• USD ($)
  • English
At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 454 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing views of entire Rio De Janeiro beaches.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour bus arrived 30mins late, take another 45mins to pick up others, which made the whole tour a rush; Tour guide is below average at best (little information about Rio, and rush rush rush). Scenery at Sugar Loaf is spectacular though.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

There was nothing special about this tour, you are better off going on your own and just buying tickets when you arrive. Plenty of cabs to and from all the hotels.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour but bus company came 30mins late

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip and great guide.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Despite the rain the tour was great. We had the extra mile in it since we had the downtowns and Cathedral tour before taking us to the mounting. I do not know if we were lucky and just waiting for the skies to clear or if this is how our guide likes to start the mounting tour. Beautiful views. One of the four things you have to see while in Rio.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing and the extra bus ride to the cathedral and carnival area was brilliant! V good tour guide! She knows her stuff!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We got picked up on Copacabana at 8-30am. " J.B " our guide came bouncing off the bus to greet us,he is an awesome guide,such a character!! We went on a tour of downtown and the cathedral first,which was very interesting.When we got to sugarloaf it started to rain,"J B" got off the bus and sorted the tickets for us all,when we got up to the top the rain had stopped and what a view we got..amazing.A great trip,thanks J B.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good trip. Additional city tour was a bonus. Guide was very good. Pickup was punctual and driver did his best in traffic jams of Rio during World Cup.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really nice tour. Totally worth it; The view from the top is really amazing.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This guide was really an odd ball but in the end everyone loved him. Initially made some people quite angry when their names were not on the list due to some miscommunication. Took a while to sort out and that was the only snag. Once the guide warmed up, he was on full flow and really was humorous. Spoke good English and instructions were clear. The trip to the church could have been a bit longer and maybe some brochures in English would have been good. Once on the mountains, it was simply breath taking. Took a good shot of England's training ground for the WC (the would get knocked out in the evening when Costa Rica won). Some time to buy souvenirs would have been good.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The bus was right on time and we avoided all the crowds. It was a terrific tour and we enjoyed our guide, Yeda.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Value for money, tour guides great can say this trip a must

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Incredible!!!! Our guide was very nice and our tour was very very exciting!!! Love it!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message