Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 691 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ELLEN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed the tour and thought the lunch was good. Our guides were good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Janice F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guides and mode of travel great but overall too slow, could have done the trip in half a day. Was not interested in spending hours at an all you can eat buffet ! Really we are in Rio and time is precious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

John M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We waited an hour at the phoned pick-up point, but your agent failed to Wave the Flag high enough at the cruise terminal pick-up point, so we missed contact and never made the tour consequently forfeiting the pre paid tour cost.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Nomi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide. Fascinating city history explanations. Breath-taking views from Sugar Loaf. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Jolantataverner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Dimple P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Myself and my 3 friends booked this day tour prior to coming out to Rio - we read all the reviews and this tour package was definitely worth the price. We got so much done in the day than we would have otherwise on our own. The one off cost we paid worked out to be cheaper than what we would have paid individually for the different sites. Everything was well organised and tour guides were competent in English. As our hotel was away from Copacabana, prior to the day, we were given a pick up address with clear directions which really helped! The lunch time buffet was great! As vegetarians, the tour guide spent her own lunch time talking us through what was what and suitable for us - really helpful and appreciate her going out of the way. The bus we traveled in was very comfy and air conditioned, which helped a lot in the humidity. Overall, the tour was well organised and just perfect for us, people who had very limited time to spend in Rio. It was an experience to visit the landmarks, Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf mountain - we have some great pictures and memories. Would definitely recommend this tour - just be wary that everything is done in a timely manner, so you might not get to spend as much time as you would like in some places, as you have to keep going to stick to schedule! That's the beauty of tours.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gene S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour was on larger bus and included a city tour. Unfortunately the city tour was done first and arrival at the trams was just before 11:00AM which allowed for larger crowds to be present. The wait for the trams was minimal and the system ran very well. When we reached the top of Sugarloaf there was some polite jostling for picture angles. It was a good tour but could have been better timed.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

annette v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Good sights, but spent WAY too much time waiting around. Guide seemed disorganized. For example, after lunch, we waited about 1/2 hour outside the restaurant for the bus, then walked to another location about 4 blocks away, waited another 1/2 hour for the bus! Same thing at end of tour. SAME TOUR, if booked through the hotel was less than HALF THE PRICE. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

A really poor tour. We had to go to several hotels to pick up which the guide was clearly unhappy with as it took so long. Then we waited half an hour at some very ordinary church for cruisers who never arrived. So we had no city tour! Sugar Loaf was ordinary and we had to queue for nearly two hours for tickets. Christ the Redeemer was massively disappointing. Yes good views but so crowded it was difficult to move and with no room there is no sense of perspective on the statue. Bloody selfie sticks! Should be banned at crowded sites. A poor tour and definitely not worth the money. Avoid

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sigrid M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour good views must do

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Elba C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to spend the day and the food at the location was pretty good....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful day out with a great multi-lingual guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Manny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

nice tour, great lunch, my only recommendation would be to have the Cristo tour first then Sugar Loaf

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jenny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour with all the highlights in Rio, can completely recommend it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Terence H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great day for seeing Rio from on high! well organized and no issues to report. well done!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Nicola S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Not quite as good as Corcovado but good shopping opportunities mid way up mountain

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Barbara R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Sugar Loaf mountain in the morning. Not so impressed with the guide JB - more full of himself than the sites of Rio. The content of the tour however was very good and we enjoyed the trip up Sugar Loaf and the sites along the way.
The lunch between tours was excellent.
The afternoon guide was great and the trip up Corcovado was well organised and efficent. Magnificent views.
Plataforma Samba SHow was very good. An enjoyable evening.
Our only concern was that the same restaurant although excellent was used for both lunch and dinner. An overload of meat!! A different venue for the meals would have been an improvement.
Overall though a very enjoyable if long day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Pretty good value for the money. Guide was helpful and provided some great background to the city and the stops.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Paige E

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

This was a long day. Glad to have seen Cristo Redentor and Sugarloaf, but the lunch in the middle would and #39;ve been better spent wandering/eating in the outdoor market next door. I and #39;d just buy individual tickets to the big sights and go on your own, mostly.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jamie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

This tour reminded us why we usually avoid packaged presentations. In the morning, the bus spent an inordinate amount of time driving between hotel pickups. The guide was friendly but not engaged, offering very little tour narrative, for example, learned about James Bond connection and other interesting Sugar Loaf info by listening to other groups' guides. The lunch restaurant was good, but then we waited at least an hour for pickup ... Seemed staff was confused. Afternoon guide was personable and had more narrative to offer. Scheduling of the mountain train at Christ Redeemer seemed to be problematic. All told, we did get to visit both sites in one day, useful on our limited timeframe. But after doing so, we probably could have done a more satisfactory job on our own ... This tour was not a good value for the price we paid. Note: The small group experience we had the next day with the Favela Walking Tour folks was excellent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Carol G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The places we saw were fabulous but the round about way and time it took to get there was terrible. There has got to be a better way than spending more than half your time to and from the sights.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nitin G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I would just take a cab next time...the signts were amazing the tour with bus was terrible... more time on Bus than enjoying the views and attractions....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Karine O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Do not Take this tour : the guide forgot to speak in french (only in english and spanish), it was very long to pick up all the travellers (lots of stops) and the guide did not comment the visit when we were there. Prefer your on visit with à taxi pick up.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message