• USD ($)
  • English
Situated in a sleek, chic modernist house in Santa Teresa, Rio’s bohemian quarter, the Chacara do Ceu Museum houses part of the vast art collection of the late Brazilian industrialist and aesthete, Raymundo Ottoni de Castro Maya. Over the course of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. It started late, as our original tour guide never showed up. After placing a phone call to the central agency proving the tour, we were very shortly picked up by car and driven to Santa Teresa, where we were met by Raquel, our new tour guide. Raquel was very knowledgeable about the area, living there herself. We felt safe and we toured every little area of Santa Teresa with her. We even had time to stop at souvenir shops and pick up alot of local artisan stuff. Overall a great experience. We ended the tour with a subway ride back to our hotel, followed by a very nice lunch with a lady we met during the tour. Great job!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Since this was a personal and up close tour, I enjoyed the intimacy I had with the area. Reminded me of some streets in San Francisco and this tour have the participants a chance to see local art and culture. Quite hot and humid walk, but worth the effort.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing tour. I was the only one who booked the tourso it was just me and the guide. My guide Daniel was very informative and he showed me how to use the metro and where to go see the nightlife. Santa Teresa is a must when visiting Rio and this tour is the perfect way to see it.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good. Our guide was friendly, informative and paced the tour to suit the tastes of the group of six adults. The tram is still not working, but the story of its demise is interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very knowledgable and friendly guides. I upgraded this tour to include visiting Santa Marta community and it was the best Rio tour so far!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. This tour lets you see another section of Rio that is not mobbed by tourists. Our guide, Luiz, was extremely knowledgable of this area. Unfortunately, the tram is not running due to a very unfortunate accident a couple years ago. However, our guide walked us through the streets of Santa Teresa and explained everything we saw. We even stopped at a local market for coconut water to refresh ourselves. This is a fabulous tour to see local people and to escape the hustle, bustle of Rio.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very good tour. The guide is very interesting and wants to share his love of Rio.
And Santa Teresa is very different from the other parts of Rio. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The best tour I did I think (as well as the favela tour with same company). Santa Teresa is a gem. Luis is a brilliant guide, and knowledgeable (his grandma lived there so he knows the neighborhood).
The little shops are great too, very artsy. Overall a must-do!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really enjoyed walking the streets of Santa Teresa and visiting quaint shops, coffee houses and the amazing steps of Lada!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour highly recommended. Tour guide was highly knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour was great! Our guide, Luis, was fantastic. Not only did he take us to additional places that weren't on our itinerary, but he drove us around in a car to give us optimal time. We even ended up at a beautiful cafe in the area. Santa Teresa is not to be missed!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fabulous - our guide Luiz was just the best - he knew the area intimately, picked up on what interested us and paced the whole half day extremely well - we had a most enjoyable stroll around this "real" part of Rio, including a trip in the excellent underground metro, lamented the accident and "paasing" of Santat Theresa's famous tram, drank acai at the wonderful "Cafecite", visited local art and craft shops and marvelled at the Selaron staircase with its more than 2,000 tiles from over 120 countries. All in all this tour was the perfect way to round off a great week in this exciting place.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour! Truly got a feel for the people of Rio instead of just the big city environment. A must do tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message