The gigantic Maracanã Stadium was built to open the 1950 World Cup.  It holds the record for the largest attendance at a World cup final as 199,854 paying spectators crammed into the stadium and many more besides. If you’re after the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I loved it! We went to a botafogo vs vasco game! The fans were very enthusiastic!
Tour guide was on time ! Must try if a big club is playing!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pleasant and enjoyable private tour.
Thanks Veronica!

Doing what: Private Tour: Maracanã Stadium Behind-the-Scenes Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Efraim Schvaitzer was our tour operator. Very good service. Thank You!

Doing what: Private Tour: Maracanã Stadium Behind-the-Scenes Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very enjoyable tour. Always wanted to visit the maracana stadium, which did not disappoint. Our guide Ephraim looked after us extremely well. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and we would recommend people to go on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Maracanã Stadium Behind-the-Scenes Access

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The match was amazing and to be in Maracana. There was no tour, the tourgide didnt say a word of the stadium or it's history, he seemed to be drunk and the were late.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A nice tour our guide carmen new her stuff! Was very nice and friendly and made sure he saw everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Private Tour: Maracanã Stadium Behind-the-Scenes Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience! Our group of 3 was picked up on time in a private car and escorted to the stadium to see experience a taste of the world cup! We saw the press area and luxury private suites, regular seating areas, as well as the locker room and the tunnel to the field. The amazing part was being on the field and in the team seats on the sidelines! it was an amazing, unbelievable experience and highly recommended!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Maracanã Stadium Behind-the-Scenes Access

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

I reached out to tour provider multiple times prior to game Day to confirm time, and pick up location. After waiting for email or telephone call from tour provider up until game Day, I decided to call the morning of game Day as I still had no confirmation. I was told unfortunately the game was not available for the Day that I had booked but if interested they would reschedule for another day. Unfortunately, I was scheduled on other activity's for the rest of my stay. I ended up taking a taxi to the game on my own and having to pay a premium on the ticket from a person on the side of the road(not the safest thing to do in Rio).

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

We had booked the tour for Sunday 19th October some time ago in readiness for a trip to Brazil which included 3 days in Rio.
When we arrived at the hotel we were told to check back on the Saturday with regard to transfer times. A few hours later the rep told us that there was no football on the 19th and that the match was on the 18th ( when we had already booked other tours ). After much to-ing and fro-ing we had to change our other tours, losing out on seeing some of the great sites of Rio, in order to make it back in time for collection.
I wonder if we hadn't been organised and chased the rep whether anyone would have told us in advance of the date?
No email from Viator or it's partners to advise of the changes was ever sent -

Very disappointing customer service!!!

But the game and the tour guide was great!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Ruiz was our guide, he introduced some background of this Derby match and record the attendance number to told us after the match, it was a pleasure experience. (Flamengo vs Botafogo)

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Had a great time at the match and with Joe who was a very good guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Everything went smoothly. Jose gave us a little background on the way to the game (useful for someone like me who doesn't follow soccer.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Unfortunately the Maracana is closed at teh moment and will not open until late 2013 due to refurbishment. However, going to a Brazilian Footbal Match is an expereince not to be missed, including the pre-match beers! We also went too a second game, I can now say i have seen both seedorf and ronaldinho play!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

Most terrible experience ever!!! Got an e-mail saying that we had to call a Brazilian number to confirm that we would be attending. I rang this number and she said that hotel pick up was 1.50pm and I made her call it out again to make sure and she said one, five, zero. Told me I would get a confirmation e-mail with the time which I never got.

We waited at hotel from 1.30pm and at 2.20pm we asked front desk was there a problem. They said someone had called to hotel at 12 looking for us and drove off when we were not there. The receptionist rang the company who were exrtemely rude on the phone and they said they had come at 1and we were not there. The receptionist advised that they had come at 12 and not 1 and they guy on the phone got very angry and said this was not true! They said if we got a taxi to the stadium they would meet us with the tickets to the match. Our hotel arranged out taxi and thanks be to god the taxi man was fantastic.He found the tour bus and the driver gave us tickets. NO tour guide as promised. We made our way into the match to the end that the tickets advised and clearly there was no tourists on this side of the pitch. We were out in the blazing sun in the middle of all the die hard Flamingo fans. No body told us where to get the bus on the way out so we left 10mins before end and paid a fortune on another taxi back to hotel.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip was very well organized and a good size group for a soccer match with a great guide. The pre-game drink with the locals seemed like you were really enjoying it as the locals do not just part of some tour group!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message