Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The view from Corcovado provides a thrilling panorama of Rio de Janeiro and is a great way for visitors to orientate themselves in the sprawling seaside metropolis. Spectacular in every direction the northern views offer the Maracana, the large ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 844 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ana Valeria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Joe was a great guide. Prompt pick up time at the hotel, they gave us a tour of Maracaná, Sambodromo, Praia de Ipanema, etc. We speak spanish and requested the tour in this language. Everything as expected. The Christ and its views are amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Derek D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joe is the best great tour thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Brigitte P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour.. we enjoyed every second!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jabari W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the cost. The Samba show was terrific, way beyond my expectations. Our tour guides Fatima and Camille were great. The only setback was having lunch and dinner at the same Brazilian steakhouse...another place would be ideal. Other than that, enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

chedamartis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alexander was wonderful. He had an immense calm and gentle amusement that made the tour feel like just being out with a friend as you wander around some of the wonderful things to see in a beautiful city. He was quite patient with my 72 year old mother with decreased mobility and lacked the phrenetic yammering that I have come to associate with tours. I loved touring Rio and really enjoyed a city I hadn't even really wanted to go to. We were so lucky to have a clouded day, which kept the tourist at Christ the Redeemer down to a minimum, and made for a very calm end to our tour. It was wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Rio de Janeiro Sightseeing Tour

Sampath K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was nice.
The guide was good and knowledgeable.
The service was prompt and punctual

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

carcallasg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend , enjoy our trip, only disappointment is when we got to Christ redeemer was cloudy.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Madison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was amazing, but make sure you go on a good day. The weather is a hit or miss. It was so cloudy we couldn't see the statue. Still, a must do when traveling to Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Kylie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I throughly enjoyed this tour, walking the streets, riding on the local bus and tube and even a trolley car. We saw so much more than we expected thanks to our wonderful guide Anderson. He was so informative and patient and we just followed where he led. Anderson is fantastic and so is this day tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The views are very good.The tour guide Joe gave lots of information on the way to Christ Redeemer journey. Thank you.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Marisol P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience was amazing. One day to visit some places if you go to Rio...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Angela D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was informative and amazing!! Food was good!! The only drawback was that at end of our tour they didn and #39;t drop us off at our hotel doorstep where they picked us up at! They ended up dropping us off about three blocks from our hotel. It was already dark but luckily I was with my husband!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jan M Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, well organized tour in a nice bus. Definitely worth booking as a complete one day package with typical local lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Beckybox

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable, interesting and humbling tour. Walking round the favelas is an experience. People are friendly and welcoming. Waited around for the tram, but gave up. Seralon stairs are definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

frqtflyr

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Rather disappointing. For one, the company policy is to switch guides halfway through the tour. Which makes tipping awkward. And the second guide, while nice enough, was quite repetitive, We spent 5 hours of the 9 hour tour in traffic sure, there's lots of construction in Rio with the upcoming Olympics, but... The time would have been better spent getting out and walking around interesting neighborhoods like Lapa and Santa Teresa. In fact, the description was misleading. Sounded like we'd see more of the historical districts -- and not just from the bus. Then there's the inevitable shilling the guides permit and even encourage. A real disappointment, other than the beautiful city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Eric B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I found the tour to be OK. I enjoyed the locations and lunch. These were good. I paid about 3 times what other tours were priced in hopes to have a better quality tour. I recommend using a different provider.

Here is what didn't work:
I did not enjoy that this tour just lumps together a large amount of people. I paid what I felt was a premium for an English speaking tour and ended up with a homogenized group of Portugese, English, and Spanish. This meant that every time our tour guide spoke, they would say the same thing three times while the location they were describing was long gone. Of the 20 or so people there, 5 were English speakers.

Have you ever had someone repeat something to you because they think you are too stupid to get it the first time? Alguma vez você já teve alguém repetir algo para você, porque eles pensam que são demasiado estúpidos para obtê-lo pela primeira vez? Ha tenido alguien repetir algo para usted, ya que piensan que son demasiado estúpidos para conseguirlo la primera vez?

In addition, when you get on the bus you are handed a multi-language audio mp3 player and dirty set of headphones I used my own headphones so I could still try this tour feature out. The sound quality was poor. If I wanted to do this tour digitally, I would have watched videos on youtube.

Speaking of video, we were followed around all day by 2 camera men. If you are going to video record a tour you'd better be invisible. The giant 1980s tv camera was so visually obtrusive during my sightseeing that it disrupted my trip. At the end you had the audacity to try and sell me a DVD! If you want to do video correctly in this day an age you need to use small cameras like GoPro 4 Black or a Canon Vixia G50. As a consumer I want something that will work on YouTube or Vimeo. Better yet, if you really want to help with my memories, hire a professional photographer who uses a Canon EOS 5D Mark III or better. I'm willing to pay 5-10 for a good photo of me.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

ELLEN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed the tour and thought the lunch was good. Our guides were good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Overlooking the disaster about missing the pick-up yesterday for the Sugar Loaf mountain tour,
today's tour guide excelled track down his name. Over and above courtesy and assistance.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Thirunarayanan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is great value for money. Its the only tour available that combines Christ the redeemer with the Maracana stadium available for now in Viator. Apart from this it also included prominent spots such as the Metropolitan Cathedral of Saint Sebastian, and Sambadroma.

Leo and Alex were very pleasant tour guides, and were very knowledgeable and could speak to anything that interested the tourists. They also pick you up from pretty much any hotel that you specify.

Given that it was close to the Olympics, we didn't get to go inside the Maracana, or get a great view, as entrance was prohibited to the public, but I expect that this would be a super pic, once the Olympics are done.

Doing what: Half Day Rio de Janeiro Sightseeing Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip, great tour guide, very informative, the view from sugarloaf mountain fantastic, would have been the same from Christ redeemer unfortunately weather let us down was very overcast and cloudy after a day raining. Would highly recommended booking via victor again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ma. Guadalupe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything was great, the tour was made for people that doesn't stay longer at Rio so you can visit the most representative things.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message