Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Petropolis was the mountain getaway for the imperial court, popular in summer when the coast became hot and muggy. Nestled 3,000ft (800m) high in the  Serra dos Órgãos it is a few degrees cooler than at sea level. It’s a kooky place as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide we had was truly a delight and well versed in the history of Rio de Janeiro. It was though she made the vacation....Rio at its best!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Jabari W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour as it was nice to see a different part of Brazil and learn its history of the Portuguese royal family. Lunch was superb. Disappointing you couldn't take pictures inside the Impetial Museum.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

aldon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

excellent knowledgeable guide speak many language,keeps everyone entertained.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

delalando

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour started off badly but improved.
The bus went to the wrong hotel and was 30 minutes late.
Our English tour was mainly Portuguese/Spanish, but our guide, Chi-chi Gina?, tried to keep us informed. Her English and Spanish were good.
The ride was very rough the springs/shocks must be shot.
One of out party hit his head on the ceiling on one big bump!
Otherwise, the tour itself in Petropolis went well.
The cultural center old casino, imperial palace, cathedral and crystal palace were all noteworthy.
The buffet lunch was good, but a bit rushed.
The chocolate factory was just a visit to a store at least, water was free!.
The women really appreciated the final hour allowed for shopping as prices were quite good.
Again, this tour can be easily arranged locally in Rio more cheaply.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Ralph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Tété was our guide and she was fabulous. Effortless transition from Portuguese, to Spanish to English. This is exhausting work, but Tété brought humour with her knowledge and everything went extremely well.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A long way to go to be left window shopping for two hours in a surprisingly large town.Tour of Imperial Museum interesting but not riveting .Tour guide spoke very little english.Lunch was disappointing. Probably better ways to spend a day of your stay in Rio.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

hartsantos

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This tour was not worth full day trip from 8:10am pick up and 6:30pm drop-off. it wasted one hour to pick other passengers around the city. Emperor Dom Pedro II summer residence was currently a hotel, only good for picture taking from the fence. Museum of Santos Dumont was just a house, had to pay extra to enter. Only the Imperial Museum was worth the tour. The worst part was the guide Ms. T. Though I booked for an English guide, she kept talking in Portuguese and Spanish for nearly half an hour in the bus, then turned to English only for a short summary of what she said before, and we had passed all the places she explained about. After I shouted Do you forget we are here?, she improved. She tried to joke, but nothing funny at all! This was the worst tour I ever had so far.

Doing what: Day Trip to Petrópolis from Rio de Janeiro

Bobo828

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We spent two hours driving and waiting in the city to pick up passengers. The tour guide communication need improvement. Too much time speaking in Portuguese and did not provide correct information in English. All the English speaking tourist got confuse the pick up time , lunch time etc. The highlight of the tour was the Palace which was a 5 minutes stop to take pictures far away. Very disappointed tour lost a full day in Rio.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Athens Hootie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Quite a surprise to find a town of over 350,000 people on top of this mountain. Beautiful, although long, trip up the mountain, but our guide, Leo, was excellent. He knew his history and was enthusiastic to share his country's past. He was very attentive to his tourists and made sure they were well cared for. He explained all the different aspects of the museum we visited which made the experience interesting. Well worth the price!!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the tour to Petropolis. TT was the best tour guide ever! she entertained us and gave us a fun history lesson during the tour and made sure we had time to explore on foot while there. We never felt rushed. I would recommend this tour with TT as the tour guide.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Robert G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very nice trip and an excellent day trip from Rio. The guide was great and everything went very smoothly. The tour stopped at a chocolate candy factory/store in Petropolis and the people running that store could serve as an example of how not to run a business. They should skip that place on all future tours and spend that 20 minutes someplace else.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Angela C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Celia was a good tour guide- she was multilingual and made me feel comfortable on the tour. Was very nice about taking pictures for me. Great job!

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Donna M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour guide didn't seem to include all languages as well as she should have and this may be due to the large group size. We liked the places of interest and learning about their history. We do feel as though this tour had far too many people to be able to hear the guide in our language.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Rachael G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Could not understand the tour guide's english. Lunch was expensive/not included/not very good.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Sachia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was amazing, he had a very hard job as I was the only English speaking person there , it was done in error but luckily he spoke many languages. He was very attentive, and made sure he translated everything so I was still in the loop. He was very passionate about the history of Brasil.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Marius S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice guide (JB), nice tour but something was missing from the program: the Cervejeria (brewery) in Petropolis. Maybe would not be bad idea to introduce it in the tour.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Jesse L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent value to a most interesting place away from Rio. Our guide spoke mostly Portuguese and Spanish since we were the only couple who understood English. Our guide spoke to us on the side however about everything we needed to know. Extremely happy to have taken this trip.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Gabriela R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had a great time it is an excellent option while in Rio. I will recommend it.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Joseph S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The palace was closed, which was the main attraction on this tour. 4 hours bus ride to get back to the city because of the bad traffic. The tour guide was nice tho.

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Tonic O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour really informative
Guide was worth the price of the tour
All four tours were excellent however
Transport arrangements we're chaotic
At each hotel there were always heaps of people waiting on transport and the drivers/guides who had the names did not have signs with passengers names
Toni

Doing what: Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message