At Carnival time the Sambadrome is the heartbeat of Rio de Janiero. A 3,000ft (700m) stretch of road designed as a 90,000 capacity parade area with stadium seating rising on each side of the road. Samba schools have 80 minutes to parade through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 541 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ally Munro
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This full day is a great way to see the main highlights of Rio all together, particularly if you are short on time to spend in this wonderful city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome day with a great travel guide. We only had one issue, it just happened to be cloudy that day to really enjoy the Christ the Redeemer Statue but no fault of the tour of course. One person spoke of the lunch was more like a dinner and it was. It was very good though.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was as expected. It's a great way to see part of the city and key attractions. Loved Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. The views were spectacular! I give the attractions 5 stars.

The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, helpful. and pleasant. Actually they were fireballs. Full of energy! I give the guides 5 stars.

The lunch was so, so and would give it 3 stars. Dinner was excellent and would give it 5 stars!

The Samba show wasn't bad. Parts of it went too long and you could tell it was filler as the dancers were preparing for the next set. You are getting a taste of what Samba is about and about 10% of what you would see at Carnival. So don't have the expectation of a five star show. I would give it 3 stars.

Because you are seeing so much, plus lunch and dinner and a show, it makes for a very long day, so be prepared. Wear comfy shoes and clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Be prepared to spend at least 4-5 hours of your day standing around waiting. Tour guides add little value to the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was nice to have tickets already, but we bought the full day tour and they took us to the same restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Also, we tried confirming with the company 48 hrs ahead of time and could not get through. They almost didn't let us on the tour!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Sights were great and great recap for people with not a lot of time on their hands.

However, our visit was in three languages ; hard to pay attention; Should arrange trips with 1 language only.

Long waitng times but not due to the activities themselves. Had to wait a few times for the bus between activities (a call ahead to the driver would have been more efficient)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our tour guide Anna spent about 90% of her time speaking in languages other than English so the morning session wasn't very interesting. Sugar Loaf mountain was interesting. The lunch was a C grade. The tour guide in the afternoon was fine. Our trip up to see Christ the Redeemer was marred with fog so we didn't get a good view of the statue. That couldn't be helped. Didn't think the tour overall was as good as others we have been on in other countries.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

As the tour was a combination of two half day tours and some people only joined for half a day there was too much picking up and leaving at hotels. The lunch was a disappointment, seefood restaurant??? The sights were marvellous and the guides nice.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

If you like to spend a lot of time on a coach driving back and forth to hotel pick ups then this is the trip for you. Otherwise I would recommend taking a taxi to each site and buying tickets on the day. The trip lasted about 10 hours, only about 3-4 of which were probably spent at Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain (they are both about 3 km in opposite directions from the Copacabana are). Almost 3 hrs were spent at lunch which was a cold piece of fish or steak and overpriced drinks. The guide was ok, pointed out things as we drove past on the bus, but why does the tour guide need to stand in line to buy our tickets ? Surely thgis should be done in advance so that the group do not have to stand around waiting for 40 mins. Both sites are certainly worth a visit for the beautiful views but this tour could have been a lot shorter if they did not combine two half day tours and have so many hotel pick ups in the middle of the day. Disappointed with both tours I have done orgainsed with this tour operator. The tour is also overpriced for what it is when you see the actual ticket prices ... tickets to the sites are about £15 per person, so if you can fill a taxi it would probably be a better idea, but get to them early.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

It would have been better if we would have had the same tour guide throughout the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

I would not recommend this tour or this company. Failed to turn up on the first day. Tourguide in morning was useless and spoke 80% in Spanish. Most sites are from bus which speeds past without any time for photos. You can do this cheaper directly and guides/bus adds very little. Waste of money.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

day started with pick up on time, comfortable air conditioned coach. our guide commentary was below par, both in detail and quality. the city tour rather hurried and short but sugar loaf mountain part was very good. lunch at 1pm till 2pm was poor quality and the drink very expensive. next coach to corcovado didnt arrive till 3.30pm, lots of confusion. anyway on cog train about 3.45 but delay at christ redeemer meant reduced light for our pictures. anyway the cog train ride was fine and but guide accent was very poor. all went well to final drop off at hotel areas about 6pm. overall, the day was good but the £100plus paid was very expensive for i got for it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

So disappointed with the trip we waited more then we were touring !! Every thing was so slow the bus the tour guide - but the sites were good and we stayed in both locations just one hour each location - never again I'm using this - for 174$ it was not good at all --

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message