Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Copacabana Beach (Praia de Copacabana)

Copocabana Beach, or Praia de Copacabana, is the Rio de Janeiro of the tourist brochures and deservedly so. It’s a breath-taking 2.5mi (4.5 km) stretch of bright sand that’s filled with people luxuriating in the sun and soaking up the atmosphere. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

bus was 25 minutes late but tour was very nice

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good way to be introduced to the city.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the tour guide was very nice. The cruise itself was fantastic and it was lovely to see Rio from the water. Afterwards we had opted for the seafood lunch however this was more Rodizzio than seafood but altogether very good. Definately worth doing whilst visiting Rio.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

First let me say that the advertising I read for the tour said optional swimming which in my mind is you can either swim or just relax on the beach. This was neither it was a boat ride. Which covered most of what I saw the day prior but on a boat. Save your money and skip this!!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was an almost 2hrs. Trip, the views and sits you see during the trips are beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable trip

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Satisfactory, the seafood had been removed from the booking so the Guide had to find a restaurant in Ipanema at the last minute and it wasnt great.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour, the only drawback was that the scheduled lunch was in the same restaurant with the same limited menu as the the tour the day earlier. If we had known that we would not have taken the optional lunch. It was not a seafood restaurant, it was an adequate general menu restaurant except that our menu was limited to two or three choices. Not good two days in a row.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Trip was amazing and totally worth it. To avoid disappointment I suggest that you confirm with the weather forecast the likelihood of rain as it almost rained during our trip (a refund was the next best option but as you can imagine when you have a limited time to see a place the refund becomes the least exciting option). Fortunately the day cleared and the trip was amazing.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Although, I found this tour quite boring, it was nice to see the harbor and get a grasp on how the city was laid out. I was under the impression that we would have a chance to explore some beaches and get off the boat and go swimming, which was not the case. I was quite disappointed. In addition, another passenger stated she had purchased the optional lunch but that was canceled at the last minute.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our overall experience was disappointing and did not meet our expectations. The scenery from the bay cruise was worth the experience with great views of Sugar loaf, forts, bay and Navel Museum and buildings, with Christ the Redeemer Statue in the background.
However the boat was somewhat crowded and noisy. Our guide who was not always present, but did interpret the difficult to hear boat commentary.
The day was spoilt by the very poor optional seafood lunch. From previous reviews on this site, we had expected a high standard of a seafood lunch. We were taken to "Bar do Beto" in Ipanema. Having chosen the fish from the options ( fish, steak, or pasta), what was served was bread, rice, potato and more batter than fish, and that was it! We also felt slightly rushed as our guide was managing a separate larger group.
Overall, the package was not value for money.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was on time and from the minute he met us he was pleasant and informative. It was a great way to see Rio . It was an enjoyable time on the cruise and JB was excellent. Please thank him again for his positive energy and providing my family and I with an enjoyable start to our day.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a really lovely way to see the bay! We'd already seen the beauty from Sugarloaf Mountain, so it was great to see it by boat. Our guide "JB" was the best, he was extremely friendly and very informative. We got to Gloria marina very early which wasn't ideal (a lot of wasted time as not a lot to do). Note: you can NOT swim in the Guanabara Bay, so if you're thinking there might be some time to take a dip, think again! The cruise lasts for about 2 hours, even though it says four hours (this is supposed to include pick-up/drop off time). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased on board (not sure for how much - I couldn't bring myself to drink at 9am in the morning!) While it wasn't quite what we expected, it was a lovely morning out and we enjoyed the cruise. Great idea to see the bay from a different angle and if you are looking for something to do.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message