The gigantic Maracanã Stadium was built to open the 1950 World Cup.  It holds the record for the largest attendance at a World cup final as 199,854 paying spectators crammed into the stadium and many more besides. If you’re after the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Had a great time at the match and with Joe who was a very good guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Everything went smoothly. Jose gave us a little background on the way to the game (useful for someone like me who doesn't follow soccer.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Unfortunately the Maracana is closed at teh moment and will not open until late 2013 due to refurbishment. However, going to a Brazilian Footbal Match is an expereince not to be missed, including the pre-match beers! We also went too a second game, I can now say i have seen both seedorf and ronaldinho play!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

Most terrible experience ever!!! Got an e-mail saying that we had to call a Brazilian number to confirm that we would be attending. I rang this number and she said that hotel pick up was 1.50pm and I made her call it out again to make sure and she said one, five, zero. Told me I would get a confirmation e-mail with the time which I never got.

We waited at hotel from 1.30pm and at 2.20pm we asked front desk was there a problem. They said someone had called to hotel at 12 looking for us and drove off when we were not there. The receptionist rang the company who were exrtemely rude on the phone and they said they had come at 1and we were not there. The receptionist advised that they had come at 12 and not 1 and they guy on the phone got very angry and said this was not true! They said if we got a taxi to the stadium they would meet us with the tickets to the match. Our hotel arranged out taxi and thanks be to god the taxi man was fantastic.He found the tour bus and the driver gave us tickets. NO tour guide as promised. We made our way into the match to the end that the tickets advised and clearly there was no tourists on this side of the pitch. We were out in the blazing sun in the middle of all the die hard Flamingo fans. No body told us where to get the bus on the way out so we left 10mins before end and paid a fortune on another taxi back to hotel.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip was very well organized and a good size group for a soccer match with a great guide. The pre-game drink with the locals seemed like you were really enjoying it as the locals do not just part of some tour group!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

belle soirée de football tres bien organisé

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Good thing I am a soccer junkie, however, take a cab and buy a ticket at the Stadium!
Pick up was an hour late, ticket was only $15, seats were upper level. The game was electric and great but taking a taxi and purchasing ticket would have been better. Total tour was 7 hours from pick up to return!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Easy pick up at hotel in Copacabana. Fun ride to stadium for Botafogo vs. Vasco. Tour guide was informative and personable. They do play a game where you can put $10R in the pot, and some of this goes to the driver and guide, but they do not pressure you to play.

We arrived at the stadium about an hour before the match. The guide showed us to our seats and where to meet after the match. It was raining when we left, but our guide came out in the rain to help round us all up and gets us back to the bus.

We were picked up last, so we were dropped off last, but it didn't take that long, and in a way it provided a bus tour of Impanema, Leblon, and Copacabana.

I would certainly use this tour again if we ever make it back to Rio. 5-stars.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

Brian W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Really enjoyed the trip, little dissappointed the stadium wasn't full as we went to a local derby between Botafogo and Vasco, but still a great atmostphere in a nice new stadium.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The soccer game was a lot of fun! It seemed we got to the game really early.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The tour guide, driver and tour bus were all great. Our guide explained the recent games, scores and was knowledgeable of the teams and players. We stopped for drinks and snacks for a few, before the game and he stayed with us the whole time and helped us order. The game itself was fun but pretty empty stadium, not sure why. I would have loved to go during a more popular game, but this was the only match during my stay in Brazil. All in all, it was a great experience.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Con: Viator never confirmed my email request for a pick up, so I borrowed someone's phone to call locally. Pro: A van picked me up near my Ipanema location, excellent guide (a phychology female student) who explained in details about the teams, where are we traveling (north of Rio), how to behave in the stadium, and accompanied us to the seats in Engenhao stadium. The fans were great (crazy) and sometimes did not let see the game.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

Helen W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Not so much of a stadium tour... more just a trip to watch a soccer match - which was excellent despite there not being a massive crowd... would recommend to anyone and I'm not a football fan!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

I give the tour 5 stars, it was one of the best experiences, as a lover of soccer we had the opportunity of experiencing a local derby match. The crowd and atmosphere was unreal, even though there was 80,000 people we always felt safe with our tour guide. Thank you Viator!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Good!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Soccer Match

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message