Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 702 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn't know what to expect, so glad we went. The Views are amazing,
Luis was our guide and Ricardo was his cameraman who did a DVD of the tour. optional to buy.
Luis was very helpful by taking a couple of photo shots of us, so we didn't have to take selfies all the time. Its definitely a place to go.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Brigitte P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour.. we enjoyed every second!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jabari W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the cost. The Samba show was terrific, way beyond my expectations. Our tour guides Fatima and Camille were great. The only setback was having lunch and dinner at the same Brazilian steakhouse...another place would be ideal. Other than that, enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Sampath K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was nice.
The guide was good and knowledgeable.
The service was prompt and punctual

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Marisol P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience was amazing. One day to visit some places if you go to Rio...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Angela D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was informative and amazing!! Food was good!! The only drawback was that at end of our tour they didn and #39;t drop us off at our hotel doorstep where they picked us up at! They ended up dropping us off about three blocks from our hotel. It was already dark but luckily I was with my husband!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jan M Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, well organized tour in a nice bus. Definitely worth booking as a complete one day package with typical local lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Chris A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We never got there . The tour company was suppose to contact us to give us a time for the pick up. We tried calling them and emailing them 3 or 4 times but we never made contact. They called that evening to apologized and wanted to take us the next day but we were leaving, so we never got to see Sugar Loaf.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

ELLEN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed the tour and thought the lunch was good. Our guides were good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip, great tour guide, very informative, the view from sugarloaf mountain fantastic, would have been the same from Christ redeemer unfortunately weather let us down was very overcast and cloudy after a day raining. Would highly recommended booking via victor again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Janice F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guides and mode of travel great but overall too slow, could have done the trip in half a day. Was not interested in spending hours at an all you can eat buffet ! Really we are in Rio and time is precious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

John M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We waited an hour at the phoned pick-up point, but your agent failed to Wave the Flag high enough at the cruise terminal pick-up point, so we missed contact and never made the tour consequently forfeiting the pre paid tour cost.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Nomi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide. Fascinating city history explanations. Breath-taking views from Sugar Loaf. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Jolantataverner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Dimple P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Myself and my 3 friends booked this day tour prior to coming out to Rio - we read all the reviews and this tour package was definitely worth the price. We got so much done in the day than we would have otherwise on our own. The one off cost we paid worked out to be cheaper than what we would have paid individually for the different sites. Everything was well organised and tour guides were competent in English. As our hotel was away from Copacabana, prior to the day, we were given a pick up address with clear directions which really helped! The lunch time buffet was great! As vegetarians, the tour guide spent her own lunch time talking us through what was what and suitable for us - really helpful and appreciate her going out of the way. The bus we traveled in was very comfy and air conditioned, which helped a lot in the humidity. Overall, the tour was well organised and just perfect for us, people who had very limited time to spend in Rio. It was an experience to visit the landmarks, Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf mountain - we have some great pictures and memories. Would definitely recommend this tour - just be wary that everything is done in a timely manner, so you might not get to spend as much time as you would like in some places, as you have to keep going to stick to schedule! That's the beauty of tours.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gene S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour was on larger bus and included a city tour. Unfortunately the city tour was done first and arrival at the trams was just before 11:00AM which allowed for larger crowds to be present. The wait for the trams was minimal and the system ran very well. When we reached the top of Sugarloaf there was some polite jostling for picture angles. It was a good tour but could have been better timed.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

annette v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Good sights, but spent WAY too much time waiting around. Guide seemed disorganized. For example, after lunch, we waited about 1/2 hour outside the restaurant for the bus, then walked to another location about 4 blocks away, waited another 1/2 hour for the bus! Same thing at end of tour. SAME TOUR, if booked through the hotel was less than HALF THE PRICE. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

A really poor tour. We had to go to several hotels to pick up which the guide was clearly unhappy with as it took so long. Then we waited half an hour at some very ordinary church for cruisers who never arrived. So we had no city tour! Sugar Loaf was ordinary and we had to queue for nearly two hours for tickets. Christ the Redeemer was massively disappointing. Yes good views but so crowded it was difficult to move and with no room there is no sense of perspective on the statue. Bloody selfie sticks! Should be banned at crowded sites. A poor tour and definitely not worth the money. Avoid

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sigrid M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour good views must do

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Elba C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to spend the day and the food at the location was pretty good....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful day out with a great multi-lingual guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message