• USD ($)
  • English
Don’t let the name fool you—Ruins Park, or Parque das Ruinas in Portuguese—isn’t just some abandoned relic of a bygone era. Well, the venue had been the mansion of a well-known Rio socialite, Laurinda Santos Lobo, whose early 20th-century balls were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alex was a wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide and great experience. Well worth taking for the expertice and knowledge.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We LOVED this tour! It was a fun neighborhood to get to know! The guide, Alex, was VERY knowledgeable and friendly. It was great to walk around this old neighborhood and the highlight was Selaron's beautiful steps. We would have never had the courage to explore Santa Teresa on our own. Tip: Wear comfy shoes, it's a lot of walking.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were the only 2 on this tour. Alexandre was the tour guide. He was outstanding! Very knowledgeable and knew English very well. Our highest recommendation for anyone to have him as a tour guide. Thanks, Alexandre!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. It started late, as our original tour guide never showed up. After placing a phone call to the central agency proving the tour, we were very shortly picked up by car and driven to Santa Teresa, where we were met by Raquel, our new tour guide. Raquel was very knowledgeable about the area, living there herself. We felt safe and we toured every little area of Santa Teresa with her. We even had time to stop at souvenir shops and pick up alot of local artisan stuff. Overall a great experience. We ended the tour with a subway ride back to our hotel, followed by a very nice lunch with a lady we met during the tour. Great job!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Since this was a personal and up close tour, I enjoyed the intimacy I had with the area. Reminded me of some streets in San Francisco and this tour have the participants a chance to see local art and culture. Quite hot and humid walk, but worth the effort.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing tour. I was the only one who booked the tourso it was just me and the guide. My guide Daniel was very informative and he showed me how to use the metro and where to go see the nightlife. Santa Teresa is a must when visiting Rio and this tour is the perfect way to see it.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good. Our guide was friendly, informative and paced the tour to suit the tastes of the group of six adults. The tram is still not working, but the story of its demise is interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very knowledgable and friendly guides. I upgraded this tour to include visiting Santa Marta community and it was the best Rio tour so far!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. This tour lets you see another section of Rio that is not mobbed by tourists. Our guide, Luiz, was extremely knowledgable of this area. Unfortunately, the tram is not running due to a very unfortunate accident a couple years ago. However, our guide walked us through the streets of Santa Teresa and explained everything we saw. We even stopped at a local market for coconut water to refresh ourselves. This is a fabulous tour to see local people and to escape the hustle, bustle of Rio.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very good tour. The guide is very interesting and wants to share his love of Rio.
And Santa Teresa is very different from the other parts of Rio. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The best tour I did I think (as well as the favela tour with same company). Santa Teresa is a gem. Luis is a brilliant guide, and knowledgeable (his grandma lived there so he knows the neighborhood).
The little shops are great too, very artsy. Overall a must-do!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message