Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Copacabana Beach (Praia de Copacabana)

Copocabana Beach, or Praia de Copacabana, is the Rio de Janeiro of the tourist brochures and deservedly so. It’s a breath-taking 2.5mi (4.5 km) stretch of bright sand that’s filled with people luxuriating in the sun and soaking up the atmosphere. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Although, I found this tour quite boring, it was nice to see the harbor and get a grasp on how the city was laid out. I was under the impression that we would have a chance to explore some beaches and get off the boat and go swimming, which was not the case. I was quite disappointed. In addition, another passenger stated she had purchased the optional lunch but that was canceled at the last minute.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our overall experience was disappointing and did not meet our expectations. The scenery from the bay cruise was worth the experience with great views of Sugar loaf, forts, bay and Navel Museum and buildings, with Christ the Redeemer Statue in the background.
However the boat was somewhat crowded and noisy. Our guide who was not always present, but did interpret the difficult to hear boat commentary.
The day was spoilt by the very poor optional seafood lunch. From previous reviews on this site, we had expected a high standard of a seafood lunch. We were taken to "Bar do Beto" in Ipanema. Having chosen the fish from the options ( fish, steak, or pasta), what was served was bread, rice, potato and more batter than fish, and that was it! We also felt slightly rushed as our guide was managing a separate larger group.
Overall, the package was not value for money.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was on time and from the minute he met us he was pleasant and informative. It was a great way to see Rio . It was an enjoyable time on the cruise and JB was excellent. Please thank him again for his positive energy and providing my family and I with an enjoyable start to our day.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a really lovely way to see the bay! We'd already seen the beauty from Sugarloaf Mountain, so it was great to see it by boat. Our guide "JB" was the best, he was extremely friendly and very informative. We got to Gloria marina very early which wasn't ideal (a lot of wasted time as not a lot to do). Note: you can NOT swim in the Guanabara Bay, so if you're thinking there might be some time to take a dip, think again! The cruise lasts for about 2 hours, even though it says four hours (this is supposed to include pick-up/drop off time). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased on board (not sure for how much - I couldn't bring myself to drink at 9am in the morning!) While it wasn't quite what we expected, it was a lovely morning out and we enjoyed the cruise. Great idea to see the bay from a different angle and if you are looking for something to do.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Not the four hour tour we were expecting. There are still nice views of the bay and niteroi, and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The trip was not as expected based upon the reviews, but maybe I just had high expectations.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful experience. If you love love history then you would visualise what the first settlers witnessed as they came towards the shores and how the indigenous people looked out towards the sea. The trip was made more relevant as we had gone for the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado trips the previous days. It was a sunny day and taking photographs was a joy. The guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable. She knew when to speak and when to let us just soak in the view. No issues with safety and the music played on board was in sync with the trip. The only snag was that the CD which we bought for 20 Reals from the operators were blank and we only found out in Singapore. Definitely not heading back to Rio anytime soon even though the heart yearns for it. Good tour, well organised, pick up was ok but we waited a tad too long at the bay. Other than that, I would give it 8/10.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent opportunity to see Rio de Janeiro from a different perspective than one gets from a bus or van. Views of Corcovado, Sugarloaf, NItero, and other sights could be enjoyed in a relaxing fashion. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A very pleasant cruise with commentary on board,

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A memorable moment. A clear sunny day for Rio de Janeiro. The ship was relatively small and although we shared with other tourists it did not effect our enjoyment in the slightest. Our group was just four with a knowledgable English speaking guide. We had clear views of Christ the redeemer, sugar loaf mountain and according to our guide a very rare crystal clear view of Gods finger. It was a wonderful start to a fabulous holiday.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The tour was very good from the point of view of scenery and landmarks where we got to see the entire panorama of Rio de Janeiro and the cities bordering the bay. However, our guide, very sweet and professional that she was, did not come across as too knowledgeable and some of her statements and answers were not very clear - I suspect it was the language barrier. The guide with another tour group on the same boat seemed to know more.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A nice really long and relaxing cruise with great views of the rio harbor from every way possible. I half expected them to head back after we got to see some great sights but they kept going till we got to see the whole harbor in one big circle past the important areas. Following the trip we were taken back to Copacabana for a buffet lunch which proved to be AMAZING. We started off with a grand buffet with tons of fresh food options including sushi and if that wasnt enough, to complete a Brazilian steakhouse experience guys would keep going around with different types of meat that they would slice off onto your plate. Worth doing.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message