Situated in a sleek, chic modernist house in Santa Teresa, Rio’s bohemian quarter, the Chacara do Ceu Museum houses part of the vast art collection of the late Brazilian industrialist and aesthete, Raymundo Ottoni de Castro Maya. Over the course of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent private tour. It was just two of us. The guide was very friendly, spoke good English and was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour with a great tour guide. I very much enjoyed the tour. It was a mixed walking, subway, and bus tour and a very good way to see more of Rio than you usually would. The murals on the tour were very interesting and the walk down the tiled steps, Selaron's Staircase, was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was a very good, personalized tour. Ivan was our guide and he was superb.. We enjoyed talking the subway, buses, etc. to get a feel for the real Rio. The only drawback was that the area was tron up to redo the tram tracks. Good shopping and a nice area.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

By far the best tour I booked on Viator. Very knowledgable and easy going local guide called Alex and only four if us in the tour. We saw lots that we would not have seen if we hadn't been on this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a unique tour that we enjoyed a lot. The local guide Ivan was knew what he was doing and gave us a very interesting tour. The fact that it was a small group made it an even better experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alex was a great tour guide answering all the questions we could throw at him. We knew the tram was still not working and won't be for the foreseeable future. So, no surprise there. We walked a LOT and thoroughly enjoyed the entire time, remembering to apply sunscreen a couple of hours into it. There were only 4 of us on this tour and that made it even nicer although a lot of places were not open - perhaps because it was a Sunday or too early in the day for them to open. It was just how it was described - Centro, Lapa and Santa Teresa - a super value. As well, we learned to use the Metro - quite helpful. We realized that half day tours are enough for us, leaving some beach time to enjoy that day also..

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My tour was really amazing! The small group was really small. Just me and the tour guide, Danny, who was also amazing. Would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent. Daniel was our guide. Very knowledgeable and say going tour. Casual conversational style, not rehearsed. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful neighbourhood and the steps were a highlight. Our guides were very good. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a fantastic time. Our tour guide Daniel was really knowledgeable and friendly. He not only had a great knowledge of Santa Teresa but gave us great advice for other aspects of our trip like using the Metro and best places to go during Carnival. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! "Small group' was really small: me and my husband. The tour guy Alex was the best guide we met in Rio: perfect English, deep knowledge in every aspect we asked about Rio or Brazil. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour, interesting part of Rio to see, plus know about using the metro to move around, our tour guide Ivan Aives is an A+ plus guide, very knowledgable, explained in details, made the tour injoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour with a great guide!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, please use Urban Adventures for more tours. The guide was great and really informative, and showed us lots different things in the area. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent insight into an historic part of Rio. Daniel led the way pointing out the areas of interest and providing some amusing and informative anecdotal information. Great introduction to using the subway and the buses if your nerve is up to it. Obviously retired grand prix drivers just move to driving buses in Santa Teresa! Thanks Daniel, we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tram unfortunately isn't working yet when we got there ( will reopen on the latter part of 2015 ), the whole walking, taking the subway, taking the bus experience made me feel more immersed with the tour than just hopping on a tour bus. We were only 3 on the tour which was really good. Our tour guide David was efficient and knowledgable.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just two of us with our guide, Daniel, on this walking tour. Daniel was knowledgeable, patient and kind. Involves a subway train ride, clean, new stations and trains.Then a short bus trip to Santa Teresa. Delightful authentic neighborhood, with multiple photo opportunities especially panoramic views of of the city, bay and sugar loaf mountain. Seleron steps is an unmissable attraction.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour - fun to experience the local transportation (bus drivers think they are sports car drivers!), loved seeing the old buildings, hearing about the history of the area. And Daniel was/is a wonderful tour guide.
Thanks so much,
Lynn

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel our guide was SUPER -- very knowledgable, friendly, great sense of humor ,and made our trip so enjoyable !

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alex was a wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide and great experience. Well worth taking for the expertice and knowledge.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We LOVED this tour! It was a fun neighborhood to get to know! The guide, Alex, was VERY knowledgeable and friendly. It was great to walk around this old neighborhood and the highlight was Selaron's beautiful steps. We would have never had the courage to explore Santa Teresa on our own. Tip: Wear comfy shoes, it's a lot of walking.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message