Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico)

Idyllic and serene among the bustle of Rio the Botanic Gardens - or Jardim Botanico - are a delightful place to soak up the beauty of both Amazonian and imported plants. There are over 5,500 species of plant and this is where you will find the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I loved the intimacy of the excursion. Only six people.T

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Yes, I wanted to see the Botanical Gardens, but the tour probably stayed there too long. We drove up into the rainforest, but only had time to look at a photograph of the waterfall we should have hiked to. I am not sure why we had to sit in full sun in the back of an open jeep when we never drove anywhere but on sealed roads. Disappointing as it did not deliver what was promised.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This tour was a waste of my time and money. The tour guide rushed us through the Botanical Garden and would not see the areas of the park containing the orchids. He was not well informed and I could have done this tour by myself, as all he did was read the signs in the park and rainforest.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful tour of the Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest in an open-top jeep.Great views of the city. Never seen so many jack-fruit trees in one place. It was expertly handled by a professional guide. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great help for someone that loves to travel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Effectively a private tour, with just three of us plus the guide. Tremendous and interesting day out in Tigre,plus first-class up-market meal in Villa Julia. This trip and the Fiests Gaucha day are wonderful and Viators partners here are excellent (more than can be said for the rip-off Colonia day tripwhich costs more than double these wonderful days out)

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

The tour jeep was an hour late. Someone who took the same tour two days ago warned me of that. So being an hour late twice in three days is unuausal.
The rainforest is not that spectacular. And we only stopped for a waterfall and a Chinese pavillion.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Note from Viator: During the Carnival periods in Brazil, street celebrations causing heavy traffic is a common problem. Since many tours can be delayed due to this, it is highly recommended that you stay in contact with the local tour operator in order to be prepared for a change in departure time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The Rainforest is fantastic. We made several stops along the way to overlook the city, view the waterfall and visit the visitors center. We then made a couple stops to watch the hangliders from the mountatin and then the beach. The only negative was that we did not go to the Botanical Gardens at all.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

So much to see and cheap admission as well! Taking a stroll through the botanical gardens was a blast and a must-do when in Rio. You'll get to see plants from all over the world and a couple of animals as well - we got chased by howling monkeys!

Saké
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Don't forget to visit this Botanical Garden in Rio! I am glad I had extra time left to visit this as it was definitely a highlight of our trip. We came across so howling / screaming monkeys ( I have no idea what they were ) but they were not aggressive. A great place to bring kids to as it is very spacious and from time to time you will get to see some interesting animals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The route was fantastic and is a great way to get a good sense of what Rio has to offer in a short amount of time. Plus, you are getting exercise and can avoid the car traffic! The guide was knowledgeable and shared all of his local insights.

David L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A brilliant tour! It was only the 3 of us so it was very personal. Our guide was a very knowledgeable biology student who was able to give us detailed information about the plants in the botanical gardens. Cycling round the lagoon showed us a part of Rio we might not have seen otherwise. The company was very obliging, as we had to change days due to rainy weather, without a problem!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

The guys were punctual and reliable ensuring our safety in the busy streets of Rio. It was a nice easy ride and a good way to see many parts of the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

This is a great way to see both beaches and the botanical gardens. As it turned out there were only the two of us so we received great attention and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message