Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico)

Idyllic and serene among the bustle of Rio the Botanic Gardens - or Jardim Botanico - are a delightful place to soak up the beauty of both Amazonian and imported plants. There are over 5,500 species of plant and this is where you will find the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour was scheduled for 8 AM. Hotel Concierge call local phone # and was told pick up would be 9 AM. Guide (Jeep Tours) didn't arrive until 9:30 AM. Tour was only 3 hrs including time stuck in traffic plus picking up and dropping off others at different hotels. Guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful time on my your, the group was small and we were to explore the grounds without feeling rushed. The tour guide was an excellent photographer who helped those on the your by themselves. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I loved the intimacy of the excursion. Only six people.T

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Yes, I wanted to see the Botanical Gardens, but the tour probably stayed there too long. We drove up into the rainforest, but only had time to look at a photograph of the waterfall we should have hiked to. I am not sure why we had to sit in full sun in the back of an open jeep when we never drove anywhere but on sealed roads. Disappointing as it did not deliver what was promised.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This tour was a waste of my time and money. The tour guide rushed us through the Botanical Garden and would not see the areas of the park containing the orchids. He was not well informed and I could have done this tour by myself, as all he did was read the signs in the park and rainforest.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful tour of the Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest in an open-top jeep.Great views of the city. Never seen so many jack-fruit trees in one place. It was expertly handled by a professional guide. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Effectively a private tour, with just three of us plus the guide. Tremendous and interesting day out in Tigre,plus first-class up-market meal in Villa Julia. This trip and the Fiests Gaucha day are wonderful and Viators partners here are excellent (more than can be said for the rip-off Colonia day tripwhich costs more than double these wonderful days out)

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

The tour jeep was an hour late. Someone who took the same tour two days ago warned me of that. So being an hour late twice in three days is unuausal.
The rainforest is not that spectacular. And we only stopped for a waterfall and a Chinese pavillion.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Note from Viator: During the Carnival periods in Brazil, street celebrations causing heavy traffic is a common problem. Since many tours can be delayed due to this, it is highly recommended that you stay in contact with the local tour operator in order to be prepared for a change in departure time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The Rainforest is fantastic. We made several stops along the way to overlook the city, view the waterfall and visit the visitors center. We then made a couple stops to watch the hangliders from the mountatin and then the beach. The only negative was that we did not go to the Botanical Gardens at all.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message