Petropolis was the mountain getaway for the imperial court, popular in summer when the coast became hot and muggy. Nestled 3,000ft (800m) high in the  Serra dos Órgãos it is a few degrees cooler than at sea level. It’s a kooky place as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Celia was a good tour guide- she was multilingual and made me feel comfortable on the tour. Was very nice about taking pictures for me. Great job!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour guide didn't seem to include all languages as well as she should have and this may be due to the large group size. We liked the places of interest and learning about their history. We do feel as though this tour had far too many people to be able to hear the guide in our language.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Could not understand the tour guide's english. Lunch was expensive/not included/not very good.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was amazing, he had a very hard job as I was the only English speaking person there , it was done in error but luckily he spoke many languages. He was very attentive, and made sure he translated everything so I was still in the loop. He was very passionate about the history of Brasil.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice guide (JB), nice tour but something was missing from the program: the Cervejeria (brewery) in Petropolis. Maybe would not be bad idea to introduce it in the tour.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent value to a most interesting place away from Rio. Our guide spoke mostly Portuguese and Spanish since we were the only couple who understood English. Our guide spoke to us on the side however about everything we needed to know. Extremely happy to have taken this trip.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had a great time it is an excellent option while in Rio. I will recommend it.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The palace was closed, which was the main attraction on this tour. 4 hours bus ride to get back to the city because of the bad traffic. The tour guide was nice tho.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour really informative
Guide was worth the price of the tour
All four tours were excellent however
Transport arrangements we're chaotic
At each hotel there were always heaps of people waiting on transport and the drivers/guides who had the names did not have signs with passengers names
Toni

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The place is beautiful! I recommend to go. Our guide was very warm and friendly, and I would love to have another tour with her! The choice of restaurant was excellent, and I wish I could eat that delicious food again. The only thing I would recommend is to have the shopping time at Petropolis reduced to zero and add that time to the museum.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Our guide was FANTASTIC!!! Can't say enough good about him. Sites we saw were enjoyable. This we would give 4 stars. The service we had via phone ahead of time, countless calls, prompted by the company (0 stars) telling us to keep calling back for an update on pickup time, WAS HORRIBLE. The last time we talked, the night before, we were told we would be picked up at 7:10. The van arrived at 10:15. This did not make any of us very happy and because of this, we would not use your company again or recommend it. Therefore 2 stars

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent. First, the pickup service made things a lot easier. Second, Carla, the tour guide, was fully prepared to give all necessary background and to explain the whereabouts of places we visit. Lastly, the schedule they provide was very accurate, regardless the heavy traffic in Rio.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth the trip out; an hour and a half bus ride from Copacabana. The palace shows all the rooms as they once were when the queen and her son and grandson lived in Petropolis and the stories are pretty interesting. The lunch was not good (buffet which is about $15USD).

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Worth the time for sure. Learnt the history of the country from a very good guide Maria. She was organized. Recommendation for buffet lunch was also excellent! Recommend it!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Unbelievable city! Very good guide, savvy on the place. A must-do I would say. Beware the road to get there is across the mountains so lots of turns to be expected. Sit in the front of the bus (very comfortable) if you are "fragile" while traveling.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very good tour! Right amount of time in each attraction, free time to visit Santos Dumont house right after lunch; really nice!

A little confusing in the hotel pickup: we stayed 45 minutes in the bus going to other hotels and then we were about three blocks from our hotel again. But no big deal!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This trip was ok, but could have been a lot better. Petropolis itself is beautiful and worth seeing. However, for us, it was not a strictly English tour. Our guide had about 7 Portuguese, 2 Spanish, and then 2 English speakers (us.). Therefore, we didn't get much out of the tour as there wasn't much described due to time issues of having to use 3 languages - and not much in English overall.

We also had a pickup/drop-off way across the city which at night added significantly to the ride home due to traffic.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

The tour of the Imperial Museum was done much too fast. The company's guide gave no time to look at things or to ask questions. In addition, he did not leave any time to see the gardens. Considering that it is about a three hour round trip to get there, the half-hour tour of the museum was wholly inadequate.. Stop at the Chocolate Factory on the way up was a waste of time and could have been skipped to leave more time for the museum. I would avoid the company if I ever get to go to Brazil again. Don't pay extra for the Crystal Palace! We didn't and we saw everything there was to see!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

A good day trip..but we left Rio a bit late and so I think we did not have as much time in Petropolis as we should have. The visit to the Imperial Museum was not long enough.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Enjoyed the trip, but could have skipped the stop at the chocolate place.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message