At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 546 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Well organized, cable car ride fun, incredible views and photos!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

JB is an excellent tour guide and the tour was perfect.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

You must do this...

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Confusing to chsnge guides 3 times but otherwise great!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic tour guide- very knowledgeable and helpful, surprise stop at the Cathedral on the way. The top of the mountain was much more commercialised than expected, which was the only disappointment.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Robert P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour and Lewis our guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

What you see makes this trip amazing, but I think all of us were frustrated by how much time was wasted by our tour guide, Yeda! She walks too slowly and micromanages us too much that we didn't get to see as much. Needs to be on time and be more efficient about everything, even driver drove slowly.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Tom
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Sugarloaf and Christo, the draws of the tour were excellent; we had clear skies and a great view. Our impression of the tour though was that it was very disorganized and it caused a distraction from the main events. We did not get to some of the advertised events (ie museum of fine arts) and tickets to events were not pre-booked by the tour group, causing unproductive time just waiting around. It is a multi-lingual tour as well, which makes the tour information harder to follow; particularly for details of where to gather and when at the end of each event. The full day tour is also apparently a combination of two half day tours, with people being picked up midday.
We have been on a number of successful Viator tours, but this was ultimately not one of them.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ally Munro
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This full day is a great way to see the main highlights of Rio all together, particularly if you are short on time to spend in this wonderful city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome day with a great travel guide. We only had one issue, it just happened to be cloudy that day to really enjoy the Christ the Redeemer Statue but no fault of the tour of course. One person spoke of the lunch was more like a dinner and it was. It was very good though.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was as expected. It's a great way to see part of the city and key attractions. Loved Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. The views were spectacular! I give the attractions 5 stars.

The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, helpful. and pleasant. Actually they were fireballs. Full of energy! I give the guides 5 stars.

The lunch was so, so and would give it 3 stars. Dinner was excellent and would give it 5 stars!

The Samba show wasn't bad. Parts of it went too long and you could tell it was filler as the dancers were preparing for the next set. You are getting a taste of what Samba is about and about 10% of what you would see at Carnival. So don't have the expectation of a five star show. I would give it 3 stars.

Because you are seeing so much, plus lunch and dinner and a show, it makes for a very long day, so be prepared. Wear comfy shoes and clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Be prepared to spend at least 4-5 hours of your day standing around waiting. Tour guides add little value to the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message