Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Our Lady of Candelaria

Once the tallest structure in all of Rio de Janeiro, the Church of Our Lady of Candelaria, with its striking combination of Baroque, Neoclassical, and Neo-Renaissance design styles, has a marred history. In modern times, the cathedral is best known ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide JB was perfect! Very kind and funny, but most of all PASSIONATE about the city. He will bring you to the best spots. Thank you for the amazing tour, we learned a lot!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide JB was really quite fabulous. Full of energy, just a great ambassador for the city. I really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was fantastic. Very interesting and got a good feeling and understanding of the city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

one of my favourite.. gives taste of Rio

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked 3 tours through Viator. JB, the tour guide is the best. He is very passionate about his job and tour reflects it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour given by JP, he is very knowledgeable and a truly dedicated tour guide. We were quite fortunate to be only 3 and got a very personal tour, It was amazing to go through the old city and see the sites. It made the trip more enjoyable and much more worthwhile.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had an invigorating tour with our guide John the Baptist. Highly recommend this walk for those interested in the history of Rio de Janeiro -- as well as good exercise. Get off the beach and see the real Rio and learn about its architecture and history.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide, JB. Saw and toured the important sites of the city and learned its history.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent trip. JB is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We visited places that we would never have found on our own. And the cake shop - fab!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our tour guide "JB" was very amusing. The walk is about 3-4 hours through downtown. JB was sure to stop for breaks and snacks. We also had 3 small children who did well on this tour. Note, we went during summer, and a couple people struggled in the heat, so be sure to bring big hats and water.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Delightful tour! Excellent, knowledgeable guide. Small group made this tour extra special!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyable afternoon out. "JB" was our guide and what a true pro....we were a small group of 4 women and he made sure we were well looked after. His knowledge of Rio's history, the architecture and his sheer enthusiam made this a treat

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great way to see central Rio, with a wonderfully charismatic guide. Lots of interesting insights and we had delicious cakes when he took us to a famous cafe.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

JB was an excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Excellent tour. Our guide had a wealth of knowledge. This is an excellent way to see things that you wouldn't otherwise on your own. I would recommend this tour to all other travelers. Upon pickup they were late, as they had an accident, however sent a nice car which was excellent and at the end of the trip arranged for a bus (which was brand new) for transfer back to our hotel.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message