. What if you didn't have change or didn't like the service will they kick you out. This was a very tasteless move. Also we were taken to a restuarant for lunch as it was part of our package, we ordered 3 waters and we were billed 7.20 Euro, don't hide these secret costs.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Very disappointing, for something that was an all day adventure, we spent most of the time on the bus getting there and stopping to pick up other guests. The lunch stop and the wine tasting were at the exact same place that had more clutter inside and out then you could shake a stick at, looked like a thrift shop. The wine tasting portion was in a thimble of a glass and you were only there for 20 minutes or less. Part of the trip included a ski lift down to the village where we had lunch, view was great but seemed like a waste of time.
The driver and guide were very informative and helpful. I would just look for something else if I was to do again.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were in Frankfurt for only 1 day so we needed a tour which would give us the most opportunity to sightsee as possible. This tour fit the bill perfectly. The tour guide was informative, funny, and really enjoyed his work.
Highly recommend this tour for those with limited time.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great time. All positive. Long day for full tour though. 9-8.

Doing what: KD Rhine Pass from Koblenz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice Guide, funny and informative. Very well organized. Views lived up to our expectations. Wine tasting was very limited but dinner was excellent. Worth the trip!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of the Heidelberg castle, was able to spend some time in the main square of Heidelberg, beautiful river tour where we saw many castles, and good meal for dinner and wine for a wine tasting.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message