Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LAMONT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Gray line was tours were very good as always. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and may the tour fun and interesting.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great all round. Possible evening dance hiccup, but sorted amicably. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this is a MUST in Rio ! You will enjoy it and photography is awesome

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Vehicle on time, good guide. The whole experience was great.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved Rio!!. Definitely need to experience Rio on NYE! Amazing experience! Our next trip will be for Carnival.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

silcock6215

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour itineray was changed due to cloud cover which was wonderful as we did not think we were going to see anything.Highly recommend this tour picked up and dropped of at hotel.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anthony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide and bus driver. Saw many things in Rio as we travelled through Rio beyond what was mentioned in the write up. Lunch was great fun, Brazilian bbq.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

SELİN U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was very well organized trip. Bus was comfortable, guide was friendly, lunch was delicious and big.
Good idea for see all these attractive places. Wish you luck about weather...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Janice C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

City tour was interesting but there was only one stop during it. Sugarloaf Mountain via cable car and Corcovado Mountain via cog train to Christ the Redeemer statue were good. Lunch at a restaurant was excellent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

FIONA H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Unfortunately by the time we reached the Sugar loaf the crowds had arrived and most of our time was spent in queues. Although the cloud covered the mountain top we still had some good views from the cable car. The tour was well organised with a good guide who made sure we all got back to the bus on time.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Katrina A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Overall tour was good although it is a very long day. The New Year period is VERY busy so expect to queue for a considerable amount of time. This meant that we did not have much time on sugarloaf mountain.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Michael B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Generally delivered as promised..fortunately we were one of the last pick ups. Tour guide knew her subject but did not tell us enough about what to expect....confusion between those on half day and full day tours on the same bus. Next time will take a taxi and buy our own tickets at the venue...

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Ann B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Would like to rate this tour 5 star but sadly the day we visited it was very misty and difficult to see the face of the statue or any views from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. However, the guide Louis, driver, lunch and all other arrangements were faultless.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nicola G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Would not recommend this tour. Total time was about 10 hours, while the tour and lunch could have been done in 3. After lunch, we spent over 2 hours driving around picking people up to do the second half of the tour. From the description it is not clear that this is a 2-part tour. I would recommend to see these sites in a taxi on your own. Then you'll still have a lot of time to do other things. It was very disappointing as based on the reviews it sounded like this would be a terrific day.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour with friendly tour guide

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour guides, and the lunch fantastic, lots of waiting in lines for attractions but beyond Viator control but worth waiting for, fantastic views at both locations and good way to see the city as well

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sheila B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was perfect for my friend and I 2 female retired teachers, traveling on our own. It was well organized, punctual, and very informative. We had a great time!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Forrest L A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I had a great time. Not only was the tour scenic and beautiful, but our guides were very informative. I'll use Viator on my next international travel venture!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with fantastic views, the Samba show was really entertaining and the food was great. Picking up all the people is the worst part of the trip as it takes so long. The guide forgot my hotel and drove past it at midnight so delayed in getting back to hotel.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My trip to Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour were outstanding. It was a trip which took my breath away, and once I was on top, having the view and wide spread of land spread underneath me, has an everlasting effect on me. I will advise you to have this type of tour if you are about to visit Rio De Janeiro, I thought I would have done it on my own, but no, I wouldn't have been able to see and visit these places, as the way it was all co-ordinated and planned by the tour leader himself. Talking about the tour leader, he was a guy full of spirit. As he was explaining all about the places we were in, and, in between he joked and made sure to keep that smile on your face. His English was perfect by the way, so there was no doubt that I would not get an answer off him whenever I asked the question. Midway during the tour, we were taken to a restaurant where the food still bursts my taste buds whenever I seem to think about it... So all in a short phrase,it was a perfect day to remember, it was a remarkable holiday, and worth the money spent on it. Go for it... you know you want to...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

MURDOCH S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable day out to visit two Icons of Rio Weather can be changeable so it is just your luck. We were lucky

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message