Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The view from Corcovado provides a thrilling panorama of Rio de Janeiro and is a great way for visitors to orientate themselves in the sprawling seaside metropolis. Spectacular in every direction the northern views offer the Maracana, the large ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 823 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ELLEN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed the tour and thought the lunch was good. Our guides were good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Overlooking the disaster about missing the pick-up yesterday for the Sugar Loaf mountain tour,
today's tour guide excelled track down his name. Over and above courtesy and assistance.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Thirunarayanan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is great value for money. Its the only tour available that combines Christ the redeemer with the Maracana stadium available for now in Viator. Apart from this it also included prominent spots such as the Metropolitan Cathedral of Saint Sebastian, and Sambadroma.

Leo and Alex were very pleasant tour guides, and were very knowledgeable and could speak to anything that interested the tourists. They also pick you up from pretty much any hotel that you specify.

Given that it was close to the Olympics, we didn't get to go inside the Maracana, or get a great view, as entrance was prohibited to the public, but I expect that this would be a super pic, once the Olympics are done.

Doing what: Half Day Rio de Janeiro Sightseeing Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip, great tour guide, very informative, the view from sugarloaf mountain fantastic, would have been the same from Christ redeemer unfortunately weather let us down was very overcast and cloudy after a day raining. Would highly recommended booking via victor again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Janice F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guides and mode of travel great but overall too slow, could have done the trip in half a day. Was not interested in spending hours at an all you can eat buffet ! Really we are in Rio and time is precious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nathan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel is one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Super funny, knowledgable, and popular amongst everyone. Gee we had fun this trip! Such a great vibe, and because there were so many different elements to it - by the end you are completely satisfied. A truly magical day and a massive highlight of our time in Rio. Thank you Daniel for such a great experience!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel ! highly recommend him, we had a blast walking around and listening to a very knowledgable young man. very energetic, easy to talk to and caring for all of us in the walking tour. We met awesome people :

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Kayla F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guides, Gui and Bruno were incredible! Very personable and knowledgeable. The hike itself was a bit of a challenge - sometimes having to use all fours to get up the side of the mountain in very hot temperatures - but the trees offered shade. We were lucky enough to see capuchin monkeys and a whole family of marmosets! The Christ the Redeemer statue is iconic, so it was incredible to see it up close, but the hike itself is the highlight of this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Jolantataverner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Dimple P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Myself and my 3 friends booked this day tour prior to coming out to Rio - we read all the reviews and this tour package was definitely worth the price. We got so much done in the day than we would have otherwise on our own. The one off cost we paid worked out to be cheaper than what we would have paid individually for the different sites. Everything was well organised and tour guides were competent in English. As our hotel was away from Copacabana, prior to the day, we were given a pick up address with clear directions which really helped! The lunch time buffet was great! As vegetarians, the tour guide spent her own lunch time talking us through what was what and suitable for us - really helpful and appreciate her going out of the way. The bus we traveled in was very comfy and air conditioned, which helped a lot in the humidity. Overall, the tour was well organised and just perfect for us, people who had very limited time to spend in Rio. It was an experience to visit the landmarks, Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf mountain - we have some great pictures and memories. Would definitely recommend this tour - just be wary that everything is done in a timely manner, so you might not get to spend as much time as you would like in some places, as you have to keep going to stick to schedule! That's the beauty of tours.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Elnur M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I was the only English-speaker in the group in addition to Portugese and Spanish-speakers. The tour guide made his best. But I missed out a lot

Doing what: Half Day Rio de Janeiro Sightseeing Tour

Ivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If your main interest is to see the Christ statue do not book this tour.
They advertise key places like Christ statue and Santa Teresa in order to hook you and spend most of the time in the Favela which I personally found depressing and not that safe, especially for women.
The guide left the trip to the Christ statue to the very end conveniently after the Favela tour when visibility is the worst and you will most likely have to cancel which is what happened in our case. The best time to go to the Christ is before or around noon.
The restaurant choice was extremely bad. Instead of going to a nice restaurant to try typical Brazilian food, we were taken to a very mediocre weigh and pay type restaurant.
While driving through the city the guide just sat in the front chatting with the driver instead of telling us where we were driving by.
Not recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

annette v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Good sights, but spent WAY too much time waiting around. Guide seemed disorganized. For example, after lunch, we waited about 1/2 hour outside the restaurant for the bus, then walked to another location about 4 blocks away, waited another 1/2 hour for the bus! Same thing at end of tour. SAME TOUR, if booked through the hotel was less than HALF THE PRICE. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

A really poor tour. We had to go to several hotels to pick up which the guide was clearly unhappy with as it took so long. Then we waited half an hour at some very ordinary church for cruisers who never arrived. So we had no city tour! Sugar Loaf was ordinary and we had to queue for nearly two hours for tickets. Christ the Redeemer was massively disappointing. Yes good views but so crowded it was difficult to move and with no room there is no sense of perspective on the statue. Bloody selfie sticks! Should be banned at crowded sites. A poor tour and definitely not worth the money. Avoid

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was everything I was hoping it would be. The visit to Santa Teresa was very informative and the tram ride a great experience, The steps' were awesome although would have liked more time on them to enjoy the ambiance. The Favela was a very eye opening experience and one I am very glad I did not miss! People living there were very open and friendly. They have the best views of Rio of anyone living in Rio!!!!! Corcovado - what can one say - a truly inspirational experience. Guides were great and very informative and each place visited had ample time except the steps to really enjoy.
Would definitely 10 this tour as one to take when in Rio !!!
Its a walking tour but its broken up enough that you don't really experience any stress or strain as far as too much walking at any one time

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sigrid M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour wonderful
Views of the city must do

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Elba C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to spend the day and the food at the location was pretty good....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nicola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Joalber is the best tour guide ever. Awesome experience.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful day out with a great multi-lingual guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Manny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

nice tour, great lunch, my only recommendation would be to have the Cristo tour first then Sugar Loaf

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jenny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour with all the highlights in Rio, can completely recommend it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Terence H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A little crowded on top but a great day to see the views from the top.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Barbara R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Sugar Loaf mountain in the morning. Not so impressed with the guide JB - more full of himself than the sites of Rio. The content of the tour however was very good and we enjoyed the trip up Sugar Loaf and the sites along the way.
The lunch between tours was excellent.
The afternoon guide was great and the trip up Corcovado was well organised and efficent. Magnificent views.
Plataforma Samba SHow was very good. An enjoyable evening.
Our only concern was that the same restaurant although excellent was used for both lunch and dinner. An overload of meat!! A different venue for the meals would have been an improvement.
Overall though a very enjoyable if long day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message